AirBnB, Anyone do/did aBnB? good bad? pls share

gugukrez
post Jun 21 2018, 04:22 PM

943 posts

QUOTE(Downfour @ Jun 21 2018, 04:15 PM)
Hi sifu, i planning to host my unit condo as airbnb, How to manage to pass and collect key to the tenant if u are not always available for doing these?

And the cleaning service, how to get cleaner to clean the house after the tenant move out?
1) get someone to help with commission (best is your neighbour)
2) if you stay in condo.. there is cleaner.. you can call them..RM 10 per hours.
gooberhock
post Jun 21 2018, 04:31 PM

396 posts

What if all of a sudden the condo where you operate your airbnb, decides to ban such activities. I believe it has already happened in a few condos. Then the operator would be stuck with a unit that cannot operate as an airbnb.
bigman
post Jun 21 2018, 04:31 PM

4,225 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 21 2018, 04:22 PM)
2) if you stay in condo.. there is cleaner.. you can call them..RM 10 per hours.
cakap byk senang....

get complain from neighbor then baru tahu...
jo8981
post Jun 21 2018, 04:50 PM

176 posts

Hi sifu, i planning to host my unit condo as airbnb, How to manage to pass and collect key to the tenant if u are not always available for doing these?

And the cleaning service, how to get cleaner to clean the house after the tenant move out?
Install smart lock...I used igloohome. Can generate password for specific duration remotely and send to guests. No need to worry about guests overstaying because you can set the duration. As for cleaning, find a reliable cleaner in the condo to do the cleaning after each check in. Everything can be done remotely and all u need to do is jz manage inquiries.

PM me if u hv further questions on hosting.
jo8981
post Jun 21 2018, 04:54 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(gooberhock @ Jun 21 2018, 04:31 PM)
What if all of a sudden the condo where you operate your airbnb, decides to ban such activities.  I believe it has already happened in a few condos. Then the operator would be stuck with a unit that cannot operate as an airbnb.
Yeah, even commercial title service apartments also can ban airbnb operation. If the airbnb is for supplementary income then still ok. Entire livelihood depends on it then very risky. Anytime new ruling takes place then full time operators will be the first blood.

Japan's Airbnb offerings evaporate ahead of new regulations
mingyew
post Jun 21 2018, 04:55 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(jo8981 @ Jun 21 2018, 04:54 PM)
Yeah, even commercial title service apartments also can ban airbnb operation. If the airbnb is for supplementary income then still ok. Entire livelihood depends on it then very risky. Anytime new ruling takes place then full time operators will be the first blood.

How you see SoFo for airbnb? legal?
jo8981
post Jun 21 2018, 05:00 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(mingyew @ Jun 21 2018, 04:55 PM)
How you see SoFo for airbnb? legal?
I think SoFo wouldn't be impacted much because they are non HDA. So if yours is SoFo it's probably still ok. Unless govt introduces blanket ban then it's another story la.
HELLO HELLO
post Jun 21 2018, 06:37 PM

5,436 posts

QUOTE(jo8981 @ Jun 21 2018, 04:54 PM)

Japan manyak travelers go. After no need visa. Now Lagi manyak pigi. Also due to strong culture house design and lifestyle. Manyak travelers Suka rent Airbnb at japan rather than hotel.

BEANCOUNTER
post Jun 21 2018, 09:05 PM

20,146 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Jun 21 2018, 06:37 PM)
Japan manyak travelers go. After no need visa. Now Lagi manyak pigi. Also due to strong culture house design and lifestyle. Manyak travelers Suka rent Airbnb at japan rather than hotel.
Obviously u havent been folliowing airbnb.

Japan gov has inposed law so strict that many people just gave up on airbnb.

Basically u need to get a permit and airbnb japan need copy of the permit b4 they allowed u to list.

2/3 of airbnb (i think) wiped out of the market.

But then again malaysia is no where near japan.
BEANCOUNTER
post Jun 21 2018, 09:07 PM

20,146 posts

Easier way is to rent to airbnb operator.
I get fixed rental and they will take charge of renting out and upkeep.
Downfour
post Jun 22 2018, 02:36 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jo8981 @ Jun 21 2018, 04:50 PM)
Install smart lock...I used igloohome. Can generate password for specific duration remotely and send to guests. No need to worry about guests overstaying because you can set the duration. As for cleaning, find a reliable cleaner in the condo to do the cleaning after each check in. Everything can be done remotely and all u need to do is jz manage inquiries.

