Uber Driver Discussion, Anything about Uber

JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 11:59 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 11:40 AM)
this sunday might be another cun. haha
Yes I'm waiting that. But sure jam like shit. Surprisingly last Sunday not so jam. At least for me la. Received a lot of pings to pick up and drop-off at not so jam areas. If Grab high chance will stuck in jam hotpots because need to maintain 80% AR.
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 12:32 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 12:08 PM)
yeah, Uber not need maintain AR rate but not so low la. but my AR rate is 100%. lolx. because all pick up area nearby. Now grab user more than uber. i always ask riders have they choose uber when using grab they always got the same answer which is uber very slow for pick up, mean too less driver already.

btw, when i using waze as my navigation, new ping coming in i tap to request and see where the location, it auto help me accept. when drop off just can see the new rider pick up location right? unlike crab new ping come i when i tap i still can see the pick up n drop off location before accept the job
After you accept you can see the next rider pick up location.

You go to Uber screen, at the top right, click the hamburger menu. You will see your first rider at the top then you scroll down you will see next rider pick up location.
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 01:05 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Dec 27 2017, 12:29 PM)
Juz don't accept lar, this is nothing new in Uber.
Happened countless times since the beginning of this year.

Don't bother about the AR, care about whether it is profitable or not.
Care about the money in your pocket.

8.4 km pickup, I really wonder how much you can make from it.
Even if it's a 8.4 km trip, I bet you won't make much as well.
8.4km, let's assume take 12 minutes to complete, so fare should be RM11 like that. After minus commission only get around RM8.

Pickup plus drop off about 17km. But get RM8 only before minus petrol. Assume FC is 14km/l. After minus petrol only get less than RM5.

Haiya.. "Don't accept" is something very hard for Grab drivers to understand.
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 04:31 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 04:07 PM)
any concern if CR too high?
On that week I was chasing Ace, my CR almost 30%.

Uber calculate CR as the average of the last 7 days.

So after a while I didn't drive, my CR was over 50%. That means the last few days I drive Ace, I cancelled a lot. But since I didn't online after that, I guess Uber give me leeway?

Yesterday I didn't cancel much. Majority of the pick up locations was nearby. So now CR below 20%.

JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 04:34 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 02:00 PM)
Yeah i know about this. but we cant see the pick up location prior we accept right? if too far the our CR will be high also
It's good then that Uber pick up distance estimations usually accurate.

When I was trying to hit Ace target, I cancelled if the pick up location was outside my comfort zone and if the rider name like mapren. Hahaha, racist...
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 04:34 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Dec 27 2017, 01:55 PM)
Before that, ublur would suspend me for 5 min if I rejected 3 consecutive pings. Not anymore.

Maybe they know they don't have enough drivers...
Yes they know.

That day I received the most ridiculous ping I ever received. Pick up disntace 25km. ETA 15 min. Their head la. ETA is never.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 27 2017, 04:36 PM
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 05:16 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 05:09 PM)
Normally wont cancel la, if pick up distance really too far just will cancel. if receive already only can see the pick up distance how far by open waze. the hamburger there just only can see pick up location but not distance also right? dry.gif
Have to know where is the pick-up location based on experience lo.

This is the funny thing about Uber. Sometimes pick up distance means the distance from your dropoff. But sometimes the system will sot sot and show you the distance from where you currently are, not from your dropoff.

But I think this issue happens more often with Grab.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 27 2017, 05:18 PM
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 05:36 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 05:10 PM)
yeah. that why i like uber most and pick up location always accurate. wont go till holland
My "best" experience with Grab is, ping come in show less than 0.5km from me. But open Waze only I found out, there's no direct road to connect me to the rider. Need to drive more than 7km to reach rider. Sot la. I cancel.

Grab so far behind in terms of technology, it's not even funny. I bet their accounts also mostly manually do wan. That's why so often got error and late. Billion dollar company doing accounts manually.. Hmm...

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 27 2017, 05:39 PM
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 08:25 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 08:13 PM)
Lol. Doing manually? Sure holland one.. got drive Uber today?
Wah.. So sien.. Housemate forgot kunci I have to go open door. Wasting time. Drive to 1.3x Boost area, kena ping from that infamous Bayu Pandan Condo. Have to go down register and shit. Go out also have to go down and take back lesen. The fucking guard tak tolong ambik. Bitch just want to go to LRT station 1km away. No wonder Malaysia got diabetes problem. Luckily the fare still calculated as RM5 like that. With Boost get RM6. Still bullshit though.

Map all white again... Sien.. Install Grab and see... Now need to go pangsai.
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 10:01 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 08:54 PM)
I saw grab map also white and fare not good. Have you driving tonight?

Where is that condo located? That why she not dare book grab. Sure kena reject. Haha
Ampang.

I tried Grab and immediately I headache. Red color on map bullshit wan. RM6 high price. Fucking shit.

Pickup at times square. I press I'm Here, rider immediately message me, "1 min." 1 minute your head, i can't park at the entrance. Have to go drive up and park like asshole at the side and block an entrance for taxi. Luckily nothing happened. 6 minutes plus only the rider show up. If Uber I cancel already lo.

Haih.. Such a slow few nights. I type this while still online on Uber but no pings also.
JohnL77
post Dec 27 2017, 11:03 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 27 2017, 10:05 PM)
Not sure want online or not. I am at sunway here.. haha..
I see map all white white one..
Don't online la. Unless you really bored nothing to do at home.

