VW is doing promo as followed
am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far?
my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh.
VW Jetta as family car
Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,127 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 3 2017, 08:13 AM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2016 |
Not sure about reliability especially with the dry clutch gearbox.
But safety and nvh is definitely best in class. Power too. |
Oct 3 2017, 08:26 AM
24 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Hmm...VW is being notorious of the poor reliability of the cars previously. I can't comment much as i do not own any VW before, just wait some VW owners to give u their opinions.
Oct 3 2017, 08:50 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
532 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
VW cars from 2015 onwards are quite reliable. Most of the notorious DSG gearbox issues have been solved.
Oct 3 2017, 08:54 AM
1,420 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM) Guys, you should know their reliability through their FB comments.VW is doing promo as followed am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far? my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh. if you think otherwise, own one.. VW outside of Malaysia is a hell of a tough car and heavy duty too. sadly... |
Oct 3 2017, 09:05 AM
237 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
the new one is ok, i guess
Oct 3 2017, 09:41 AM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM) Guys, Since reliability is high on your list, I'd say go for something else.VW is doing promo as followed am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far? my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh. |
Oct 3 2017, 10:06 AM
4,057 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 3 2017, 10:25 AM
1,176 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Memesia |
VW.. only can buy when u live in Europe
Oct 3 2017, 10:51 AM
how much to change those called mechatronic and clutch?
found many user have to change this by own as it wear and tear parts |
Oct 3 2017, 11:33 AM
2,275 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: 192.168.200.45 |
Oct 3 2017, 11:50 AM
155 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
dont wait...
buy... |
Oct 3 2017, 12:12 PM
165 posts Joined: Dec 2013 |
you can only buy a VW if it comes with 6 speed DSG wet clutch. Tiguan is comes with 6 speed
Oct 3 2017, 12:37 PM
10,188 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
reliability is your main concern... can go for something else... no point u drive happily and spiritedly but worry when its gonna breakdown one day...
Oct 3 2017, 01:23 PM
Oct 3 2017, 01:26 PM
Oct 3 2017, 01:33 PM
88 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
I think current vw car already use wet clutch no more bad issue
Oct 3 2017, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(tom_tombak @ Oct 3 2017, 01:33 PM) Think that u have mistaken about dry vs wet clutch. All high end vw using wet clutch especially 2.0 passat, gti and few. Rest base vw model using 7 gear dry clutch, as passat 1.8, jetta, polo etc. Doesn’t matter, both have to change mechatronic, clutch after certain time/ mileage due to wear and tear. Sometimes it happen before certain mileage due to driving patterns. |
Oct 3 2017, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:37 PM) reliability is your main concern... can go for something else... no point u drive happily and spiritedly but worry when its gonna breakdown one day... Sir,can you give some advice on which car do not have breakdown issue one day[U]? i really want to know, and i believe all the people here also want to know. thank you sir. |
Oct 3 2017, 02:39 PM
QUOTE(lin@lowyat @ Oct 3 2017, 01:53 PM) Sir, oh sorry... maybe i should mentioned... car that would not breakdown consistently or masuk kilang in very short period interval because of issues other than dead battery, tyre puncture, overheating or other small issues ... so far japanese cars majority proven to be reliable in such a way....can you give some advice on which car do not have breakdown issue one day[U]? i really want to know, and i believe all the people here also want to know. thank you sir. |
Oct 3 2017, 02:44 PM
385 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
how about Cerato? not bad IMO
Oct 3 2017, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Oct 3 2017, 02:39 PM) oh sorry... maybe i should mentioned... car that would not breakdown consistently or masuk kilang in very short period interval because of issues other than dead battery, tyre puncture, overheating or other small issues ... so far japanese cars majority proven to be reliable in such a way.... i see...i thought you know got car that will not breakdown one.. haizz... potong stim la. |
Oct 3 2017, 03:31 PM
Oct 3 2017, 05:52 PM
285 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
VW Jetta, looks good, here comes with free service, get it fast.
As many of them mentioned above, if reliability is the worry, why not get Japanese car such as Toyota or Honda? At least breakdown frequency is lower. Let me guess, you want the Jetta power and the German look? |
Oct 3 2017, 06:04 PM
QUOTE(jameslow @ Oct 3 2017, 05:52 PM) VW Jetta, looks good, here comes with free service, get it fast. hmm... not really about look. more on safety.As many of them mentioned above, if reliability is the worry, why not get Japanese car such as Toyota or Honda? At least breakdown frequency is lower. Let me guess, you want the Jetta power and the German look? I am aware on the bad perception on the VW serive and reliability, but wonder whether are they overblown or just a bad image carry from old model with gearbox problem. Its just like my last ride, KIA. Before I bought, everyone warned about the realiability and low quality etc. But my KIA served me fine and reliably for 6y, maybe I am lucky. |
Oct 3 2017, 06:08 PM
981 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: SABAH!!! |
i tot they are using aissin 6 speed automatic transmission now?
