126 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

THE AROWANA Ver. 2.0, The Immortal Dragon ~ !

TSc0c0nut
post Apr 2 2007, 11:37 AM, updated 18y ago

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

Hey guys we have came so far, and now is the new beginning of the new thread. Please pm me your nick and the type of fish you have, if you want to be on the list. Photos from previous thread i will try to repost here. Those who have good photos please repost it here. Thanks !

1. c0c0nut - Chili Red
2. saif_bear - Blood Red / RTG / Malaysian Golden
3. Gnoof - Green
4. ChelseaFan - Green
5. MadStone - Red Jardini
6. aljebat - RTG
7. serewen - Silver
8. skadead - Chili Red
9. dildream and babyfiona - Green / Indo Golden
10. 1717 - Golden
11. burag0 - RTG
12. yikchun - Yellow Tail
13. aryan - Chili Red
14. Balthasar - Pearl
15. styloe - Super Red / Blue Base
16. gengenhell - RTG
17. SoFastSoFurious - Super Red / Blood Red
18. ahan18 - Blood Red
19. beh_yo_rabbitry - Jardini / RTG / Yellow Tail
20. novo - Jardini / Silver
21. Ycg5555 - Super Red
22. fateen - Pearl
23. Manufacture - Blood Red / Chilli Red / HB Golden / XB Golden / BB Golden
24. Shark King - RTG / Chili Red
25. mydelsol - Australian Pearl
26. Moorish - Blood Red / Golden
27. Arix - Banjar Red
28. spirit of demon - RTG / Indo Red / Yellow Tail
29. wmkr - Super Red / Yellow Tail
30. ganabathi - Pearl / Yellow Tail

This post has been edited by c0c0nut: Apr 30 2008, 09:45 PM
saif_bear
post Apr 2 2007, 11:44 AM

Th3 MiGhtHy ReDs!
1,186 posts

deleted --- as you wish master notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by saif_bear: Apr 3 2007, 12:33 PM
TSc0c0nut
post Apr 2 2007, 11:52 AM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

Parts of an Asian Arowana

Arowana Jargon or Abbreviation (For those newbie)
RTG = Red Tail Golden
XBACK = Cross Back
YT = Yellow Tail
YTL = Yi Tiao Long ( straight line scales on 6th level )
TKL = Tikum Leng
PLJ = Protruding Lower Jaw
SR = Super Red ( Grade 1 Red )
CR = Chilli Red
ER = Emperor Red
BMB XB = Bukit Merah Blue
PG = Panda Gold
PHG = Pahang Gold
PR = Purple Red
EBXB = Electric Blue Crossback
VFSR = Violet Fusion Super Red
BB = Beneficial Bacteria
SABF = Singapore Arowana Breeding Farm ( Farm based in Singapore )
DFI = Dragon Fish Industry ( Farm based in Singapore )
QH = Qian Hu ( Farm based in Singapore )

Quote from Arofanatics.com

DE = Drop Eye
WC = Water Change
KL = Ketapang Leaves
SW = Superworms (big)
MW = Mealworms (small)
MP = Market prawns
CRIT = Crickets
XL = Xian Leng (Farm based in Malaysia)
XL SA = Xian Leng Shah Alam (showroom)
XL BP = Xian Leng Batu Pahat (showroom)
HOA = House of Arowans
UV = Ultra Violet Light (use to kill parasite and bacteria)
BM BB = Bukit Merah Blue Base
KK = King Kong ( Melaka local fish shop)
LFS = Local Fish Shop
FF = Feeder Fish
TY = Tong Yuan (Cross breed of a high quality red with a high quality golden)
JAR = Jardini

This post has been edited by c0c0nut: Apr 2 2007, 04:43 PM
dildream
post Apr 2 2007, 12:53 PM

468 posts

yo coco put back the same title head but with V2 at the end like others..
else it will be confusing for others leh.. just my pov
TSc0c0nut
post Apr 2 2007, 12:57 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

Things that you should read to know 'more' click the link below

Read Me

Frequently Asked Questions
Introduction

These are some of the common questions which are frequently asked by Arowana owners and the answers to these questions. As much as possible, we'll make sure that the contents provided here are unbiased, accurate & repeatable.

