Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

KenC
post Oct 1 2017, 02:38 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Oct 1 2017, 01:40 PM)
Aluminum frame, original paint and need to last if you went to all that trouble, haha
OK, my tips for you is do it patiently.
Repainting is not Rockey science, it only require perseverance. Redo when you are not satisfy.
Other then getting zinc based primer, it's just like any other quality paint job. Sanding, wash, paint, sanding, wash, paint, sanding, wash paint 5 coats minimum. 9 coats is about right.

Oh ya, strip every component including the headset...
4 weeks tops…

What paint do you intend to use? Are you going to paint brush? Air spray? Spray can? Powder coat?

When it comes to painting, I only believe in surface preparation. And correct paint and primer selection. Brand don't really matters…

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 1 2017, 03:09 PM
KenC
post Oct 1 2017, 07:10 PM

78 posts

Aluminum u scare rust?. Yes wash till no oil no dirt. After that wipe down with solvent.
KenC
post Oct 1 2017, 10:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Oct 1 2017, 08:20 PM)
Ok, so this is automotive paint. Just as well, I was going to use hardware shop spray can. Ok ok, I'll look into it.
I'm waiting for the frame to arrive then strip the paint and see what is left. Will post some pics when I'm done.
Thanks!!
Automotive paint is what I would recommend too. 2k clear coat is bullet proof.
If you use chemical stripping, conceal the frame in the biggest garbage bag you can find after you apply the paint stripping liquid. Leave it overnight or as per instruction. It also make housekeeping easier, just leave the scraped paint in the bag.
If you get orange peal or tear drops, don't worry, sand it with 200# wet sand paper when the paint dried hard enough. Re-coat after washing and degreasing.
It's always better to under-spray than over-spray.

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 1 2017, 11:20 PM
KenC
post Oct 2 2017, 12:16 PM

78 posts

Just some basic basic in metal coating… nothing fancy.
KenC
post Oct 2 2017, 12:50 PM

78 posts

Forgot to mention, you can make a makeshift spray booth by cutting up a paper box that your bike frame can fit into.

When painting, 70% of the work is in surface preparation, 28% in cleaning up the aftermath, 1.5% in keeping wind away and 0.5% in the actual painting.

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 2 2017, 12:51 PM
KenC
post Oct 9 2017, 06:20 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Oct 7 2017, 02:19 PM)
Cost me less than 2k include shipping and upgrade to 3D handle post from taobao.
There's local selling selling in some fb group with slightly higher price but I think it worth the mess to order online and do your own tuning after that.

I'm using a 349 wheelset so doesn't fold as compact as original it came. But can be fit perfectly into IKEA dimpa bag.i usually leave the handle post unfold and roll around. This frame doesn't support magnetix system but it's quite easy to roll around because there's more friction at the hinge compare to Dahon or tern. In fact I find it even easier to roll compare to magnetix system.

The saddle is brooks B17, one of the best saddle money can buy  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:
2K complete with Brooks B17? Very untung !

KenC
post Oct 15 2017, 12:02 AM

78 posts

No Japanese made bicycle tube la.
KenC
post Oct 17 2017, 07:13 PM

78 posts

What's your tax rate?
KenC
post Oct 19 2017, 06:56 PM

78 posts

16 don't really need big rear cog… but more likely you need bigger chainring.
Let's say you use 1.5" 306 tire. The OD is 1.5x2+306/25.4 = 15inch.
If you have 32t cog and 34T chainring, your 15 something gear inch in which is really too light…
You will spin like a hamster…

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 19 2017, 06:58 PM
KenC
post Oct 20 2017, 01:23 PM

78 posts

Sifu Azam got strong legs, single speed also can handle. wink.gif

With 42/52T chainring and 11-32t, lowest gear 42/32 x 15 = 22.5 gear in, same as my lowest gear (36T chainring and 34t @451), which is just enough for this over aged obese Cyclist. the highest gearing gives 52/11 x 15 = 70.9gear in)
My 451 gets 97 gear inch with 52T, 11t. Don't have to spin like hamster on the flat and downhill. Usually 80~90rpm.
With 11-28t cassette, you really don't want to go below 20 gear in. Meaning 39T chainring (20~53 gear inch ) goof for climb Cameron twice a week without coming down. Otherwise 42T to get 22.5 - 57 gear inch which you have to spin more than 140rpm to catch up with anyone else with Bigger wheel and double chainring.