Oct 3 2017, 06:09 PM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
QUOTE(jameslow @ Oct 3 2017, 05:52 PM) VW Jetta, looks good, here comes with free service, get it fast. Toyota is the only reliable option these days. U join Civic FC group in FB so many people posting engine fault/check engine light coming from their multi function displayAs many of them mentioned above, if reliability is the worry, why not get Japanese car such as Toyota or Honda? At least breakdown frequency is lower. Let me guess, you want the Jetta power and the German look? |
Oct 3 2017, 06:14 PM
141 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM) Guys, Already mentioned "looking for a family /suv range". Why still look for VW? You should consider other brand for suv/mpv instead of sedan type.VW is doing promo as followed am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far? my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh. |
Oct 3 2017, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(gordon.engineer @ Oct 3 2017, 06:14 PM) Already mentioned "looking for a family /suv range". Why still look for VW? You should consider other brand for suv/mpv instead of sedan type. If just me driving, I would have taken Subaru Forester already. But this car will be my wife daily commute car. We went test drove Forester, she found it a bit big for her taste, maybe just need to get use to it. But no harm exploring other alternatives.Obviously if money isnt an issues, and have rich donor willing to donar, will get both. But there are only 1 or 2 ppl in this country (or this world) to be that luck to have rich donor. This post has been edited by lkoky: Oct 3 2017, 06:27 PM |
Oct 3 2017, 06:40 PM
Civic? Altis? Cerato 2.0L?
All the above mentioned cars have 6/7 airbags as standard and it's within your budget. They all performed similarly in terms of safety as the Jetta if not better. The only thing you may convince me on the jetta is you're after the power and German brand. Other than that it doesn't make sense when you say safety. They are all safe. In terms of nvh the civic and Altis has comparable nvh as jetta. Cerato not so sure. Best to testdrive all to see which is better. Reliability definitely not Jetta forte. Stick to sushi and Kimchi if that's your concern. This post has been edited by jacobngen87: Oct 3 2017, 06:43 PM |
Oct 3 2017, 07:01 PM
755 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Get civic 2016. Peace of mind.
Oct 3 2017, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Oct 3 2017, 06:40 PM) Civic? Altis? Cerato 2.0L? thanks for the suggestions. will check up.All the above mentioned cars have 6/7 airbags as standard and it's within your budget. They all performed similarly in terms of safety as the Jetta if not better. The only thing you may convince me on the jetta is you're after the power and German brand. Other than that it doesn't make sense when you say safety. They are all safe. In terms of nvh the civic and Altis has comparable nvh as jetta. Cerato not so sure. Best to testdrive all to see which is better. Reliability definitely not Jetta forte. Stick to sushi and Kimchi if that's your concern. I suppose thats y i open this thread, apart from being just saw the promo from VW also to see what other alternative i may have overlook. |
Oct 3 2017, 08:20 PM
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 07:03 PM) thanks for the suggestions. will check up. Focus 1.5 turbo. Now with huge discounts last I checked.I suppose thats y i open this thread, apart from being just saw the promo from VW also to see what other alternative i may have overlook. Ford passenger cars comes with 3 yrs free maintenance, that includes some wear and tear parts including but not limited brake pads, rotors, wipers, batteries etc. etc. |
Oct 3 2017, 08:58 PM
Oct 3 2017, 09:28 PM
97 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Dlm jamban |
Oct 3 2017, 09:36 PM
876 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM) Guys, Safety and reliability. VW doesn't seem to be reliable based on current record, proven by their poor resale value. VW is doing promo as followed am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far? my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh. Mazda 3 or Toyota altis have both safety and reliability. |
Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: ~Somewhere only we know~ |
Im owner of 2014 jetta.. twincharge engine.. dq200 dry clutch gearbox.. current mileage 93k.. so far claim warranty for change clutch once, mecha once, coil once..
I can say its pretty reliable.. current my car been use by my wife to travel outstation (Bangi-Jb). I can say 2 weeks once she travel.. she have Alza, but duwan to use. She prefer to drive my Jetta if going oustation. If u talk about new jetta, with single charge engine, actually the maintenance cost is higher than the twincharge engine. Its using timing belt and need to change every 115k(according to book). The cost of changing the timing belt in SC is RM37++.. The highest cost for maintaining twincharge engine in SC is rm1700. (60k service). After using my jetta for almost 4 years, i would like to say, i never regret buying this car.. |
Oct 3 2017, 10:13 PM
Actually, if you don't mind the uncle car perception, you can also check out Renault Fluence. The engine & gearbox is taken from the previous Nissan Sylphy. So, no reliability issues.
You can check out their owners' forum. Almost no problem at all. It has the safety, decent driving dynamics & space. Also price is cheap due to discount. |
Oct 3 2017, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Oct 3 2017, 08:20 PM) Focus 1.5 turbo. Now with huge discounts last I checked. Ford's reliability is as bad as VW. Try to stay away as far as possible. Add Peugeot & Chevrolet into the list, tooFord passenger cars comes with 3 yrs free maintenance, that includes some wear and tear parts including but not limited brake pads, rotors, wipers, batteries etc. etc. |
Oct 3 2017, 10:42 PM
Oct 4 2017, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 3 2017, 10:13 PM) Actually, if you don't mind the uncle car perception, you can also check out Renault Fluence. The engine & gearbox is taken from the previous Nissan Sylphy. So, no reliability issues. Cool, definitely will check this out. This brand totally out of radar previously, cause so low present here.You can check out their owners' forum. Almost no problem at all. It has the safety, decent driving dynamics & space. Also price is cheap due to discount. |
Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM
1,481 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance.
