7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

g5sim
post Nov 2 2007, 01:12 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Oct 31 2007, 06:04 PM)
On Amazon, no price difference. The bonus features list looks the same as well.

Ordering High School Musical 2 & Barry Manilow concert as well, so might as well add Hairy Porter to shopping basket. Waiting to see what the Elton John concert's specs is finally like before deciding on that one.
seriously, do you really need high school musical in hidef?
g5sim
post Nov 2 2007, 01:16 AM

5,750 posts

OMG

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20071...ing-prices.html

Wal-mart to sell HD-A2 HD DVD players for $98 on Black Friday (Limited number) because Sears to sell A3 at $169.

Black Friday is still three weeks away, but Wal-Mart has decided to bring the hammer down on its HD DVD player prices a bit early. Last week, we covered the company's plans to begin selling Toshiba HD-A2 players at $198, which prompted similar price cuts from Circuit City and Best Buy. Five days later, Wal-Mart has announced plans to offer a limited number of HD-A2 HD DVD players for $98 on Friday morning. The move may be an attempt to clear inventory-rumor has it that Sears will begin selling Toshiba's current HD-A3 for $169 on Black Friday, and there's little doubt that Wal-Mart will want to match or beat that price.

Kmart has become the latest retailer to jump on the HD DVD bandwagon, stating that it will support the standard over Blu-ray due to the price differential between HD DVD players and Blu-ray players. That's not surprising, given Kmart's market demographic, but it demonstrates the importance of price points, where HD DVD has a distinct advantage. The $100 barrier is a significant one for many consumers, especially those who don't live on the cutting edge of technology. The cheap HD DVD players may be little more than a loss leader to drive sales of HDMI cables and HD DVD movies, but they may also give HD DVD a larger family-room beachhead in its battle against Blu-ray.

g5sim
post Nov 2 2007, 01:24 AM

5,750 posts

Asus intros HD DVD PC drive:

http://www.channelregister.co.uk/2007/11/0...t_hd_dvd_drive/

BD die liau in pc industry. with a FULL FLEDGED HD DVD player selling at $198 imagine how much ASUS is going to sell this bare PC drive tongue.gif

I expect to see ASUS flood the drive in the PC market wink.gif Pansonic and Blu-ray drives are selling at RM2499 now at Low Yat. And oh yeah, i dont want a writer i just want a PC drive biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

The HR-0205T is a read-only unit that can handled single- and dual-layer HD DVD media, and single-layer HD DVD-R discs, all at 2.4x. It'll also read all the many DVD formats at 5x and CD media at 15x.

Unsatisfied with the drive's inability to burn discs? Then Asus offered the fact that it emits just 21.1dB of noise when playing HD DVDs, though it goes up to 23.7dB when it's spinning a dual-layer DVD. For comparison, both are less than a typical notebook hard drive's operational 26dB.

Asus said the HR-0205T can be mounted horizontally or vertically. The drive connects to a parallel ATA port, but an PATA-SATA adaptor allows it to be hooked up to the more up to date, serial bus.

There's no word yet on pricing.

Added on November 2, 2007, 1:25 amStill think HD DVD is a dead format ?

Kmart HD-DVD-Exclusive, $200 HD-DVD Players Everywhere, $167 At Amazon w/Credit

http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/2007/10/kmart-hd-dvd-ex.html

Wal-Mart already has the $200 PC, and now it has a HD-DVD player at the same price tag. Furthermore, other stores are matching it's price, with Kmart announcing it will exclusively sell Toshiba's HD-A2 HD-DVD player. Let's hammer that point home: There will be no Blu-Ray for you at Kmart, unless you want a PlayStation 3.

"Toshiba spokesperson Jodi Sally said Kmart, which is owned by Sears, would exclusively stock Toshiba HD DVD players in retail stores due to their lower price. A clerk at the retail chain's Anaheim location confirmed the store only carried Toshiba players."

How can Blu-Ray fight a $200 price tag at America's largest retailer, a complete lock-out at the No. 2 shop, and everyone else following the leader?

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 2 2007, 01:25 AM
g5sim
post Nov 2 2007, 06:15 AM

5,750 posts

http://raven-central.net/ravencinemas/phenomeon.html

Wal-mart is targetting women shoppers to buy HD DVD players for their hubbies laugh.gif

http://raven-central.net/ravencinemas/phenomeon.html

the ad is at the end of the clip
g5sim
post Nov 3 2007, 05:21 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Nov 2 2007, 12:06 PM)
As with most things on this thread, these are wants more than needs.

