7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

g5sim
post Aug 28 2007, 04:58 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 28 2007, 04:23 AM)
Im gonna wait and see how the Gen3 players do irst before taking the plunge agan. Should this happens, someone's gonna be pretty lucky to get the E1 im selling below RM900. Not al this RM2499 overpriced crap. Guess that clearane sale in Zurich has its silver lining.

G5sim, giddy as a schoolgirl i am! Either way, the consumers are the winners here.

Right, off to pack the luggages. Those who had your "tumpang item" listed with me, i'll update their status to you via PM once im there. The luggages are going to be really empty on the way back.
eagerly waiting for my turn to tumpang .. biggrin.gif
g5sim
post Aug 28 2007, 11:14 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Aug 28 2007, 11:10 AM)
I ordered 4 BD and 1 HD DVD on Sunday, 5 HD DVD and 1 BD earlier this morning.... no freebies for me even though some of them are in the eligible titles list hmm.gif
strange . .why lah ?
g5sim
post Aug 29 2007, 02:36 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 28 2007, 10:16 PM)
unless if there is somethin "blue" inside it... thumbup.gif
erm if blu-ray disk sure kenak kastamed lah? got blue what? tongue.gif

Added on August 29, 2007, 3:47 am++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
smile.gif smile.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Discussions here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=512072

OMG OMG - Most probably will be selling below $199 as i PERSONALLY think its certain that Toshiba will reduce the Gen 3 A3 player to $199. Well unless the SHD7000 will have 1080p smile.gif .

The SHD7000, Spec: the company said, will feature:

HDMI connection which will upconvert standard DVD to "near-HD-picture quality,"
Ethernet connectivity (one that the $1499 Pioneer player did not offer)
Dolby TrueHD sound
CD playback (one that the $1499 Pioneer player did not offer) tongue.gif

http://www.dealerscope.com/story/story.bsp...section=Unknown
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

At the Consumer Electronics Show in January, word got out about a potential new HD DVD player, made in China and sold inexpensively, coming to market by the end of the year. On Tuesday, word came that that player is on the way: Canadian company Venturer Electronics will release the player, called the SHD7000, to the North American market.

The SHD7000, the company said, will feature an HDMI connection which will upconvert standard DVD to "near-HD-picture quality," as well as Ethernet connectivity, Dolby TrueHD sound, and CD playback. The new player joins various offerings from primary HD DVD backer Toshiba, as well as Onkyo's DV-HD805, which is set for release this fall, and Microsoft's Xbox drive as HD DVD-only players. LG has already released a dual-format player, and one is on the way from Samsung.

No pricing information, or specific release date, was announced for the product.

user posted image3

This post has been edited by g5sim: Aug 29 2007, 03:50 AM
g5sim
post Aug 29 2007, 06:27 AM

5,750 posts

haha - it is official. the press release is now posted on Venturer's new website and they are touting the player to be priced at the MOST ENTRY LEVEL than the currently available HD DVD player. no wonder PAramount and Dreamworks jump ship wink.gif and no wonder Warner so called 'postponed' its TotalHD disks. I bet we wont see any of the TotalHD disks in retail shelfs wink.gif

official site link: http://venturer.com/news-details.aspx?id=15

discussions in the Audiophile thread - link above rclxms.gif

Added on August 29, 2007, 6:35 amhttp://gear.ign.com/articles/816/816439p1.html

Amazon Offers 8 Free Movies with HD-DVD Hardware

August 28, 2007 - Word is getting around today that Amazon.com has gotten a bit more aggressive in moving dedicated HD-DVD hardware. Purchasers of the Toshiba HD-A2 ($239), HD-A20 ($329), or HD-XA2 ($570), will be able to choose three free HD-DVDs at checkout in addition to the ongoing across-the-board HD-DVD mail-in-rebate for 5-free titles with hardware purchases. Amazon offers purchasers a selection of 55 movies from which to choose, and happily, most are actually worth owning.

Though Blu-ray has been maintaining higher sales, the HD-DVD camp is going to work its lower cost advantage in a major way this upcoming holiday season. Those ready to join the HD-DVD side of the battle should head to Amazon to check out the deal.