QUOTE(mozact89 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM) Im owner of 2014 jetta.. twincharge engine.. dq200 dry clutch gearbox.. current mileage 93k.. so far claim warranty for change clutch once, mecha once, coil once.. I can say its pretty reliable.. current my car been use by my wife to travel outstation (Bangi-Jb). I can say 2 weeks once she travel.. she have Alza, but duwan to use. She prefer to drive my Jetta if going oustation. If u talk about new jetta, with single charge engine, actually the maintenance cost is higher than the twincharge engine. Its using timing belt and need to change every 115k(according to book). The cost of changing the timing belt in SC is RM37++.. The highest cost for maintaining twincharge engine in SC is rm1700. (60k service). After using my jetta for almost 4 years, i would like to say, i never regret buying this car.. |
Oct 4 2017, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM) This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. It's reasonable when major 60k service only cost RM 1700 in SC. German cars cost more than 1k each service, even outside of SC. |
Oct 4 2017, 07:44 AM
Oct 4 2017, 08:50 AM
1,032 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 4 2017, 07:44 AM) The fuss is that a car's maintenance is not the regular servicing alone. There are also other costs like breakdown repairs, wear and tear parts, spare parts cost and the cost of time and frustration. Let me give you a hint. Most cars don't require replacing the clutch, mechatronic and coil pack within the first 3 years of ownership. Mechatronic failure comes without warning and will leave you stranded.I'm not saying Japanese cars don't suffer breakdowns but they have a lower probability. If your new Jap car requires a major repair in 3 years you are the exception. If your new Jetta DOESN'T require a major repair in 3 years you are the exception. |
Oct 4 2017, 09:16 AM
589 posts Joined: Nov 2012 |
new one should be ok, volkswagen is a big company, they will do something about the previous gearbox incident
Oct 4 2017, 10:13 AM
268 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Oct 4 2017, 10:45 AM
https://www.ft.com/content/5ad4eb66-990b-11...52-cde3f882dd7b
Volkswagen recently recalled over 5 million cars in China. Not sure if the Volkswagen sold here is made in China |
Oct 4 2017, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(mozact89 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM) Im owner of 2014 jetta.. twincharge engine.. dq200 dry clutch gearbox.. current mileage 93k.. so far claim warranty for change clutch once, mecha once, coil once.. U check vw malaysia website for 120k major service price. Most model charging starting around 3k above for that mileage services. I can say its pretty reliable.. current my car been use by my wife to travel outstation (Bangi-Jb). I can say 2 weeks once she travel.. she have Alza, but duwan to use. She prefer to drive my Jetta if going oustation. If u talk about new jetta, with single charge engine, actually the maintenance cost is higher than the twincharge engine. Its using timing belt and need to change every 115k(according to book). The cost of changing the timing belt in SC is RM37++.. The highest cost for maintaining twincharge engine in SC is rm1700. (60k service). After using my jetta for almost 4 years, i would like to say, i never regret buying this car.. That if following booklet requirements not include any other wear and tear parts should require during that 120k km. Then there’s mechatronic, clutch that is under wear and tear |
Oct 4 2017, 11:47 AM
Oct 4 2017, 12:41 PM
Oct 4 2017, 03:01 PM
13 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
I also undecided to buy jetta or not. (Currently driving polo sedan)
Those belt or bearing i opt out during service for my polo, i only change when it got some scratches line on it.... For dsg issue, i found this video anyway https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOEIptAJpyo I asked a fren work in SC about the new mecha failing rate, he said still got a few come in for mecha replacement once in a while, but definitely much more better compare to last time. To be safe get tiguan better as it is 6 speeder (wet clutch) |
Oct 4 2017, 03:49 PM
523 posts Joined: Aug 2017 From: some place |
got a polo, the tire blew out under 1 year, 15k km. inspected the tire, inside out kaboom, suspected friction & heat because was driving on highway hotday @ 120 kph, ask for warrenty denied
Oct 4 2017, 03:55 PM
592 posts Joined: Dec 2016 From: johor |
QUOTE(Corsair0418 @ Oct 4 2017, 09:16 AM) new one should be ok, volkswagen is a big company, they will do something about the previous gearbox incident the wet one should be lesser issue than the dry one. that's why the current promo for passat is like below:passat 1.8 (dry) - rm15k rebate passat 2.0 (wet) - rm0 rebate they want to clear all the dry one asap. i know ts title is jetta, i juat want to highlight the comparison between wet & dry. whatever u do, dont buy any dry one. hehe |
Oct 4 2017, 05:06 PM
68 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
how bout KIa cerato...1.6 & 2.0 also nice..and reliable for maintenance..
but interior quite out date ... |
Oct 4 2017, 05:59 PM
1,137 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: ~Somewhere only we know~ |
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM) This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. That is standard lor.. most of the 2.0 / 2.4 car maintenance fees is almost like that..By the way the service interval is 15k 15k - rm5++ 30k - rm7++ 45k - rm5++ 60k - rm1500-1700 Actually there are some item u can buy outside. Pollen filter in SC sell at rm130.. while u can get outside rm50 for the same item. My 90k service cost only rm5++.. |
Oct 4 2017, 07:20 PM
56 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Good family car. Interior very nice and comfy. Exterior also nice.
Oct 4 2017, 07:22 PM
882 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
I've never seen a VW owner (I mean personal friends whom I really know) who don't curse VW.
Oct 5 2017, 05:44 AM
1,167 posts Joined: May 2009 |
In the end of the day, it will be about how much you love driving.
