Plasma and LCD TV (FullHD)

enriquelee
post Apr 27 2007, 01:38 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

I will say respond time should be the main concern if you wanna use your plasma or LCD for gaming.

Reason is simple, fastest respond time give you clearer picture when your pictures are fast moving object. And most of the game involve fast moving object.
htkaki
post Apr 30 2007, 04:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

response time for plasma?!
ar188
post Apr 30 2007, 06:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
Every people hv their own opinion..... biggrin.gif but for me, i've seen it all. Here i want to share my side of the story:
Went to an electrical shop cos i want to see which display is the best, then stumble to the Pioneer display (from what i heard, Pioneer PDP is the bestest in the world  yawn.gif ), sit there to watch some demo movies using Pioneer DVD upscaller player. Then come the seller promoting to me with his sweet talk....bla bla bla. But then,  blink.gif i realise that there's some shadowy lines on the left of the display (even i'm not a HT pro can see it), but the seller denies it, then i want to leave, somehow the manager came and he admit thats a faulty display, then OK la.
But at another day went to another shop just to see the same display, guess what.... rclxub.gif the Pioneer PDP have the same sh@#$y problems. I dont know WTF is happening here.....so to my conclusion Plasma is a SUXXOR. vmad.gif  whistling.gif  doh.gif
Added: BTW, 1080p plasmas still nowhere to be found. That Hitachi PDP resolution at 1024x1080 doh.gif what kind of resolution is that? Are they trying to cheat the n00bs. rclxub.gif
I know now the Plasma fanboy are trying at least to flame me, but this just my 2 sen. icon_rolleyes.gif 

FIN.
actually, Large LCD panels esp those >40" consume more power than large Plasma cos all the backlights has to be turned on (constant power consumption) while plasma, you only charge what you need. (variable) so LCD peak power might be lower than plasma peak power ratings but plasma's average power is usually lower than LCD's peak power (which is also nearly average power)

as for true 1080p plasma, err..never heard of the award winning Pioneer Elite Pro FHD1 at 1920x1080 rez ?

and for the CRT strobing effect? er? how is plasma like the CRT (which uses electron gun to draw the dots line by line)??
while plasma dishes out the entire image at 50/60 or 72Hz depending on your input signal..
BeastX
post May 1 2007, 12:21 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 30 2007, 06:46 PM)
and for the CRT strobing effect? er? how is plasma like the CRT (which uses electron gun to draw the dots line by line)??
while plasma dishes out the entire image at 50/60 or 72Hz depending on your input signal..
Plasma still needs to charge at 50/60 or 72 (or others with some blanking time i suspect or the screen will suffer burn-in) times to produce a constantly lighted image just like crt phosphors needs to be charged by the electron gun.... If your brain/eyes can register/train to register frequency below 75Hz (like me) you will see strobing effect on plasma screens ... to me all plasmas screens I have observed do have strobing effect (minor on newer panels).

mean while lcd usually does not suffer strobing effect as the cold cathod backlight usually used very high frequency... above and beyond 100Hz..and pixel twisting has also evoled to be faster than 8ms (120Hz).. So at least to me LCD registers as a constant image without strobing and may suffer shadow effect for fast moving objects (on slower panels)....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 1 2007, 12:26 AM
ar188
post May 2 2007, 04:48 PM

9,206 posts

depends on your source material as well... if film based 24Hz or multiple of 24Hz, you are bound by some frame rate refresh (apart from panel charge and discharge cycle, which newer models have greatly improved by preboosting the voltage to speed up the response)

also the refresh times on LCD you quotes like 8ms are not actually panel refresh but actually GTG speed (grey to grey)...so actual refresh is still visible.. there are actually demo videos/dvds that are made just to highlight this response time when viewing movies, and they do show even if GTG response time of 2ms, some of the side effects of these LCD response times are still very visible..

and funny that LCD constant white sheen (due to backlight spill over ) on the panel doesn't bother you? or at least it does to me.. anyway, I guess both has it's advantages and disadvantages... esp on the price front.. LCD seems to give a better bang for buck on the size/rez ratio
Taman Linkin
post May 2 2007, 06:41 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

I hate LCD. Today develop another 1 dead pixel with total of 3. If there 50" CRT HDTV I take it over LCD anyday.
neoardi
post May 2 2007, 09:06 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 06:41 PM)
I hate LCD. Today develop another 1 dead pixel with total of 3. If there 50" CRT HDTV I take it over LCD anyday.
What brand is it? shocking.gif How old is it?
Taman Linkin
post May 2 2007, 09:16 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ May 2 2007, 09:06 PM)
What brand is it?  shocking.gif How old is it?
Samsung LA32", about 2 months. And Samsung warranty says atleast 7. Thats stupid, since even 1 dead pixel is annoying enuff.
neoardi
post May 2 2007, 10:52 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 09:16 PM)
Samsung LA32", about 2 months. And Samsung warranty says atleast 7. Thats stupid, since even 1 dead pixel is annoying enuff.
What u meant, Samsung stated that u will able to entitle a warranty if theres more than 7 dead pixels? Wow, thats really sucks. vmad.gif
htkaki
post May 3 2007, 11:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 09:16 PM)

LA32? R or S?