Q. What are suitable companions for my Arowana?
We are compiling a list of suitable companions for Arowanas. As the aggressiveness of Arowanas differ greatly, even very compatible species may be attacked by your Arowana. This list is to be used as a guide based on feedback from Arowana owners around world.

Q. I heard that we should not have planted tanks and Arowanas.
It's not a matter of keeping Arowanas with planted tanks which is bad, but the additional maintenance which is required to keep the tank clean. Planted tanks usually mean that there's gravel in the tank and although gravel is pleasant to look at, it can trap debris / waste products produced by your Arowana. This can foul up the water conditions rather quickly and if proper care is not taken, the water can deteriorate very quickly and cause problems / diseases for your Arowana. There's an excellent article regarding the upkeeping of Discus in planted tanks which could help any one in attempting a Arowana & planted tank setup. Click here.

Q. My Arowana is not eating. Help!
Probably the first sign of more serious problems to come, there are many reasons why arowanas refuse to eat. One of the least worrying & common problems is overfeeding. By continuously feeding excessively, arowanas tend to break into a "starving phase" and stop eating completely until they feel like eating again. The best solution to this problem is to monitor your feeding and feed only what your arowana is able to eat comfortable and stop when it shows signs of slowing down (or about 80% of it's eating capacity).

More often than not, an arowana that is not eating is a sign to more serious problems like sudden stress or even diseases. Check the tank water parameters for any unusual warnings like an ammonia spike or a sudden drop in pH or temperature. If the water parameters look fine and there are no visible signs of diseases, your arowana might be suffering from an internal disease. Monitor the arowana closely over the next few days and proceed with treatment as necessary.

Q. I'm going on a vacation for a week, what about feeding?
Most fishes are able to go without food for weeks so it's nothing to worry about. Feed your arowana slightly more the day before you leave and also slightly more on the day you come back.

Q. How do I know if my Arowana is a male or a female?
There isn't a sure-fire way of telling the sex of an Arowana. One way which could indicate the gender of the Arowana is by looking at it's mouth. Males usually have "deeper" mouths because their are mouth breeders and the space is required to hold the eggs/frys until they are ready to venture. A sort of protection if I'm not wrong.

Q. I want to keep 2 Arowanas in the same tank. Will they fight?
It is not advisable to keep 2 arowanas in the same tank as injuries are unavoidable and death of one fish is almost certain on most ocassion. Arowanas are very territorial fishes and they usually do not tolerate the company of another "competitor". Multiple arowanas can be kept together only if the numbers are large enough (e.g. 6-10). With such a large number, the aggression is reduced and the arowanas too, will find it hard to establish any form of territory. A large tank however, is needed to house such a large number of arowanas. The only exception to keeping 2 arowanas in the same tank is when the arowanas have paired off after courtship and are ready for breeding. This is VERY rare and only attempted by a very small number of experienced owners.

Q. My pH is 7.5, will my Arowana be fine?
Arowanas prefer water parameters that are slightly acidic (6.0-7.0). There's no doubt that an arowana can live comfortable in a slightly alkaline tank, but in the long run, the stresses of a different water climate could result in the weakening of the fish and makes it susceptible to diseases.

Q. Is aquarium salt necessary during each water change?
In a word, No. Aquarium salt has numerous benefits like prevention of diseases as well as improving gill functions but it's not absolutely essential during water changes.

