Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 11:20 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Thanks goodness ... Warner Bros is still making hd-dvd till May 08 and I think this will be the last but its all good.

Twister hd-dvd

Warner Home Video has announced that the first film in the world to debut on the DVD format, Twister (1996), will at last be available to own in high-definition on the Special Edition HD DVD disc. The HD DVD is expected to be priced at $28.99 SRP a copy.

Main feature will be presented in:

- 1080p High-Definition 16x9 2.4:1
- Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (English)
- Dolby Digital-Plus 5.1 (English & French)
- English [SDH] & French subtitle options
- Bonus contents include:

- Commentary by director Jan De Bont and Visual Effects Supervisor Stefan Fangmeir
- New Featurette "Chasing the Storm: Twister Revisited"
- The History Channel Documentary "Nature Tech: Tornadoes"
- Anatomy of a Twister
- HBO First Look: The Making of Twister
- Van Halen "Humans Being" Music Video
- Theatrical Trailers

and lastly ...

Paramount/Dreamworks announcement: Bee Movie will be exclusive for hd-dvd and some other titles too ..

DreamWorks Home Entertainment has announced that Bee Movie will be available to own in high-definition exclusively on HD DVD, come March 11, for $39.99 SRP a copy. Full details coming soon...

DreamWorks has also confirmed that Things We Lost in the Fire HD DVD will be released on March 4 instead of February 12.

Similarly, Paramount's Into the Wild HD DVD will be released on March 4 too instead of February 12.

Both HD DVDs will be priced at $39.99 SRP a copy.

Source: HD-DVD Format Blog.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 10 2008, 09:29 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:23 AM)
fuiyoh.. twister.....
cant recall how many times i saw tat show...
Yea man .. its one of my favourite movies. I think i still got the Laser Disc version tongue.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 10 2008, 09:45 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:42 AM)
i dun have any version, spore channel always show tis movie
can see helen nipples....
U from spore ?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 10 2008, 09:54 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:51 AM)
Johor area which near Spore can receive it lah...... sometime very clear  n sometime not....
I see .. thanks for the info.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 10 2008, 03:23 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Zerg1008 @ Jan 10 2008, 02:50 PM)
Hmm converting some of my old LDs and DVDs movies to HD as well..
Waiting for Twister, Independance Day.. etc
Independance Day got hd-dvd ??
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 10 2008, 04:23 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Sd-RawK-Cab25 @ Jan 10 2008, 04:07 PM)
when there's a BTTF trilogy HD DVD, i'm buying! a cinema masterpiece..must keep..woohoo!

oh..and ghostbusters 1 and 2 anyone? GB 1 and 2 on HD DVD, i'm buying!!
Yea .. BTTF trilogy is a must. I still have the DVD trilogy version.

Ghostbuster 1 and 2 also its a MUST thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 11 2008, 09:58 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 09:59 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Universal stays with HD-DVD ...

Universal Re-Affirms HD DVD Support

Responding to published reports that its commitment to backing HD DVD exclusively has ended, Universal has issued a new statement of support for HD DVD.

"Contrary to unsubstantiated rumors from unnamed sources, Universal's current plan is to continue to support the HD DVD format," said Ken Graffeo, executive vice president of HD strategic marketing for Universal Studios Home Entertainment and co-president of the HD DVD Promotional Group.

Graffeo's comments follow a report in yesterday's Variety that Universal's agreement to exclusively support HD DVD had ended and had not been renewed. The report went on to speculate that both Universal and Paramount could switch sides soon, ending the high-def format war instantly.

A Universal spokesperson told us this afternoon that the studio plans to issue new upcoming HD DVD title announcements in the near future.

The HD DVD Promotions Group is also said to be planning its own statement regarding the rumors of a Universal switch to format neutrality.

Stay tuned...
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 11:06 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Full Details of 'Terminator 2: Jugdement Day' Ultimate HD DVD ..

HD DVD release of James Cameron's Terminator 2: Judgement Day. The Director's Cut of the film will be available to own in high-definition exclusively on the Ultimate HD DVD, come March 20, 2008. This HD DVD release will also feature a special steelbook packaging. The preview artwork of the packaging is provided below.

Main feature will be presented in

- 1080/24p Full High-Definition 2.35:1
- dts-HD 7.1 (English & German)
- Dolby Headphone-surround (English & German)
- German & Turkish subtitle options

Special Features include:

- Interactive Features: Picture in Picture (storyboards and script - both in English - running concurrently with the main feature)
- Personal Bookmarking feature
- Photo galleries
- Various viewing modes:
- Quiz Mode
- Spy Mode
- Inside T2 Mode
- Integrated online functionality with access to more features (via dynamic HD)
- Making-of documentary/featurettes
- Two audio commentaries
- Deleted Scenes
- Trailer
- Detailed Biography/Filmographies
- Hidden Features/Easter Eggs

Source: HD-DVD Format Blog

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 12:02 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Zerg1008 @ Jan 11 2008, 11:57 AM)
Wohoo! Must add into my shopping list biggrin.gif
So will everyone ... including myself smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 12 2008, 10:17 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 12 2008, 02:56 AM)
No BOGO this time but amazon slashed a few bucks off from a bunch of titles user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=..._rd_i=193642011
Yea man ... up to 50% ... damn tempted drool.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 19 2008, 10:12 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

More HD-DVD news ...

'Beowulf - Director's Cut' Announced for HD DVD

Paramount Home Entertainment has just announced that Beowulf - Director's Cut will be available to own in high-definition exclusively on HD DVD, come February 29 (day-and-date with the DVD), for $39.99 SRP a copy.