That's something you can't really put a dollar sign on it. And it is rumoured that, once conti, you never go back. We wait you at the dark side |
Oct 5 2017, 06:05 AM
QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Oct 4 2017, 07:22 PM) Unfortunately I have to agree on this one. 8 out of 10 owners you'll meet in Malaysia will kinda have bitter remarks about VW carsThis post has been edited by amscouzach57: Oct 5 2017, 06:05 AM |
Oct 5 2017, 07:23 AM
QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Oct 4 2017, 07:22 PM) QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 5 2017, 06:05 AM) Unfortunately I have to agree on this one. 8 out of 10 owners you'll meet in Malaysia will kinda have bitter remarks about VW cars Depends on which model they own, for dry clutch VW, I can't agree more.For wet clutch VW, 8 out of 10 owners love their cars more than their wife. |
Oct 5 2017, 07:38 AM
1,481 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 5 2017, 08:13 AM
471 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
want to buy dry clutch vw jetta ? yes you can. but make sure you have prepared for these three
1. extra money for early clutch replacement, and other nonsense suddenly kaput equipment that u never expect 2. pricey maintenance 3. a lot of annual leave to visit worksHop if you can accept those three, jetta is your car. its powerful, easy to mod, fun to drive, but very delicate . u are expectedly use it for 5 years , after that u better sell it. since you are family man, better stick to japan, korea and even proton is better . This post has been edited by sp3d2: Oct 5 2017, 08:18 AM |
Oct 5 2017, 08:53 AM
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 5 2017, 07:38 AM) No fuss.. read my post or not? Yes. If you want to own a conti car, you need to be prepared to afford the ownership (maintenance & running cost). They are fun to drive. "unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance" Yeah, i did read your previous post. Japanese cars with engine displacement of 2000 cc & larger, the ownership cost is indeed quite high. It would not be a fuss if you can afford it. With affordability, you can own a car that you want, not a car that you have to compromise based on your budget |
Oct 5 2017, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 5 2017, 08:53 AM) Yes. If you want to own a conti car, you need to be prepared to afford the ownership (maintenance & running cost). They are fun to drive. About RM2000 - RM3000 a year to maintain an Accord, Camry or Teena excluding tyres. If you consider this high don't touch a luxury Conti car or you will be shocked. Multiply the cost by 4x -5x and you will get the idea.Yeah, i did read your previous post. Japanese cars with engine displacement of 2000 cc & larger, the ownership cost is indeed quite high. It would not be a fuss if you can afford it. With affordability, you can own a car that you want, not a car that you have to compromise based on your budget This post has been edited by Ginny88: Oct 5 2017, 09:40 AM |
Oct 5 2017, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 5 2017, 08:53 AM) Yes. If you want to own a conti car, you need to be prepared to afford the ownership (maintenance & running cost). They are fun to drive. For japanese 2.4 engine most service if follow book, most around 500-700. never exceed 1k so far (1000km service till 80k km now)Yeah, i did read your previous post. Japanese cars with engine displacement of 2000 cc & larger, the ownership cost is indeed quite high. It would not be a fuss if you can afford it. With affordability, you can own a car that you want, not a car that you have to compromise based on your budget |
Oct 5 2017, 10:36 AM
698 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 5 2017, 09:36 AM) About RM2000 - RM3000 a year to maintain an Accord, Camry or Teena excluding tyres. If you consider this high don't touch a luxury Conti car or you will be shocked. Multiply the cost by 4x -5x and you will get the idea. For typical maintainence and service, this is the high side of the figure. For mine, typical service only cost around 5xx using one of the top grade fs oil mobil 1 gold 0w-40. Twice a year however mine is 3.5L so 6.5L engine oil is required for a single OCI. Typical 2.0L - 2.5L na engine only require 4-5L eo so that alone will cost u lesser on typical service. Everything else is subjective to the condition of the car. Typical maintenance on tear and wear item will cost quite a bit i.e. brake pads, tires and etc however those are once every 3-5 years kind of replacement for typical driver out there. So i'll say 1-2k budget yearly for service on typical 2.0-2.5L na japanese car is a more realistic figure. This post has been edited by kirakun: Oct 5 2017, 10:37 AM |
Oct 5 2017, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Oct 5 2017, 09:36 AM) About RM2000 - RM3000 a year to maintain an Accord, Camry or Teena excluding tyres. If you consider this high don't touch a luxury Conti car or you will be shocked. Multiply the cost by 4x -5x and you will get the idea. I concur. For premium cars, it is recommended to allocate about rm15k a year for maintenance |
Oct 5 2017, 10:51 AM
Oct 8 2017, 08:04 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Oct 8 2017, 08:26 PM
916 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(ijoke23 @ Oct 8 2017, 08:04 PM) Just got back from jetta test drive. Now got 5 years free service. Very tempting. But ride is very stiff. Plus cushion is hard. Not comfy for me I have Elantra Sport, it is stiff too. I've been in Focus, Fiesta, A250, 525, C200, E300, Mazda3, all of them tuned to have firmer ride at various extend.Depends on your travel type. You will enjoy and apprciate the extra stability on highway. It go through the big bump without the extra swing like in Vios or Altis. But on small bum, or rattle road you get very obvious small vibration. Eg: highway northbound at Ipoh downhill, those red bumps. This post has been edited by constant_weight: Oct 8 2017, 08:29 PM |
Oct 8 2017, 08:56 PM