Further, an original DVD of HSM2 retails at HK$270 (US$35) here. I can get a BR version on amazon for US$24. If u were me, which would you get?
aiyo - if cheaper and if i have ps3 ofcourse lah Blu-ray wink.gif
g5sim
post Nov 9 2007, 05:10 AM

5,750 posts

Toshiba and DreamWorks Animation Launch HD DVD Ads for 'Shrek The Third,' Proving High Def Picture Quality is Not 'Far Far Away'

November 08, 2007: 02:59 PM EST

WAYNE, N.J., Nov. 8 /PRNewswire/ -- Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. ("Toshiba") and DreamWorks Animation SKG, Inc. announced today the launch of a new creative advertising campaign to support the release of "Shrek the Third," in high definition, exclusively on HD DVD. The TV ads spotlight the outstanding picture quality of the HD DVD version of the film and reinforce the consumer benefits of watching movies on HD DVD.

The 30 second TV commercials use the much-loved characters Donkey and Gingerbread Man, who discuss with studio execs how life-like they become when viewed on HD DVD. Currently airing, the two TV ads will run during network prime time and on several cable outlets. The ads incorporate the tagline "It all begins with HD," to convey that DVD is taken to the next level with HD DVD. nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif waiting for you tube nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

"Because our films are created digitally, the best way to watch "Shrek the Third" is on HD DVD," said Ann Daly, Chief Operating Officer of DreamWorks Animation. "With our films now in this format, families can get the highest quality viewing experience on their home televisions in HD."

"Shrek the Third," hitting shelves November 13, is another example of the great exclusive titles coming to HD DVD this holiday season. A family favorite, the movie features the voices of Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy and Cameron Diaz, all brought to life with HD DVD's high definition video and superior audio. The film also offers content exclusive to HD DVD such as Picture-in-Picture features, customizable character menu skins and web-enabled network features like Shrek's Trivia Track, The World of Shrek and Donkey's Digital Coloring Book. Only HD DVD can provide this type of content with currently available hardware and software.

"Through our partnership with DreamWorks, we are providing consumers with more HD content," said Maria Repole, Director, Corporate Communications for Toshiba. "Movies like 'Shrek the Third' were made for HD DVD and we are thrilled to have this title as an HD DVD exclusive. With Toshiba's HD DVD players, Shrek fans can experience amazing picture and sound quality as well as web-enabled network features for a truly interactive entertainment experience."

To further promote HD DVD to consumers over the coming months, Toshiba will continue to offer free movies with the purchase of any of its HD DVD players. In specially marked boxes of Toshiba's new line-up of 3rd generation players, consumers will take home the highly acclaimed HD DVD movies "300" from Warner Home Video and "The Bourne Identity" from Universal Studios Home Entertainment. In addition, "The Perfect HD Offer" runs until February 28th 2008. With the purchase of any Toshiba HD DVD player, consumers will be able to select five HD DVD titles for free, from a selection of 15, via a mail-in offer. Full offer details are available at http://www.toshibahddvd.com.

About Toshiba HD DVD Players:

HD DVD was designed from the outset to be the evolution of the DVD format; every Toshiba HD DVD player will play back existing DVDs and CDs. Toshiba's HD DVD players will not only play DVD, but will instantly make a movie lover's existing DVD library look even better than it ever did via the HDMI output. With HD DVD, consumers can experience true high def 1080p resolution for extraordinary detail and clarity that matches the latest state of the art 1080p HDTVs. Select Toshiba HD DVD players display images at 24 frames per second, the same frame rate used by directors when using film to create motion pictures for a smoother, more film like, viewing experience. Thanks to the ethernet port and memory built into every Toshiba HD DVD player, movie lovers also can enjoy the benefits of web-enabled network connectivity. Consumers can download the latest movie trailers as they become available, share favorite movie clips with friends, vote in online polls and enjoy the experience like never before.

Important Notes:

