LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched
fazleysyam
Sep 4 2024, 08:56 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Sep 4 2024, 08:33 PM) 1. Not really. Even while in D with brake hold activated, the power flow monitor will show you there’s no power going to the wheels at all. The battery is only powering your AC and other accessories while idling (if you have at least 3 bars of charge). 2. It’s slightly different. The electric motor inverts the rotational force to produce a magnetic field (Newton 3rd law I believe) that generates electrical power going back to the battery. I don’t think you’ll get wheel spin by having too much regen (unlike if you suddenly went first gear) 1. Understood bro. That make sense. So no point shifting to N. 2. Not referring to wheel spin. But more on engine braking concept. Sometimes when taking corner u drop ur gear to slow down the car, must likely to avoid brake lock. Can we achieve the same using regen breaking. I like the feeling taking sharp corner using regen braking. Takut kena brake lock This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 4 2024, 08:58 PM
fazleysyam
Sep 5 2024, 10:21 AM
nice. thanks all for the information shared.
most of the time i didnt shift to N. but just wonder
As for the regen braking, its just a concern when taking corner. other than brake lock, its the weight distribution. just the typical concern when taking corner on the ICE car. but with the info shared, i believe the risk is quite minimal.
fazleysyam
Sep 5 2024, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(Snuffykl @ Sep 5 2024, 09:00 PM) This guy offer BSM RCTA for CRV G6. Looks interesting. https://youtu.be/C1Uc-Rnnwys?si=aQFW4tQNRbcNGn-Adoor to door service. pls pm me if u want the contact no. not by me. seller in G6 whatsapp group. he also sell other items such as grill net, side step, led, lalala...  This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 5 2024, 10:16 PM
fazleysyam
Sep 6 2024, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(:zeus: @ Sep 6 2024, 12:02 AM) Quick check on RS, how to set the Radio Data System (RDS)? Dont quite understand the manual's page 310. I dont think malaysian version got RDS So far no issue using AA. No hang at all This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 6 2024, 12:06 AM
fazleysyam
Sep 6 2024, 12:11 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Sep 5 2024, 11:05 PM) Damn. You installed? How's everything? No la bos. Not at moment. Saving for future claim..hehehe To me bsm only state theres a car next to u. It doesnt state how fast is the car. I will still turn my head to confirm the lane is clear. So bsm is less priority to me. Like 360cam la. Always use rear n side mirror when parking..once all safe then only use the cam to adjust the car
fazleysyam
Sep 6 2024, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 6 2024, 09:19 AM) Actually BSM is very useful as I have it on Vios. There are a number of time that I somehow did not see a car coming from side when I switch lane at high speed and it beeped...save quite a few times. Lanewatch only on left only, the BSM alert that I mentioned above happened a numbers of time on driver side. If you don't put signal, there are no audible alert but the light do light up. So I still think BSM is more useful than lanewatch although lanewatch has it's advantage. The only irritating thing about lanewatch is if you are using Waze and encountered multiple split lanes and turn on the signal with lanewatch coming out....darn cialat, which of the 2-3 split lanes I am supposed to turn and Malaysia have many such close small split lanes. Lanewatch vs BSM, i vote for BSM la. But BSM vs manual head turn, i vote for pusing kepala. That small indicator at the side mirror could mean anything. I still prefer my eye to decide. Maybe im oldskool This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 6 2024, 09:55 AM
fazleysyam
Sep 8 2024, 10:44 AM
Morning guys. hope all are doing well. i have 2 question here. for RS variant.
1. does our RS variant have alternator? all the power comes from alternator or direct from battery. does the hybrid battery recharge the normal battery instead of alternator.
2. ac compressor. is our RS variant using the same compressor as others? im not sure whether is it still belt driven or powered by the battery? i believe the cost will be higher than the belt driven compressor
please share your thought/info. thanks
This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 8 2024, 11:01 AM
fazleysyam
Sep 8 2024, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Sep 8 2024, 02:51 PM) On #1, yes the high voltage (HV) battery will recharge the 12V battery periodically. The HV battery itself is recharged from regen braking and by the generator when the engine runs the generator. Not sure about #2, but IMO not a concern for me personally. Thanks for sharing bro. Just gathering some info for knowledge. Thats all.
fazleysyam
Sep 9 2024, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 9 2024, 09:05 AM) 1. There is no alternator anymore. The power will come from HV battery converted via the Inverter. The inverter will also recharge the 12V battery. Do note that the 12V battery still does what it does similar to petrol variant, that is to start the car AND powered all the accessories, lighting, etc. The HV battery generally only power directly thru the inverter to the engine. 2. All honda hybrids were already using fully electric compressor, at least from iDCD (previous gen Honda hybrid tech) onwards. If im not mistaken for ICE car, the battery is use to start the car and power other accessories while the engine is not running. Once the car started, alternator will take over to power the accessories. pls correct me if im wrong.