Fuyoo… sifu Azamnecrone really spin like hamster ohmy.gif

This is the 1st time I do gear inch calculation on a 16in wheel, looking at these ridiculous numbers! why wouldn't more ppl use internal gear hub on them? Really puzzled…

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 20 2017, 02:00 PM
KenC
post Oct 20 2017, 03:58 PM

78 posts

Just for hack of it, here is what you get with a NuVinci 380n,
With 48T single chainring, 16t cog, we get 22.5-85.5 gear inch, or if you prefer 14t cog with 42T chainring.
You can even go belt drive or shaft drive. All very clean and simple.
KenC
post Oct 21 2017, 04:09 PM

78 posts

80-90rpm is what I can sustain for 1-2hours, anything higher my heart rate will overshoot like mad. 61rpm is really santai for a short while,but after 1 hour, I either die of boredom or cramp.
KenC
post Oct 21 2017, 04:11 PM

78 posts

80-90rpm is what I can sustain for 1-2hours, anything higher my heart rate will overshoot like mad. 61rpm is really nice for a while,but after 1 hour, I either die of boredom or cramp.
One is definitely not a competitive rider, just want to do aerobic exercise for 1~2 hours. And to do that 80-90rpm consistently over any sort of terrain works best. In my case, top speed is never a concern other than bragging on strava, but I always keep an eye on my average speed and minimum lapse time.(I.e. less stops and rest if I could help it tongue.gif ) which is important to get home before the gate is locked…

Ahhhh… now you know why enough low gear is important to me tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 21 2017, 04:35 PM
KenC
post Oct 21 2017, 11:24 PM

78 posts

I very slow, has to use low gear to keep the bike moving…

Cadance meter? I use cheap magnetic cyclo computer, place the magnet on the chainring or crank arm, reset the wheel circumference to 16666

And strava on hand phone for speed and distance…
Until I give in to GPS computer sooner or later

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 22 2017, 12:40 AM
KenC
post Oct 22 2017, 02:12 PM

78 posts

Arduino makan battery la. But no harm playing la.
Actually magnetic switch or tilt switch lagi cool, wireless and contactless.

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 22 2017, 02:14 PM
KenC
post Oct 22 2017, 07:10 PM

78 posts

Top end bike is great for downhill, to get up, you only need your legs or drive up.
Lately, I removed all my meter, too stressful…

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 22 2017, 07:16 PM
KenC
post Oct 22 2017, 09:21 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 22 2017, 08:37 PM)
How many hours was the ride?
Solely depend on fitness level, but you will definitely drive home before dinner.
KenC
post Oct 22 2017, 11:27 PM

78 posts

Driving to KKB is scenic too, unlike Hulu Langat and Putrajaya.

Another point of caution, the return trip from tower to GAP isn't all down hill, there are 3 steep climbs where many 1st time riders bonk out there...

I never bother to start from KKB, always Chilling. As the return ride is pure pleasure.

I don't keep my time when I ride frazer, it's just so much fun. Always get home for shower by ~3pm

If one must drive 1hr for a good route, Frazer is my no. 1 choice.

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 22 2017, 11:41 PM
KenC
post Oct 23 2017, 01:28 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Oct 23 2017, 11:13 AM)
wow! really salute lah both of you guys! high cadence pedallers  :thumbsup: ..i know i cant do that.  sweat.gif

most of the time (probably 70-80%), im always on 53-11/12, so 60-70 rpm has been the most comfortable pedalling efficiency for me. anything higher, i'll be kong immediately tongue.gif . average speed normally around 25kmh saja bye.gif
I do not enjoy high-ish cadance naturally. started out 50-60rpm too. Like I kept saying, I am out for cardiovascular exercise, spinning slow won't give me that, and the rest are just bonuses. In actual fact, my stamina is very poor…

itsextremely easy to do long rides when you are not out for breaking any land speed records… stop when you feel like it, and guesstimate your makan time and place… hundred of km just wizz by before you know it…

The hardest thing with distance cycling is finding the time to do it…

This post has been edited by KenC: Oct 23 2017, 01:35 PM
KenC
post Oct 23 2017, 01:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Oct 23 2017, 12:25 PM)
A fren and me planning to do KKB- Bentong - Sempah - Gombak - Ampang/Bangsar. The main reason is both of us hate drive and ride. He's much more fitter than me and im stil in preparation training. I had never tried fraser before so i have no idea how tough it is.
We had done a few ride at langat from ampang/bangsar (He's from bangsar and i stay at ampang) Apparently riding straight to hulu langat is even nice compare to drive. Altho the weather is hot during way back but the morning session is a breeze. Downhill at bukit ampang is so much fun.
Would love to cycle from home, the drive home is the last thing I like to do after a satisfaction ride…

Hulu Langat seems too far for me but GCE via federal highway is just 80km return. Used to do it twice a week about this time last year preparing for Audax…

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:25 AM