Added on August 29, 2007, 10:49 amhahaha

note that the XA2 is more expensive than any of the three BD players tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Aug 29 2007, 10:49 AM
g5sim
post Aug 30 2007, 05:59 AM

5,750 posts

Universal has just launched its dedicated HD DVD site. Registered users owning universal titles can get exclusive HD downloads directly to their HD DVD player and play them on their HDTV.

well bravo - this is what i call next general video. and someone MUCH MORE expensive hd players do not even have internet connection.

http://www.universalhidef.com/features.asp...=downloadcenter

discussions here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=512684
g5sim
post Aug 30 2007, 11:16 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Aug 30 2007, 05:43 PM)
The Venturer HD-DVD player has been confirmed to be officially priced at US$199, but most people expecting street price to be discounted at around US$130-150. Ouch.....
yup..hd-dvd is on the roll..quote from AVS:

"Hey gang. I'm feeling a little red this evening. Just finished watching my Superman II: Richard Donner Cut HD DVD, except this time with the commentary. And while listening I have been looking at Amazon's bestsellers.

As of 11:31PM today, check out these rankings:

Xbox 360 HD DVD Add-on: #1 in Video Games (over the PS3 and Wii)

Toshiba A-2: #1 STILL in Electronics

300 Combo HD DVD/DVD: #2 in DVD

Heroes HD DVD: #13 in DVD

The Departed: #14 in DVD
Just some interesting numbers to think about. They seem to mesh with Robert's reports of player spike at his store as well. Be interesting to see sales numbers for software over the next couple weeks."
the A2 figure is absolutely stunning. and it has been that way for more nearly two days. even the A20 is in the top 10 while the more expensive XA2 within the top 100 or ALL THINGS ELECTRONICs at Amazon drool.gif
g5sim
post Sep 2 2007, 02:03 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 1 2007, 10:34 AM)
spore showing heroes in Hidef tis cumming november
omg - i am jealous !!
g5sim
post Sep 3 2007, 06:17 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 2 2007, 10:36 PM)
w00t...just receive the PM from one of the AVS forumer whose is working in Venturer, Canada:
" Venturer in Asia
may be carried by KDN Parts (an Indonesian company). I'm the liaison between KDN Parts and Venturer Canada. The projected MSRP for the Venturer HD DVD player is aprox US$350."

Still trying to convince him to reduce the suggested price here, and the question is should I apply to be as one of the distribution channel for venturer hd-dvd here..hmmmm
aiyo $260 enough lor to put it at RM999. please PM me the username of the said forum member. dun worry - i dun intend to become a dealer lol .. tongue.gif
g5sim
post Sep 4 2007, 05:36 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 3 2007, 10:52 PM)
reply from that person:
g5sim..will Pm his name once I get a greenlight from him....I wonder if anyone here is interested to become a distributor...
buyer yes smile.gif distributor kenot lah .. got work and school summore .. susah Lah .. i dun think its that difficult to sell several hundres players at Lowyat net alone though. the amount of people with HDTV is good enough for us to sell the HD DVD player tongue.gif
g5sim
post Sep 4 2007, 06:27 AM

5,750 posts

Reuters is expecting atleast on exclusive BD studio to go neutral soon biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

"The more positive development for the industry ... would have been having the Blu-Ray-exclusive studios start releasing on HD DVD," Adams said. "We think ... there's some inevitability that they will have to release in both formats."

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,136702-c...ia/article.html

This post has been edited by g5sim: Sep 4 2007, 10:13 AM
g5sim
post Sep 6 2007, 08:52 AM

5,750 posts

http://www.videobusiness.com/index.asp?lay...cleid=CA6475532

Paramount delivers media blitz for Transformers DVD, HD DVD

SEPT. 5 | After earning $306 million in theaters, Transformers will appear on DVD and HD DVD Oct. 16 backed by a media campaign that Paramount Home Entertainment says is one the biggest in the division's history.

The multi-million-dollar blitz will include TV, print, radio and online advertising. Plus, through a viral marketing program, fans will be able to customize a message for their friends from Optimus Prime sent via telephone or e-mail.

