65 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

rx330
post Sep 6 2007, 09:25 AM

11,808 posts

oh my oh my, its here sooner than i tot....
g5sim
post Sep 6 2007, 10:01 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 6 2007, 09:25 AM)
oh my oh my, its here sooner than i tot....
and yeah. Toshiba is packaging its HD DVD players with warners 300 and Unviversal Bourne Ultimatum. meaning u get the two HD DVD out of the box. 300 is also a Combo HD DVD/DVD disk ..

in addition to that, purchasers will also the another 5 HD DVD disk rebate. The offer which was supposed to end at 31 September has been extended to February 28, 2008. meaning 7 FREE DISK LOR !!

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/ne...se,172069.shtml

CEDIA, DENVER, Sept. 5 /PRNewswire/ -- Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. ("Toshiba") revealed its third generation HD DVD players at the CEDIA show today rolling out its most advanced, affordable line of HD DVD players with outstanding functionalities and Web-enabled network capabilities of the HD DVD format. Gearing up for the new line to hit shelves this fall, Toshiba also announced new HD DVD marketing initiatives and consumer promotions, including a season-long promotional campaign with NBC Television Station Group for Sunday Night Football broadcasts, a free two movie bundle with third generation players and a new five free HD DVD movie promotion.

"We have raised the bar yet again with the unmatched interactive capabilities and state-of-the art video and audio performance of our third generation players," said Jodi Sally, Vice President of Marketing, Toshiba's Digital A/V Group. "Web-enabled network capabilities, available on HD DVD, illustrate how Toshiba is delivering on its commitment to provide consumers with the ultimate home entertainment experience in high definition. With this new line, a growing base of HDTV consumers can now look forward to an unrivaled home theater experience this fall."

Toshiba Third Generation HD DVD Players

Toshiba's third generation family starts with the entry level HD-A3 player featuring 1080i output capability. The other two new models, Toshiba's HD-A30 and HD-A35, will output 1080p resolution (1920 x 1080p), the highest HD signal currently available. Both models are capable of outputting signals at 1080p/24 frames per second so consumers can enjoy movies in their native frame rate. The HD-A30 and HD-A35 models also feature "CE-Link" (HDMI™-CEC), allowing two-way control between the HD DVD player and a TV through an HDMI connection.
With a new slim design, Toshiba's third generation players have a cabinet that is approximately 1/4-inch slimmer than second generation models. All of Toshiba's HD DVD models are backward compatible allowing users to enjoy their libraries of current DVDs and CDs while improving the picture quality of regular DVDs by upconverting them through an HDMI connection to near high definition quality.

New HD DVD Promotions

To further drive HD DVD sales this fall, Toshiba also announced today a number of exciting new marketing initiatives and promotions. To communicate the benefits of HD DVD to millions of HDTV owners, Toshiba announced a season- long promotional campaign with the NBC Television Station Group and its broadcasts of Sunday Night Football with Bob Costas and Tiki Barber. This includes 30 second HD DVD ads, web sponsorships promoting the format, as well as special on-air vignettes that will build awareness and educate consumers about HD DVD throughout the holidays and into 2008.

In addition, in order to allow consumers to enjoy the HD DVD experience right out of the box, Toshiba is offering consumers free movies with the purchase of their third generation players. With Toshiba's new bundle promotion, consumers will take home the highly acclaimed HD DVDs "300" from Warner Home Video and "The Bourne Identity" from Universal Studios Home Entertainment.

"Warner is excited to offer consumers who purchase the new Toshiba HD DVD players the opportunity to own '300'," said Dorinda Marticorena, SVP Worldwide High Definition Media, Warner Home Video. "Not only is it the best selling HD DVD title to date, but it is also one of the most advanced titles with regard to new and innovative Hi Def features, both on the disc itself and through web connectivity. We believe that with the initial sales of "300", and this promotion, more than a half million consumers will own "300" on HD DVD by the end of this year."