HD DVD with high-definition content required for HD viewing. Up- conversion of DVD content will result in near HD picture quality. Viewing high-definition content and up-converting DVD content may require an HDCP capable DVI or HDMI input on your display device. 1080p capable display required for viewing content in 1080p. Firmware update may be required for some interactive features depending on content, which may also require an always-on broadband internet connection. Some features may require additional bandwidth. To take advantage of web-enabled network content, installing the latest firmware (ver.2.3 for HD DVD player models HD-XA1, HD-A1, and HD-D1; ver.2.5 for HD-XA2, HD-A2, HD-A2W, HD-D2, HD-A2C, and HD-A20; and ver.1.1 for HD-A35, HD-A30, and HD-A3) is required. Web-enabled features require an always on broadband connection along with specific movie titles that include this form of content. For 24p output, content that was created in 1080p/24 frames/sec is required. Viewing 24p output requires an HD display capable of accepting a 1080p/24Hz signal. MP3/WMA audio files not supported. HDMI audio output requires connection to a PCM capable device. Because HD DVD is a new format that makes use of new technologies, certain disc, digital connection and other compatibility and/or performance issues are possible. This may, in rare cases, include disc freezing while accessing certain disc features or functions, or certain parts of the disc not playing back or operating as fully intended. If you experience such issues, please refer to the FAQ sections of www.toshibahddvd.com or www.tacp.toshiba.com for information on possible work- around solutions or the availability of firmware updates that may resolve your problem, or contact Toshiba Customer Solutions. Some features subject to delayed availability. While every effort has been made at the time of publication to ensure the accuracy of the information provided herein, product specifications, configurations, system/component/options availability are all subject to change without notice.

About Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C.

Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is owned by Toshiba America, Inc., a subsidiary of Toshiba Corporation, a world leader in high technology products with subsidiaries worldwide. Toshiba is a pioneer in HD DVD, DVD and DVD Recorder technology and a leading manufacturer of a full line of home entertainment products, including flat panel TV, combination products and portable devices. Toshiba America Consumer Products, L.L.C. is headquartered in Wayne, New Jersey. For additional information, please visit www.tacp.toshiba.com.

About DreamWorks Animation SKG

DreamWorks Animation is principally devoted to developing and producing computer generated, or CG, animated feature films. With world-class creative talent, a strong and experienced management team and advanced CG filmmaking technology and techniques, DreamWorks Animation makes high quality CG animated films meant for a broad movie-going audience. The Company has theatrically released a total of fifteen animated feature films, including Antz, Shrek, Shrek 2, Shark Tale, Madagascar, Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were- Rabbit, Over the Hedge, Flushed Away, Shrek the Third and Bee Movie.

HDMI, the HDMI logo, and High-Definition Multimedia Interface are trademarks or registered trademarks of HDMI Licensing, LLC.

HD DVD and DVD are trademarks of DVD Format/Logo Licensing Corporation.

Added on November 9, 2007, 5:18 amBlu-ray Spiderman 3 sold 135K in 1 week. despite over 5mil blu-ray disk hardware out in the wild. Transformers HD DVD sold 100K in 1 day and 190 in one week with <>500,000 HD DVD hardwares out in the wild wink.gif .. what does that mean? BD is becoming more and more like UMD v2

Spider-Man 3 didn't break any records on Blu-ray its first week
Posted Nov 8th 2007 3:09PM by Ben Drawbaugh
Filed under: Blu-ray

We had a feeling Sony was disappointed with Spider-Man 3's first week of sales on Blu-ray, and now we know why. Sure, 135k copies in one week (not including those bundled with the PS3 or the box set) isn't anything to scuff at, but it doesn't compare to Warner's 300 at 165k. It is however, Sony's biggest title to date -- by far -- as Casino Royal only sold 40k copies. HD DVD fanboys will be quick to point out that the tide is already starting to change and Transformers selling 190k HD DVD discs is proof, but this argument is less than weak when you consider that in the DVD race Transformers out-sold Spidey 3 by a three to one margin. Of course a devout Blu-ray fans may argue that if Transformers would've been on Blu-ray, it would've sold 405k, but that's why we call them fanboys. We do look forward to tomorrow's VideoScan numbers, when we get to see how Spidey did against Transformers in its third week.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 9 2007, 05:18 AM
g5sim
post Nov 10 2007, 07:21 AM

5,750 posts

ah the famous donkey HD DVD ad : http://208.65.153.238/watch?v=NAYxYxn3iTA

Added on November 10, 2007, 7:25 ama guy unboxing his $98 HD DVD player Wal-mart : http://208.65.153.238/watch?v=PjlUbUraBBs

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 10 2007, 07:25 AM
g5sim
post Nov 13 2007, 07:42 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Nov 12 2007, 08:15 AM)
A friend of mine is offering his Toshiba E1 for RM1000. Do you guys think is worth it?
wah - cheap leh - if 100% working condition and still got warranty - not bad what tongue.gif
g5sim
post Nov 19 2007, 04:05 AM

5,750 posts

Harry Potter - order of pheonix - pre order now wink.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/556105

Added on November 19, 2007, 5:00 amBest Denki The Mines Shopping Fair is demoing HD E1, the Sharp BD and Sony BD player. The assistance manager also said that they imported Transformers HD DVD from amazon for sale tongue.gif

also - the 50in Pioneer 720p 7th Gen (non Kuro) Plasma is selling at RM14,999 picture quality wise - totally amazing - better than any 42in 1080p LCD tvs - maybe it was the source (standard definition Pioneer dvd player)

