4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New Proton Persona VVT 2016 - Official Thread V3,, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

littlegamer
post Nov 7 2017, 10:54 AM

664 posts

Hello,
I'm a 11 months standard persona owner. here is my honest review in comparison of Bezza advance, myvi 2014 1.3 auto and myvi 1.5 manual.

First of all, i just couldnt emphasize enough of the handling of Persona. I'm not an aggressive driver, i found myself cornering without braking as much as bezza and myvi. Persona's handling give me to confidence to steer in corners, while bezza and myvi i would slow down. I have driven Persona up to cameron and genting, it is a joy to drive because of its handling. As handling is more of a personal drive feel, you would want to test drive both cars back to back to see which is your preference.
P/S : go to glenmarie

Lets talk about engine and CVT of Persona. For once i was asked to follow a camry to a destination. Both of us arent aggressive drivers and we have driven both car. In the persona although i have to press the throttle harder to keep up from stop(rev to 2.5k rpm then maintain 2k), but it isnt something to complain about, the camry is 2.0 while the persona is 1.6. Now driving a bezza 1.3 auto, i do need to floor it in order to keep up with the camry. although comparing a 1.3 auto to a 1.6 cvt isnt a fair scenario, but in case you would need a decent pick-up merging lanes and overtaking, you will have better ease in persona than in bezza.

Both bezza and persona cabin is quiet when you are at highway cruising speed. BUT during low speed, the engine rev from persona does sound louder than bezza. it does annoy some in city driving. When running over yellow lines, the persona generates a louder "tung tung tung" sound. this is partly due to the silverstone tires. Many has complained regarding the wind noise, imo both bezza and persona feel about the same when travelling around 110km/h.

on the practicality, it goes to bezza. at 50k for persona standard vs bezza advance, bezza gets charging ports, LCD sat nav radios, fog lamps, fold-able side mirror, push to start, 40:60 foldable back seat, rear view camera, leather seats etc. For 50k apple to apple comparison, persona standard just fall short in this category. it has nothing besides a standard radio. Proton does offer all these features lack in standard by going premium, but topping up RM10k to bezza advance isnt really a fair comparison.

speak about comfort. i will put in the perspective of driver and passenger.
Driver:
In the persona,the seats feel more comfortable, as the portion that supports your buttocks extend to back of your knee fully(i'm 175cm). The gear knobs in persona feels more solid than bezza, as i feel when shifting gear in bezza does feel a slight fragile. Power window for persona only auto down, no auto up, is a bummer. i'm not sure about bezza didnt have the chance to try, please do find out if this matter. Proton does offer 10 years warranty to redeem their notorious power window failures, no one will know when will it fail, well at least within 10 years proton will take care of it. For those who driven japanese car, signal trigger on the left in Persona will confuse you, you will be dangerously shifting lanes by turning on your wipers instead, but as all things you will get used to. not a complaint but is something to take note of.
passenger:
i couldnt help but to say bezza back seat passangers has more leg room and does feel more spacious , but it comes with a sacrifice. Bezza's back seat are rather straight, and again the support to your thigh are shorter while persona back seat incline is natural and have better thigh support, which sacrifices back seat passenger leg room. if i'm traveling far in the back seat, i would prefer to be in persona.

Safety wise, i think both at 50k they are both same. 5* Ancap, ABS, BA, airbag, ESC,ISO FIX etc etc. To be honest, you get every best possible safety features on both cars at 50k, with persona slightly edges out, because it is built with HPF steel.

luggage:
Bezza takes it with its 60:40 folding back seat. the standard persona back seat cant be changed, although persona does has bigger boot, when bezza folds its back, persona is just unmatch. i would drive a bezza to ikea anytime.

