65" TV recommendation

Ivan_T
post Sep 13 2017, 03:36 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 13 2017, 12:10 PM)
Thanks, the 65SJ850T is exactly what I bought, I placed my order last Thursday. I bought the +2 years warranty too. Total 4 years warranty.  Is it worth it? Paid another 900 extra.

Didn't get the the Samsung recommended above because I couldn't find any display unit in a few shops I went to.
Good buy, enjoy the great picture from this TV. To me the only limitation on this TV is the peak brightness for SDR and lack of 3D compared to UH series from last year. Additional warranty is actually like buying insurance, it is definitely worth it when you need it.

There is still display set for KS7500, also the new set on 11street is at very reasonable price now. Simply because it is a curved panel, if flat it will have been out of stock for long time.
Ivan_T
post Sep 16 2017, 05:24 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(phoenixxx @ Sep 14 2017, 09:39 PM)
WTF, when you linked this is was 8.8k or something? Today it's 8,280.

I contacted the store (TBC Elektrik) from one of the 11street links. They had listed the price last week around 9.2k. They offered me 8.7k straight, no nego at all. I bought it from them.

Today your link shows 8,280  blink.gif

Something wrong with this TV model?
It is a norm for new TV that the price will just keep dropping. It will stabilized around 7k I believe by early next year when new models come out. This is from online store, so the price will change more than that of the shops. Don't look at the price after you have bought the TV, enjoy it. There are peoples who bought the OLED at 20K, now you can even get it at 11k.

QUOTE(ultraportable @ Sep 15 2017, 09:36 AM)
A guy was selling @ mudah, brand new 7k same model. I went for the LG 65UH770T-5.5K-1 step below yours. HDR10/Dolby Vision. Value for money. 2k extra i wait buy Ultra HD 4K Bluray player. I took Speaker stand from Sony NX series, work great-Dolby/DTS/Dolby ProLogic support. Then Harman Kardon speaker on the tv not bad actually.
Yes for that kind of price, definitely worth it, no TV at this price range has got the HDR10 + Dolby Vision. Just it is a used TV, not under full warranty, beware of the extended warranty as it could be tied to the 1st onwer.

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 15 2017, 09:45 AM)
If you want great picture, you should go for either OLED (which is LG famous for) or QLED (or so called SUHD - Super UHD).

If for normal UHD, LG is not the best I would say. You can read review from Europe or the US. Mostly for LCD the 3 big name is Samsung, Sony, Panasonic. For OLED, LG has headstart and being the big manufacturer of OLED screen, Panasonic and Sony are buying OLED panel from LG. Well, screen is and picture quality is different story  smile.gif
Top selling TVs are all Samsung, Sony and LG, not Panasonic. LG is world no 2 TV makers. LG UHD TVs not receiving very good reviews due to only 1 reason, the IPS panel which has got low native contrast ratio. But overall LG makes good TV.
Ivan_T
post Dec 23 2017, 11:37 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(zennan83 @ Dec 12 2017, 02:17 PM)
Hi guys I'm planning to get 1 of these 65" entry level 4k below:

LG 65UJ630T
SONY 65"KD-65X7000E
SAMSUNG UA65KU6000KXXM
Any sifu here can recommend which 1 the highest vote?

thanks in advance
For me, I won't choose any of these 3, my choice will be Pana EX600k. It's simply more superior than any of these. I have done my analysis and I believe my eye after comparing them side by side.
Ivan_T
post Apr 3 2018, 10:46 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Mar 30 2018, 10:49 AM)
Sony have sold out all ZD9s, I believe all sold off during the anniversary sale. They still have a display set there but they don't want to sell it to me.
The earlier deal is very good since it also came with 5 years warranty.
Z9D is still the best back lit LCD TV that I have seen to date mainly due to the excellent FALD backlighting. Wish I was there to grab the 65" unit at below RM9k. There will be some nice LCD TV coming out this year but the price will be at the level of an OLED.
Ivan_T
post Apr 16 2018, 02:52 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(riken.me @ Apr 15 2018, 10:28 PM)
Sony is selling the display set for the Z9D. The price is slightly higher at RM8,999 with 2 year warranty.
What's your thought about it?
Where is the location of the shop? I will say it still worth consider even though it is a display set, Z9D is the LED TV that I love the most. I have a display set TV with me and it has been working perfectly fine, but do ensure you get 5 years warranty.
Ivan_T
post Apr 17 2018, 07:29 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(jdgobio @ Apr 17 2018, 05:12 PM)
To be honest, I don't think VA panels are stronger than the Oleds. VA panels are easily damaged too from smacking. This is always a risk for parents with kids. I have seen some broken tvs on Mudah due to anak baling something on the tv and really kesian coz the tv is only a few months old.
Haha.. if that is a major concern then get the IPS panel then, my kids throw their hard toys on my LG also no issue. biggrin.gif
Ivan_T
post Apr 18 2018, 04:11 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(cwm3022 @ Apr 18 2018, 02:53 PM)
is LG brand is good for TV?
LG is the world 2nd largest TV manufacturer, just behind Samsung. Of coz it is a strong brand. Whether to buy LG TV or not, it all depends on your requirements and budget. LG LED TV using IPS panel, you need to understand the pros and cons of such panel. LG WebOS is one of the best smart TV OS out there and the TV is quite reliable from my own experience.
Ivan_T
post Apr 18 2018, 04:12 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(saintsoul @ Apr 17 2018, 02:07 AM)
Is it overkill if getting X8500E just for watching astro?
Astro has got HD channels also, you still can appreciate the quality of picture after the 4K upscale.
Normally you won't think of good media player and UHD movies until you have got a good TV.

This post has been edited by Ivan_T: Apr 18 2018, 04:17 PM

0.0994sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:09 AM