"Now is an exciting time to buy an HD DVD player, with a blockbuster title like 'The Bourne Identity' in the box at retail," said Craig Kornblau, President, Universal Studios Home Entertainment. "Toshiba is leading the way in bringing high definition home, and at prices that will fit in any home theater. By offering The Bourne Identity, in addition to Toshiba's 'Five Free' offer, we are giving consumers an amazing deal."

In addition to its bundle promotion, Toshiba announced "The Perfect HD Offer," which will begin on October 1st 2007 and continue until February 28th 2008. As a result, with the purchase of any Toshiba HD DVD player, consumers will be able to select five HD DVD titles for free, from a selection of 15, via a mail-in offer. Full offer details will be available at http://www.toshibahddvd.com/.

Beyond the Hi Def Movie Experience

Beyond the high def picture and advanced audio, HD DVD delivers an immersive home theater experience with features such as picture-in-picture video and audio commentary. And now users can take their experience to a new level with value added web-enabled network capability. Thanks to the Ethernet port and persistent storage built into every Toshiba HD DVD player from the first generation models, studios have the ability to take movies to a higher level by allowing users to connect directly to their server and access bonus features as available. Examples of this value-added access can include movie trailers for new releases or the ability to share favorite scenes with other HD DVD player owners. Consumers may also purchase movie-related merchandise, ringtones and more without having to turn on their computers. Web-enabled network capability is now opening the door to a new entertainment experience beyond hi def video and audio.

Firmware Updates Keep HD DVD Consumers Current

With the Ethernet port available on every player, consumers are assured that their Toshiba HD DVD player is built for the future. With available firmware updates, Toshiba is able to keep a consumer's HD DVD player current by providing improved performance, new features and other capabilities to make the HD DVD experience consistent with what the studios have to offer. Today Toshiba is also announcing that in mid-September, a firmware update will be available for its second generation players. The update will bring 1080p/24 frames per second capability to its HD-XA2 and HD-A20 models.

Third Gen Goes Green

Toshiba is committed to not only making its products consumer friendly, but friendly to the environment as well. Its products, including the third generation HD DVD players, meet Toshiba's ongoing efforts to bring eco- conscious products to market and comply with the company's strict environmental policies. Environmental management is promoted both from the standpoint of improving products themselves and renewing manufacturing processes, which not only calls for the elimination of the use of hazardous substances in products, but also to avoid using such substances in any manufacturing process.

For example, Toshiba HD DVD players are compliant with the EU RoHS Directive, a European Union environmental directive that prohibits or restricts the use of six hazardous substances, including lead, mercury and cadmium. Also, for energy conservation, all third generation players meet the Energy Star standard. Toshiba will place the Toshiba Group Earth Protection mark on its third generation players, packaging and promotional materials. The Toshiba Environmental Standard for granting the Toshiba Group Earth Protection mark will soon be available on Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.'s official website.

Momentum For HD DVD Continues to Grow

This fall, with the availability of Toshiba's third generation players, and a significant increase in the rollout of HD DVD movie titles -- expected to increase from 300 to 1,000 titles by the end of the year -- momentum for HD DVD is undeniable. "With the recent announcement by Paramount and DreamWorks Animation SKG to exclusively support HD DVD, in addition to studio support from Universal and Warner, New Line Cinema and HBO, consumers now have even greater reason to supplement their HDTV purchase with a high def HD DVD movie experience," said Yoshi Uchiyama, Group Vice President, Toshiba America Digital A/V Group. "New players, new promotions, new movie titles and new studio partners are all evidence that HD DVD is delivering the ultimate high definition experience to the broader consumer market."

For more information on HD DVD, please visit http://www.toshibahddvd.com/.

Expected Pricing and Expected Availability:
HD-A3 ($299.99, October 2007)
HD-A30 ($399.99, September 2007)
HD-A35 ($499.99, October 2007)

About Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.

Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is owned by Toshiba America, Inc., a subsidiary of Toshiba Corporation, a world leader in high technology products with subsidiaries worldwide. Toshiba is a pioneer in HD DVD, DVD and DVD Recorder technology and a leading manufacturer of a full line of home entertainment products, including flat panel TV, combination products and portable devices. Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is headquartered in Wayne, New Jersey. For additional information, please visit http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/.

MK84
post Sep 6 2007, 11:21 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Star Trek : The Original Series - Remastered HD-DVD Preview.

silencer
post Sep 6 2007, 08:58 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Quote from the ist day of CEDIA:

"I just got back to my hotel after attending Toshiba's CEDIA press conference with Jon Spackman, AVS HD DVD/BD Moderator.

The theme was Star Trek and the presenters were dressed in Star Trek outfits and the stage was set with Star Trek decorations. The first presentation was all about their new LCD panels, however, I'll just discuss the HD DVD side of the presentation here.

Here's the list of the new news.

1. All Gen 3 players will be packed with Born Identity and 300. All ValueElectronics.com Gen 3 advance orders qualify for the two additional titles packed with the players.
2. Buy a HD DVD player and the Star Trek box set and their is a mail-in rebate for a Star Trek HD DVD phaser remote control unit, very cool looking and sound effects. All ValueElectronics.com pre-orders are eligible.
3. The 5 free HD DVD movies will be extended till 2/28/08 and new titles are added to the selection. xBox and notebook PC with HD DVD drives will qualify for the 5 free HD DVD movie offer.
4. Just considering Warner, Universal, Paramount, Dreamworks and Dreamworks Animation more than 125 new titles will be release by the end of '07.
5. Shinco, Ventura, Alpine, Onkyo and Integra and the 3 new Gen 3 HD DVD players will all ship by early Q4 '07.
6. Total HD DVD player unit sales are expected to reach more than 30 million stand alone units by the end of '07.
7. Amazon and ValueEletronics.com report the A2 is the #1 best seller.
8. According to NPD data, BD stand alone players have 16% market share, HD DVD enjoys a 33% market share, while SD DVD holds 51%.
9. All studios are going to expand the connectivity features, like on the Star Trek HD DVD you can connect to CBS's server and get a tour of the Star Ship Enterprise.
10. All Toshiba products are Earth friendly and will carry the "Earth Protection" logo on their packaging. There is a long list of things Toshiba has developed to ensure their Earth friendly compliance.

HD DVD boldly goes where no other format has gone before."

-Robert

This post has been edited by silencer: Sep 6 2007, 08:59 PM
MK84
post Sep 6 2007, 10:13 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 6 2007, 08:58 PM)
2. Buy a HD DVD player and the Star Trek box set and their is a mail-in rebate for a Star Trek HD DVD phaser remote control unit, very cool looking and sound effects. All ValueElectronics.com pre-orders are eligible.
Dayum!! Get the remote, then remodel the AV room into the bridge from Enterprise-E.

Interesting to see names like Shinco there... looks like they really want to saturate the market.

This post has been edited by MK84: Sep 6 2007, 10:14 PM
silencer
post Sep 6 2007, 10:49 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Sep 6 2007, 10:13 PM)
Dayum!! Get the remote, then remodel the AV room into the bridge from Enterprise-E. 