Fuel economy:
No car can rival bezza's FC(maybe axia could) at this price range. Persona has bigger engine, higher curb weight and most of all it lacks of engine start stop feature. Unless you are driving highway all day everyday, in slow or city driving bezza will consume less fuel, bezza's engine will be shut off in heavy traffic or in traffic lights, although it wont save you a ton, but over time it does add up, couple it with its small and efficient engine you will get very good mileage(Bezza: 17.5km/l). Does that mean the persona FC is bad? No, not at all. the persona scores 6.6L/100km(15.1km/l). But if you try to compare to Myvi 1.5 manual which score 15.6km/l , i wouldnt say the persona has poor FC. Do take note, im comparing manual vs CVT which similar engine CC, manual transmission yields better mileage intrinsically, the FC of persona 1.6 CVT can match so close to a 1.5 manual, which i would say is good enough for an auto car.
P/S: these results are from my work to home, so the road distant and condition are rather similar for each car when recording the FC of each car.

maintenance and QC,
as you can see, i have driven more peroduo than proton(im a formal proton hater). Both of them has their issues. The persona has rattling sound and the radio came with wrong settings, it was solved at SC in 1 month. The bezza has dashboard poorly installed and is defective, but also resolved in SC. the myvi 1.5 manual has alarm sensor fault( didnt realize until 2nd year of owning), it has been fixed at SC during routine maintenance.
Comparing server of proton and peroduo, i have to give it to peroduo, is easier to arrange QC fix and better service. When i have issue with my proton, they would will tell me, "sini maintenance je , kalau nak claim warranty kena arrange lagi". Well technically, proton is right, but seeing peroduo would willingly to fix simple QC issue during maintenance, i would give the credits to peroduo. But as SC service quality varies from from to branch, take this as a grain of salt.

TL;DR
If you care every aspect of driving-Persona
If you like gadgets and accessories- Bezza
If you like more pick up- Persona
if you like FC-bezza
if you like comfort- Persona
if you like to go ikea-bezza
So, take your pick.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Nov 7 2017, 11:04 AM
littlegamer
post Nov 7 2017, 11:15 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(jlyeow @ Nov 7 2017, 11:05 AM)
Hi ic3rock,

Correct me if I'm wrong. As far as I understand, the system calculates your FC based on the following data fed by various sensors:

1. Accelerator pedal sensor.
2. Coolant temperature sensor.
3. Atmospheric pressure sensor (not sure if our Persona VVT has this, but I think it does).
4. Air flow/MAP sensor.

The above sensors are feeding information based on the below driving pattern:

1. Urban/city driving (traffic jam, stop-look-go) VS highway cruise.
2. Cold start driving (uses more fuel) VS warmed up engine.
3. A lot of hill climbs (uses more fuel) VS flat road driving.
4. Slow driver VS racer wannabe.

The on-board computer calculates the FC based on so many information, but many simply claims that by calculating full tank/mileage is the most accurate calculation, ignoring how one drives a car as well as many other factors that might be affecting the FC. The ECUs and sensors are working the numbers digitally without your calculation, so why are we going backward to do a manual calculation? Almost everything in our injection management system is electronically controlled and I think we should take advantage on it. IMO, by simply calculating full tank/mileage is not able to justify much.

No offence intended. Anyone may correct me if I'm wrong.

Cheers. wink.gif
all these on board FC calculations are averages. Another simple measure to have more accurate results is to reset the dial every time you fuel up. It does a fairly accurate job, relying on the pump to measure the mileage isnt entirely accurate either. Neither way is fully accurate, but getting data from both will give a fair enough accuracy.
littlegamer
post Nov 9 2017, 11:02 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Maxwell6635 @ Nov 9 2017, 10:23 PM)
Front Sensor / Reverse Sensor sometimes will delay not very sensitive , so drive slow slow or reverse very slowly.  smile.gif
Agree to this, normally i dont use the front sensor. i already scratch my bumper because the dummy sensor only sound after i heard "TUMP" laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Can never trust those sensors

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Nov 9 2017, 11:03 PM
littlegamer
post Nov 9 2017, 11:09 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(jlyeow @ Nov 9 2017, 11:05 PM)
If you're in a hurry, don't ever rely on the front parking sensors, they are pretty much useless. You'll most probably end up kissing someone's car before you hear a long BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP sound.  laugh.gif
Ya LOL, i pretty much ignore all sensors. Back to the good old days where proton offer variant without reverse sensor.
littlegamer
post Nov 12 2017, 10:33 AM

