chip scale or rot scale?
THE AROWANA Ver. 2.0, The Immortal Dragon ~ !
Nov 24 2007, 04:31 PM
1,874 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: "On a need-to-know basis" |
chip scale or rot scale?
Nov 24 2007, 07:05 PM
808 posts Joined: May 2007 From: o( *゚ー゚)┘ Ipoh |
QUOTE(moorish @ Nov 24 2007, 04:31 PM) nt sure in english. i think both. Added on November 24, 2007, 7:05 pm QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 24 2007, 03:17 PM) yala yala. bagus bagus. This post has been edited by Manufacture: Nov 24 2007, 07:05 PM |
Nov 25 2007, 02:45 AM
1,186 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anfield |
QUOTE(Manufacture @ Nov 24 2007, 03:15 PM) hey. btw, lately.. anyone of ur fishes kena the rotting scale disease ah? many of my customers kena. careful ya. can lead to the death of aro wan you know? Rotting scale disease? Is it same as dropsy? Can you describe more about the disease. Showing some picture may help. |
Nov 25 2007, 10:15 AM
chip scale is the scale like got something eating into it from the side, dropsy is the scle all like coming/popping out where you can see the flesh of the fish. I notice there're 2 tpe of dropsy for aro, 1st type only 1 row of scale mostly the 4th lvl will pop up, the fish may lose appetite and swim less but no swallon body, this type not so deadly.
The 2nd type the whole body swallon like pearly goldfish, scale pop up on all level turning your aro like dragon fruit, tis one very deadly. Rot scale is like he name mention, the scale rot sometimes beginning from the centre of the scale, the rotting place color brown wan. So which is the one? |
Nov 25 2007, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(moorish @ Nov 25 2007, 10:15 AM) chip scale is the scale like got something eating into it from the side, dropsy is the scle all like coming/popping out where you can see the flesh of the fish. I notice there're 2 tpe of dropsy for aro, 1st type only 1 row of scale mostly the 4th lvl will pop up, the fish may lose appetite and swim less but no swallon body, this type not so deadly. Good explanation! Thanks moorish.. Now I know the diff between chip scale and dropsy.The 2nd type the whole body swallon like pearly goldfish, scale pop up on all level turning your aro like dragon fruit, tis one very deadly. Rot scale is like he name mention, the scale rot sometimes beginning from the centre of the scale, the rotting place color brown wan. So which is the one? |
Nov 25 2007, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(moorish @ Nov 25 2007, 10:15 AM) chip scale is the scale like got something eating into it from the side, dropsy is the scle all like coming/popping out where you can see the flesh of the fish. I notice there're 2 tpe of dropsy for aro, 1st type only 1 row of scale mostly the 4th lvl will pop up, the fish may lose appetite and swim less but no swallon body, this type not so deadly. it would be the dropsy 1. The 2nd type the whole body swallon like pearly goldfish, scale pop up on all level turning your aro like dragon fruit, tis one very deadly. Rot scale is like he name mention, the scale rot sometimes beginning from the centre of the scale, the rotting place color brown wan. So which is the one? |
Nov 25 2007, 08:14 PM
Very lucky that aro. Btw, what is the cause of dropsy? Bad water condition?
Nov 25 2007, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(saif_bear @ Nov 25 2007, 08:14 PM) the whole body swallon type is definately internal bacteria and other fish also gets this and it is contagious.The few scale kena type I duno, my ex HBRTG also kena and it always associate with after WC, I spose its bad water or sudden change in water, could be PH...but this type of dropsy (I'm not sure you can even call this dropsy) wont infect other tank mate of other species. And manufacture, your fren aro must be bulletproof, normally tiger barb always kena this kind of dropsy whole body swallon until look like gold fish and chances of curing very slim. |
Nov 25 2007, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(moorish @ Nov 25 2007, 08:37 PM) the whole body swallon type is definately internal bacteria and other fish also gets this and it is contagious. yeah la. for it to survive up to 1 week ady so rare. but ah. its nt cured yet. the body bengkok ady now. kesian. The few scale kena type I duno, my ex HBRTG also kena and it always associate with after WC, I spose its bad water or sudden change in water, could be PH...but this type of dropsy (I'm not sure you can even call this dropsy) wont infect other tank mate of other species. And manufacture, your fren aro must be bulletproof, normally tiger barb always kena this kind of dropsy whole body swallon until look like gold fish and chances of curing very slim. not friends aro. customers aro This post has been edited by Manufacture: Nov 25 2007, 08:59 PM |
Nov 26 2007, 11:16 AM
Guys, can share with us your tank filtering system? Anyone used sump tank or cannister? What is your sump tank media setup? I mean the filter media in each compartment of the sump tank.
Nov 26 2007, 07:33 PM
1,970 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malacca |
![]() when 1st get thank was like this.... now the 1st section bio balls 2nd bio ring 3rd bio ring 4th pump This post has been edited by c0c0nut: Nov 26 2007, 07:35 PM |
Nov 26 2007, 10:37 PM
Kenn, in the second compartment is that a valve? The 'thing' that connected to the inlet pipe.