0 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Oct 8 2017, 08:26 PM) I have Elantra Sport, it is stiff too. I've been in Focus, Fiesta, A250, 525, C200, E300, Mazda3, all of them tuned to have firmer ride at various extend. Yesterday just test drove an elantra. And it is not as stiff. Maybe the cusion seat is not as hard as the jetta. But i have to say both have good torqueDepends on your travel type. You will enjoy and apprciate the extra stability on highway. It go through the big bump without the extra swing like in Vios or Altis. But on small bum, or rattle road you get very obvious small vibration. Eg: highway northbound at Ipoh downhill, those red bumps. |
Oct 8 2017, 09:18 PM
Oct 8 2017, 09:22 PM
2,801 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Darul Aman |
Oct 8 2017, 09:41 PM
Oct 8 2017, 10:18 PM
2,921 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/PJ/KL |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 08:09 AM) Guys, TS, I drive a 2012 Jetta, twincharged. Done 125k km so far, as a daily driver, family car. Done traffic jams, high speed runs, cross border to Singapore, Thailand etc.VW is doing promo as followed am looking for a family car/suv in the range of 120k, would any current jetta owners share their experience so far? my priority is on car safety and realiablity; next is nvh. Consider myself lucky that I have never had to call for a tow truck. Major issues so far changed under warranty: 1. 2x clutch change. After having it changed to the latest revision, so far so good. This would cost about RM18xx outside. 2. Water pump change recently. This would cost RM19xx at SC, RM1200 outside, RM600 for OEM waterpump (non-VW branded). 3. Radiator. This would cost about RM550 outside, OEM part. Spare parts are generally higher than Honda/Toyota, cheaper than premium German makes. Servicing, like for all other brands, are cheaper outside if you go to the many VW specialist workshops. The 5 years free servicing would be very much helpful to your wallet. Personally, if you ask me, the biggest issue would be having ready-stock of *affordable* body parts in case you get into an accident and you don't want to claim insurance (if it's your fault). This is where Japanese/Korean/Malaysian brands tend to be better. Yes, the suspension isn't too comfy, and the seats are firm. But I love driving it, my family and in-laws don't complain. We travel safely where we want to go, it's stable. NVH is quite good, with Michelin PS4 on the original 205/55 R16 size. The boot is huge, the seats fold down (Civic doesn't fold down). I also have a spare car when I need to go in for warranty replacements, or I use Grab/Uber then. Considering the VW SC is walking distance to my office, it's ok la. I guess the Malay peribahasa is suitable here, ukur baju di badan sendiri. Everyone has different usage/lifestyle, see if it works best for you compared to all other choices available. Btw, my understanding is that the new 1.4+DSG is much more reliable, smoother and fuel efficient. My personal opinion on the current available choices in the market: 1. Civic turbo - top choice, but apparently not 100% bulletproof in terms of reliability. The variable engine oil change thingy makes me think twice. 2. Altis - very smooth, very comfy. Only if that is your cup of tea. 3. Jetta - if you don't mind the potential poor RV and everything else I mentioned above, worth considering. 4. Elantra - never test drove it, just checked it out in showroom. doesn't really interest me. 5. Cerato - as per Elantra, but affordable though 6. Peugeot 408 - personally not keen 7. Renault Fluence - also not too keen, but heard some good things about it do your homework well and hope you make the best decision for yourself This post has been edited by ADJ: Oct 8 2017, 10:24 PM |
Oct 9 2017, 07:29 AM
Oct 9 2017, 07:31 AM
QUOTE(ADJ @ Oct 8 2017, 10:18 PM) TS, I drive a 2012 Jetta, twincharged. Done 125k km so far, as a daily driver, family car. Done traffic jams, high speed runs, cross border to Singapore, Thailand etc. Many thanks for your detailed first hand experience. Much appreciated.Consider myself lucky that I have never had to call for a tow truck. Major issues so far changed under warranty: 1. 2x clutch change. After having it changed to the latest revision, so far so good. This would cost about RM18xx outside. 2. Water pump change recently. This would cost RM19xx at SC, RM1200 outside, RM600 for OEM waterpump (non-VW branded). 3. Radiator. This would cost about RM550 outside, OEM part. Spare parts are generally higher than Honda/Toyota, cheaper than premium German makes. Servicing, like for all other brands, are cheaper outside if you go to the many VW specialist workshops. The 5 years free servicing would be very much helpful to your wallet. Personally, if you ask me, the biggest issue would be having ready-stock of *affordable* body parts in case you get into an accident and you don't want to claim insurance (if it's your fault). This is where Japanese/Korean/Malaysian brands tend to be better. Yes, the suspension isn't too comfy, and the seats are firm. But I love driving it, my family and in-laws don't complain. We travel safely where we want to go, it's stable. NVH is quite good, with Michelin PS4 on the original 205/55 R16 size. The boot is huge, the seats fold down (Civic doesn't fold down). I also have a spare car when I need to go in for warranty replacements, or I use Grab/Uber then. Considering the VW SC is walking distance to my office, it's ok la. I guess the Malay peribahasa is suitable here, ukur baju di badan sendiri. Everyone has different usage/lifestyle, see if it works best for you compared to all other choices available. Btw, my understanding is that the new 1.4+DSG is much more reliable, smoother and fuel efficient. My personal opinion on the current available choices in the market: 1. Civic turbo - top choice, but apparently not 100% bulletproof in terms of reliability. The variable engine oil change thingy makes me think twice. 2. Altis - very smooth, very comfy. Only if that is your cup of tea. 3. Jetta - if you don't mind the potential poor RV and everything else I mentioned above, worth considering. 4. Elantra - never test drove it, just checked it out in showroom. doesn't really interest me. 5. Cerato - as per Elantra, but affordable though 6. Peugeot 408 - personally not keen 7. Renault Fluence - also not too keen, but heard some good things about it do your homework well and hope you make the best decision for yourself For me, wear and tear is ok, as long as I dont get stranded middle in the night or in the nowhere without any warning; or forced to take EL to go SC fix car. |
