200hp car under 50k, Weekend only ride

SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 01:42 AM, updated 9y ago

253 posts

Hi there car's sifu,

I plan to buy 2nd hand weekend car just to drive around town or layan corner around selangor, and maybe long drive to melaka/ipoh from kl. weekend car must have good hp and torque maybe close to 200bhp , i search carlist and finalize the candidate. Volkswagen Golf Gti (mk5) , Proton Satria Gti , and civic type r (hatchback) , all under rm50k, and year also the same 2000-2005, which car should i get?

Tldr best hatchback power 200hp under 50k

200hp kinda exaggerated just fast will do.

inalize the list and and advantages

1) VW golf gti mk5 -all wheel drive - dual clutch gb - powerful engine (2004-2005)

2) proton satria gti / neo - install turbo kits - good handling and good power to weight ratio. (2000-2005)

3)toyota altezza 3sge beams - stock already powerful - rear wheel drive - look good ( 2002-2004)

4) suzuki swift sport - nimble and agile - not to old - ( 2013-2014)

This post has been edited by gengkey01: Jul 19 2017, 01:09 PM
Boss262
post Jul 17 2017, 05:33 AM

109 posts

Suprima S? with a race chip it can be boosted upto 170hp
dstl1128
post Jul 17 2017, 08:35 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(gengkey01 @ Jul 17 2017, 01:42 AM)
... car must have  good hp and torque maybe close to 200bhp ,
Why is Honda in the list?

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jul 17 2017, 08:35 AM
Morpheus2be
post Jul 17 2017, 08:38 AM

464 posts

Look for a used Ford Focus TDCi 2.0

Diesel, nuff said.
SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 10:16 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Jul 17 2017, 05:33 AM)
But the price can get under 50k ?
lsm1991
post Jul 17 2017, 10:19 AM

309 posts

Hi there car's sifu,

I plan to buy 2nd hand weekend car just to drive around town or layan corner around selangor, and maybe long drive to melaka/ipoh from kl. weekend car must have good hp and torque maybe close to 200bhp , i search carlist and finalize the candidate. Volkswagen Golf Gti (mk5) , Proton Satria Gti , and civic type r (hatchback) , all under rm50k, and year also the same 2000-2005, which car should i get?

Tldr best  hatchback power 200hp under 50k
Volkswagen Golf Gti (mk5)
- sort of meets the criterias, within budget pretty decent everywhere else

satria gti
- this is sort of out of place no? might as well consider a modified neo.... (only an option if you know how to view modified cars)

civic type-r
- let me be frank, you will find it VERY difficult to find an ep3-r for this money.

alternatives
celica
- around the same age, offers decent performance (to be clear, the top end 2zz manuals are decent, rest are silly in my opinion )
- keep in mind, many adds listed on mudah are alot higher than what they tend to go for... (just saying)
- make sure to test life when you go for a test drive. and dont miss shift and the car is actually very reliable.

rx8
- also a nice car
- rotaries interesting but can be expensive

SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 10:25 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 17 2017, 08:35 AM)
Why is Honda in the list?
Type r - racing spec
BLjack
post Jul 17 2017, 10:31 AM

57 posts

Polo gti
pakdamek
post Jul 17 2017, 10:32 AM

646 posts

no way
SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 10:36 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 17 2017, 10:19 AM)
Volkswagen Golf Gti (mk5)
- sort of meets the criterias, within budget pretty decent everywhere else

satria gti
- this is sort of out of place no? might as well consider a modified neo.... (only an option if you know how to view modified cars)

civic type-r
- let me be frank, you will find it VERY difficult to find an ep3-r for this money.

alternatives
celica
- around the same age, offers decent performance (to be clear, the top end 2zz manuals are decent, rest are silly in my opinion )
- keep in mind, many adds listed on mudah are alot higher than what they tend to go for... (just saying)
- make sure to test life when you go for a test drive. and dont miss shift and the car is actually very reliable.

