LYN Scuba Divers Club v8.0, Feed the addiction
awx10
Feb 15 2023, 03:52 AM
Previously made such posts, that dive was completed already !
Looking to dive @ Tioman,
Seems like Tekek is a popular choice ?
I've only ever been to TDB @ Genting. 2 AOW, 1 OW 1 Fun Dive
Looking kinda budget place if possible.
Any suggestions ? Aman tioman is rather expensive.
Edit: Found that Sealantis seems to fit my price point, hope they're good.
This post has been edited by awx10: Feb 15 2023, 04:19 AM
scchan107
Feb 15 2023, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(awx10 @ Feb 15 2023, 03:52 AM) Previously made such posts, that dive was completed already ! Looking to dive @ Tioman, Seems like Tekek is a popular choice ? I've only ever been to TDB @ Genting. 2 AOW, 1 OW 1 Fun Dive Looking kinda budget place if possible. Any suggestions ? Aman tioman is rather expensive. Edit: Found that Sealantis seems to fit my price point, hope they're good. If want cheaper, can consider Kg Salang. Ella's place (https://www.facebook.com/norsahila.abdulhashim/) is one of the hut with better condition (Last went 2017, condition may be changed). Only cons is the walking distance of 15min from Jetty. No comments on DC in Salang as there should be plenty of options.
awx10
Feb 15 2023, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Feb 15 2023, 09:12 AM) If want cheaper, can consider Kg Salang. Ella's place (https://www.facebook.com/norsahila.abdulhashim/) is one of the hut with better condition (Last went 2017, condition may be changed). Only cons is the walking distance of 15min from Jetty. No comments on DC in Salang as there should be plenty of options. Thanks for your suggestion ! Will check them out, probably heading to drt to check for promos
GrumpyDiver
Mar 4 2023, 06:23 PM
How does Semporna muck diving compare to Lembeh, Ambon, and Anilao?
Thanks for your thoughts.
raist86
Mar 11 2023, 04:07 PM
hi. i'm organizing a dive trip to Pulau Weh in June. 20th - 25th (6D5N). Gonna be diving with Lumba-Lumba DC, currently have 6 pax already, with 2 more spot available. Anyone interested?
steel52
Mar 16 2023, 04:44 PM
Can recommend me nice and clean dive resort in perhentian?
Never been to perhentian before
icemanfx
Mar 26 2023, 01:30 AM
On my recent diving trip in Maldives. Due unfavorable current, dive instructor changed direction and surface about 1km away from our dive boat. Our dive boat was searching for us at where we were supposed to surface. We were lost at sea for about 45 minutes until picked up by another dive boat. After transferred back to our dive boat, went straight back to second dive.
It is important to carry floatation device/marker. Have a safe dive folks.
This post has been edited by icemanfx: Mar 26 2023, 01:32 AM
SUSdattebayo
Mar 26 2023, 10:18 PM
thinking to go Tioman to learn diving alone since timing with friend not ngam
is it normal to approach dive centre alone? I know the pricing in terms of accomodation won’t be that attractive, but I am willing to pay more
but if you are alone, would DM or instructor be your dive buddy?
thesnugbug
Mar 27 2023, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Mar 26 2023, 10:18 PM) thinking to go Tioman to learn diving alone since timing with friend not ngam is it normal to approach dive centre alone? I know the pricing in terms of accomodation won’t be that attractive, but I am willing to pay more but if you are alone, would DM or instructor be your dive buddy? It's fine to enquire as a solo student. They may have other OW courses scheduled at the same time and you may have the option to join one of them (if you don't want to go solo). Mainstream OW courses don't really do much buddy skills besides pre-dive checks, surface towing, air share. All these can be done with the instructor. Sometimes a DM/DMT can stand in as a buddy but it's not required.