Oct 9 2017, 08:59 AM
2,921 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh/PJ/KL |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 9 2017, 07:31 AM) Many thanks for your detailed first hand experience. Much appreciated. Well, with the newer Jetta, again my understanding is that the potential risk is lower but not zero.For me, wear and tear is ok, as long as I dont get stranded middle in the night or in the nowhere without any warning; or forced to take EL to go SC fix car. For my twincharged unit, a component in the water pump failed. This was connected to the supercharger, so my supercharger also refused to work (supercharger itself was fine, just that it would not engage). So it drove like a very underpowered 1.4 NA. After that the turbocharger would not kick in either. Car could still drive though. I had just left my office, so went straight to VW SC, had it diagnosed and left it there for 4 working days, claimed the water pump under warranty, changed a belt and coolant. Now this was unscheduled. I was due to go for a long distance drive the weekend after and if this happened then, I would be in deep trouble. Thing is, there was no prior warning for this, no tell tale signs, no symptoms. It just failed. Remember I mentioned my radiator was changed? That was about in year 2 or 3 of ownership. I’ve never experienced a radiator leak during this kind of ownership period with other cars and there are others who had the same thing too. Tbh I did test drive the Civic turbo and even the new CX-5 diesel, both felt it lacked certain “something”, especially after I went back to my car - that solid German feel. Some people cannot tahan and just get rid of their ride. Initially, I wanted to the same, but due to the RV, I’m still driving it. I’ve spent quite abit at this 5th year to fix up some wear and tear parts, it still drives magnificently. I love my ride, and I’m willing to take the risks that come together as part of the ownership experience. Now it’s for you to decide whether it applies to you too. |
Oct 9 2017, 09:17 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
Someone said, to have a VW you need at least enough cash to buy BMW 3 series..
As for family car, better takes honda or Toyota as more reliable and the maintenance is a lot cheaper too (VW also very particular about service timing iinm).. |
Oct 9 2017, 09:21 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
QUOTE(ADJ @ Oct 9 2017, 08:59 AM) Well, with the newer Jetta, again my understanding is that the potential risk is lower but not zero. Yeah i know the feeling.. if its drive so good that u even dont care how much it cost on how to take care of it.. heheFor my twincharged unit, a component in the water pump failed. This was connected to the supercharger, so my supercharger also refused to work (supercharger itself was fine, just that it would not engage). So it drove like a very underpowered 1.4 NA. After that the turbocharger would not kick in either. Car could still drive though. I had just left my office, so went straight to VW SC, had it diagnosed and left it there for 4 working days, claimed the water pump under warranty, changed a belt and coolant. Now this was unscheduled. I was due to go for a long distance drive the weekend after and if this happened then, I would be in deep trouble. Thing is, there was no prior warning for this, no tell tale signs, no symptoms. It just failed. Remember I mentioned my radiator was changed? That was about in year 2 or 3 of ownership. I’ve never experienced a radiator leak during this kind of ownership period with other cars and there are others who had the same thing too. Tbh I did test drive the Civic turbo and even the new CX-5 diesel, both felt it lacked certain “something”, especially after I went back to my car - that solid German feel. Some people cannot tahan and just get rid of their ride. Initially, I wanted to the same, but due to the RV, I’m still driving it. I’ve spent quite abit at this 5th year to fix up some wear and tear parts, it still drives magnificently. I love my ride, and I’m willing to take the risks that come together as part of the ownership experience. Now it’s for you to decide whether it applies to you too. Some people do love that kind of car.. me too, but i kinda regret after sell the car just to get good RV, good FC and cheap price for maintenance.. well we just need to know when we need to step back a little bit to jump to even higher goal.. |
Oct 9 2017, 09:30 AM
Oct 9 2017, 09:48 AM
1,275 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(amad108 @ Oct 9 2017, 09:17 AM) Someone said, to have a VW you need at least enough cash to buy BMW 3 series.. So if I buy vento 70-80k I will need 170k cash ?As for family car, better takes honda or Toyota as more reliable and the maintenance is a lot cheaper too (VW also very particular about service timing iinm).. |
Oct 9 2017, 12:26 PM
Oct 9 2017, 05:43 PM
TS have you test drive the jetta?
Oct 10 2017, 02:26 PM
698 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(khanninah @ Oct 10 2017, 02:02 PM) As i mentioned earlier, the figure i gave excluded the wear and tear replacement parts. If u want to include all of those detail parts in, might as well include the tires, road tax, insurance, timing belt if any, fan motor, wiper blade, AC fan belt, alternator and etc and etc too lol. FYI, most will not follow owner's manual after warranty period. And last but not the least who the hell knows what will break down in the coming years lol. Just get a car you are happy with and comfortable with the yearly expenses. The rest will follow naturally. |
Jan 7 2018, 10:03 AM
4,998 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Is Jetta problems solved?
