Talk about helmets, those are mine. All santai type of helmets. My favourite are bwrn and brooks.
Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
Mar 4 2020, 04:26 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,387 posts Joined: Jun 2011 From: royal town of klang |
Mar 9 2020, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2020, 09:30 AM) last time, i owned ka1606. 349 + IGH like sturmey archer then 50/34t chainring + 12t flywheel pun dah good enough.what i do, i change the rear hub from freewheel to freehub and change front crank 53/39. its good setup. enough for mostly route, accept for flat road. feel not enough gearing so i change to 55/42 crankset. a bit heavy, and good enough gear. problem occur is the rolling feel. still feel not enough rolling compare to 20" 406 after that i sold my trinx ka1606, bought fnhon zephyr 16" frame. i bought 16" 349 wheelset and transfer some parts from my trinx ka1606. im using 53/39 and what i feel, the gearing are enough and feel like 55/42 on 16" 305. ![]() so here an advice. if u had 16" bike and got some clearance on the frame, go for 16" 349 wheelset. the 16" 349 wheelset does have advantages on rolling and some enough gearing but also got some disadvantages. that is 1. not much choices on tyre. the only cheapest tyre u can used is kojak 32mm height. got 25mm height, but that one is joseph kousac price if im not mistaken is around rm250+ for 1 piece 2. tubes are not easy to find like 305 349 tubes are hard to find. and yes u can used back 305 tubes, but need to stretch a bit. 3. compactness the 349 wheelset are bigger than 305. if u want compact, then 349 are not a good choice if u had money to upgrade and modified, go straight to 349 wheelset. need some modification on the brakes. other than that u good to go! i had spend some amount of money to experiment the best gearing for 16". dont compare internal hub gearing, coz im not that expert event to service the gearhub. thats why i adopt the external gearing system. oh ya, do you know that brompton also used 48t crankset on 349 wheels? btw through right and good setup a 349 wheelset can always keep up with 406.my 349 paired with sturmey archer 5 speed + 50/34 + 14t flywheel.effortlessly can maintain 25kmj average. |
Mar 12 2020, 08:11 AM
Mar 13 2020, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 13 2020, 07:59 AM) im using GS series. but even though im using good grips, the purpose of wearing glove are not only for absorb vibration but it also help u absorb sweat and also protect u if u got an accident. long distance kayuh pakai la..kayuh taman what for? unlike bujal bujal is taiko and strong leg. kayuh also dont have sweat btw ergon grips are easily stained by sweats.so gloves are necessary i guess. |
Apr 27 2020, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(imnotabot @ Apr 26 2020, 07:19 PM) Anyone has experience with delivery of folding bike via Poslaju? I'm planning to sell my 16-inch folding bike (for size comparison, it's small enough to fit inside IKEA DIMPA bag), but since it's MCO now, I can't do COD. Can you guys share: Bubble wrap > dimpa beg > a box > cling wrap > fragile and this side up sticker.- How much it usually cost? - How reliable is it? I'm worried the bike will get damaged in transit. - How do I properly package the bike? Lots of bubble wrap? And where can I get these boxes and bubble wrap now during MCO? The cost is going to be volumetric instead by weight. Around rm40-rm60. Depends on courier. If you dont have bubble wrap just layer it with lots of hard box pieces. To avoid accidentally damages make sure to took out the pedals. Box just go to any 99 speedmart or groceries. You can ask to buy but normally foc. Within 20-30km you can always opt for grab delivery. My friend send me his 2 foldies from Puncak alam to port klang for only rm35. This post has been edited by Bujal.x: Apr 27 2020, 01:23 AM |
Jun 9 2020, 04:10 PM
My latest project. Since got lots of leftover parts from previous project (including impulsive buying lol), i have decided to start on hybrid project (or as i prefer as syok sendiri) combining folding + minivelo + gravel bike. The bike is Doppelganger 260 parceiro which i bought for rm600 from a seller badef in Johor. Originally it was 7 speed with bullhorn handlebar. Once arrived the project took place right away. Mtb handlebar 50t chainring 9 speed shimano altus rd with shimano alivio shifter 11-42t cassete Maxxis torch 20x1.95 tanwall tires Brooks saddle Brooks grips Foldable pedals Adjustable stem riser Sealed bearing loud hub wheelset Among the parts listed i only spent less than rm300 for cassete + rd and bottom bracket. On paper its not really a gravel bike but with big cassete and maxxis tires at least the feel is there. Test ride last weekend on short route from Kapar to pantai remis. Had a chance to test it on gravel Road and im more than happy with the outcome. Thanks to the comfy wheels. Better than my previous schwalbe big apple imho. Need some tuning on the shifting (skipping between 8th and 7th gears). Next change will be dropbar with STI shifters. This post has been edited by Bujal.x: Jun 9 2020, 04:16 PM |
Jun 22 2020, 02:29 PM
Jun 24 2020, 08:26 AM
Jun 29 2020, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jun 27 2020, 09:36 PM) Thanks for the recommendation, 53t on 305 cadence not like hamster on a wheel? seems like too small..I already got 53t crankset and 9speed system (tiagra) upgraded previously last few year. I thinking to upgrade the wheelset too, previously upgraded rear hub to novatec but maintain the standard wheel, not sure whether it can clear 349 wheel? Since u have ka1606 before ,do u think 349 wheel will clear ka1606 frame? Ya, actually the handle post don't have any issue. |
Jun 29 2020, 02:04 PM
Feb 16 2021, 11:49 AM
Apr 16 2021, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Apr 16 2021, 01:49 PM) if i say 42T will you have a try? 42t not overkill ka?see, you think you feel more comfortable if you have 14T, means 11,12,13 are heavy for your comfortness. you prefer to have 14T to 17T close ratio because the gear inches is around 65 to 80, that's most people comfort gear inches too on cruising. in order to ride in the 11,12,13 close ratio range, you really need downsize chainring to 42T. not sure if you could get 42T easily or not but most 42T is from 52T/42T dual chainrings. i do have a 41T single chainring, because i can't get 42T so i bought this. my 15kg minivelo 406 x 2.3 with 46t chainring cruising with 11,12,13t pun feel so light already |
| Change to: | 0.1241sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:02 PM |