Interesting to see names like Shinco there... looks like they really want to saturate the market.
To pre-order or not the Star Trek Series..... drool.gif

Point No 6 fronm CEDIA announcement:

6. In the 2008 calendar year Toshiba*, Acer*, HP*, and Asus* will be selling 20+ million notebook computers with inbuilt HD DVD drives and HDMI output. drool.gif

g5sim
post Sep 6 2007, 10:49 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Sep 6 2007, 10:13 PM)

Desa home theater got lots of Shinco product tongue.gif rclxms.gif
rx330
post Sep 7 2007, 10:35 AM

11,808 posts

shinco pun campur kaki pulak biggrin.gif
g5sim
post Sep 7 2007, 12:37 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 7 2007, 10:35 AM)
shinco pun campur kaki pulak biggrin.gif
china mari CEs are seeing the avantages of traditional japs CE not doing HD DVD standalone players. They are most happy to fill the gap. By year end 2007 (or maybe typo 08), the HD DVD groupd predict there would be 30mil HD DVD hardwares in worldwide households. Fuh Yuan - Walmart, Venture and Shinco .. three cheap chinese players invading the world wink.gif world top 5 note book seller (except Dell - No 2) selling millions of machines, hmm who knows, they might pull it off wink.gif now all toshiba needs to do is get hd dvd drives in all the notebooks - cheaper ones with HD DVD ROM and the more expensive ones will get HD DVD burner. Note that HD DVD employ only one blue laser to read and write everything from HD DVD to DVD to CD. While Blu-ray on the other hand need two. One laser for Blu-ray and another for DVD and CD wink.gif
silencer
post Sep 8 2007, 01:39 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

The mother of the zazoest news of Cedia :-

China's HD DVD = CH-DVD (China High Definition DVD) based on HD-DVD

http://www.allthingshidef.com/ME2/di...85675FE17B4478

BEIJING, CHINA --The Optical Memory National Engineering Research Center (OMNERC), a laboratory dedicated to optical disc research at Tsinghua University, announced yesterday the CH-DVD (China High Definition DVD), a new generation high definition DVD format developed in collaboration with research institutes and manufacturing enterprises.

The format CH-DVD includes Chinese-owned intellectual property, and is based on HD DVD, the high definition format lead by Toshiba and approved by the DVD Forum. The development of CH-DVD was endorsed by the Chinese government, paving the way for the localization of blue-laser, high-definition DVD in China.

"The emergence of CH-DVD as a high definition format integrating Chinese-owned intellectual property clearly demonstrates that a Chinese optical disc technology is already at the world-class level. In the near future, all related industries in China are expected to make the transition from standard definition DVD to high definition DVD."

In the year to come, China will start broadcasting high definition television programs. In combination with HDTV, the CH-DVD format will provide a high definition optical disc solution. CH-DVD incorporates advanced copy protection that prevents the spread of pirated copies.

That announcement...leads to the "flooding symptom" of CH-DVD and HD-DVD players: -

Four CHINA CE manufacturers set out the CHINA Version HD DVD Player, it base on the TOSHIBA HD-A3, but use the different modulate code(FSM).

The four CHINA CE manufacturers is:

BBK(OPPO)
Haier
TCL
Tsinghua Tongfang

The detailed report:

http://stor-age.zdnet.com.cn/stor-ag...7/495410.shtml
-----------------------------------
Those with the CH DVD logo are for the Chinese market.
Those with the HD DVD logo are for the US/EU market.

Google Translation:
http://www.google.com/translate?u=ht...&hl=en&ie=UTF8

Babelfish Translation:
http://world.altavista.com/babelfish...2F495410.shtml

Future international version of HD DVD and CH-DVD discs in the Chinese market will aim to also be an international version of HD DVD player and CH-DVD player two products in the CD packaging will also distinguish between.

Sort of..prepare yourself for price of HD-DVD player skyrocketed down to earth..and I wont be surprised if they r on sale in either Tesco or Carefour next year... thumbup.gif

rx330
post Sep 8 2007, 09:16 AM

11,808 posts

er.......... so this ch dvd can be played on a hd dvd player? or wat?
g5sim
post Sep 8 2007, 04:00 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 8 2007, 09:16 AM)
er.......... so this ch dvd can be played on a hd dvd player? or wat?
they might make the two interplay each other tongue.gif
silencer
post Sep 8 2007, 04:58 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 8 2007, 04:00 PM)
they might make the two interplay each other tongue.gif
Yup...most will have CH-DVD and HD-DVD logo at their players....thanks to the join co-operation research by Microsoft and Broadcom, latest news That I heard is those China made players will be priced around US$99....due to the low manufacturing cost (as similar as DVD players).....darn.....never thought it would be that low.... thumbup.gif