PM me if u hv further questions on hosting.
If the unit under condo, hard to install the smart lock because tenant must go through the first and second security level on can get the unit gate,right?
Tan&tan
post Jun 22 2018, 02:49 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jun 21 2018, 09:07 PM)
Easier way is to rent to airbnb operator.
I get fixed rental and they will take charge of renting out and upkeep.
Alila a Boss hahaha
Tan&tan
post Jun 22 2018, 02:51 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(gugukrez @ Jun 21 2018, 04:22 PM)
Rm10 per hour for cleaning ? I need 10 bro
jo8981
post Jun 22 2018, 09:45 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Downfour @ Jun 22 2018, 02:36 AM)
If the unit under condo, hard to install the smart lock because tenant must go through the first and second security level on can get the unit gate,right?
Yeah you have to figure out a way to pass the access card to them without having to go meet them. I have stayed in some Airbnbs where you collect the access card in the mailbox. Not the most secure way but...
corleone74
post Jun 22 2018, 10:30 AM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(gooberhock @ Jun 21 2018, 04:31 PM)
What if all of a sudden the condo where you operate your airbnb, decides to ban such activities.  I believe it has already happened in a few condos. Then the operator would be stuck with a unit that cannot operate as an airbnb.
I ask owners to pls don't do airbnb unless your block is the soho or studios type . It is disruptive to other owner occupier, and too many pipu in out like hotel may cause security issue.
corleone74
post Jun 22 2018, 10:33 AM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jun 21 2018, 09:05 PM)

Basically u need to get a permit and airbnb japan need copy of the permit b4 they allowed u to list.

there is also a cap on the number of days per year one can rent out the apartment.

all this legislation is good.

in singapore airbnb is banned.

all these disruptive tech and biz is actually no good for society.

air bnb started out as some kind of cultural exchange, to stay at someone's home and experience culture like a local.

currently, it has devolved into an illegal motel stay operator enabler. this is a no no. Maresia should outlaw it immediately, especially for residential titled properties. if serviced suites under commercial still considered fair play. Imagine your family staying in a nice house in PJ suddenly your neighbour every week got pipu in out in out. a definite no no for me

This post has been edited by corleone74: Jun 22 2018, 10:35 AM
HELLO HELLO
post Jun 22 2018, 12:05 PM

5,436 posts

QUOTE(BEANCOUNTER @ Jun 21 2018, 09:05 PM)

Obviously you never read again.
I knew this news quite some time ago liao liao. I just said it when before the new restrictions law implemented.
findme_pheo88
post Jun 22 2018, 12:34 PM

I did Airbnb a while ago. It was easy to use and I would say quite safe.

great way to earn some extra income. Demand quite good, if your unit has some booster values that would attract people to want to stay there, for example the location or nice interior or if its reasonably priced etc.

manage it well, if you cancel your guest last minute the cancelation fee is very high (probably higher then the rent itself)

get to know your guest well, you can briefly study their background or reviews. Most are linked to their facebook account. you can request for ID and recent photo (airbnb has this feature). Last thing you need is a trashed place or worst stolen items, so study them. Be a good airbnb host, attend to your guest needs (or at least try your best) flex.gif

anyway, downside for me is cleaning up after checkout. that's something to keep in mind. sweat.gif sweat.gif

AskarPerang
post Jun 22 2018, 01:54 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(Downfour @ Jun 22 2018, 02:36 AM)
For most new condo, the system already in place to ease airbnb owner.

At security guardhouse request for drive through to the lobby area / or register as guest first if coming in without vehicle.
Yeah most new condo is Grab/Teksi friendly, pick up drop off at lobby area so no issue.

Then get the keys/access card from the mailbox. most new condo the mailbox area is not secured, i mean is not located behind something that required access card.

This post has been edited by AskarPerang: Jun 22 2018, 02:33 PM
SUSempatTan
post Jun 22 2018, 02:15 PM

1,678 posts

QUOTE(corleone74 @ Jun 22 2018, 10:30 AM)
I ask owners to pls don't do airbnb unless your block is the soho or studios type . It is disruptive to other owner occupier, and too many pipu in out like hotel may cause security issue.
QUOTE(corleone74 @ Jun 22 2018, 10:33 AM)
there is also a cap on the number of days per year one can rent out the apartment.

all this legislation is good.

in singapore airbnb is banned.

all these disruptive tech and biz is actually no good for society.

air bnb started out as some kind of cultural exchange, to stay at someone's home and experience culture like a local.

currently, it has devolved into an illegal motel stay operator enabler. this is a no no. Maresia should outlaw it immediately, especially for residential titled properties. if serviced suites under commercial still considered fair play. Imagine your family staying in a nice house in PJ suddenly your neighbour every week got pipu in out in out. a definite no no for me

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 02:28 PM