QUOTE(tctham @ Mar 25 2018, 01:29 PM)
Well, the car is connected to the ground through 4 tires. If the tires not gripping the ground, all sorts of active safety not going to help you. when things go wrong, you can only trust airbag and hpf. The repair cost could easily be even more expensive.
I dun mind spending more on tires regardless they wear out fast or not because i don't throw corners and i don't drive a lot. All my tires except goodyear duraplus is changed because reach 4 yrs lifespan before i ran out of threadmarks (including michelin xm2).
During my days with silverstone, my car skidded on plenty occasion. When driving under rain, when braking and etc. Doesn't even have to be heavy rain, as long as the floor is wet, and you are not braking gradually, the tires will lockup.
Had enough of these and i told myself, highest priority investment in car, will always be a good set of tires. Other things, i can live with. Malaysia is constantly raining so wet grip in tires is important, something that silverstone is severely lacking in. It's not the high speed corner performance that i seek, but ability to brake in any condition (dry or wet) in case of emergencies.
True oso, guess silvertone got bad reputation for u. Im ok with it becoz I got a manual kelisa using cheap silverstone powerbliz all the while after changing from easy "pregnant" oem dunlop.I dun mind spending more on tires regardless they wear out fast or not because i don't throw corners and i don't drive a lot. All my tires except goodyear duraplus is changed because reach 4 yrs lifespan before i ran out of threadmarks (including michelin xm2).
During my days with silverstone, my car skidded on plenty occasion. When driving under rain, when braking and etc. Doesn't even have to be heavy rain, as long as the floor is wet, and you are not braking gradually, the tires will lockup.
Had enough of these and i told myself, highest priority investment in car, will always be a good set of tires. Other things, i can live with. Malaysia is constantly raining so wet grip in tires is important, something that silverstone is severely lacking in. It's not the high speed corner performance that i seek, but ability to brake in any condition (dry or wet) in case of emergencies.
Unstandabled, I had brands that I will avoid too due to bad experiences :
1.dunlop: easy side bengkak
2.falken: pancit into bad shape at middle of the road.
Agreed that tyre are not something to jimat as safety come first . Hopefully proton can give at least conti or goodyear in the future for buyer confidence.
This post has been edited by cktang: Mar 25 2018, 11:42 PM
Mar 25 2018, 08:33 PM

0.0266sec