12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V32, Enjoy Your Speed Upgrade

AVFAN
post Mar 15 2018, 06:40 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 15 2018, 06:24 PM)
RM 139 for 30Mbps is not bad.
surely not bad...

while i feel ok now, i definitely paid too much in the early years.

i took a look at my old TM/unifi bills:

pre-2011... streamyx.

2011... unifi... 10mbps+free calls+megapack = RM199

2015... unifi... 30mbps+megapack, no free calls = RM169

2017... unifi... free upgrade... 50mbs+megapack, no free calls = RM169

2018... unifi... +RM10... 100mbps+jumbo+std20 = RM179 (+gst)

can't have it all, i suppose...
AVFAN
post Mar 15 2018, 09:22 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(retsmot @ Mar 15 2018, 09:07 PM)
the unifitv no change, mine still ruby pack i think.
they just gonna change modem, the router already changed few months back when i 'upgrade' to 30mbps and could not get full speed.
i think the router called archer something something lol.
haven't received my confirmation email yet tho.
yep, looks like all 9 people so far reported same thing - as per my last summary.

that router... hmm... u can read all about it in 2 other threads.

for some, ok; for others... sob-sob...
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2018, 05:48 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 16 2018, 05:33 PM)
I am currently on 50 mbps with jumbo pack and std20 paying RM209 before GST.. Previous was on 30 mbps but upgraded to 50 mbps for free.
I called TM at the 100 to ask on this upgrade and was offered immediately by the CS of TM.
Pay extra RM10 only.. No change to current contract which is no contract.
Have to wait 7 biz days to get the sms confirmation and then need to reboot the router.
So guys  try to call TM first before trying at the TM Point.
it will be sick of them to ask u for +rm20.

becos u r already paying rm209 for 50mbps.
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2018, 05:59 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 16 2018, 05:52 PM)
Yeah, but my rm209 include the hypptv Jumbo Pack
don't feel like like rubbing salt on yr wound... but if only u read the last 10, 100 pages.

this upgrade been on for like 3 months.
AVFAN
post Mar 16 2018, 08:54 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 16 2018, 08:26 PM)
I am most lucky one paying 159.00 excluding gst for 50Mbps  plus jumbo pack n 600minutes free call
why not upgrade to 100mbps?

if u can get it with +rm10 and keep the rest same, it will definitely be the best we know of.
AVFAN
post Mar 17 2018, 06:18 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(fudoyuseix @ Mar 17 2018, 03:41 PM)
Just called up 100 to enquire about the RM10 upgrade. I think I was too late. They said that my acc is not eligible to upgrade with the top up RM10 from 50mbps(TYS) to 100mbps... T.T
call again in a few days, shud get it.

the latest wave of people, more than dozen, reported they were called, invited to upgrade 50->100mbps.

only question is if it will be +rm10 or +rm20.
AVFAN
post Mar 17 2018, 06:37 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 16 2018, 09:59 PM)
I know bro.but for 50Mbps is good enough for me n at the same time i dont have to tie up for another 2years
yep, that will be wise if existing is gud enuf.

actually, for most homes, 50mbps is ideal - speed ok, no need 5ghz, no need to buy own new AC router and/or 5ghz adaptors.

but for heavy users... 4k, heavy streaming/torrenting, gaming i guess... rm10 is great to double up the speed.
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2018, 11:24 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 19 2018, 11:20 AM)
I got sms to say installation date is tomorrow but until now, no one from TM has called me to set the time.
When I called TM, they are also not sure cos most of the time, the upgrade just needs to restart router.
Anyone here got sms for installation date can clarify
wait till tmrw la...

u will get then get call 9-10am, telling u estimated time they will arrive.
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2018, 11:33 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Mar 19 2018, 11:30 AM)
Okay tks.  Though just need to restart router cos there is no one at home.

TM already changed my modem when my speed was upgraded from 30 to 50.
no one at home?

if they send sms to say they will come, better be at home!

becos they will change router; no one at home, they can't do for u, fix another day.

if u have own router that is good enough, get set up for both, keep one for standby.
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2018, 08:10 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 19 2018, 07:49 PM)
the alcatel I240G supports 100mbps, right?
yes.
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2018, 10:48 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(OwlsHeart @ Mar 20 2018, 10:25 AM)
Yep. unifi installers came and changed my modem only. From huawei echolife HG8240w to HG8240H difference is just the last letter? but it does look smaller and neater than the old modem. They even let me keep the old one.

rclxms.gif

now u can do anything u wish - gaming, stream 4k, torr, multiple devices, etc.

just watch the coming bills are correct.

