LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

touristking
post Jul 1 2024, 10:24 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Jul 1 2024, 02:47 AM)
Daily ride less than 30km : 95% stop go and idling
For that, Hybrid is definitely the better choice. You don't do high speed overtaking in town area whereby higher performance of the turbo would be appreciated.

touristking
post Jul 2 2024, 08:15 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Jul 1 2024, 02:27 PM)
Today i saw most CRV G6 on my way from work in Cyber back to KL
And most of it is RS
Since Im using G6, and know supply for Rs a bit low,, always on a look out on the road for the RS batch, black rim, and body color cladding, today I saw more than most than any other day, i think more than 5, normally not even 1, most is with AWD batch

I hope most of you here gotten yours or know estimated delivery date already
I seem to see more Cherry Omoda than G6 on the roads. Jap manufacturers should be worried.

touristking
post Jul 2 2024, 01:36 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 2 2024, 01:41 AM)
Cannot compare that way lar. Category totally different. Omada has to compare with HRV and Cross and I think Cross beat them all out with its numbers, at least everywhere I turn, I see Cross.
I know. Tiggo coming.

touristking
post Jul 3 2024, 07:35 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(beckhamnov @ Jul 2 2024, 10:19 AM)
What do you guys think about third party dashcam as opposed to the Honda dashcam ( 2X price)

The third party can use hardwire to fuse without cutting any wire, so he said wont void the warraty
I got the Honda's purely on warranty issue ground. For piece of mind, don't want to have to argue with Honda on warranty.
touristking
post Jul 8 2024, 02:23 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(dudester @ Jul 4 2024, 08:24 AM)
Yes, i dont see why the concern if your dash cam is just using inbuilt usb socket. I do this. I even install dash cam on my own front and back. anything i will just remove everything.
For Tint, i got the honda dealer to install 3M, so said the dealer boss owns a tint shop.
After you own installation, have you ever claim warranty on electrical issue? If no, then you still wouldn't know whether you will have warranty issue or not.

I didn't want to take that chance nor do I want to waste my time arguing with Honda to save a few hundred Ringgit on a 200k car. For me, that's being pound foolish and penny wise.

touristking
post Jul 8 2024, 04:35 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jul 8 2024, 07:51 AM)
You're entitled to your own opinion, but IMO it's like saying your Nvidia GPU cannot claim warranty coz you plugged in a monitor. It'll reflect really badly on the manufacturer if they really deny a claim because you plugged an external accessory in a 12V/USB socket.
After self installation of 3rd party dashcam , has anyone actually successfully claim electrical warranty without any drama?

If no, then how can anyone claim there's no problem?

The fact of the matter is, if Honda wanted to, they can make it difficult to claim electrical warranty. That's common sense and not just my opinion.
touristking
post Jul 9 2024, 12:14 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jul 8 2024, 07:51 AM)
You're entitled to your own opinion, but IMO it's like saying your Nvidia GPU cannot claim warranty coz you plugged in a monitor. It'll reflect really badly on the manufacturer if they really deny a claim because you plugged an external accessory in a 12V/USB socket.
A car manufacturer has told me, switching to different rim/tire, even if the same overall diameter are the same will void the warranty. Sounded ridiculous but what's the point of arguing with them?

It stands to reason, just like insurance company, if they want they can find all sorts is excuses. No matter how ridiculous.

So this is not my opinion, if you don't want and drama claiming warranty, best not to give them any reason to reject your warranty. This is just common sense.

This post has been edited by touristking: Jul 9 2024, 05:06 AM
touristking
post Aug 6 2024, 10:34 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 2 2024, 10:07 AM)
Congrats! Still waiting for my blue RS.. how long did you wait since booking?
Looks like the Hybrid is doing well in sales. Do you people opt for the Hybrid for it's drive train or for the economy?

touristking
post Aug 21 2024, 07:11 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 20 2024, 05:12 AM)
thanks for the heads up.  Awd usually has higher FC than the Fwd?  It will take me a while to accustom to the power train coming from C 250. 0-100 >10 seconds. hmm.....
Honda's brochure
RS 9 seconds
AWD 10.4
2WD 9.7/9.8

Do note, at higher speed like 120kph, RS power loses to the 1.5T.
touristking
post Aug 21 2024, 02:17 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ Aug 21 2024, 01:08 AM)
Logically FC for AWD should be higher

by the specs sheet L/100km

1.5T 7.0
1.5T AWD 7.5
RS 5

on my car odometer, I'm getting average 12.5km/l on city road and 13.5km/l on hway
2WD 1.5T
Highway may be 13 - 15 km/L
Urban may be 9 - 10km/L
touristking
post Aug 22 2024, 02:09 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Aug 22 2024, 05:13 AM)
Same here, never thought silver is nice. I think it's because it's paired with black grill/wheels that's why it's nice
I always pick a color that is relatively maintenance-free and that is silver. Car should serve me and not the other way around.

