Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

rkhairulrijal
post Sep 12 2018, 06:51 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Sep 10 2018, 03:32 PM)

Done fraser yesterday. Started from KKB. Honestly, im a bit disappointed. The gradient is way below my expectation. Or, probably im expecting too much?. Hardly break a sweat in the famous last 8km climbing..or maybe i just ride too santai kot. But, nevertheless it was good fun riding with friends biggrin.gif..

Want extreme gradient? Dont have to go far. Just head to Jalan Langgak Duta. Easy can get more than 20% gradient for less then 500m span. If not enough can repeat climb. Search Bukit Lamboghini langgak duta
rkhairulrijal
post Oct 1 2018, 10:13 PM

15 posts

Can’t wait for this coming KL Car Free Morning!
rkhairulrijal
post Oct 3 2018, 02:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Oct 3 2018, 12:49 AM)
Hi guys , me and my brother just got ourself a second Java foldie . Any Whatapps  group can join in ? From Ampang or Klang Valley ?

Any recommend bike shop can do service for java ? Those taman unker don’t have java Acc to change
https://www.facebook.com/groups/KLHillsAttack/

Usually Friday Night 10pm they all RV near Medan Tuanku. If you are from Ampang, can try Taman TAR loop near Jalan Kerja Air Lama or Genting Perez loop near Hulu Langat Batu 18 or Genting Sempah Loop

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 3 2018, 02:32 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(mizi28 @ Oct 2 2018, 04:07 PM)
Wow..are you most the time on the drop?
when drafting or speeding

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 3 2018, 04:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Oct 3 2018, 02:55 PM)
Tak baik dera nubis bang. Awal2 terus klhat. Nak plak terus stage 1-2 sekali hadap. 😂 😂 😂 Pitamnnnnn
hahaha...no pain no gain bro

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 11 2018, 09:45 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Oct 3 2018, 06:03 PM)
haha let me try ampang look out point as training groun first
I suggest you to head down to hulu langat batu 18 - Perez. Better training ground and u will improve a lot (depends on your training regime). From bukit ampang go straight down towards H. Langat Batu 14 turn left and straight all the way about 7km u will see police station on your left. Park there and head to perez.

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 11 2018, 09:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Oct 5 2018, 02:54 PM)
IINM, this weekend's Car Free Morning coincides with the Wacoal Pink Ribbon ride.  hmm.gif
Yeap..i also divided whether wanna join that wacoal ride since it starting line is my office 😂. Ended up went to Janda Baik loop from KLCFM.
rkhairulrijal
post Oct 15 2018, 12:42 AM

15 posts

GAP Loop with foldie? Hell yeah!

2 Bromptons (6 speeds and 3 speeds respectively) 1 Java Ira, 1 Dahon Dash, 1 Tern, and 1 Giant roadbike.

Here is the route, hope can inspire others.
HOA-Gombak-Ulu Yam-Batang Kali-KKB-GAP-Bentong-Janda Baik-Genting Sempah-HOA.

My Garmin decided to hang at the first 12km

Refueling my self after the first climb of Ulu Yam

Super hot near the Dam before Chilling

The crew. It is important to stay together to support each other. Mental and physical. No breakaway.

Please be extra cautious when descending from here. Wet road plus multipe hairpin corner.

Reached Bentong around 6plus. We have our diner/lunch here before heading towards Janda Baik. And yes, it was already dark.

Descending genting sempah in pitch black. That is why you need to stick together and make sure everyone is okay. Pacing is important especially when you attack the infamous bukit McD after the RnR area. Very torturous i can tell you plus dogs.

Tips:
-carry a lot of food with ya. I personally recommend Hutan Ration. Not trying to promote here but it can give u lots of energy and delicious comprared to energy gel.

- rear/front blinkers. Spare tube. Patch etc is a must.

- powerbank also is a must to charge lights and phone.

- support car recommended. Can wait at RnR area to escort you at genting sempah.

Hope this post will inspire others. You can do anything with foldie. So stop finding excuse, train hard and enjoy the route. Everyone suffer...its normal. 😊

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 21 2018, 10:30 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Oct 21 2018, 09:40 AM)
Thanks for all reply. Forgot to mention it is a gentle slope
Use 32t cassette (the biggest cassette at the back) to climb. Biggerr the cassette, the easier for u to climb. Easy to say use no 6-7-8 on ur shifter to climb.
rkhairulrijal
post Oct 22 2018, 11:02 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(mtgh @ Oct 21 2018, 04:55 PM)
Ok thanks. Will try it out
Please check i think the bigger the number the smallest the cog is or either way. Its been a while since I use the flatbar shifter. But the rule of thumb is simple. Use big cassette for climb.
rkhairulrijal
post Oct 22 2018, 11:06 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 21 2018, 09:49 PM)
Looks fun.
How many hours bro?
Fun but at the end stressed 😂. Dogs doing roadblock in Bukit McD.