An array of high-impact displays will be deployed to retail locations across the country. Promotional partners including Chevrolet and Hostess also will extend the reach of the Transformers message to millions of people.

The standard-definition version will bow in single-disc and two-disc sets. The two-disc Special Edition provides an arsenal of bonus material, including commentary by director Michael Bay. Two multi-part in-depth documentaries, "Our World" and "Their War," explore the human elements of the film as well as the robot stars. They include producer Steven Spielberg discussing his early concept for the movie, extensive casting and training and real-world weapons provided by the military.

The HD DVD presentation includes Web-enabled features, such as an "Intelligence Mode" on-screen dashboard, which plays over the film and provides information about the robots and weapons, and a GPS locator. The HD DVD version also will include Transformers H.U.D. (Heads Up Display), which runs text commentary with the film and plays relevant behind-the-scenes footage in picture-in-picture.

The HD DVD version and two-disc standard-def special edition will both be priced at $39.99, with the standard-def single-disc at $19.95 MAP.

g5sim
post Sep 6 2007, 10:01 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 6 2007, 09:25 AM)
oh my oh my, its here sooner than i tot....
and yeah. Toshiba is packaging its HD DVD players with warners 300 and Unviversal Bourne Ultimatum. meaning u get the two HD DVD out of the box. 300 is also a Combo HD DVD/DVD disk ..

in addition to that, purchasers will also the another 5 HD DVD disk rebate. The offer which was supposed to end at 31 September has been extended to February 28, 2008. meaning 7 FREE DISK LOR !!

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/ne...se,172069.shtml

CEDIA, DENVER, Sept. 5 /PRNewswire/ -- Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. ("Toshiba") revealed its third generation HD DVD players at the CEDIA show today rolling out its most advanced, affordable line of HD DVD players with outstanding functionalities and Web-enabled network capabilities of the HD DVD format. Gearing up for the new line to hit shelves this fall, Toshiba also announced new HD DVD marketing initiatives and consumer promotions, including a season-long promotional campaign with NBC Television Station Group for Sunday Night Football broadcasts, a free two movie bundle with third generation players and a new five free HD DVD movie promotion.

"We have raised the bar yet again with the unmatched interactive capabilities and state-of-the art video and audio performance of our third generation players," said Jodi Sally, Vice President of Marketing, Toshiba's Digital A/V Group. "Web-enabled network capabilities, available on HD DVD, illustrate how Toshiba is delivering on its commitment to provide consumers with the ultimate home entertainment experience in high definition. With this new line, a growing base of HDTV consumers can now look forward to an unrivaled home theater experience this fall."

Toshiba Third Generation HD DVD Players

Toshiba's third generation family starts with the entry level HD-A3 player featuring 1080i output capability. The other two new models, Toshiba's HD-A30 and HD-A35, will output 1080p resolution (1920 x 1080p), the highest HD signal currently available. Both models are capable of outputting signals at 1080p/24 frames per second so consumers can enjoy movies in their native frame rate. The HD-A30 and HD-A35 models also feature "CE-Link" (HDMI™-CEC), allowing two-way control between the HD DVD player and a TV through an HDMI connection.
With a new slim design, Toshiba's third generation players have a cabinet that is approximately 1/4-inch slimmer than second generation models. All of Toshiba's HD DVD models are backward compatible allowing users to enjoy their libraries of current DVDs and CDs while improving the picture quality of regular DVDs by upconverting them through an HDMI connection to near high definition quality.

New HD DVD Promotions

To further drive HD DVD sales this fall, Toshiba also announced today a number of exciting new marketing initiatives and promotions. To communicate the benefits of HD DVD to millions of HDTV owners, Toshiba announced a season- long promotional campaign with the NBC Television Station Group and its broadcasts of Sunday Night Football with Bob Costas and Tiki Barber. This includes 30 second HD DVD ads, web sponsorships promoting the format, as well as special on-air vignettes that will build awareness and educate consumers about HD DVD throughout the holidays and into 2008.