Jan 7 2018, 11:00 AM
3,575 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kelana Jaya,Selangor/Muar,Johor |
Jan 7 2018, 11:42 AM
Jan 7 2018, 12:24 PM
Jan 7 2018, 01:19 PM
QUOTE(jacobngen87 @ Jan 7 2018, 11:42 AM) I take it as you are not sure and want me to try. In fact I am looking for a used Jetta that is still under warranty in good condition and priced fair.QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 7 2018, 12:24 PM) It's too complicated to answer yes or no. The best I can say is that it is improved over older Jettas but still nowhere near as reliable as Jap cars. VW is higher class than Jap cars? |
Jan 7 2018, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(jasonlim @ Jan 7 2018, 11:00 AM) In your dream It is time to stop the nonsense about dry clutch urban myth. Only higher end model like golf gti cc is using wet clutch Others still using dry clutch Understand the issue, be sensible and stop spreading dry clutch is less reliable that wet clutch - again myth. There issues were 2 issues really. I broken down for you. Read carefully and judge yourself, hope you learn something to day and stop the false myth moving forward. 1) mechatronics failure. This is really small robotic arms to engage/disengage a gear. It is not related to the clutches. Just like when you drive manual car, you disengage your clutch to disconnect engine output to gear box, the shift the gear. Only that in DCT/SMG/DSG, the shifting is done by computer via the mechatronic. Now that the mechatronics problem is resolved, but when it happens it affect both dry and wet clutch. 2) Excessive clutch wear. This is where the urban myth stated by confusing this problem with problem one together as single problem. This is simply due to software logic to handle low speed traffic. The logic doesn't properly handle the stop go traffic and in the half engaged stage for excessive time. Again just like when you drive manual car, try hold your car by engine power (without brake of course) on a hill. Mild throttle, and half release the clutch. Hang on there for 5 min, you will smell your clutch burning. Lastly, this is a matter of software fix by improving the logic. Additional knowledge - Then why do we have dry and wet clutch? Each gear box is designed to handle a maximum torque, no matter manual/conventional auto/dual clutch. If engine torque exceed the gearbox rating, the clutch(s) slip. Wet clutch can handle higher torque by dissipating heat via the fluid that covering the clutches, generally wet clutch dual clutch designed for torque over 400nm. So it doesn't make sense to put wet clutch in every car, and further more dry clutch have less resistance and provide better fuel economy. This post has been edited by constant_weight: Jan 7 2018, 03:01 PM |
Jan 7 2018, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jan 7 2018, 03:01 PM) It is time to stop the nonsense about dry clutch urban myth. It doesn't matter that dry clutches have improved. The widespread dry clutch DSG failure a few years ago have forever emblazoned in the public's mind that dry clutches are unreliable.Understand the issue, be sensible and stop spreading dry clutch is less reliable that wet clutch - again myth. |
Jan 7 2018, 08:51 PM
1,709 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kedah Khap Khoun Khap (4K) |
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 7 2018, 08:21 PM) It doesn't matter that dry clutches have improved. The widespread dry clutch DSG failure a few years ago have forever emblazoned in the public's mind that dry clutches are unreliable. which came to conclusion that, STAY AWAY from VW cars.Not last time, not now and definitely not later. am i right? |
Jan 7 2018, 08:52 PM
555 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Bolehland |
in the world of consumerism, perception trumps facts and dictates value
Jan 7 2018, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 7 2018, 08:21 PM) It doesn't matter that dry clutches have improved. The widespread dry clutch DSG failure a few years ago have forever emblazoned in the public's mind that dry clutches are unreliable. That's makes you a car enthusiast even more important, which is to share the right info and teach normal people the correct information and technical knowledge. Do your best to correct this twisted misleading information, no only on the forums but also teach the uncles/aunties in the family. |
Jan 7 2018, 11:27 PM
763 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Then why the Tiguan was fitted with a wet clutch instead of the dry one? Why would VM highlight this in the marketing materials?