Added on September 9, 2007, 1:46 amTransformer HD-DVD pre-order is up at Amazon.com>>> http://www.amazon.com/Transformers-Two-Dis...D/dp/B000NU2NJ8

This post has been edited by silencer: Sep 9 2007, 01:46 AM
g5sim
post Sep 9 2007, 02:42 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 8 2007, 04:58 PM)
Yup...most will have CH-DVD and HD-DVD logo at their players....thanks to the join co-operation research by Microsoft and Broadcom, latest news That I heard is those China made players will be priced around US$99....due to the low manufacturing cost (as similar as DVD players).....darn.....never thought it would be that low.... thumbup.gif

Added on September 9, 2007, 1:46 amTransformer HD-DVD pre-order is up at Amazon.com>>> http://www.amazon.com/Transformers-Two-Dis...D/dp/B000NU2NJ8
geesh - i think i need to pre order this one - so force myself to get a player ..

House got keys oredi .. now reno and electrical appliances .. very poor lah !! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif

silencer
post Sep 9 2007, 02:53 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

Ok...dude..I have 2 slots opened for pre-ordering the Transformer....so we can share the delivery cost. Estimated arrival date through the courier svc is around 22 Oct, just about a week after hariraya, so..still have enuff time to show off your HD-DVD to your visitor during Hari Raya.... drool.gif

PM me if anyone interested..first cum..first serve basis..2 slots opened now... thumbup.gif

Order per unit through courier = RM98(US$27.95) + RM30 (courier) = RM128

Added on September 9, 2007, 2:59 am
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2007, 02:42 AM)
geesh - i think i need to pre order this one - so force myself to get a player ..

House got keys oredi .. now reno and electrical appliances .. very poor lah !!  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif
Congratulation...dont forget for housewarming party..... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by silencer: Sep 9 2007, 02:59 AM
g5sim
post Sep 9 2007, 05:20 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 02:53 AM)
Ok...dude..I have 2 slots opened for pre-ordering the Transformer....so we can share the delivery cost. Estimated arrival date through the courier svc is around 22 Oct, just about a week after hariraya, so..still have enuff time to show off your HD-DVD to your visitor during Hari Raya.... drool.gif

PM me if anyone interested..first cum..first serve basis..2 slots opened now... thumbup.gif

Order per unit through courier = RM98(US$27.95) + RM30 (courier) = RM128

Added on September 9, 2007, 2:59 am
Congratulation...dont forget for housewarming party..... thumbup.gif
house warming party pulak. no 1080p HDTV like yours to show off so no need to housewarm lah laugh.gif house warming party after i got my HDTV tongue.gif .. now peti sejuk lah, kipas siling 4 unit lah, aircond lah, reno lagik ... omg i am soo poor till year end this year rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif celaka the developer only offer fully furnished package after i bought my unit. if not - hehehe

actually i dont have a tv lol. i dont have a tv for the pass 4-6 years i think. i have a tv tuner card in my computer but was later removed like few years back. My ex housemate has two tvs in our house but i never touched it .. omg omg omg

i used to memorised all the tv programme slots on TV3, RTM1 and RTM2 when i was back in secondary school .. damn Bit Torrent . it is ALL YOUR FAULT !!