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 19 2007, 05:00 AM
g5sim
post Nov 20 2007, 07:31 AM

5,750 posts

the price that i have been expecting:

it is now $199 at bhphotos - if you import one , you pay less than RM1300 (inclusive of courier fee and the 25% tax) - till your door step .. further more you get two free HD DVD titles in the box wink.gif

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5200...DVD_Player.html
g5sim
post Nov 22 2007, 03:54 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Nov 20 2007, 12:47 PM)
Good find. $100 rebate + mail-in 5 free HD-DVDs as well. but bear in mind delivery of 5 free hd-dvds to US address only.

Is the HD-A3 auto-voltage or 110v only?
well we still get 300 and Bourne packed in the box wink.gif these disks are valued at RM149 x 2 = RM300

you might need a step down adaptor tongue.gif

anyhow:

HD A3 = $199 (RM697 (x3.5 currency rate)
Courier fee (International Express Mail - 5-7 Days Delivery) = $109 (RM382)
25% tax of player price = RM174

RM697 + RM382 + RM174 = RM1,235 NETT sikit sikit = RM1234 tongue.gif

Added on November 23, 2007, 6:43 amAmazon hidef sales is back

now buy 2 HD DVD titles and get one for free:

http://bluray.highdefdigest.com/news/show/..._DVD_Discs/1200

http://www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html?ie=U..._rd_i=193642011

This post has been edited by g5sim: Nov 23 2007, 06:44 AM
g5sim
post Dec 1 2007, 07:54 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Dec 1 2007, 01:33 AM)
who has successfully use this xbox hd-dvd addon on their pc?

cheers! smile.gif
if you want to PC HD DVD drive - you might want to wait for the Asus HD DVD drive - which will be much more cheaper and the external HD DVD add on wink.gif but then, you the add on is external lah wink.gif
g5sim
post Dec 5 2007, 06:43 PM

5,750 posts

HD DVD add on now $129 tongue.gif
g5sim
post Dec 8 2007, 02:52 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 8 2007, 12:34 AM)
The HD-A30 is now only US$280 at B&H. After shipping and tax it comes to around RM1700 hmm.gif
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5200...DVD_Player.html
you beat me to it lol
g5sim
post Dec 11 2007, 09:28 PM

5,750 posts

amazon HD DVD buy one get one free biggrin.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/589294
g5sim
post Dec 11 2007, 10:55 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 11 2007, 09:57 PM)
Should be ok I guess. If wanna talk about delicate electronics I think the 360 is more sensitive and there's quite a number of use who bought Jap units, nearly all of the dead ones because of 3ROD and none because of the stepdown converter IIRC biggrin.gif
I'm trawling Ebay at the moment looking for some good deals on the HD-A30 laugh.gif

As for the add-on HD DVD drive, it has auto voltage psu. I'm using my Jap drive without any stepdown converter icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 11, 2007, 10:01 pm

Finally! I'm eyeing about half a dozen titles at the moment rclxms.gif
hahaha - i see some nice movies at $19 per 2 pops . that is $9.9 per title lol shakehead.gif
g5sim
post Dec 12 2007, 10:36 AM

5,750 posts

amazing biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

A30 now $3 more expensive than A3 at $245 and $248 respectvively biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-HD-A3-720p-1...S/ref=pd_ts_e_2

http://www.amazon.com/Toshiba-HD-A30-1080p...8&s=electronics
g5sim
post Dec 17 2007, 11:49 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 17 2007, 06:03 PM)
My Harry Potter Boxset just arrived today rclxms.gif

Nothing fancy for the Borne Trilogy. Basically they just tape up the three movies together laugh.gif

Only two BOGO titles for me....

omg = how cool is the box !! shocking.gif
g5sim
post Dec 21 2007, 02:00 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 21 2007, 03:48 AM)
Just got these from J&R, sinfully cheap for a brand-name HiDef player:-

The Onkyo DV-HD805, which is , in a nutshell, a HD-XA2 tweaked to the max. Load time? 12 seconds. Picture Quality (PQ)? Silicon Optix Reon-VX. Audio Quality? Bitstream passage of DTS-HD Master Audio and Dolby True HD, decoded to PCM to your receiver. The guys at AVSForums are clamoring for this.

