VW Jetta as family car
TSlkoky
Oct 4 2017, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 3 2017, 10:13 PM) Actually, if you don't mind the uncle car perception, you can also check out Renault Fluence. The engine & gearbox is taken from the previous Nissan Sylphy. So, no reliability issues. You can check out their owners' forum. Almost no problem at all. It has the safety, decent driving dynamics & space. Also price is cheap due to discount. Cool, definitely will check this out. This brand totally out of radar previously, cause so low present here.
awiekupo
Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM
This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. QUOTE(mozact89 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM) Im owner of 2014 jetta.. twincharge engine.. dq200 dry clutch gearbox.. current mileage 93k.. so far claim warranty for change clutch once, mecha once, coil once.. I can say its pretty reliable.. current my car been use by my wife to travel outstation (Bangi-Jb). I can say 2 weeks once she travel.. she have Alza, but duwan to use. She prefer to drive my Jetta if going oustation. If u talk about new jetta, with single charge engine, actually the maintenance cost is higher than the twincharge engine. Its using timing belt and need to change every 115k(according to book). The cost of changing the timing belt in SC is RM37++.. The highest cost for maintaining twincharge engine in SC is rm1700. (60k service).
After using my jetta for almost 4 years, i would like to say, i never regret buying this car..
jameslow
Oct 4 2017, 07:35 AM

QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM) This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. It's reasonable when major 60k service only cost RM 1700 in SC. German cars cost more than 1k each service, even outside of SC.
amscouzach57
Oct 4 2017, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM) This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. Honda & toyota maintenance cost for major service is also similar. So, what's the fuss?
Ginny88
Oct 4 2017, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 4 2017, 07:44 AM) Honda & toyota maintenance cost for major service is also similar. So, what's the fuss? The fuss is that a car's maintenance is not the regular servicing alone. There are also other costs like breakdown repairs, wear and tear parts, spare parts cost and the cost of time and frustration. Let me give you a hint. Most cars don't require replacing the clutch, mechatronic and coil pack within the first 3 years of ownership. Mechatronic failure comes without warning and will leave you stranded. I'm not saying Japanese cars don't suffer breakdowns but they have a lower probability. If your new Jap car requires a major repair in 3 years you are the exception. If your new Jetta DOESN'T require a major repair in 3 years you are the exception.
Corsair0418
Oct 4 2017, 09:16 AM
new one should be ok, volkswagen is a big company, they will do something about the previous gearbox incident
tampinmy
Oct 4 2017, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Oct 4 2017, 07:44 AM) Honda & toyota maintenance cost for major service is also similar. So, what's the fuss?
jacobngen87
Oct 4 2017, 10:45 AM
https://www.ft.com/content/5ad4eb66-990b-11...52-cde3f882dd7bVolkswagen recently recalled over 5 million cars in China. Not sure if the Volkswagen sold here is made in China
ayamxxx
Oct 4 2017, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(mozact89 @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM) Im owner of 2014 jetta.. twincharge engine.. dq200 dry clutch gearbox.. current mileage 93k.. so far claim warranty for change clutch once, mecha once, coil once.. I can say its pretty reliable.. current my car been use by my wife to travel outstation (Bangi-Jb). I can say 2 weeks once she travel.. she have Alza, but duwan to use. She prefer to drive my Jetta if going oustation. If u talk about new jetta, with single charge engine, actually the maintenance cost is higher than the twincharge engine. Its using timing belt and need to change every 115k(according to book). The cost of changing the timing belt in SC is RM37++.. The highest cost for maintaining twincharge engine in SC is rm1700. (60k service). After using my jetta for almost 4 years, i would like to say, i never regret buying this car.. U check vw malaysia website for 120k major service price. Most model charging starting around 3k above for that mileage services. That if following booklet requirements not include any other wear and tear parts should require during that 120k km. Then there’s mechatronic, clutch that is under wear and tear
ayamxxx
Oct 4 2017, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Oct 3 2017, 09:54 PM) Never mind la let them syiok sendiri. look at them LOL Almost 4k at 120k km Attached thumbnail(s)
jacobngen87
Oct 4 2017, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 4 2017, 11:47 AM) Geez.... that's costly especially the Labour cost
Weng Weng
Oct 4 2017, 03:01 PM
I also undecided to buy jetta or not. (Currently driving polo sedan) Those belt or bearing i opt out during service for my polo, i only change when it got some scratches line on it.... For dsg issue, i found this video anyway https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vOEIptAJpyoI asked a fren work in SC about the new mecha failing rate, he said still got a few come in for mecha replacement once in a while, but definitely much more better compare to last time. To be safe get tiguan better as it is 6 speeder (wet clutch)
crumpetss
Oct 4 2017, 03:49 PM
got a polo, the tire blew out under 1 year, 15k km. inspected the tire, inside out kaboom, suspected friction & heat because was driving on highway hotday @ 120 kph, ask for warrenty denied
xswatch
Oct 4 2017, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Corsair0418 @ Oct 4 2017, 09:16 AM) new one should be ok, volkswagen is a big company, they will do something about the previous gearbox incident the wet one should be lesser issue than the dry one. that's why the current promo for passat is like below: passat 1.8 (dry) - rm15k rebate passat 2.0 (wet) - rm0 rebate they want to clear all the dry one asap. i know ts title is jetta, i juat want to highlight the comparison between wet & dry. whatever u do, dont buy any dry one. hehe
amar_arifin
Oct 4 2017, 05:06 PM

how bout KIa cerato...1.6 & 2.0 also nice..and reliable for maintenance.. but interior quite out date ...
mozact89
Oct 4 2017, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(awiekupo @ Oct 4 2017, 07:18 AM) This statement alone is enough reason to look for other models.. unless of course, u have no issue to spend that much just for maintenance. That is standard lor.. most of the 2.0 / 2.4 car maintenance fees is almost like that.. By the way the service interval is 15k 15k - rm5++ 30k - rm7++ 45k - rm5++ 60k - rm1500-1700 Actually there are some item u can buy outside. Pollen filter in SC sell at rm130.. while u can get outside rm50 for the same item. My 90k service cost only rm5++..
nizamz
Oct 4 2017, 07:20 PM

Good family car. Interior very nice and comfy. Exterior also nice.
lawrencesha
Oct 4 2017, 07:22 PM
I've never seen a VW owner (I mean personal friends whom I really know) who don't curse VW.
JunJun04035
Oct 5 2017, 05:44 AM
In the end of the day, it will be about how much you love driving. That's something you can't really put a dollar sign on it. And it is rumoured that, once conti, you never go back. We wait you at the dark side
amscouzach57
Oct 5 2017, 06:05 AM
QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Oct 4 2017, 07:22 PM) I've never seen a VW owner (I mean personal friends whom I really know) who don't curse VW. Unfortunately I have to agree on this one. 8 out of 10 owners you'll meet in Malaysia will kinda have bitter remarks about VW cars This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Oct 5 2017, 06:05 AM