Moving time 10hours and elapsed time almost 17hours
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 6 2018, 10:15 PM

15 posts

BRM200: Bangi Wonderland is ni joke. The climbs are tortoreous. Weather is superhot and at the end of the day heavy rain.

I did not finish the ride. Kantoi at KM156 near simpang tiga Perez as it was already 8.30pm. Super dark and only two of us left.

Our mission is only to make sure one of our pack member (black brompton) to finish before the cut of time (9pm). Three of us are ghost riders anyway.

There is one rider from Klang Foldies finished the race only using by 16” Dahon. Hat off to you brother. My point is do not limit your potential. We can do wonders with folding bike. Do not let the size of the wheels intimidate you. 😊

rkhairulrijal
post Nov 6 2018, 10:16 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Nov 6 2018, 07:38 PM)
How much is the tern foldie?
This is 20" wheel right? Thanks
10k plus without modding. 20” correct
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 6 2018, 11:21 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Nov 6 2018, 10:33 PM)
[attachmentid=10097641]

2nd guy i know after ajun who done audax 200 with 16".he is an Imam at masjid sek. 13 shah alam. Ok la.. Wakil klang foldies. 😂
This is the guy im mentioned in my above posting. There are two of them. Another is dahon vigor but dont know what happened to that chap as the last time we saw, he was taking shelters after bukit tangga.

There are lot actually who had done Audax 200 with folding. Even with 3 speeds Brommie. All you need is confidence and to get confidence you need training.
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 6 2018, 11:30 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 6 2018, 10:47 PM)
I always wonder if you think you are attract robbers riding 10k+ bike in poorer foreign countries.
Or you hire bodyguard.
Never bother about it. I used to ride alone. Done broga pondan without teammate and support. No problems. Never mention the price if people dont ask.

My principle is simple, u only live once so never regrets and buy what you can afford. You dont have to cycle in poor foreign countries to get rob. I lost my 2k Dahon Speed P8 in KL. You just move on..shit happen

This post has been edited by rkhairulrijal: Nov 6 2018, 11:36 PM
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 6 2018, 11:34 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(k town shit @ Nov 6 2018, 11:29 PM)
saw in Lazada, a lot of the foldies are selling at rm500, is that a good choice for beginner?
Depends on how you gonna abuse that bicycle. If for santai2 and taman rides only then its okay. But make sure to check on hinges.

But I think better you check at local bike store. You can feel and inspect the bike first. No tesco pls.
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 7 2018, 03:28 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 7 2018, 12:45 AM)
Stolen won't cause bodily harm.
Robbery may cause your life. I agree we only live once, but risking murdered over a bike isn't something to look forward to....
Why are u so paranoid mr. Ken? If they want ur bike let it be lah..that is why u need to insured your precious belongings.

Or perhaps riding diy frame can protect u from robbers? Btw i am still looking forward for ur diy frame. Talk only no update kah? My nephew also can brag bro

Personally I think u should read more on positive thinking.

P/s: I know theres a lot of thungs in Klang/Shah Alam... but its not that bad. Got friend there riding Pinarello Dogma F10 Dura-Ace groupset donning Black Sheep kit (worth 1.2k), Fizik Infinito shoe (1.2k), original kask velegro helmet (1K), and POC shades (1.2k). Still alive and ride without problem (being murdered).
rkhairulrijal
post Nov 7 2018, 02:27 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Nov 7 2018, 11:43 AM)
DIY frame usually cost over 10k if you include buying all the tooling.
Dont put words in my mouth. I never said I want to build my own frame. It's no challenge to me. Serious. It's only pipe welding…
Well, I ride solo on federal highway which everyone said it's life threatening... And other route in wee hours. Which are also life threatening according to most people.
Positive thinking is good but not to the extend of naive. Stay safe, live to your full life expectancy.
Then u have guts to advice newbies in this forums and whatsapp groups previously to build their own frame for what? Just to show off ah? 10k ah? U said just need tig only before this??

Well, I’ve done that too. More than just federal highway and wee hour rides..Am not naive just less paranoid than u. And not that stupid to hire bodyguard to cycle. Have a nice day mr ken ching
rkhairulrijal
post Jan 15 2019, 04:29 PM

15 posts

Freaking hot weekend

rkhairulrijal
post Oct 29 2019, 10:54 PM

15 posts

Because Janda Baik, Bentong, GAP loop are too mainstream.

HoA - Colmar Bukit Tinggi - HoA

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1232sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:44 AM