664 posts

hi, with the persona stock rim, the ori silverstone tyre is 185 /55/15. if i want to go bigger tyre using stock rim, can change what bigger tyre size? the silver stone tyre sounds bad. i always check tyre pressure everytime i pump petrol

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Nov 12 2017, 10:40 AM
littlegamer
post Dec 1 2017, 05:53 PM

664 posts

putting my input, my persona AT standard can run about 380-420 for full tank.(pump until the pump clicks, and until the orange fuel sign start blinking). Using ron 95 shell, fuel price at RM2.30/L. 50% city driving(including jams), 50% town driving to local mamak or groceries within taman.

have anyone tested various fuel on persona? im comparing shell and petronas ron 95, my frend say proton cars runs better mileage with petronas, im testing it myself, any input on this?

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Dec 1 2017, 05:58 PM
littlegamer
post Dec 1 2017, 06:05 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(niriF @ Nov 30 2017, 02:18 PM)
Why do you mean by handle? Steering wheel you mean?
that is some sort of silicon grease to lubricate the door handle, when it rains, water wash it out leaving that mark. when washing your car just need to rub a lilttle harder to remove, or use 90% alcohol solution
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:14 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 1 2017, 11:30 PM)
Not bad for Persona AT FC, the orange icon sign will blink? Meaning that when light up just inform you fuel going empty,  when blink then warning? I think mine also can go till 4xx km, thanks for your information...

For previous Gen 2, i try before. Petronas give more km but not so powerfull while Shell more power but less km. So until now i only pump Petronas.

Full tank with Petronas = 330-360km
Full tank with Shell = 300-320km

This is base on my previous Gen 2, fully city drive.
blinking orange fuel sign is the last warning before the car goes really empty, in the manual book it mentions the approx. litter of fuel left, refer the manual to confirm this.

i have a tip on driving to save fuel, is call modulating, it works on MT and AT. say you want to cruise at 70km/h , you gentle accelerate to 70 and lift your foot of the pedal, gently accelerate again when speed drops to 66 or 67 km/h.
https://youtu.be/XsCt_bFvXeg?t=40s

if you are driving a MT you can even set to neutral(not advisable for AT), i driven 1.5 myvi manual before persona, used to coast at high way, it works quite well.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Dec 2 2017, 12:18 AM
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:31 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 1 2017, 11:44 PM)
What i worry is if rub harder or use alcohol will hurt car paint or coating...
i think is safe, some sealant or wax instruction will instruct to use spirits(hydro alcoholic solutions) if user desire to remove old sealant or wax. in general alcohol solution is safe and can be use as general cleaning solution, mainly to remove grease. always use microfibre cloth with soap, it will be fine, i have clean those grease, no sratch or swirl marks.
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:45 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 2 2017, 12:35 AM)
I see, no wonder when my fuel light up, the meter show can go 109km but i don't dare to try. So far i yet read the manual book, think will read on tomorrow while servicing...
there are 3 low fuel warnings

1. 1 white bar left(this white bar will not blink, orange light fuel warning is not on)
2. 1 white bar left, blinking, orange fuel warning is on but not blinking
3. 0 white bar , orange fuel warning light is blinking(final warning)

the mileage indicator shows the KM before empty base on 2 things, fuel left and how aggressive you drive. to understand this, try drive aggressively(or city driving), then switch to 70-80km/h, indicator will show different number. i notice this when i drive to work, i drive start stop on early 6km, then another 8km high way, driving in start stop always shows lower KM compare when you are coasting at higher speed.

back to fuel warnings. When your fuel is low to a point, i.e white bar blinking, your mileage indicator will show - - - it means the system cant estimate how much KM before empty.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Dec 2 2017, 01:35 AM
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:47 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 2 2017, 12:37 AM)
I will arrange my time to wax it then, i just want to remove the watery stain...
soap and water helps, just apply low hand pressure, it will come off.

but eventually i gave up rubbing them off LOL! because every time it rains, the grease line is there again. but is always good to have wax to protect the paint thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 01:01 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 1 2017, 11:30 PM)
Not bad for Persona AT FC, the orange icon sign will blink? Meaning that when light up just inform you fuel going empty,  when blink then warning? I think mine also can go till 4xx km, thanks for your information...

