Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

Bujal.x
post Mar 18 2019, 09:21 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

start cycling last year and cant stop ever since.A ride around the taman at first and tau2 finished audax 200 with 22er.one will never enough when youre addicted.(i blame the poison sprayed by fellow foldies biggrin.gif )currently have 5 folding bikes to serve different purpose :

brigestone one touch picnica (14er) : an add on as collector edition as it hard to find one.just for fun ride 5km-25km.

brompton (16er -349): daily commute to work ,light touring and fun ride

polygon urbano 1.0 (16er-305) : new toys.plan to upgrade to 349 with racing setup (56t chainring/kojak/dropbar/9 speed)

dahon boardwalk (20er) : touring with loads

fnhon blast (22er) : for when fellow rb fens ask join kayuh (not really fast but still can keep up with the pace under 30kmj)
Bujal.x
post Mar 18 2019, 10:14 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 18 2019, 09:50 AM)
Thanks guys for the feedback.

Btw, how about the chain ring? Most foldie with 1 chain ring. Is that standard for foldie to have 1 chainring?
most 20er folding bike comes with 52t single chainring and 12-32 cassete.good enough for beginner but for long distance and long dragonback climbing, a double chainring setup like 53/39 or 52/36t will help a lot
Bujal.x
post Mar 18 2019, 03:12 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 18 2019, 01:45 PM)
I see. If let say I buy X11 or X10 or P18 or something, can I upgrade the chainring to have 2 such as 52/36 and upgrade the cassette from 9 or 10 to 11 speed? It willl be a lot of thing to change on RB but not too sure on the foldie.
Tern X and P series considered as their Flagship model. theres nothing much to change since the setup is good enough for flat road and climbing.unless youre talking about their entry level model such as B and C series then an upgrade for dual chainring is necessary if youre thinking of long distance trip with hills and places with strong headwinds.
Bujal.x
post Mar 28 2019, 08:29 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 28 2019, 05:29 PM)
Good idea to have oval chainring 53/39 on foldie tern x22?

Im looking for larger chainring but quite hard to find.
53/39 is good enough. Especially on 406 or 451 wheelset.
Bujal.x
post May 1 2019, 10:35 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

With 26" wheels pulak. 😊
Bujal.x
post May 14 2019, 10:44 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ May 14 2019, 10:34 AM)
want u wanna do there?i think etigge is around there, also few of my friends over there.
Abang Jamil ada. laugh.gif
Bujal.x
post May 15 2019, 06:49 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ May 14 2019, 11:31 PM)
Hello all reputable master, I have not yet personally tested a B ride (only in store, not on the road) and would like to seek for your advise or thought if a guy with 90KG and 185CM "specification" will be riding the B comfortably? biggrin.gif
Im 85kg and 183cm.opt for m type handlebar you'll be ok.

Btw, me and my b. 😊

Bujal.x
post May 15 2019, 09:43 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ May 15 2019, 09:36 AM)
Oh I thought of getting the S handlebar, looks cooler haha.

Nice BE there and leather accessories.  biggrin.gif

Wanted to understand if the BE parts will be easily scratched or suffering paint chipped especially on the rear fender & seat post ?
only seat post is easily scratch.mine is black so not very visible.
Bujal.x
post May 23 2019, 10:37 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 23 2019, 10:36 AM)
what tern is goin to launch??? wait til next week....

16" wheels perhaps?
Bujal.x
post May 24 2019, 06:47 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(gck @ May 24 2019, 04:50 PM)
if they really launch a 16" i am gonna send joshua the boss of tern a message and laugh at him
And why is that? Joshua hon against small wheel?
Bujal.x
post May 31 2019, 03:49 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ May 31 2019, 02:52 PM)
Tern Bicycle Malaysia mentioned that Tern BYB bikes are available in July. BYB S11 RM9500 and BYB P8 RM5500.

Expensive?
Lol. 13kg, shimano altus, single chainring rm5500. Howbout no. 😂
Bujal.x
post Jun 6 2019, 10:47 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

One for the album. Happy eid mubarak guys😊
Bujal.x
post Jun 7 2019, 08:34 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 7 2019, 08:27 AM)
DELETED
I'll choose falco for its 451 wheelset. Good for climbing too. The only downside is the tube and tires. Size 22 is not common at kedai basikal.
Bujal.x
post Jun 7 2019, 08:42 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 7 2019, 08:38 AM)
I thought speed falco`s tires are 20 inch?
On the paper it was listed as 20 1-1/8 which is actually 22" (451).standard 20" will be 406.btw dahon falco is considered rare. Its been years since i found one on the shelf for sale.
Bujal.x
post Jun 7 2019, 09:04 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 7 2019, 08:53 AM)
I am actually living in Japan now so there are a lot of choice here. So I am learning all about bicycle now as I never ride one in Malaysia beofre
i see..either d7 or falco are great but if you insist on climbing steep hills then an upgrade on the crankset will be great
Bujal.x
post Jun 26 2019, 03:37 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jun 26 2019, 03:30 PM)
I tried her Dahon Dove Plus and in return she tried my Dahon Boardwalk. smile.gif

I would say that Dove Plus accelerate fast from zero, and surprisingly can climb hill easily.
Wait until you downhill. Dat time suddenly ringan is not necessarily the best thing. 😂
Bujal.x
post Jul 3 2019, 08:47 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(RNM @ Jun 30 2019, 09:27 AM)
Anyone do touring with folding bike? How excellent riding folding on mountain? Easier or have to push

The best part? If got problem can take public transport or grabcar. 😂

As mentioned by others, at the end its all about your legs. But hey, touring supposed to be a stress-free ride. Cant cycle uphill? Just push it then. No need malu one.
Bujal.x
post Jul 31 2019, 11:11 AM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jul 30 2019, 09:48 PM)
so 22"?
yes.but standby lots of spare tubes as size 22 is not something common in most basikal shop.
Bujal.x
post Aug 15 2019, 03:14 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 15 2019, 01:57 PM)
30kmph tailgaiting can lor.. if infront i also dont want lor... not most of the time, like i said sometimes maaa tongue.gif
try tailgaiting a backhoe or a lorry or a motorcycle. ask them to maintain 25kmph and later up to 30kmph on flat road. that time u feel like heaven woooo thumbup.gif
tabaik tipu.orang ipoh semua cakap abang laju.
Bujal.x
post Aug 15 2019, 04:33 PM

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 15 2019, 03:23 PM)
ala..not all the time lar.. sometime only
like i said, tailgaiting can. but not all the time lor..
org ipoh nk naik fraser 28.9.2019, korang xpegi ka?
anyway guyz and galz
im planning to fraser this 28 September 2019 sabtuday
if anyone like to join us, meet at 7.45pm Pos Office KKB

there will be foldies from Negeri Sembilan, Kedah, Perak, Penang, Selangor and KL. for the time being, 50 participant have comfirm.
our ride style fellowship 5km. each 5km all must stop no matter u strong, weak or fast. the last person arrived will have 10minutes to rest after that all must start together.
Kalau takde apa klang foldies will join fraser hill

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1678sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:25 AM