In addition, in order to allow consumers to enjoy the HD DVD experience right out of the box, Toshiba is offering consumers free movies with the purchase of their third generation players. With Toshiba's new bundle promotion, consumers will take home the highly acclaimed HD DVDs "300" from Warner Home Video and "The Bourne Identity" from Universal Studios Home Entertainment.

"Warner is excited to offer consumers who purchase the new Toshiba HD DVD players the opportunity to own '300'," said Dorinda Marticorena, SVP Worldwide High Definition Media, Warner Home Video. "Not only is it the best selling HD DVD title to date, but it is also one of the most advanced titles with regard to new and innovative Hi Def features, both on the disc itself and through web connectivity. We believe that with the initial sales of "300", and this promotion, more than a half million consumers will own "300" on HD DVD by the end of this year."

"Now is an exciting time to buy an HD DVD player, with a blockbuster title like 'The Bourne Identity' in the box at retail," said Craig Kornblau, President, Universal Studios Home Entertainment. "Toshiba is leading the way in bringing high definition home, and at prices that will fit in any home theater. By offering The Bourne Identity, in addition to Toshiba's 'Five Free' offer, we are giving consumers an amazing deal."

In addition to its bundle promotion, Toshiba announced "The Perfect HD Offer," which will begin on October 1st 2007 and continue until February 28th 2008. As a result, with the purchase of any Toshiba HD DVD player, consumers will be able to select five HD DVD titles for free, from a selection of 15, via a mail-in offer. Full offer details will be available at http://www.toshibahddvd.com/.

Beyond the Hi Def Movie Experience

Beyond the high def picture and advanced audio, HD DVD delivers an immersive home theater experience with features such as picture-in-picture video and audio commentary. And now users can take their experience to a new level with value added web-enabled network capability. Thanks to the Ethernet port and persistent storage built into every Toshiba HD DVD player from the first generation models, studios have the ability to take movies to a higher level by allowing users to connect directly to their server and access bonus features as available. Examples of this value-added access can include movie trailers for new releases or the ability to share favorite scenes with other HD DVD player owners. Consumers may also purchase movie-related merchandise, ringtones and more without having to turn on their computers. Web-enabled network capability is now opening the door to a new entertainment experience beyond hi def video and audio.

Firmware Updates Keep HD DVD Consumers Current

With the Ethernet port available on every player, consumers are assured that their Toshiba HD DVD player is built for the future. With available firmware updates, Toshiba is able to keep a consumer's HD DVD player current by providing improved performance, new features and other capabilities to make the HD DVD experience consistent with what the studios have to offer. Today Toshiba is also announcing that in mid-September, a firmware update will be available for its second generation players. The update will bring 1080p/24 frames per second capability to its HD-XA2 and HD-A20 models.

Third Gen Goes Green

Toshiba is committed to not only making its products consumer friendly, but friendly to the environment as well. Its products, including the third generation HD DVD players, meet Toshiba's ongoing efforts to bring eco- conscious products to market and comply with the company's strict environmental policies. Environmental management is promoted both from the standpoint of improving products themselves and renewing manufacturing processes, which not only calls for the elimination of the use of hazardous substances in products, but also to avoid using such substances in any manufacturing process.

For example, Toshiba HD DVD players are compliant with the EU RoHS Directive, a European Union environmental directive that prohibits or restricts the use of six hazardous substances, including lead, mercury and cadmium. Also, for energy conservation, all third generation players meet the Energy Star standard. Toshiba will place the Toshiba Group Earth Protection mark on its third generation players, packaging and promotional materials. The Toshiba Environmental Standard for granting the Toshiba Group Earth Protection mark will soon be available on Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.'s official website.

Momentum For HD DVD Continues to Grow

This fall, with the availability of Toshiba's third generation players, and a significant increase in the rollout of HD DVD movie titles -- expected to increase from 300 to 1,000 titles by the end of the year -- momentum for HD DVD is undeniable. "With the recent announcement by Paramount and DreamWorks Animation SKG to exclusively support HD DVD, in addition to studio support from Universal and Warner, New Line Cinema and HBO, consumers now have even greater reason to supplement their HDTV purchase with a high def HD DVD movie experience," said Yoshi Uchiyama, Group Vice President, Toshiba America Digital A/V Group. "New players, new promotions, new movie titles and new studio partners are all evidence that HD DVD is delivering the ultimate high definition experience to the broader consumer market."