AVFAN
post Mar 20 2018, 05:23 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Mar 20 2018, 02:05 PM)
I just got mine installed last week (upgrading to 100M), for 1st day all good, full speed.
Noticed jerking and lagging on hypptv on 2nd day, then last saturday speed dropped.
Constant 30M only  cry.gif
ranting.gif  ranting.gif  ranting.gif

QUOTE(jmas @ Mar 20 2018, 02:45 PM)
Tried, waiting technician come and check.
Damn sien, ping is low, but speedtest showing 30M but loading speed is noticeably slow when browsing.
u mean it shud be 100mbps but speedtest shows 30 and actual is even slower when browsing?
if so, something seriously wrong.
common causes is your local infra nearby having problem.

talk to yr neighbors, see if they hv same problem.
dun be surprised some idiot contractor did something stupid at the junction box or yr dog bit something off!

let the unifi technicians come, check n explain.
if it's your own problem, u may get charged.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 20 2018, 05:59 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 20 2018, 05:40 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ Mar 20 2018, 05:02 PM)
OK. Thanks. Now just have to think of the wiring .
1) Becoz if i put my router at living room, i can use the smart TV box, then i have to purchase a wireless card for my desktop(In My room, Upstair).
    Although the wiring come from ceiling i bet, it still need cover to conceal it.
2) if i put on my upstairs bed then can directly connect to my desktop. But it seems i wont be able to use the smart TV box.
    (Not sure whether the smart TV box still can be use ,have wireless feature) Becoz my TV is in my living room only.

Headache cry.gif
ask how yr neighbors do it.

some houses, the cable come from the house front to grdflr, some from the back to top flr.
that will determine how long the total cable run will be for where u want it to end with the BTU (modem) - the cost for u.

if your house is small, good chance wifi will cover nicely most places, incl yr pc upstairs.
but if it's large superlink 100x30ft... tough.

note the STB (unifitv box) will likely be in living room beside yr tv, will need ethernet connection; ethernet good for yr smart tv too.

if u place the router upstairs, u will then ask "how to do unifitv with wifi"

do not make the mistake of placing modem/router in a poor place only to struggle with bad wifi issues later.
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 10:00 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Zelda85 @ Mar 21 2018, 09:54 AM)
I bought this for backup.
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...Ab93tJ&search=1
(Above item should able to solve unifitv issues giving the circumstances router is not beside the TV)
but will ask the contractor how the wiring output will look like before decided.
hope those plugs work 4 u.

i hv never used them... people say OK for single phase power supply.
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 11:01 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(m_leong @ Mar 21 2018, 08:13 AM)
Hi All,

After reading this forum, I called back TM and asked for 100mbps for RM189/month but the marketing staff refused, so I canceled my upgrade.. Am currently on 50mbps, Hopefully they will call me back again in the future to give me a better offer.. 😊
what price now for 50mbps?

from the many recent successful cases, i thought they are now relaxed to do this upgrade with +rm20.

can call again in a week or 2.
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 11:40 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(m_leong @ Mar 21 2018, 11:31 AM)
Currently paying RM179, agree with you on the recent successful cases, am surprised at the refusal... Let's see how it goes.. 😊
Try again... l failed twice, ok with 3rd try!
Your case, ikely +rm20.

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Mar 21 2018, 11:35 AM)
Being getting a lot problems on wifi due to too many 2.4Ghz interference from neighbours, old router and wifi dead spot all over the house.
Me give up on getting the best signal strength from router, no matter put where in 2 storey house.
me now change router provided by unifi, add 2 home plug powerline adapter, 1 at  upper floor and 1 at the back of the house since my router at front portion of the house.
settled it now and strong signal everywhere with 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz
Good u found solution.

Homeplug.. yr house single or 3 phase power?
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 01:02 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Mar 21 2018, 12:07 PM)
single phase. but i heard should be no problem even on 3 phase using the new powerline. me don't have 3 phase power to test
single phase has always been fine.

3 phase... been reading mixed results.

but i hope u r right - that will save users a lot of trouble.
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 01:09 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Mar 21 2018, 01:04 PM)
configuration? is there any configuration required? i thought its a plug n play?
or u mean the pairing?
good case to see if these plugs work.

is yr home single phase or 3 phase power?

pair connected on same phase?
AVFAN
post Mar 21 2018, 07:23 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Mar 21 2018, 04:46 PM)
what is that viu.com, suppose  to end this 31 march? i never heard about it before
viu is an app, asian content to be used on the stb... 1 month free, i think.

bbc iplayer is another "free" app that comes with it.

imo, these are poor, not attractive.

we wait to see if unifitv can incorporate NETFLIX... supposedly still "work in progress".
AVFAN
post Mar 22 2018, 10:19 AM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(Kazuhito @ Mar 22 2018, 10:15 AM)
Customer rep just came back. She couldn't offer me what I want. So I'll be porting out from Unifi this evening.
this, i m puzzled.

u r already paying more than most others... plus, out of contract.

yet they refuse to accommodate... shakehead.gif

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.2752sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:21 AM