Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

tcb2010
post Feb 21 2019, 01:00 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Feb 20 2019, 11:57 AM)
When to a bike shop last 2 weekend, at first put budget around RM1k. Went out of the shop with Java Pro4 instead...Should had spent a bit more perhaps for Ira, but they dont have any in stock.

Contemplating to downgrade to 406 wheelset instead..A bit more comfortable then the 451 i hope...not that many seller of 406 wheelset in bbs.
Going to 406 will not be comfier, but, u do have way more tyre sizes selection up to size 20 x 2.0. So, its more comfier in that sense.

If the tire size is equal width for 451 and 406...the 451 will be a tad comfier due to bigger diameter rolls over road irregularities better.

I think ur feeling bumpy, maybe ur Java Pro comes with very thin tires like 1 1/8 inch. Go look for wider 1 3/8" tires and there is a few in the market, pump around 60-65 psi, that should do the trick.
There are some cheaper innova/kendas tires that is price ok, and should be fine tires.

If u really prefer squishy feel, haha..no choice u will have to resort to 406 and its wide tyres like ..like the Marathons, Big Apples, Maxxis Torch and DTH...I used to favor this squishy,.. but now im on bone shattering skinny tires Durano.

tcb2010
post Mar 21 2019, 11:18 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Mar 18 2019, 04:49 PM)
Can anyone explain a bit more on types of fnhon frames...saw the prices of crius is rather attractive @RM1.2k.. or should i spent more on better one?

I already have Java Pro4 though..

Was contemplating to get one for my wife, but need to be able to put a kid carrier at the back though..
Here is my experience of using a child seat on the rear of 20" foldie, rear carrier mount kind. Polisport Models, or Decatlon models.

- The foldie will be very unstable once the child on it...the front tend to lift if ur weight is not on the saddle.

- Using those proper ones like Polisport / Decathlon models..ur heels will likely hit on the child's foot that protudes from the chair...too close to pedals.

- U can get away with the leg collision issue, if ur mount type on the rear is on the seatpost...but my strong opinion, ur putting ur child at risk. Im very concern of the single seatpost have to support ur weight, togther with side load from the seat mount.....not worth the risk to me. Not to mention, your bike will tilt over easily.

I tried the cheap ones like those below RM100 selling online..rear rack mounting...but the mounting tools/ strap seat quality/safety..i rather not for any further journey or child is heavy.

If ur child is still lightweight, can try those that mount on the front between u and the handlepost..at least the weight support is loaded on the seatpost and body frame..and ur there to secure the kid.

So, long story short...Big bikes like mtb or touring bikes..still the way to go for using rear mounted child seat for me.

tcb2010
post Aug 13 2019, 09:46 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(deli80 @ Aug 12 2019, 11:58 AM)
bro azam, thanks for your input. as of now, im comparing, java pro 4 (42*52T) vs xds k1 (crank hollow 34-50T) vs camp c9 (crank hollow 52-42T)..
or did i compare wrongly the product category? uhuks...

how does this crank specs affect us as rider? the initial investment is to trigger the momentum..huhu..
just bought tern link C7 2nd hand for my wife and love the smoothness when it is fold..
Deli,

I'm with bro Azam, if u want good ride and solid feel, spend a few hundred more to get the Tern ( Verge D9 is only RM2600++ now).
I'm lean more towards 451 wheelset nowadays...

I have just ridden the Java Pro 4 hard...thru dragonbacks and on heavy back load ( baby chair with kid), i know not supposed to do that...just helping lady friend....but on load stress and high speed, frame stability just ain't there, whole bike very flexy and handling wobbly. I can benchmark it as i used to do that on my dahon Vitesse, and yet its way more stable than the Java pro.

Presumably u are willing to spend this range of budget ( RM1800-1900 ??), ..if u want better ride feel on longer distance...get the Tern. or if u just planning to ride taman..still get the Tern...hahaha.

Not to put down the Javas, they are nice bikes for the money...just that for a few hundred more..u can get a Tern D9 now...in shopee rodalink Tern sale...act quick!!

tcb2010
post Aug 22 2019, 10:56 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 21 2019, 07:41 PM)
just finish converting my friend java ira 18s to 20s

as per picture,
Ultegra r8000 53/39 170mm crankset
Ultegra 6800 11s shortcage RD
Tiagra 4700 10s flatbar shifter
10s KMC Gold chain
Ultegra 6700 11-28 10s Casette
Sora 9s FD

yeah, i know.. most of the component is 11s, but still can be tuned to get 10s without changing the wheelset freehub body.

if u need until 11s u need to change the freehub body, or change at least hub or in worst case change the wheelset to accomodate 11s system. 11s flatbar shifter, 11s casette and 11s chain are more pricey than the 10s.

why i didnt used r8000 ultegra RD?
this is becoz the new r8000 ultegra RD cage are longer than the 6800 cage. shimano has change their rd system to longer cage for benefit to accomodate bigger casette.

the 451 wheels can accomodate r8000 rd, but i need a longer clearance from rd to the ground to avoid scratching the rd.
Yup..even the new R7000 Short Cage RD looks long now...macam MTB RD styling.
tcb2010
post Aug 22 2019, 12:53 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 22 2019, 11:37 AM)
now folding bike want to upgrade got few choices. sram road also very hard to get the parts. now looking for microshift or sensah lor.. but both also very hard. now shimano also premium already  cry.gif
last night owner test run the bike,. he said very good and light. i didnt measure the weight, but i can feel the bike getting lighter than before!
total upgrade if im not mistaken RM1,500.00 considering all is new parts and not used.
Any ideas of decent dedicated 1X Hollow cranksets ( besides Litepros, Prowheels ) and the SRAM 1X...( mahal giler).
Been keeping an eye but so far havent came across one yet that suits..

The Litepro crank with its Narrow Wide Chainring has been serving its purpose well tho, without the need of chain catcher or guide. Cheap and Cheerful.
tcb2010
post Sep 6 2019, 05:53 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Sep 6 2019, 05:07 PM)
Sorry menyampuk.
My kaki pancing friend kata: Stella > all flex.gif  rclxm9.gif
Already can buy a Mid end Dahon or Tern with this reel... smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.1217sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:03 AM