Have the silver for over 1/2 yrs now and sometimes it looks more like solid color grey than metallic silver.

As for the black grill. In fact, I like it more than the full body colored RS. It "break" up the line nicely.

touristking
post Aug 25 2024, 04:31 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 25 2024, 09:15 AM)
test drove the RS today. was quite impressed by the drive. the instant torque was impressive. no lag.
Test driven a low end BYD before. Those EV are like that, instant torque. Was considering a smaller EV as 2nd car for town use to complement the 1.5T CRV for outstation.

touristking
post Aug 25 2024, 04:32 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 25 2024, 09:25 AM)
Yes it runs at normal speed with full cooling capabilities available, not like the stupid start-stop idling in other brands that cut off cooling
It is a relief the CRV doesn't come with that stupid feature

touristking
post Aug 25 2024, 10:41 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 25 2024, 11:36 AM)
Yeah... my current ride has this retarded function. I need to switch it off each time I start the engine. Lol
some people say, if you switch air cond temp to lowest and since it can never reach the lowest in the tropic, that feature will not activate.

touristking
post Aug 26 2024, 02:56 PM

5,830 posts

Got the 1.5T for half a year now. Recently felt the steering is a bit weird.

I know it is probably normal, when on highway high speed with lane centering & cruise control on etc, the steering becomes heavier and felt more resistance to steer.

But recently when I came off the highway and lane centering & cruise control etc OFF and driving straight, there seem to be resistance in the steering when trying to turn the steering by 1 or 2 cm.
touristking
post Aug 26 2024, 03:03 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 26 2024, 08:00 AM)
I think the EPS tightens and becomes harder to turn at higher speeds, otherwise if it's as easy to turn as when you're doing a U-turn it'd be disastrous for highway driving. As long as there's no "sticky"/"kiak" feel when turning like there's a notch or two that you need to overcome before it turns, then your steering rack is fine.
Coming off the highway, I was driving 40 - 60 kph. The 'resistance to steer" occasionally happens in the initial 1 or 2 cm of turning. Would you call "resistance to steer" same as "sticky"?

But if I don't go onto the highway and in town all day, less such occurrence.

touristking
post Aug 26 2024, 03:33 PM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 26 2024, 08:31 AM)
Hard to say, but when my Civic FC had the steering rack issue it had a pretty obvious notchy feel, like there's a small bump in the gear you need to overcome for it to turn. If it's just pure resistance without the notchy feel I think it's probably by design.
Is this a safety issue or just an annoyance?
touristking
post Aug 28 2024, 07:06 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 27 2024, 12:58 PM)
how is the highway drive? saw many youtubers saying struggling to reach 160km/h.
Honda quoted max speed for RS is 187 kph. 200 kph for the 1.5T.

I was told, once going above may be 120 kph, the 1.5T performs better.

This post has been edited by touristking: Aug 28 2024, 07:08 AM
touristking
post Aug 28 2024, 07:09 AM

5,830 posts

QUOTE(fazleysyam @ Aug 27 2024, 05:08 PM)
Seems like few owner given feedback they face the steering rack issue. Same as civic fc, when turn the steering is not smooth.
Mine was silky smooth before. Now seems to have some sticky feeling, like very slight momentarily resistance to turn, every now and then.
touristking
post Aug 28 2024, 11:33 AM

5,830 posts

1.5T or the RS. Different people, different considerations and there are several.

Even though I spend 80% of the time in town, I picked the 1.5T for the following reasons.
1. With the big price difference, in my case, I can consider petrol to be free for 6 years.
2. RS setup is complicated and if can't start the car, have to call Honda and not any mechanic under the trees. And I can be away from home for quite some times.

Got the 2WD for the following reasons.
1. If got one tire damaged, hate the thought of having to change at least 2 tires at once, if not 4 at once.
2. The 1.5T power is just adequate. No extra power for the slowness of AWD on pickup.

The most practical thing I will miss the RS will be the smoothness at idle and the quicker pickup. As for noise, well, the tires noise makes up for it biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by touristking: Aug 28 2024, 11:37 AM

11 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0931sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:38 PM