LYN Scuba Divers Club v8.0, Feed the addiction

ghostshell
post Aug 24 2017, 11:53 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(HITAMZZ @ Aug 16 2017, 11:49 AM)
hello divers! is it necessary to know how to swim? some said yes some said no..
QUOTE(pl95077 @ Aug 22 2017, 02:10 PM)
Not necessary to know swimming, as long as you don't get panic in water.
If you sign up for PADI, PADI never required you to know swimming. Unless you go for Dive Master course.
it stated required know how to swim, but is subjective to the instructor.
when i took my ow, i require to swim 200m with fin only on water surface and float without any gear on water surface for more than 10minute.
but my fren does not go through those test at different centre

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Aug 6 2017, 07:59 PM)
Some Update about our recent trip  biggrin.gif

Dive Centre : Rubia Tirta Divers
Date      : 28 July - 1 August 2017
Total Diver : 10 Diver
Total Dive  : 8 Dives
Dive Class : Aquarium  rclxm9.gif

Dive Site : West Seulako, Batee Tokong, East Seulako, Arus Paleeh, Sea Garden, Batee Gla, West Seulako, Batee Tokong

No Chance to bring them to dive site Canyon, Pantee Peunateung because of choppy water  rclxub.gif maybe next time  icon_rolleyes.gif

Thanks for those who joining my trip. Hope we can do more dive next time  wub.gif
Below Some of photos from this trip :-

[attachmentid=9020413][attachmentid=9020422]
[attachmentid=9020423][attachmentid=9020424]
[attachmentid=9020425][attachmentid=9020426]
roughly how much total spend for the trip?

This post has been edited by ghostshell: Aug 24 2017, 11:55 AM
ghostshell
post Aug 24 2017, 02:53 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Aug 24 2017, 12:01 PM)
It depends when you take your OW. The standards gets updated year to year.
At the moment you are required to swim 300m with fins&snorkel/swim 200m without assistance and float 10min without assistance.
If any instructor from PADI does not do this than they are breaking the standards and risk getting their license revoked.
my friend and I take the ow almost the same time but at different location on 2 years back

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Aug 24 2017, 12:30 PM)
For this trip we got around MYR 1080 exclude Flight Tix which is around MYR 150-250 return.

Package include :

1. Accommodation 5d4n
2. 8 Dives
3. Equipment Rental
4. Ferry Return
5. Airport transfer
6. Lunch Box During Day Dives
wow, thats cheap, probably is because u have have many pax
ghostshell
post Aug 26 2017, 06:44 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Aug 25 2017, 09:11 AM)
We got 10 divers that time..if not so many diver the price around MYR1100..not so expensive..still worth with the price and the dive experience at there was awesome..i will come back..hehe..
what is the best time to dive there?
any dive site there that is a must go
planing to go there is this 2 month biggrin.gif

QUOTE(HITAMZZ @ Aug 25 2017, 07:19 PM)
Does your friend know how to swim beforehand?
yea my friend know how to swim, is im the one that dont know how to swim tongue.gif
i purposely go learn swimming but i still dont know how to float on the surface until now hmm.gif
just can stroke and swimming around laugh.gif
that time is just laying flat on the surface whistling.gif
ghostshell
post Aug 27 2017, 06:55 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Aug 27 2017, 11:00 AM)
Not so sure when is the best..i been there twice.. At Mei and July both are good dives..pls go dive there :-D

The Best Dive Site :-

1. Batery Tokong
2. Arus Paleh
3. Pantee Paneutung
4. The Canyon
5. Shark Plateu
6. Bates Gla
7. Sophie Rickmers Wreck (osem wreck) but 60m deep 😂

All that site above u must go if u dive there..
item 7 is confirm out of choice hahaha as i still very newbie haha
thanks for the info
ghostshell
post Sep 6 2017, 03:53 AM

278 posts

Anyone dive at nha trang Vietnam before this?
ghostshell
post Sep 6 2017, 09:45 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Sep 6 2017, 08:33 AM)
Never dived there before but don't expect a lot. Some say visibility is better than other islands in Vietnam.
yea i read the same thing too

QUOTE(ukiya @ Sep 6 2017, 09:39 AM)
I was bringing extra tank while I dive Sophie. For backup and emergency.
My guide as well. They also bring extra tank too. Short bottom time and longer time to ascend.

The only thing tat couldn't help much is the many of our dive comp, suunto especially. Keep beeping. Annoying betul.
Simply Overrated n Overfishing. Ain't cheap too.
Went even to Whale Island... well, common stuff. couple of sharks... But whale really no... They even invited me to go again with great discount. But no le... water bit milky. Vis so so. Some time are good. Dive couple of spots... bout 6 but havent explore all yet. Unpredictable currents.

Quite a boat traffic. Some of boats just ramp thru even smb deployed - a big one somemore.