Nov 27 2007, 12:22 AM
16 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi guys...
am newbie in this aro thingy... previously co-owned 2 silver aro with my brother... 1 - keep it till 40cm and give it away ( too big for our aquarium) 2 - died after 6 months... i think because of water not clean. fungus from aquarium cover. (recently know why, thanks to this forum.) currently my gf got one silver aro from her father(gift). so wanna learn all about aro's, maybe after this can upgrade to a nicer breed (more expensive breed). hehehe i used to give my aros' FF only. now with current project(for me greetings to all sifus here and other aro's enthusiasts Added on November 27, 2007, 12:42 amsorry guys... which aro is best to keep with budget <rm200 ? currently the aquarium at my hometown empty la... thinking of starting a new project... This post has been edited by slick_flick: Nov 27 2007, 12:42 AM |
Nov 27 2007, 04:49 PM
45 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
anyone here know where can buy arowana cheap at kl? size about 3inch. dont need big.
Nov 27 2007, 05:03 PM
which type of aro...so many type ranging from RM90 - RM4000???
Nov 27 2007, 05:05 PM
QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Sep 22 2007, 11:54 PM) get your new tank ready 1st....den cycle the water....for 2-3 days....put in tester fish (fish that die easily under bad water condition)...if the fish survive for half day....den put in your aro into the new tank.... what kind of fish is test fish?the small fish that feed the arowana can?IMPORTANT ! if u want to put your aro in temporary tank....because you want to use the old position make sure to use back the water from your old tank....means...tank A is ori tank....tank B is new tank....tank C temp tank.... this is how you do it: collect the water from tank A and put into tank C. Tansfer fish to tank C and let it be there. If you want do not feed also can. Den remove tank A and move in tank B. To set up tank B put in anti-chlorine 1st den water. cycle water in the tank. before puting in the filter medium, use the water from tank A to wash it. after 2 days put in tester fish. after 8-10 hours fish still ok (if you scared leave for 1 day) den your are is ready to go into new home. Things to do when aro in new home: keep the lights on have some tank mate ready do not feed for 3-4 days add anti stress liquid make sure your water have enough air flow if your aro looks like mabuk mabuk swimming side ways tansfer back to tank C if all above do not work and ya aro kiok (touch wood) don blame me, but this works for me QUOTE(saif_bear @ Nov 22 2007, 01:50 PM) Xian Long == Sian Lon. Correct me if I'm wrong. SianLon do have high quality Xback. I wonder how this piece will turn out although it is HBRTG. Maybe can turn out into HBRTG with Strong Xback gene. where can buy their fish?Btw, this is Sian Lon Golden Head. Picrure curtesy of Sian Lon Aquatic. ![]() QUOTE(Manufacture @ Nov 24 2007, 03:15 PM) eat so much.. later got drop eye ooo.. eat too much will drop eye?why? what is rotting scale disease?hey. btw, lately.. anyone of ur fishes kena the rotting scale disease ah? many of my customers kena. careful ya. can lead to the death of aro wan you know? Added on November 27, 2007, 5:08 pm QUOTE(moorish @ Nov 27 2007, 05:03 PM) blue Xback,red Xback,or red arowanan.This post has been edited by schin: Nov 27 2007, 05:08 PM |
Nov 27 2007, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(schin @ Nov 27 2007, 05:05 PM) what kind of fish is test fish?the small fish that feed the arowana can? where can buy their fish? eat too much will drop eye?why? what is rotting scale disease? over fattening. the customers arowana finally died. This post has been edited by Manufacture: Nov 27 2007, 05:58 PM |
Nov 27 2007, 06:02 PM
Nov 27 2007, 07:01 PM
16 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi guys... i'm a noob in this aro's thingy... so please advise
i've previously co-owned 2 silvers with my brother... 1 - keep it till 40-50cm then give it away coz our aquarium too small 2 - keep it for 6 months then died. (suspected of fungus from aquarium top, recently discovered why. thanks to this forum) currently helping my gf with her silver. still small. which aro is best to keep with budget <rm200 ? currently the aquarium at my hometown empty la... thinking of starting a new aro project... thanks for reading my first post here |
Nov 27 2007, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(schin @ Nov 27 2007, 06:02 PM) IPOH.QUOTE(slick_flick @ Nov 27 2007, 07:01 PM) hi guys... i'm a noob in this aro's thingy... so please advise GREEN. YELLOW TAIL. PEARL. SILVER. I think thats all. i've previously co-owned 2 silvers with my brother... 1 - keep it till 40-50cm then give it away coz our aquarium too small 2 - keep it for 6 months then died. (suspected of fungus from aquarium top, recently discovered why. thanks to this forum) currently helping my gf with her silver. still small. which aro is best to keep with budget <rm200 ? currently the aquarium at my hometown empty la... thinking of starting a new aro project... thanks for reading my first post here |
| Change to: | 0.0327sec
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:41 PM |