For more information on HD DVD, please visit http://www.toshibahddvd.com/.

Expected Pricing and Expected Availability:
HD-A3 ($299.99, October 2007)
HD-A30 ($399.99, September 2007)
HD-A35 ($499.99, October 2007)

About Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.

Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is owned by Toshiba America, Inc., a subsidiary of Toshiba Corporation, a world leader in high technology products with subsidiaries worldwide. Toshiba is a pioneer in HD DVD, DVD and DVD Recorder technology and a leading manufacturer of a full line of home entertainment products, including flat panel TV, combination products and portable devices. Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is headquartered in Wayne, New Jersey. For additional information, please visit http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/.

g5sim
post Sep 6 2007, 10:49 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Sep 6 2007, 10:13 PM)
Dayum!! Get the remote, then remodel the AV room into the bridge from Enterprise-E. 

Interesting to see names like Shinco there... looks like they really want to saturate the market.
Desa home theater got lots of Shinco product tongue.gif rclxms.gif
g5sim
post Sep 7 2007, 12:37 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 7 2007, 10:35 AM)
shinco pun campur kaki pulak biggrin.gif
china mari CEs are seeing the avantages of traditional japs CE not doing HD DVD standalone players. They are most happy to fill the gap. By year end 2007 (or maybe typo 08), the HD DVD groupd predict there would be 30mil HD DVD hardwares in worldwide households. Fuh Yuan - Walmart, Venture and Shinco .. three cheap chinese players invading the world wink.gif world top 5 note book seller (except Dell - No 2) selling millions of machines, hmm who knows, they might pull it off wink.gif now all toshiba needs to do is get hd dvd drives in all the notebooks - cheaper ones with HD DVD ROM and the more expensive ones will get HD DVD burner. Note that HD DVD employ only one blue laser to read and write everything from HD DVD to DVD to CD. While Blu-ray on the other hand need two. One laser for Blu-ray and another for DVD and CD wink.gif
g5sim
post Sep 8 2007, 04:00 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 8 2007, 09:16 AM)
er.......... so this ch dvd can be played on a hd dvd player? or wat?
they might make the two interplay each other tongue.gif
g5sim
post Sep 9 2007, 02:42 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 8 2007, 04:58 PM)
Yup...most will have CH-DVD and HD-DVD logo at their players....thanks to the join co-operation research by Microsoft and Broadcom, latest news That I heard is those China made players will be priced around US$99....due to the low manufacturing cost (as similar as DVD players).....darn.....never thought it would be that low.... thumbup.gif

Added on September 9, 2007, 1:46 amTransformer HD-DVD pre-order is up at Amazon.com>>> http://www.amazon.com/Transformers-Two-Dis...D/dp/B000NU2NJ8
geesh - i think i need to pre order this one - so force myself to get a player ..

House got keys oredi .. now reno and electrical appliances .. very poor lah !! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif

g5sim
post Sep 9 2007, 05:20 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 02:53 AM)
Ok...dude..I have 2 slots opened for pre-ordering the Transformer....so we can share the delivery cost. Estimated arrival date through the courier svc is around 22 Oct, just about a week after hariraya, so..still have enuff time to show off your HD-DVD to your visitor during Hari Raya.... drool.gif

PM me if anyone interested..first cum..first serve basis..2 slots opened now... thumbup.gif

Order per unit through courier = RM98(US$27.95) + RM30 (courier) = RM128

Added on September 9, 2007, 2:59 am
Congratulation...dont forget for housewarming party..... thumbup.gif
house warming party pulak. no 1080p HDTV like yours to show off so no need to housewarm lah laugh.gif house warming party after i got my HDTV tongue.gif .. now peti sejuk lah, kipas siling 4 unit lah, aircond lah, reno lagik ... omg i am soo poor till year end this year rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif celaka the developer only offer fully furnished package after i bought my unit. if not - hehehe

actually i dont have a tv lol. i dont have a tv for the pass 4-6 years i think. i have a tv tuner card in my computer but was later removed like few years back. My ex housemate has two tvs in our house but i never touched it .. omg omg omg

i used to memorised all the tv programme slots on TV3, RTM1 and RTM2 when i was back in secondary school .. damn Bit Torrent . it is ALL YOUR FAULT !!

