Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

XenoFr3ak
post Nov 29 2007, 11:25 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Nov 29 2007, 11:07 AM)
RM600++ and you can get it from Gamers Hideout.
Its RM650 .. just check with Djinn. Will be getting it soon smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 5 2007, 07:01 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Watch The Kingdom with an opened mind smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 9 2007, 10:06 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Dec 8 2007, 04:11 PM)
Transformers 2 disc special edition (hong kong) going for  $31.90 at play-asia. they're starting so sell hong kong version HD DVD, mostly starting at $31.90 (their hong kong BD started already, got alot of titles, 31.90 also), this is good news thumbup.gif
Good news indeed .. i have already ordered my copy icon_rolleyes.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 14 2007, 08:06 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 13 2007, 08:45 PM)
Anybody intersted in a brand new shrink-wrapped Bourne Identity, 300,  Knocked Up or Blood Diamond HD DVD? Will be selling them when my HD-A30 arrives. Letting them go for RM60 each or RM50 each if take more than one biggrin.gif
Yo Arj ... your 300 HD DVD still up for sale ?
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 19 2007, 11:17 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Arj, .. if u got any hd dvd movies for sale, please let me know 1st .. okie smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 24 2007, 10:24 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

This is woot i got my my Xmas present for myself ... woohooo rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Well .. in fact, i got it earlier tongue.gif

XenoFr3ak
post Dec 27 2007, 02:36 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Just tot u guys might wanna know this ... the BOGO promotion at Amazon is back again, this time better titles. Go check it out.

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Dec 27 2007, 02:47 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 28 2007, 11:25 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

At least we will still have LOTR trilogy on hd-dvd .. thats what im waiting for thumbup.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 29 2007, 01:10 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 29 2007, 12:10 AM)
But the story I heard moons ago said that HD DVD will get the normal trilogy while BD gets the Extended Edition. Dunno how true is that unsure.gif
Hopefully the moons ago story will change .. no point doing on hd-dvd without the extended scenes.
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 29 2007, 01:19 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 29 2007, 01:17 AM)
The prices for the Japanese Band of Brothers damn crazy wei. RM100+ per disc and there's 5 discs! sweat.gif

I should be getting my kari RPG movie tomorrow rclxms.gif
What the heck is Kari RPG ar ?
XenoFr3ak
post Dec 31 2007, 01:27 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Dec 31 2007, 01:15 PM)
hey guys, i know this is a hd-dvd thread, and i don't mean to be off topic here. but i just gotta know sumthing:

i saw a demo of blu-ray at best denki..on a full HD bravia lcd. the quality was fricking amazing...i mean i thought i was watching those sony advertisements...you know..where they have this 'studio' camera and everything is sharp and crystal clear? but NO..it was actually Day After Tomorrow playing...then followed by A Knight's Tale, and Narnia with the exact same quality.

now my question is...is this because of blu-ray tech..or is it because it's blu-ray + full HD tv?

what happens if u play HD DVDs on a full HD tv? will there be any significant change as we take advantage of the 1080p reso? hmm.gif
Of coz .. full HD TV will look better.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 12:19 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 31 2007, 11:53 PM)
erm - might be released by European distributor though - James Bond - other Sony films have been released in HD DVD before tongue.gif

Added on December 31, 2007, 11:54 pm

Rumors has it, New Line will go HD DVD exclusive next week during CES laugh.gif - RUMOR - lah
New Line Cinema is already a HD DVD exclusive liao ... goto the main HD DVD website and its there along side with Warner Bros and Paramount smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 12:34 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 1 2008, 12:29 AM)
Since when? Five most recent New Line Cinema release (Hairspray, Mr. Woodcock, Pan's Labyrinth, Rush Hour 3, Shoot Em' Up) is available on Blu-ray. New Line Cinema is under Warner Bros.  wink.gif
Check out the HD DVD partners

http://www.thelookandsoundofperfect.com/partners.html

Btw ... Pan's Labyrinth is in HD DVD also bro smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 08:28 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Jan 1 2008, 03:42 AM)
I just got my SOny Bravia W300 series 40". FREAKIN AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But I notice that even at 1080p when I play Mass Effect, there's this grainy effect, but its not there when when u enter the console mode...only when playing its like 'snowing' a bit. This occured when I played Assasins creed too.....why? Izzit bcuz the game is like tht?
How come game issues suddenly come into HD DVD thread laugh.gif

Added on January 1, 2008, 8:29 am
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Jan 1 2008, 12:52 AM)
yup yup... i know, but the point is it's not HDDVD exclusive.
Okie lar bro ... i understand what u mean blink.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 1 2008, 08:29 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 1 2008, 12:06 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Jan 1 2008, 11:32 AM)
I also see grain effect when looking at sony bravia i dont know why. I see like this ant or bacteria moving around the lcd screen
Btw .. u know that the grain effects for the game can be turn off right ??
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 2 2008, 08:26 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Jan 2 2008, 08:23 PM)
Any place that rents BD and HDDVD around PJ area? These discs are pretty expensive even for keeps......
There is one ... but for BD only. Check the Playstation section.

If u get BD and HD DVD from Amazon .. its not that expensive for keeps esspecially if u are a movie buff
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 3 2008, 11:41 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Jan 3 2008, 11:37 AM)
w00t! susah la want to challenge bro string...hehehe loaded setup!

say..i've been wanting to get a good budget surround sound system for my room..kinda small room..so gotta take echoes into consideration.

right now i have an altec lansing 2.1 system..old system for my PC. using the audio jack adapter for my x360.

so what do you guys recommend, for me to get:

- surround sound to take advantage of the 5.1 dts sound from hd-dvds
- not too big a setup to accommodate my small room
- budget : not more than RM 1K (if possible)
- extra: should also have an extra audio input for my PC

thanks you hardware gurus! smile.gif
My room also small ... but im running my Xbox 360 using 4.1 Creative speakers. Sounds great with surround sound esspecially while playing Bioshock and watching hd dvd movies.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 3 2008, 01:02 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Jan 3 2008, 12:18 PM)
string: yea..i agree. good thing you know the prices. definitely you would save a load compared to shopping here man.  smile.gif anyway..what do you mean when you say satellite system? is it the ones normally used with PCs?

hmm..tht would be better i guess..since my room is kinda small for a towering sound system.

so..any of u guys gots recommendationzzz? hmm.gif so far xeno's creative is something to consider. how much ah bro xeno tht 4.1?
Last time i got it for around RM400+ but that was ages ago. Now u can get Logitec 5.1 speakers for RM399 only.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 5 2008, 09:58 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

I just heard this news from a fren ...

Warner Bros. Goes Blu-Ray Exclusive
By: César A. Berardini - "Cesar" Share This ArticleJan. 4th, 2008 2:54 pm

Warner Bros. announced today it will release its high-definition movie titles exclusively in the Blu-ray disc format, bolstering Sony's format in the battle to become the next home entertainment standard. The studio had been releasing movies in both formats.

"Warner Bros.' move to exclusively release in the Blu-ray disc format is a strategic decision focused on the long term and the most direct way to give consumers what they want," said Meyer. "The window of opportunity for high-definition DVD could be missed if format confusion continues to linger. We believe that exclusively distributing in Blu-ray will further the potential for mass market success and ultimately benefit retailers, producers, and most importantly, consumers."
If this happens ... looks like its gonna happen. Then this really sux man.

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 5 2008, 10:31 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2008, 10:27 AM)
why sucks? its the same thing wen paramount wen hd exclusive
1:1 now lor

wan the best of both world? get purplish, tats all
Well .. i guess the more reason for me to get PS3 then just for Bluray