fazleysyam
Sep 9 2024, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 9 2024, 03:59 PM) Turbo engine are based on the dashboard reading, not the standard 10K mileage. That is because ultra hot turbo uses the engine oil as both lubrication and coolant expending its oil properties and quality much faster than NA engine. I would say unlike NA engine where some ppl will drag the schedule, try not to drag the schedule of engine oil change of turbo engine. Once the properties wear out, the risk of damage to both turbo and engine are heighten drastically. So depending on how you tekan and activate the turbo, the oil change schedule changed thus every 1.5T engine has their own oil change schedule based on each car driving style. If RS, then follow the 10K NA engine oil change schedule. they call it maintenance minder. the gentle u drive, the longer it takes before the reminder pops out. usually i will be more gentle when the "due" soon reminder appeared. even when it start to pop up, still can drive more than 1000KM before it become "past due" This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Sep 9 2024, 07:11 PM
fazleysyam
Sep 9 2024, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Sep 9 2024, 07:36 PM) Topic change to something applicable to most everyone and not just RS owners  What does everyone think about LKAS + ACC w/ LSF? Basically both lane keep assst enabled and also adaptive cruise control. This is my first car with this feature and so far I like it but it's a bit scary still to fully trust the car. Do you guys use it all the time on highways? What about city traffic stop and go? Any tips and tricks folks should be aware of? I use ACC in both highway n city driving. For LKAS, very² seldom. The system unable to consider the car next to u. So if its lorry, will be very risky. Other than that, after a while will have to make some movement on the steering as indicator that u are still awake. Otherwise the LKAS will disengage. So i feel a bit annoying.
fazleysyam
Sep 17 2024, 09:49 PM
fazleysyam
Sep 28 2024, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(DeepMemory @ Sep 26 2024, 11:23 AM) Anyone here upgraded the horn? i havent. but some G6 members have upgraded to dual horn using original dual socket. some even change to bosch model i think.
fazleysyam
Oct 5 2024, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(Cavino @ Oct 4 2024, 08:08 AM) Maybe preparing for new facelift... Besides supply chain issue, most time, they stop production of other cars to prepare for new releases. Still no news when Civic Facelift will be release, if got within this few months, then that also might be the case. i dont think the new facelift will be out soon. Baru launch end of 2023. i strongly believe due to supply issue. or they want to sell of S and E spec 1st. was inform by my SA during early release, honda dah buat banyak stok on E and S spec. However the demand is more into V n RS. and we are reaching year end as well. want to sell before depreciated
fazleysyam
Oct 10 2024, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Oct 9 2024, 05:13 PM) Hey RS owners, any of you can confirm if you're facing the same issue? 1. aircond leak (probably for Turbo owners too?) 2. When on EV mode, do you hear a soft beep when accelerating? (Need to go on a non busy road to hear this) 3. When pressing the brake, do you hear a click? I'll be going to the service centre to check soon, but just wanna know if you're facing this too. 1. aircond leak inside or outside car? if u refer to the aircond water in cabin then its related to the waterflow hose. if outside then normal 2. mine no beep. just the annoying humming sound 3. i only hear the click during ACC, which is normal. if normal driving mode no click sound.
fazleysyam
Nov 14 2024, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 9 2024, 09:28 PM) This usually depends on SC. My past experiences, Global Amity Bangi, 4S Sg Long Kajang and New Era Kajang great to customer for warranty claim without any much question asked. However, one SC in PJ and another in Setia Alam, very lazy when comes to warranty claim, everything taici said cant claim, cannot request for warranty check but ok if normal paid service. Worst one is the SC in Semenyih, even driveshaft leaking oil said it is expected and normal by their SC manager Honda Sri Utama (setapak) and Autoworld (sg buloh) also is good at entertaining warranty claim.
fazleysyam
Dec 9 2024, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 1 2024, 11:29 AM) I live in Penang island so most driving are city driving, around 20km/L is my best when I travel from one end of island to the other; but if short distances it’s around 15km/L. If driving a bit more aggressively it’s 13km/L. Overall very smooth power delivery, and if you control your right foot a little or stuck in traffic jam, it’ll operate in EV mode in complete silence. I believe the biggest pro of the RS is the electric torque because I couldn’t believe how a big hunking SUV can accelerate so quickly and smoothly from stop. Tyres I traded in the crap factory ones on day one. 1k only to switch to Michelin Primacy SUV+, and the road noise insulation and comfort across bumps are day and night. I also feel very confident in the wet driving at high speeds. I swapped on day one because on my Civic I stayed with factory tyres for quite long and regret it every day I drive the car so I figured it’s not worth it. do u experience any weird sound while driving above 80kmh with rear windows open? something like flapping sound. im trying to resolve that. not on my G6 but on my FC which currently using Michelin P4. my wife car GM6 also facing the same sound using Michelin XM2+. I cant recall whether the same sound appear when using stock Conti CC. now i have fear using michelin tyre..
fazleysyam
Dec 9 2024, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(DM3 @ Dec 9 2024, 09:07 AM) Alignment didn't do for some time? Or wheel bearing alignment done. Wheel bearing also done. still got the sound.
fazleysyam
Dec 9 2024, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 9 2024, 09:42 AM) Hmm don't recall ever hearing something like that. If it's really bothering you you should bring it up with SC next time you go just to have them check out any loose paneling or something in the headliner that may be causing the noise. did that. sc unable to determine the cause. we even test with other FC. the same sound appeared when driving with rear windows open. but that was using facelifted version. these model using michelin ps4. so the justification as a normal sound is not acceptable..hehehe
fazleysyam
Dec 9 2024, 09:52 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 9 2024, 09:50 AM) Oh weird. Mine was pre-facelift and I never heard that sound before, but mine was on stock Conti tyres from factory still and I rarely roll down rear windows while car is moving  thats what im afraid of. the sound will only appear when using michelin tyre. if yes then for my g6 will have to consider conti as well