thesnugbug
Mar 27 2023, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Feb 14 2023, 10:20 AM) Dear sifu, Asking for advice: If I have budget for 1 LOB trip in near future, will you pick Raja Ampat or Komodo? 1) I am aware there are day trip frm Komodo Experience wise, I've done 1 LOB in Similan, and I would like to ask where to get more experience in terms of dealing with current before I go to R4 / Komodo. R4 isn't known for current like Komodo is. There will always be current in R4 but it's not ripping and you can swim against it. Dive plan will almost always be: drop in at one side of a pinnacle, swim with/against current, go to the other side and do the opposite. When I did R4 the general consensus among the guides was they all preferred Komodo because they felt the dives were more exciting, but they also said Komodo tends to be colder. I have not been to Komodo but I loved R4. The coral is just  As for current training, hard to say... just go to Tenggol/Tioman a bunch of times and you will surely hit current at some point. Not sure if you'll be able to easily experience downcurrent in West Msia though. For that you might have to go to Sipadan. This post has been edited by thesnugbug: Mar 27 2023, 10:26 PM
SUSdattebayo
Mar 27 2023, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(thesnugbug @ Mar 27 2023, 10:15 PM) It's fine to enquire as a solo student. They may have other OW courses scheduled at the same time and you may have the option to join one of them (if you don't want to go solo). Mainstream OW courses don't really do much buddy skills besides pre-dive checks, surface towing, air share. All these can be done with the instructor. Sometimes a DM/DMT can stand in as a buddy but it's not required. yeah what my friend told me that he did his AOW solo too, but he got 2-3 stranger classmates though throughout the course if no buddy available, then instructor will be the buddy, eg air share will do with the instructor instead
scchan107
Mar 28 2023, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(thesnugbug @ Mar 27 2023, 10:20 PM) R4 isn't known for current like Komodo is. There will always be current in R4 but it's not ripping and you can swim against it. Dive plan will almost always be: drop in at one side of a pinnacle, swim with/against current, go to the other side and do the opposite. When I did R4 the general consensus among the guides was they all preferred Komodo because they felt the dives were more exciting, but they also said Komodo tends to be colder. I have not been to Komodo but I loved R4. The coral is just  As for current training, hard to say... just go to Tenggol/Tioman a bunch of times and you will surely hit current at some point. Not sure if you'll be able to easily experience downcurrent in West Msia though. For that you might have to go to Sipadan. Tioman - 4 times Tenggol - 1 time ( I even request for washing machine dive but DC tak layan) Sipadan - twice (no luck with downcurrent) How cold will i expect for Komodo? So far coldest dive I've done is 25C for a few minute when i dropped below thermocline in Similan. Still tolerable with 3mm full suit.
XtraSpicy
Mar 30 2023, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Mar 28 2023, 03:54 PM) Tioman - 4 times Tenggol - 1 time ( I even request for washing machine dive but DC tak layan) Sipadan - twice (no luck with downcurrent) How cold will i expect for Komodo? So far coldest dive I've done is 25C for a few minute when i dropped below thermocline in Similan. Still tolerable with 3mm full suit. When are you expecting to be in Komodo? diving north, central or south? If north and central probably 27-28 celcius. Im not so sure about south but probably can go to 23-24 celcius during its cold season
scchan107
Mar 31 2023, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(XtraSpicy @ Mar 30 2023, 01:21 PM) When are you expecting to be in Komodo? diving north, central or south? If north and central probably 27-28 celcius. Im not so sure about south but probably can go to 23-24 celcius during its cold season I'm still collecting information for planning purposes, no target for time and area as of now.
XtraSpicy
Apr 3 2023, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(scchan107 @ Mar 31 2023, 10:22 AM) I'm still collecting information for planning purposes, no target for time and area as of now. i see. think 3mm is good enough anyhow. have fun.
kit615
Apr 3 2023, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(scchan107 @ Mar 31 2023, 10:22 AM) I'm still collecting information for planning purposes, no target for time and area as of now. Dived Komodo during Feb few years ago, 3mm only didnt feel cold.
zstan
Apr 4 2023, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Mar 26 2023, 01:30 AM) On my recent diving trip in Maldives. Due unfavorable current, dive instructor changed direction and surface about 1km away from our dive boat. Our dive boat was searching for us at where we were supposed to surface. We were lost at sea for about 45 minutes until picked up by another dive boat. After transferred back to our dive boat, went straight back to second dive. It is important to carry floatation device/marker. Have a safe dive folks. i thought maldives mandatory to bring SMB?
zstan
Apr 4 2023, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Mar 26 2023, 10:18 PM) thinking to go Tioman to learn diving alone since timing with friend not ngam is it normal to approach dive centre alone? I know the pricing in terms of accomodation won’t be that attractive, but I am willing to pay more but if you are alone, would DM or instructor be your dive buddy? i've dived many times alone. sometimes got other divers to be buddy, sometimes 1 to 1 with instructor/DM.
icemanfx
Apr 4 2023, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 4 2023, 12:21 PM) i thought maldives mandatory to bring SMB? We had SMB but our boat was 1km away in the wrong direction.
hammersx P
Apr 5 2023, 11:16 PM
hi, would want to ask can I normal check-in fins only for AirAsia domestic flight? or do i need to purchase the sport equipment allowance