Taman Linkin
post May 3 2007, 01:32 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 3 2007, 11:00 AM)
LA32? R or S?
LA32R7.......
cyew86
post May 3 2007, 04:35 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

what is the difference between R and S? sorry, noob here, but i am learning laugh.gif
Lord_Ashe
post May 3 2007, 04:40 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Sorry guys, but since we're on the topic of dead pixels:

IINM there are 1049088 pixels in a 1366x768 display, no?
If there are 3 dead pixels, that means it's a 0.000285 percent of the actual screen real estate. Is this a universally accepted ratio? Do manufacturers include a guarantee of how many you should have before you can replace the unit under warranty?

I'm only asking because unlike a PSP or DS display, LCD TV screens have many more pixels and so I'm just wondering how noticeable are the dead ones. I understand that LCD TVs are still expensive, so of course we'll all get upset.
htkaki
post May 3 2007, 05:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2007, 04:35 PM)
what is the difference between R and S? sorry, noob here, but i am learning laugh.gif

Contrast ratio n viewing angle are the 'significant' difference

cyew86
post May 3 2007, 07:30 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

did some research, apparently the main difference between R and S series is the digital tuner which is built into R series but not the S series. The viewing angles are the same for both models (178 degrees vertical and horizontal) and the contrast ratio is higher for R series, but insignificant to naked eyes. PQ for both models are similar though. Correct me if I am wrong, all sifu notworthy.gif
verced
post May 3 2007, 07:44 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2007, 07:30 PM)
did some research, apparently the main difference between R and S series is the digital tuner which is built into R series but not the S series. The viewing angles are the same for both models (178 degrees vertical and horizontal) and the contrast ratio is higher for R series, but insignificant to naked eyes. PQ for both models are similar though. Correct me if I am wrong, all sifu notworthy.gif
As for the digital tuners, none of the TVs available here comes with it. Maybe you're comparing the asian with the us/uk/jp version.

//--

Need some help here guys!

With all the choices in the market right now, searching for a TV can be a real pain. Using your greatest tool, the eyes, will not yield accurate results as none of the displays I've seen so far are displaying the same source. It's either Astro or some weird promotional videos. Budget? Hopefully below 9K. Need to get a good set of speakers too.

For this budget, the most I will get is 720p, but I guess that's sufficient for the size I'm getting.

Here's what I've drilled down to. What do you guys recommend?
1. Sony V Series (A bit old, 1 hdmi input, pretty)
2. Samsung R8 (3 hdmi! Good review from CNET Asia)
3. Samsung N7 (What's the major diff between this and R8? I though R8's the lower spec version? The price is similar though)
4. Sharp PX5.

Any other recommendations besides the one on the list?

This post has been edited by verced: May 3 2007, 07:53 PM
Lord_Ashe
post May 4 2007, 08:42 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Well, I would recommend the Philips (which is almost impossible to find reviews for), but then again that's cause I use my eyes as the ultimate tool LOL.

At the end of the day that's always the best gauge of a TV's performance. Personally I find the Sharp BX series colours a little on the garish side, and I just don't like the way my 360 shows on a Samsung (however there is a nifty backlight control thingy on the Samsung that's good).

So we can go on and on but at the end of the day you're gonna live with it bro, so I suggest go and test em all out.
BeastX
post May 4 2007, 04:17 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

Samsung F7....... LA46F71B, 46inchers, native 1080p, 2 hdmi inputs at RM9k in northern borneo

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 4 2007, 04:37 PM
neoardi
post May 4 2007, 11:35 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 4 2007, 04:17 PM)
Samsung F7....... LA46F71B, 46inchers, native 1080p, 2 hdmi inputs at RM9k in northern borneo
Sure or not? Maybe a display set? Or staff price? Last time (a month ago tongue.gif ) i ask the price is somewhere 14k++.
But from some review I read, the plus pont for this Sammy F7 is the price but the picture quality is never near the Bravia X and the Aquos G7. whistling.gif
verced
post May 5 2007, 06:10 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 4 2007, 04:17 PM)
SRP for that model is still going for 15999 here.

For 9K, you can only get 720p panel here. I really wish I can get that kinda price here man. smile.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0198sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:27 PM