Added on September 9, 2007, 5:22 am
QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 02:53 AM)
why you people use courier lah? i never used courier for my Amazon.com or amazon.co.uk CD and DVD purchases. they were all sent by airmail with no problem tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Sep 9 2007, 05:22 AM
silencer
post Sep 9 2007, 04:26 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

1 more slot left to pre-order transformer.....in HD-DVD

Added on September 9, 2007, 4:42 pm
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2007, 05:20 AM)
house warming party pulak. no 1080p HDTV like yours to show off so no need to housewarm lah laugh.gif house warming party after i got my HDTV tongue.gif .. now peti sejuk lah, kipas siling 4 unit lah, aircond lah, reno lagik  ... omg i am soo poor till year end this year  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  celaka the developer only offer fully furnished package after i bought my unit. if not - hehehe

actually i dont have a tv lol. i dont have a tv for the pass 4-6 years i think. i have a tv tuner card in my computer but was later removed like few years back. My ex housemate has two tvs in our house but i never touched it .. omg omg omg

i used to memorised all the tv programme slots on TV3, RTM1 and RTM2 when i was back in secondary school .. damn Bit Torrent . it is ALL YOUR FAULT !!

lcd tv getting cheaperlah g5im....so many free interest scheme.....

Added on September 9, 2007, 5:22 am
QUOTE(g5sim @ Sep 9 2007, 05:20 AM)
why you people use courier lah? i never used courier for my Amazon.com or amazon.co.uk CD and DVD purchases. they were all sent by airmail with no problem tongue.gif
courier..because want to get it as fast as possible..like in this case 1 week after raya...imagine showing transformers movie to those kids while makan ketupat.....if i opt for other mail svc..it will reach here after 3-4 weeks of raya...so ....i dont think thode kids like hot fuzz or even top gun....wanna make their fathers drool..and then jump into hd-dvd straight away.... thumbup.gif

Added on September 9, 2007, 4:57 pmOk Guys..who said that Bluray is superior than HD-DVD in terms of capacity??? Here comes the 51GB disk...

http://www.screendigest.com/online_service...060907-ec3/show >>>

DVD Forum approves 'bigger than Blu-ray' HD DVD
07 Sep 07
Source: Online Services/Intelligence/Video and DVD/Updates

The DVD Forum, the international DVD standards authority, has approved a 51 GB single-sided triple-layer HD DVD disc for production. Extension to the HD DVD standard, which was submitted by Toshiba in April, received approval on 31 August 2007. Other recent developments include:

* A single-sided triple-layer HD DVD/DVD hybrid (combi) disc, the DVD layer of which would be playable by legacy DVD players, is expected to be approved before the year end.
    * The Forum has signed a Memorandum of Understanding with China's Optical Memory National Engineering Research Centre (OMNERC) regarding licensing of the HD DVD-ROM China (formerly HD DVD-ROM China-only) format, specification for which was approved earlier this year. The only difference between the latter and the standard HD DVD format is the modulation scheme: the optical pickup in HD DVD China player will be able to play standard HD DVD discs, although Chinese discs will not be playable in standard HD DVD drives. According to the Forum, the Chinese government is keen to introduce the format domestically before the Olympic Games in August 2008. Large-scale integrates (LSIs) are already under development by manufacturers and use of AACS for the format is currently under negotiation.

This post has been edited by silencer: Sep 9 2007, 04:57 PM
crazyconsumer
post Sep 9 2007, 06:26 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

silencer, what hd-dvd player you have?
silencer
post Sep 9 2007, 09:03 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Sep 9 2007, 06:26 PM)
silencer, what hd-dvd player you have?
I am just using the hd-dvd add on for my xbox 360, but will be getting the toshiba generation 3 hd-dvd player on this november..... thumbup.gif
crazyconsumer
post Sep 9 2007, 10:22 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Read from other thread that XBOX uses component cables (cannot view at 1080). What resolution you viewing?

Also no HD audio. sad.gif

Where you getting the Toshiba? Online purchase? rclxms.gif

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 09:03 PM)
I am just using the hd-dvd add on for my xbox 360, but will be getting the toshiba generation 3 hd-dvd player on this november..... thumbup.gif

65 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:09 AM