rx8
- also a nice car
- rotaries  interesting but can be expensive
Ya golf gti mk5 is on my top list , i think spare part is kinda rare right, for satri gti i think 1.8 engine is sufficient right, im thinking of upgrading its suspension and tyre + paint since the price is quite low to other and budget is viable for upgrade. Celicas i dont know about it much, i know its 1.8 engine (around 180bhp) but trannny mostly auto kinda rare to find manual. Rx-8 is out of my list, fuel makan monster ( from what u heard,)and just dont like the look.

lsm1991
post Jul 17 2017, 10:55 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(gengkey01 @ Jul 17 2017, 10:36 AM)
Ya golf gti mk5 is on my top list , i think spare part is kinda rare right, for satri gti i think 1.8 engine is sufficient right, im thinking of upgrading its suspension and tyre + paint since the price is quite low to other and budget is viable for upgrade. Celicas i dont know about it much, i know its 1.8 engine (around 180bhp) but trannny mostly auto kinda rare to find manual. Rx-8 is out of my list, fuel makan monster ( from what u heard,)and just dont like the look.
the golf is alot more powerful and is in the upper limits of your budget range while nowadays i have actually seen a few satria gti's (real gti's mind you, with the uprated chassis) change hands for significantly less than 20k.... which imo, is pretty decent and as you have said, leaves you alot for maintanance and upgrades. Parts are not really that difficult to find if you ask me...

if i were you, would take a look at celicas as well.... maybe the mrs even (tho body parts/trim are more difficult) cause its a lightweight mid engined rwd car.

**just so you know (im quite sure you already know) cars this old, are cash only if you dont take into account personal loans.

dares
post Jul 17 2017, 10:57 AM

834 posts

no love for 350Z?
skloda
post Jul 17 2017, 10:59 AM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

my friend got 1 satria gti for sale... 21-22k ..if interested i pass my friend contact to you.
lsm1991
post Jul 17 2017, 11:02 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Jul 17 2017, 10:57 AM)
no love for 350Z?
road tax very sakit yo....

170hp... well give n it has a turbo, and how easy it is to actually gain power on fi cars, ill just believe you BUT pose a counter question.... 170hp for how long? tranny can tahan? turbo seals? turbo itself? ohc?

unless everything else it uprated to withstand the same levels..... this might not be a great idea.
danielmckey
post Jul 17 2017, 11:06 AM

1,053 posts

this.

19 Degree South
post Jul 17 2017, 11:33 AM

1,684 posts

Satria GTI got 200 hp meh?
SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 11:54 AM

253 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 17 2017, 11:33 AM)
Satria GTI got 200 hp meh?
No this 1 add to list cause can upgrade other part later, power i think sufficient enough.
donfutsal
post Jul 17 2017, 11:57 AM

182 posts

Hi there car's sifu,

Tldr best  hatchback power 200hp under 50k
golf got gear issue

dont buy
ayamxxx
post Jul 17 2017, 12:01 PM

4,062 posts

but will it cvt can handle those torque?
SUSgengkey01
post Jul 17 2017, 12:02 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 17 2017, 10:55 AM)
the golf is alot more powerful and is in the upper limits of your budget range while nowadays i have actually seen a few satria gti's (real gti's mind you, with the uprated chassis) change hands for significantly less than 20k.... which imo, is pretty decent and as you have said, leaves you alot for maintanance and upgrades. Parts are not really that difficult to find if you ask me...

if i were you, would take a look at celicas as well.... maybe the mrs even (tho body parts/trim are more difficult) cause its a lightweight mid engined rwd car.

**just so you know (im quite sure you already know) cars this old, are cash only if you dont take into account personal loans.
Golf gti mk5 have problem with its gearbox ? If there is problem should i change mind to other car? Conti car gb must be expensive and hard to find.celica okay too, maybe can add to list. Mrs too old and nit too my liking.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:51 AM