For previous Gen 2, i try before. Petronas give more km but not so powerfull while Shell more power but less km. So until now i only pump Petronas.

Full tank with Petronas = 330-360km
Full tank with Shell = 300-320km

This is base on my previous Gen 2, fully city drive.
i think you are kinda right, shell does feel more power.
just last few days i switch from empty tank petronas to shell, the cars starts to jerk(accelerate too fast) from stop to start. after driving about 10km the cars seems to adjust to the fuel and it returns normal.

this guy has done some interesting test, using his grand livina. food for thought.
http://www.christopherteh.com/blog/2011/04/fc/

tldr
here i quote his conclusion

"different petrol brands would give a different FC depending on the distance travelled. The results showed that for the lowest FC, Shell is most suitable for city driving (e.g., roads with heavy traffic) but Petronas is most suited for highway driving (e.g., outstation driving).

So perhaps Malaysians do have it right on the best petrol brands (Shell and Petronas) to use for their cars."

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Dec 2 2017, 01:03 AM
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 08:22 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ Dec 2 2017, 05:02 AM)
Dont danger you and other people by using neural gear on either manual or at when cruising especially on highway. That is plain stupid.
if you know what you are doing and do it safe it will be fine, driving MT while engaging neutral gear is part and parcel. MT drivers often put neutral gear to coast to a stop or slow down. if you are a cautious, driver you will know how to coast safely and efficiently by always ready your clutch and gear stick to engage in gear.
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 08:59 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 2 2017, 08:35 AM)
[attachmentid=9394311]
I add this today during service my car... Cost RM 20+6%gst only... Ok the price?
typical price for cabin filter.
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 09:02 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(-Aktan- @ Dec 2 2017, 08:44 AM)
For those who upgrade your EO to syn3000 7000.. always remember to ask for the bottle to bring home...

I suspect after paid extra they still use 800se. My sc here are quite big, we're not allowed to go into svc area.

For a far I saw they still use grey bottle for me, even Im paying for 3000. If any proton svc ppl lurk here.. hope they see this.

Edit : that was for first service, but second service so far ok.
my first service they dont include my bottle too confused.gif . i ask if they have any left over in the bottle, they say already pour all in. not sure if this is the standard procedure in proton SC, when i service my peroduo myvi, they put the bottle with leftover oil and old air cabin filter in a plastic bag to prove that they have change the parts.
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:53 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 2 2017, 10:48 AM)
But for me, Shell more power but comsump more petrol. Petronas suitable for city drive and Shell for long distance.
Interesting, it seems petrol brand suitable for different driving road conditions
littlegamer
post Dec 2 2017, 12:55 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Dec 2 2017, 10:53 AM)
Yes, for Proton, normally they will pour all in, cause the engine tank bigger than Perodua.
I see thanks
littlegamer
post Dec 6 2017, 04:41 PM

664 posts

Hi guys, want to ask if you guys has minor rattling sound near driver side door or b pillar? At first I thought my trunk punya item or the smart tag cause noise, but it seems like some light item is hitting the plastic inside the driver door. Anyone has this issue? I had the first batch persona and already installed iP kit.
littlegamer
post Dec 6 2017, 05:10 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Ashhh @ Dec 6 2017, 05:04 PM)
I think i'm facing similar problem. Not sure whether the sounds come from steering/speedometer area or side door/b pillar. But one thing from sure, the noise comes from somewhere at the bottom. Nasib baik I only face it during 'hot' season in the car. Bila dah sejuk, automatic the noise will go away.  blink.gif
When cruising High way or go over bump no sound 1. When going through fairly patched road (those road got small hump). Then the sound match the bump
littlegamer
post Dec 6 2017, 05:23 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Ashhh @ Dec 6 2017, 05:15 PM)
Maybe you can record and share us the video/sound of the rattle? Wanna check whether it matched with my kind of rattle as well.
I try later, the car noise in there cabin might overpower the rattling sound. The rattling sound is faint but noticeable

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0813sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:12 AM