We know that this title will not be an HD DVD-exclusive in some other countries and it has come to our attention that the HD DVD release in other countries will not have picture-in-picture track and web-enabled features.

Therefore, if you've come to appreciate the enhanced and advanced home entertainment experience - picture-in-picture track and web-enabled features - that the HD DVD format now offers, we recommend that you get this North American HD DVD release from Paramount (Since there's no region coding being established for HD DVD yet, the disc will remain playable in the future since it isn't region coded at the time of pressing.)

Main feature will be presented in

-1080p High-Definition Widescreen 2.35:1
-Dolby TrueHD 5.1 (English)
-Dolby Digital-Plus 5.1 (English, French & Spanish)
-English [SDH], French & Spanish subtitle options.

Bonus materials include but may not be limited to:

-Feature-length Picture-in-Picture track
-A Hero's Journey: The Making of Beowulf with optional pop-up trivia
-Web Enabled - Beowulf Profiler
-Additional Scenes
-Documentary plus lots of featurettes covering almost all aspects of the story and movie, from pre-production to post-production.

Source: HD DVD Format Blog

Added on January 19, 2008, 10:15 amand more ....

'American Gangster' Arrives On HD DVD, this Feb 19

Universal Studios Home Entertainment has finally announced that American Gangster, starring Denzel Washington and Russell Crowe, will be available to own in high-definition exclusively on HD DVD/DVD Combo disc, come February 19, 2008, for $39.98 SRP a copy.

Only the theatrical (Rated) version of the film will be presented in high-definition on the HD DVD side, while the DVD side contains both the theatrical (Rated / 157 minutes) and the 174-minute unrated extended cuts of the film.

The official specs released with the announcement has confirmed our earlier speculation.

Main feature (Rated / 157 minutes) on the HD DVD side of the disc is presented in

-1080p High-Definition Widescreen 1.85:1
-Dolby Digital-Plus 5.1 (English & French)
-English [SDH] & French subtitle options

Supplemental materials on both the DVD and HD DVD sides include

-Feature Commentary with director Ridley Scott and writer Steven Zaillian

HD DVD-exclusive Extras:

-Alternate Opening
-Deleted Scenes
-Uncovering the Past: The Real Frank Lucas and Richie Roberts
-U-Control: Picture-in-Picture Instant Access - Takes you behind the scenes with Denzel Washington and Russell Crowe, director Ridley Scott, producer Brian Grazer
and key cast and crew members for exclusive interviews and revealing footage about the scene you're watching.
-Web-Enabled Features - Your HD DVD player is also your direct connection to new movie trailers, interactive polls and exclusive content including the deleted
scene, "Frank and Eva's Wedding".

Source: HD DVD Format Blog

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 19 2008, 10:15 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 23 2008, 08:02 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

HD-DVD news updates ...

Universal: "No Plans" to Abandon HD DVD

Fending off continued speculation that Universal is mulling a switch from HD DVD-exclusivity, Universal Studios VP (and HD DVD Promo Group Co-Chair) Ken Graffeo says that the studio has no plans to make any changes in its high-def strategy.

In a just-published interview with BetaNews.com, Graffeo termed reports that Universal is wavering in its support of HD DVD as "unsubstantiated," saying the studio has "no plans to make any changes."

Graffeo went on to point to Universal's recent announcement of 'American Gangster' on HD DVD as proof of its continued commitment to HD DVD, promising "a lot of other things" to come.

Asked whether he regretted the eleventh hour cancelation of the HD DVD Promo Group's CES press conference (a move that some interpreted at the time as a white flag from the group), Graffeo said the timing of Warner's surprise Blu-ray exclusivity announcement two days before left the group with little choice.

"Imagine the orchestration of a press event with the presenters, the scripts, the entire presentation, videos that were produced," explained Graffeo. "The crew was already setting up and we were on a plane on Friday, so not being able to get back to everyone to say 'how do we make a change for Sunday' was very difficult. And what are the answers? We had no idea because we were reading and hearing about Warner's move the same time everyone else was."

Source: High Def Digest
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 12 2008, 10:51 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(gustoburger @ Feb 12 2008, 09:18 AM)
WTS - hd-dvd's
Superman Returns rm80
Blade Runner 5 disc set rm100
300 rm80
Happy Feet rm80
Batman Begins rm80
Im interested in the Blade Runner and 300.

UGPM smile.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 13 2008, 08:57 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

all lousy piece of crap
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 13 2008, 09:34 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Feb 13 2008, 09:03 AM)
What lousy piece of crap... Matrix trilogy, Batman Begins, Blade Runner, The Last Samurai, Training Day, 300, Troy are  AAA+++ titles la wei. And that's just from 1 page only. In total there's like 6-7 pages rclxs0.gif
Still ...... crap lar
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 19 2008, 05:44 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Farewell HD-DVD .. and also farewell to my HD-DVD add on. Im selling it away. Anyone interested ??
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 19 2008, 05:58 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Feb 19 2008, 05:55 PM)
lol this thread is going down soon.
For the time being, this thread will remain until we have more info (Microsoft releasing blu-ray addon or something)
Might as well bring it down now. When MS confirm going BLU-RAY, we can alsways strat a new thread.
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 19 2008, 06:43 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Feb 19 2008, 06:01 PM)
Eh? I know the format is dead but why la sell? With the impending stock clearance of HD-DVD titles, you are looking at getting very good HD content for very cheap prices (hopefully).

I am sure the HD-DVD add-on will last you a couple of years more, so why not just keep it and enjoy the HD-DVD movies you have?
The Spoils is making me crazee edy ... only Zio knows what i mean whistling.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0411sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:03 PM