Personal Trav's snipe & snap with D40, Honda F1 Roadshow, model pic uploaded!

diwant
post Apr 16 2007, 09:40 PM

295 posts

1/60 is ok, but do increase ISO to 800 minimum if lighting is very dim..and + EV a bit..
diwant
post Apr 28 2007, 01:28 AM

295 posts

i kinda like the composition.. but it would be better if the beach pictures were taken at the 'golden hour', sunrise or sunset.. it'll be more dramatic and meaningful....keep searching.. thumbup.gif
diwant
post May 7 2007, 08:20 PM

295 posts

Well, to claim that your 'D40 has reached its limitations' after that event is a little bit naive to say the least. And already thinking of upgrading to a mid-range DSLR 'in the future' is a good target, but i think it is a bit too soon for you..

Unless shooting dancing models in the night is your bread and butter, than I believe your D40 just reached it's starting point, not it's peak. You have to shoot more things with it..

edit: typing error

This post has been edited by diwant: May 7 2007, 08:22 PM
diwant
post May 7 2007, 11:08 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 7 2007, 10:58 PM)
Thanks for ur advise, but i am not the type of photographer who taking events/dancing/fashion shows as my main photography objects.

I wanted to be the type of photographer who wants to tell a story by taking shots which affected my emotions or dramatic shots. Now i do enjoy going to events to take potraits of cute/pretty promoters blush.gif Still i priority is to take scenery and portraits, and i happy my D40 will do fine for the next few years.

Still its good to know what my D40 can do and what it could not do. smile.gif Ultimately i hope to learn its strengths so i can achieve what i wanted to do.

In the near future i will go for a 50mm portrait lens, then may consider a zoom lens or better lens. Upgrading to a better DSLR will take some years to go by, unless if someone throw me a D2x to me brows.gif
Well, it seems that u've set your foundation very clear already.. happy shooting and keep posting..

P/s: Pls dun say 'I want to improve', and then disappear after 3 weeks.. tongue.gif joking mate
diwant
post May 8 2007, 09:52 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 8 2007, 02:10 AM)
How to disappear ... gi vacation pun datang forum posting .. whistling.gif laugh.gif
I would do the same if I were you also, haha! rclxm9.gif
hahha... semangat photography. that's what we want..! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
diwant
post May 9 2007, 06:41 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ May 9 2007, 04:46 AM)
I still remember last time I have two shooting buddies and they came out with these terms :

1. Ppl who swear by Av and TV - The Aperturians and Shutterians
2. Ppl who scorns both and uses only the Manual Mode - The MANUALIST!

I make one more term now for everyone to use ... "Semangat Kefotografian" laugh.gif
biggrin.gif that sounds better... But if i were to choose, i think i am now The Aperturians, since i'm already possesses a prime lens biggrin.gif tongue.gif
diwant
post May 17 2007, 11:10 PM

295 posts

im waiting for ur chatuchak market pics bro...
diwant
post May 24 2007, 01:29 AM

295 posts

well composition wise, not bad but still can improve.. i saw a lot of repeated subjects throughout the temples, so why not try various angles to make it look like some kind of abstract patterns instead of normal eye-level shots?

in this kind of place, it's good to look for patterns to make the subject more interesting...
diwant
post May 25 2007, 07:02 PM

295 posts

well composition wise, not bad but still can improve.. i saw a lot of repeated subjects throughout the temples, so why not try various angles to make it look like some kind of abstract patterns instead of normal eye-level shots?

in this kind of place, it's good to look for patterns to make the subject more interesting...
diwant
post May 31 2007, 11:40 PM

295 posts

ur night shots are good, well exposed, and nice compo..
diwant
post Jun 17 2007, 10:01 PM

295 posts

yeah i believe so.. but why play around with Manual mode in the first place? issit becoz the D40 built-in motor thing??

Your pictures were ruined quite bad it seems.. wait to the next roadshow.. hehe
diwant
post Jun 18 2007, 11:45 PM

295 posts

When i PC fair fren? i'm looking forward to it also.. these past 2 weeks shot wedding only, dun hv time for landscape or experimental shots...

50mm f1.8 is a GREAT value for money lens.. if u use it to its full, the value is more than the price i would say.. becoz the 50mm f1.8 is not AF-S, so the D40 cant auto focus becoz D40 does not hv built-in motor to auto focus non AF-S lens.. correct me if im wrong.. (im a Canon user tongue.gif )
diwant
post Jun 19 2007, 09:07 PM

295 posts

yeah.. but i think with an external flash will not bring harsh lighting to the face, if u know how to use it properly.. if still want to use 50mm f1.8, then better dont take full body, just from waist upward is ok.. focus on their eyes, not body... hehe
diwant
post Jun 25 2007, 09:56 PM

295 posts

all were using 50mm? Well, i can say ur skill and technique has improved from the last sets.. good job..
diwant
post Jul 30 2007, 08:47 PM

295 posts

i would say composition is the biggest thing u need to improve in this series... try to 'read' the landscape and imagine how to make the place look interesting... this one is not technical, but more to the artistic value of a photo.. so if u ask me how, then i can;t answer u..

but some tips may help:
1. #9, the silhouette jetty does not stand out because it got mixed with the trees at the back, so it looks like half dark, half bright.. make the silhouetted lines simpler..
2. #4, if the old phone is the focal point, just focus on the phone, not the surrounding.
3. #6, i would rather shoot some 200m - 300m away from the 'apek', and use a telephoto lens to include as many column as i could, so it will look like some kind of pattern and maybe let them to look like 'isolated'...

hope this helps...
diwant
post Jul 30 2007, 09:12 PM

295 posts

im planning to go there as well some time... maybe can do a small outing then.. i missed PD beach landscape..
diwant
post Aug 7 2007, 12:00 AM

295 posts

...and when is that???
diwant
post Aug 8 2007, 12:00 PM

295 posts

r u sure travis abt this info? i would love to attend.
diwant
post Aug 8 2007, 08:00 PM

295 posts

travis, if it starts at 5pm, then i may be going there ard 6pm after shoot a wedding that day... we cn hv a chat over there..
diwant
post Aug 10 2007, 08:27 AM

295 posts

Definitely i'll come..

0.0892sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:34 PM