Surprisingly so many people managed to apply leave for one whole week. Feels like Chinese New Year, man.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Dec 27 2017, 11:05 PM
JohnL77
post Dec 28 2017, 12:56 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 28 2017, 12:50 AM)
Every year end after Christmas week also many people on leave. How your driving today? Keep got ping?
Got ping but slow a bit . Pickup distance very near. But no fucking surge.

Haih.. At least can cover my meals la..

And take this special opportunity to learn the roads in KL a bit.
JohnL77
post Dec 28 2017, 03:12 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 28 2017, 01:17 AM)
You drive morning and evening no jam? Drop off near also? But I think you can done the quest for this week right? 15 trips RM35?
No I drove at night. Just got home from a really far trip. The passenger also know I will empty car home so he give RM20 tips. Awesome guy.

Every driver will get different quest. The problem with Uber is, you achieve more quest, they will give you worse and worse rewards.

2 weeks ago I got 12 trips get RM95. This week 27 trips get RM40. Eat shit la, I will not complete it.

JohnL77
post Dec 28 2017, 01:54 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(S0hLiang @ Dec 28 2017, 11:35 AM)
They never give me good quest to meet before. Sad.

Wow, where your passenger go to? Klang?
Ya.
JohnL77
post Dec 28 2017, 09:12 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 28 2017, 05:37 PM)
That SD is abused by those drivers who under ACE incentive, let say they set target at UM and keep playing around that area to get higher amount of short trips.

Uber discover that and turn off SD function to prevent abuse, indirectly u all buta buta kena lor.

Nowadays i realize on peak hour without surge, Uber is cheaper than Grab, while non-peak hour, Uber is more expensive than Grab after the price revision.
Abuse? Most drivers can only use SD 2 times a day. How to abuse? Now no more Ace still cannot use SD.
JohnL77
post Jan 5 2018, 05:22 PM

1,887 posts

Ace will be back.

But it doesn't look good.

Highest tier only get RM12 net of commissions/per trip. 13 sen less than before.

And the top-up is capped at a maximum of 30%. So no point getting super tiny ikan bilis trips.

And have to complete 170 trips to qualify for the highest tier! Die lo.

https://www.uber.com/ms-MY/blog/kuala-lumpu...ebih-konsisten/

I see the table also want to cry. Old Ace Program is better.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Jan 5 2018, 05:50 PM
JohnL77
post Jan 6 2018, 01:09 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Versy_CK @ Jan 6 2018, 11:04 AM)
I believe many 150-achievers and UBER has to top off beyond their predicted sum to drivers, hence now capping to max 30% top off.
IMO.. 150 is doable in 5 days (but need 12+ per day), 170 is A LOT (it takes at least 6 days with long driving hours each day).. and 200??? equivalent 90-100 hours per week.. ki siao meh?
Sorry to hear you didn't get 2nd time.
Who received message that they are in Ace next week?

So far no news for me.
JohnL77
post Jan 6 2018, 08:10 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Versy_CK @ Jan 6 2018, 07:48 PM)
Aku. Got it 2/3 days ago.
That means I didn't get...
JohnL77
post Jan 6 2018, 08:19 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Jan 6 2018, 01:04 PM)
30% max top-up is the catch.

Assuming per trip average is abt rm5 (all short trips), you won't get much from top-up. In fact, after top-up is only about rm6-7 per trip.

Uber is smart, they don't want you to choose all short trips only. And if you accept every trip regardless of distance, it's not easy to maintain 30 trips per day everyday.
The way I see it, the only way to beat the system and keep mileage down is to go to Boost and Surge area. Because Uber will still top up 30% on top of your Boost and Surge earnings.

But go to Boost and Surge area confirm die. Sure jam like shit.

In other words, Uber wants to prevent us target no jam area and no jam times.

The other problem is, since Christmas, Uber hardly got any Surge at all.

A lot of drivers complaining Uber and Grab very slow demand since New Year.

I wonder if it's even possible to hit 170 trips a week?

Later end up like me and my experience trying Ace last time. Left 20 trips to reach the next tier on Saturday, then Sunday completely fail, can't hit target, do charity trip for Uber.
JohnL77
post Jan 6 2018, 11:23 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 6 2018, 10:13 PM)
I have been driving Uber for about a year, but joined Grab recently. Here is my initial impression of Grab in comparison with Uber, which some of you may find helpful.

Grab's base fare is RM5.
Not sure of Uber's base fare, but I had some trips of which my earnings - after deducting Uber fee - were RM2.xx.

However, during peak hours when traffic is heavy, Grab's fares seem to be lower.
It is frustrating that, after being stuck in jam for an hour, the fare I got (before commission), is just about RM10.

Grab assigns a rider to the nearest driver.
So, as drivers, we need to know where the potential riders are, and get as close to them as possible.
An Uber driver can get request even when he/she is not the nearest to the rider.
I think there are pros and cons of each algorithm.

More Grab riders are smokers or vapers.
1. Uber has increased their fares. Minimum fare now RM3. You are confusing base fare with minimum fee.

3. More and more Grab drivers are complaining that pick up distance getting further. In face one driver said CS told him that Grab purposely give further pick up distance to drivers so that they earn less incentives.

Uber you can choose your pick up distance. Too far just ignore.

4. More Grab riders are manual laborers who get into your car after a stinky day of work.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1815sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:00 PM