Jan 7 2018, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jan 7 2018, 03:01 PM) It is time to stop the nonsense about dry clutch urban myth. Your explanation seem to highlight that those items are as wear n tear, ie mechatronics, clutch etc. However there are many vw owner do suffer of the dsg problem at most vw model. After several years, vw Malaysia come out with new solutions for both dry and wet clutch dsg, ie with using mineral oil in the dsg gb. Up until now, there is no prove that this solutions will prevent any problem arise in future related with the dsg. Correct me if im wrong. Understand the issue, be sensible and stop spreading dry clutch is less reliable that wet clutch - again myth. There issues were 2 issues really. I broken down for you. Read carefully and judge yourself, hope you learn something to day and stop the false myth moving forward. 1) mechatronics failure. This is really small robotic arms to engage/disengage a gear. It is not related to the clutches. Just like when you drive manual car, you disengage your clutch to disconnect engine output to gear box, the shift the gear. Only that in DCT/SMG/DSG, the shifting is done by computer via the mechatronic. Now that the mechatronics problem is resolved, but when it happens it affect both dry and wet clutch. 2) Excessive clutch wear. This is where the urban myth stated by confusing this problem with problem one together as single problem. This is simply due to software logic to handle low speed traffic. The logic doesn't properly handle the stop go traffic and in the half engaged stage for excessive time. Again just like when you drive manual car, try hold your car by engine power (without brake of course) on a hill. Mild throttle, and half release the clutch. Hang on there for 5 min, you will smell your clutch burning. Lastly, this is a matter of software fix by improving the logic. Additional knowledge - Then why do we have dry and wet clutch? Each gear box is designed to handle a maximum torque, no matter manual/conventional auto/dual clutch. If engine torque exceed the gearbox rating, the clutch(s) slip. Wet clutch can handle higher torque by dissipating heat via the fluid that covering the clutches, generally wet clutch dual clutch designed for torque over 400nm. So it doesn't make sense to put wet clutch in every car, and further more dry clutch have less resistance and provide better fuel economy. The VW in China do give 10 years warranty for the gb. Here it still 5 years. |
Jan 8 2018, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jan 7 2018, 09:12 PM) That's makes you a car enthusiast even more important, which is to share the right info and teach normal people the correct information and technical knowledge. Do your best to correct this twisted misleading information, no only on the forums but also teach the uncles/aunties in the family. It is not anybody's job except VW's to educate and change consumers' perception of dry clutch DSG. Unfortunately perception sticks like Proton's infamous power windows failure. Proton fought against the perception and finally had to give very long warranty for the power windows to convince consumers. VW should do the same instead of keep mouthing that the DSG problems have been solved which won't convince consumers. |
Jan 8 2018, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 8 2018, 12:12 PM) It is not anybody's job except VW's to educate and change consumers' perception of dry clutch DSG. Unfortunately perception sticks like Proton's infamous power windows failure. Proton fought against the perception and finally had to give very long warranty for the power windows to convince consumers. VW should do the same instead of keep mouthing that the DSG problems have been solved which won't convince consumers. Not sure if it perception as there are vw owner from fb group sharing the famous DSG light up within the warranty period. Yes it is covered under warranty, averagely need 3 days at sc, foc all. But will the problem repeated in future? Yes. Based on the owner sharing. Is there any bullet prove solutions for the dsg, no so far from what i read |
Jan 8 2018, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jan 8 2018, 12:12 PM) It is not anybody's job except VW's to educate and change consumers' perception of dry clutch DSG. Unfortunately perception sticks like Proton's infamous power windows failure. Proton fought against the perception and finally had to give very long warranty for the power windows to convince consumers. VW should do the same instead of keep mouthing that the DSG problems have been solved which won't convince consumers. China VW give 10 years warranty for the DSG. Hopefully ours VW can give the same duration. Else we have to spend own money to replace the famous dsg parts |
Jan 8 2018, 04:15 PM
Besides the engine and dsg, anything else to worry about?
Jan 8 2018, 09:55 PM
473 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
Jan 8 2018, 10:39 PM
Jan 8 2018, 10:51 PM
1,526 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Jan 9 2018, 08:29 AM
Googled a bit this morning. This youtube link shook me a bit.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXEVuXLwMcs |
Jan 9 2018, 08:31 AM
314 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: shaiberrjaiyezz |
kalau anak 3 baik amik mpv 7 seater...budak tak gaduh nk tido... 2 anak boleh lagi la kereta biasa
Jan 9 2018, 09:01 AM
20 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(tampinmy @ Oct 4 2017, 10:13 AM) From my experience thus far with the Altis, the pricing is not accurate as there are some additional items not included.Eg. Air cond servicing (every 20k if i'm not mistaken), CVT ATF fluid change (which we should do every 30-40kkm max.. Toyota service ctr says it never needs changing (which is plain weird and BS imho)) Average i would say at ~RM700 per service (with fully sync oil) for every 10kkm when you average it over a few years. In terms of any issues.. none thus far over the past 2+years. Only had the car battery changed recently as it died. If you priority is safety, then Jetta is a good one. Reliability.. well as everyone says (they can't be all wrong right) |
Jan 9 2018, 03:20 PM
1,765 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Buying a VW Jetta is for the young and the fearless. For road warriors who know what they are getting into but are willing to put up with its unreliability and idiosyncrasies for the sake of driving pleasure. They are people who grab life by the throat and live it to the full. And when the years have flown they can tell their grandchildren, "I owned a Jetta and survived!"
Jan 10 2018, 12:01 AM
Jan 12 2018, 12:25 AM
4,954 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Jan 12 2018, 01:51 AM
Mar 25 2018, 12:07 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2016 |
QUOTE(lkoky @ Oct 3 2017, 06:04 PM) hmm... not really about look. more on safety. Kia is a good car and it's ok just people's perception on the car...but I had a bad experience on the car so i can't commentI am aware on the bad perception on the VW serive and reliability, but wonder whether are they overblown or just a bad image carry from old model with gearbox problem. Its just like my last ride, KIA. Before I bought, everyone warned about the realiability and low quality etc. But my KIA served me fine and reliably for 6y, maybe I am lucky. |
Mar 25 2018, 12:09 PM
0 posts Joined: May 2016 |
QUOTE(KennyKB @ Jan 9 2018, 03:20 PM) Buying a VW Jetta is for the young and the fearless. For road warriors who know what they are getting into but are willing to put up with its unreliability and idiosyncrasies for the sake of driving pleasure. They are people who grab life by the throat and live it to the full. And when the years have flown they can tell their grandchildren, "I owned a Jetta and survived!" Sorry sir i don't quite understand is jetta such a big deal? I tested both jetta and b7 and the acceleration was nothing to shout about...the B8 not sure |
May 26 2018, 06:54 PM
942 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
jetta ? jedi?
any comment for new batch owner? are they using wet clutch 6 now? |
| Change to: | 0.0627sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:11 AM |