Maybe in near future, I'll go again and give it another chance and another try. Hope it get better. *finger crossed*
boat ramp over smb that scary
still remember which dive center u go ?
ghostshell
post Sep 7 2017, 12:07 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Sep 6 2017, 11:55 PM)
Going to smash that with a 6 hour drive-to-dive in October laugh.gif
7hr drive, 4hr+ drive tried before, started to immune puke.gif

no choice for kl ppl
ghostshell
post Sep 8 2017, 10:09 PM

278 posts

anyone here is arrange some cheap dive trip which is not far away that can let me tag along brows.gif brows.gif
ghostshell
post Sep 10 2017, 11:01 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(desireeang @ Sep 10 2017, 08:17 PM)
Looking for something cheaper if possible.... I saw the promo on fb...looking for better option
suunto zoop now sell for 900 with a free compass clip
ghostshell
post Sep 12 2017, 10:38 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(desireeang @ Sep 11 2017, 12:03 AM)
Zoop is so big it is uncomfortable for me to wear, I hv a small wrist ....
had u try it before?

i have a small wrist too, still ok to use it
ghostshell
post Oct 8 2017, 09:01 PM

278 posts

any instructor here arrange any dive trip that is open to public? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 27 2017, 03:23 PM)
OWC at Scuba 101....then last week I went to Discovery Divers...cos the instructor jump to there d
which u refer to the instructor at discovery diver

QUOTE(michlove @ Sep 27 2017, 03:28 PM)
Now we are planning to Pulau Weh! I'm so excited!
u are join trip arrange by instructor/dive centre or is self arrange?

This post has been edited by ghostshell: Oct 8 2017, 09:02 PM
ghostshell
post Oct 8 2017, 10:43 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Oct 8 2017, 10:20 PM)
Actually not much difference. I am organizing a trip to Tulamben in December but not sure if the volcano will effect anything.
for me is kinda hard to join the dive trip, as most of the time i just 1 pax, due to my work, is hard to match the date/time with my friend for a dive trip, max is just 1 or 2 time per year.

wanted to join the dive center, but most of them not accept 1 pax diver which minimum 2 pax required. sad.gif cry.gif

so only can look for open dive trip by others icon_idea.gif

ghostshell
post Oct 10 2017, 12:26 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Oct 8 2017, 10:47 PM)
Depends I guess because easier for rooms. If you can pay for the extra head I dont see why not.
Don't mind to pay extra for the room if I stay alone , but I was require to pay for 2pax not only room but the diving cost too, that is too expensive

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Oct 9 2017, 09:12 AM)
it's a good way to meet frens... I normally join other dive groups alone... if you go with your friend, you will tend to stick with him/her only.... dun get to mingle around.....
Haha I don't mind to join others alone, just some the date and time not matching , and I have limited contact to others dive group too
ghostshell
post Oct 11 2017, 07:04 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Oct 10 2017, 08:57 AM)
you dun have to pay for 2 pax diving.... hmmm... who charged you for that??
haha some quite famous local dive center, i dont want quote the name to avoid any problem biggrin.gif

QUOTE(demetrius @ Oct 10 2017, 12:36 PM)
Ask to sleep in dive center gahahaha but yea meeting others is fun. A lot of solo divers and female ones too if lucky tongue.gif
haha so far only met solo men diver, no lucky on female yet hmm.gif

QUOTE(Ji3MOON @ Oct 10 2017, 12:56 PM)
Ok Jom Solo Trip brows.gif please call the hot doctor and nurse to join diving bro!  thumbup.gif
i would like to join this too icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Oct 10 2017, 02:45 PM)
You'll only need to pay a bit more for your own room la. You don't need to pay for 2x diving cost unless you marry your partner and he/she dives too and you have to cover all cost. laugh.gif

But yea, go alone, like the others suggested. You'll meet more friends that way.
lol, in fact nope i was requested to pay for almost double of the cost by the dive center due to only 1pax

yaya will go and get know more divers thumbup.gif

ghostshell
post Oct 11 2017, 07:04 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(- JaY - @ Oct 10 2017, 07:53 PM)
anyone been to Tenggol Coral Beach Resort before? which telco got line ar.. scared need to attend to emails and calls when diving there, checked maxis coverage like no coverage.  sad.gif
celcom strongest, digi and maxis only certain spot have the signal and is not stable

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Oct 11 2017, 07:49 AM)
I can get H at certain area on the beach. But beware of sandflies
sandflies is no kidding sweat.gif
ghostshell
post Oct 12 2017, 10:51 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Oct 12 2017, 02:53 PM)
Take lazer pointer and point into your eyes? would that work? haha  bangwall.gif
perhaps become like this ?
u will be able to defend if u get attack by trigger fish
ghostshell
post Oct 18 2017, 10:11 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(ysling @ Oct 16 2017, 11:14 AM)
hi, can anyone recommend a dive camera suitable for beginners. easy to use and not too bad photo quality will do. Do not have to have advance functions
gopro, olympus tg tracker, and so, your budget suggest the best cam cool2.gif
ghostshell
post Oct 20 2017, 10:37 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(ysling @ Oct 20 2017, 08:33 AM)
budget probably less than 1-2k? i don't really know the market price of these cams  mega_shok.gif
can try sony fdr-x3000(with case up to 60m), olympus tg-5(with case up to 60m), olympus tg tracker (no case up to 30m),
all within your budget.

see which function u needed then decide which cam u want.
ghostshell
post Nov 22 2017, 09:58 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(uturn @ Nov 12 2017, 11:21 AM)
I've used it on a night dive and the brightness is just enough for me..not too bright until that you could blind the fish but you kill a shark with it..It's too bulky.
kill a shark shocking.gif hmm.gif biggrin.gif
ghostshell
post Nov 22 2017, 10:29 PM

278 posts

any dc recommended if want go dive at pulau payar

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0985sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:41 AM