Added on September 9, 2007, 5:22 am
QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 02:53 AM)
Ok...dude..I have 2 slots opened for pre-ordering the Transformer....so we can share the delivery cost. Estimated arrival date through the courier svc is around 22 Oct, just about a week after hariraya, so..still have enuff time to show off your HD-DVD to your visitor during Hari Raya.... drool.gif
why you people use courier lah? i never used courier for my Amazon.com or amazon.co.uk CD and DVD purchases. they were all sent by airmail with no problem tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Sep 9 2007, 05:22 AM
g5sim
post Sep 9 2007, 10:39 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 04:26 PM)
1 more slot left to pre-order transformer.....in HD-DVD

Added on September 9, 2007, 4:42 pm

lcd tv getting cheaperlah g5im....so many free interest scheme.....
one thing you need to know about me is i never bought anything on installment except for house lah ofcourse laugh.gif
g5sim
post Sep 10 2007, 03:56 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Sep 9 2007, 11:55 PM)
who said so cannot view 1080p? Im using a vga connection to my lcd tv sharp G7 for 1080P resolution...but for the audio...its only 5.1...DTS for HD-DVD

The lossless audio might be useful once im getting the tosh gen3, but I still needs to purchade the onkyo 803 receiver for the full compatibility, and bear in mind that HD audio is not only depending on your player alone...but also with your amplifier/receiver....and requires 7.1 speaker setup...

For toshiba...adalah.....getting the same source in US where i get my oppo 981HD.... thumbup.gif
and speakers too. RM888 Jalan Pasar system tak main !!

g5sim
post Sep 11 2007, 06:59 AM

5,750 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif padam punyalah muka. Sony build up the 'exclusivity' hype. and now Toshiba is utilizing it to kill Sony. Ahhhh IRONY !!

AND no one is the right mind would bet Wal-mart banking on BD's cheapest $499 player on its customers when the HD DVD players will be available at $199 or less from MULTIPLE CEs biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://www.tvpredictions.com/warner091007.htm

News
Warner Bros. Weighing HD DVD Offer?
The Los Angeles Times says so, quoting "Hollywood insiders."
By Swanni

Washington, D.C. (September 10, 2007) -- Warner Bros is considering a "lucrative offer" to back HD DVD exclusively in the high-def disc format war.

That's according to an article in today's Los Angeles Times.

Warner Bros. is now releasing titles in both Blu-ray and HD DVD and the studio has preached that the two-format approach has led to increased sales of such titles as The Departed.

But the surprise departure last month of Steve Nickerson, Warner Home Video's senior vice president for High-Definition, has raised speculation that the studio may be reconsidering its policy. Nickerson was an outspoken booster of the two-format approach in the high-def war.

The Times writes that "Hollywood insiders" say Warner is "mulling over a lucrative offer that could bring such popular titles as Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix into the HD DVD camp." The newspaper doesn't say, but the offer is presumably from Toshiba, the leading backer of the HD DVD format.

If Warner were to endorse HD DVD exclusively, it would follow similar exclusive endorsements last month from Paramount and DreamWorks. (Universal is also backing HD DVD exclusively while four major studios are supporting Blu-ray exclusively.)

While a Warner switch would seriously boost HD DVD's chances in the high-def format war, the Times reports that the Blu-ray side is also busy trying to line up exclusive deals with studios and retailers.

Wal-Mart, the newspaper said, had set a mid-August deadline for deciding which format to keep in its stores; it now carries both players. But Toshiba supposedly offered a large promotional budget to support HD DVD sales in a recent meeting at Wal-Mart headquarters.

Wal-Mart would not comment on that, but told the Times that "it would be good for the studios or somebody to make the call (on the high-def format war.)."

This post has been edited by g5sim: Sep 11 2007, 07:03 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:54 AM