Forum F.A.Q. Topics Views

Quote from Arofanatics.com

This post has been edited by c0c0nut: Apr 2 2007, 04:44 PM
serewen
post Apr 2 2007, 03:53 PM

Upasaka
3,769 posts

Edited............................

rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by serewen: Apr 2 2007, 06:36 PM
aljebat
post Apr 2 2007, 04:01 PM

321 posts

removed as YOU wished!

This post has been edited by aljebat: Apr 2 2007, 04:29 PM
skadead
post Apr 2 2007, 04:16 PM

196 posts

- delete -

This post has been edited by skadead: Apr 3 2007, 09:08 AM
novo
post Apr 2 2007, 05:33 PM

120 posts

any1 selling adult RTG pm me if 20"+ sure i get.. prefer RTG/MG/REDs
TSc0c0nut
post Apr 2 2007, 08:45 PM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

QUOTE(novo @ Apr 2 2007, 05:33 PM)
any1 selling adult RTG pm me if 20"+ sure i get.. prefer RTG/MG/REDs
you want for yourself or to breed ?
madstone
post Apr 2 2007, 11:28 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Errr....can i ask questions?

I noticed when i want to do WC, i saw lots of small red cacing (like cacing kerawit) swam inside the tank BUT luckily i got feeder fish to ate em'

What the hell is that? Is this cacing harmless to my aro?

One more, i noticed my JAR acting weird for few days after i put in the active karbon in the filter area
i put it coz the water kinda smelly, so, i listened to c0c0 to put active karbon in my tank
Is it the one we got free with the filter media
the black like chalk in fishnet package?

hmm.gif
Gnoof
post Apr 2 2007, 11:54 PM

591 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Apr 2 2007, 11:28 PM)
Errr....can i ask questions?

I noticed when i want to do WC, i saw lots of small red cacing (like cacing kerawit) swam inside the tank BUT luckily i got feeder fish to ate em'

What the hell is that? Is this cacing harmless to my aro?

hmm.gif
I think the worm is blood worm, mosquito larvae.
madstone
post Apr 2 2007, 11:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Gnoof @ Apr 2 2007, 11:54 PM)
I think the worm is blood worm, mosquito larvae.
How to exterminate them?
Or just let it be?

TSc0c0nut
post Apr 3 2007, 08:04 AM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

yeah the red cacing is just mosquito larvae...no worries do no harm...just put some salt into your tank....should be ok....active carbon, sure for the first time u put your fish sure not use to it....just let it be for a few times....den should be ok already....no worries bro ...me kena before
madstone
post Apr 3 2007, 09:06 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Apr 3 2007, 08:04 AM)
yeah the red cacing is just mosquito larvae...no worries do no harm...just put some salt into your tank....should be ok....active carbon, sure for the first time u put your fish sure not use to it....just let it be for a few times....den should be ok already....no worries bro ...me kena before
The thing is, night before that, i dreamt of my JAR dying...
it haunts me, so i took out the karbon
my JAR acting kinda weird & it made me scared
so, i do WC and took the carbon out

NOW, the guy swam happily rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif

novo
post Apr 3 2007, 09:17 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Apr 2 2007, 08:45 PM)
you want for yourself or to breed ?
breed of coz...later if u all want to get cheap aro can get from me biggrin.gif
TSc0c0nut
post Apr 3 2007, 09:21 AM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

ok will look out for big aros for you....sure ah next time gimme if got fry...hahaha
novo
post Apr 3 2007, 09:23 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(c0c0nut @ Apr 3 2007, 09:21 AM)
ok will look out for big aros for you....sure ah next time gimme if got fry...hahaha
hehe its for sell.. biggrin.gif ..
post Apr 3 2007, 10:00 AM

QUOTE(novo @ Apr 3 2007, 09:23 AM)
hehe its for sell.. biggrin.gif ..
cool if there are fry i would sure get it from u... brows.gif
TSc0c0nut
post Apr 3 2007, 10:31 AM

CrAzY aBt aRoWaNa'S !
1,970 posts

c0c0's humble Chili Padi