Specs:-

GENERAL
Product Type           
HD DVD player

Form Factor             
Tabletop              Width17.1 in       Depth13.6 in       Height2.9 in    Weight9.5 lbs

DVD Media Type       
CD, DVD, CD-R, CD-RW, DVD-R, DVD-RW, HD DVDMedia 

Format                     
NTSC Video
D/A Converter12bit / 297MHzAudio D/A Converter24bit / 192kHz

Built-in Audio Decoders
DTS decoder, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital, DTS-HD decoder, Dolby Digital Plus

Media Load Type
Tray

Upscaling
Yes

Output Resolution
720p, 1080i, 1080p

AUDIO SYSTEM
Digital Audio Format
DTS digital output, Dolby Digital output

Sound Output Mode
Stereo

Response Bandwidth
4 - 44000 Hz

DVD FEATURES
Additional Features
Upgradeable software, 3:2 pulldown compensation

REMOTE CONTROL

Type
Universal remote control

Technology
Infrared

Features
Multi-brand compatibility

CONNECTIONS
Connector Type1 x Composite video output ( RCA phono ) - Rear, 1 x S-Video output ( 4 pin mini-DIN ) - Rear, 1 x Component video output ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Rear, 1 x Audio line-out ( RCA phono x 2 ) - Rear, 1 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - Rear, 1 x 5.1 channel audio line-out ( RCA phono x 6 ) - Rear, 1 x Digital audio output (optical) ( TOS Link ) - Rear, 1 x Digital audio output (coaxial) ( RCA phono ) - Rear, 1 x Network ( RJ-45 ) - Rear, 1 x Serial ( 9 pin D-Sub ) - Rear

MISCELLANEOUS
Cables Included
A/V cable

POWER
Power Device
Power supply
Power Consumption
Operational
47 Watt

---------------------------------

Considered the 3rd Gen. HD-A35, but the SD upscaling quality of the ABT chip inside the A35 ,compared to the Silicon Optix Reon VX on the XA2 or this HD805, is generic.Scenes like in Star Wars Insurrection with the long pan and scan shot of the Enterprise, the shrinking plane on the horizon on The Incredibles, as well as the snow scene in Transformers DVD, are the defining test material to see if your player does deinterlacing properly, and according to the guys in the AVSForums, the A35 and its lower speced siblings, only does it average.Hell, there's a writeup on one of the thread explaining the merits and capabilities of the ABT chip compared to the Silicon Optix Reon VX chip, and the ABT chip lack proper deinterlacing for SD materials. HD-DVDs are virtually the same between these two chip solutions, but those who crave near-HD deliciousness of SD-upscaling, would look towards the XA2 or this. Those wanting Blu-ray solutions should go for the Panasonic 30K model instead.

A35 and its lower-speced siblings are good no doubt, but at USD150 extra top up to A35's price, this is a steal! USD650 , baby yeah!

Testing this unit on the crappy hotel's TV, cant wait to get back home!

Added on December 21, 2007, 3:53 amAnd oh, my HD-E1 HD-DVD player will be replaced by this unit, therefore going on sale. Cheap cheap!
holly molly

Added on December 21, 2007, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(arj @ Dec 19 2007, 10:16 PM)
Collected the HD-A30 at KLIA after work today. Shipping was very fast, arrived in the country 5 days after being shipped from the States even though normal shipping was used rclxms.gif

I asked the ebay seller to declare the player $100 but for some reason he declared it $149.99. Postage is $55. Kena tax RM60+ but after some sweet-talking manage to get it lowered to RM50. Probably could've BS'd my way out of the tax but nevermind la, contribute abit to the country's coffers tongue.gif

WTF !!! sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Dec 21 2007, 02:01 PM
g5sim
post Dec 22 2007, 03:41 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 21 2007, 09:05 PM)
You tell me how much. Im still in my Christmas mood.  tongue.gif
XA2 in LA, HD805 in KL. Perfect upscaling every single time. E1 for sale, and for you, my long time HD-DVD advocate, im giving you an opportunity to get this dirt cheap.
hahaha thankies .. but still need to get a TV for it biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif doh.gif

Added on December 22, 2007, 3:42 pm
QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 22 2007, 03:46 AM)
The blu-ray and hd-dvd debate is just like Aliens Vs Predator, whoever wins, we loose.  doh.gif

yupe - no more $99 players. no more BOGOs everywhere. No more 10 FREE Disks with purchase of every player biggrin.gif sweat.gif

Added on December 22, 2007, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Dec 22 2007, 11:30 AM)
Prices I got are from online stores ....

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/shop/12836/P...VD_Players.html

The A3 and A35 are selling at $250 and $350, while the HD805 is $799

Wow... the XA2 is more than the 3rd gens.
the XA2 is in a different league than the Gen3 players. I also noticed that bhPhotos has discontinued the XA2. Meaning if we do not see announcement on a XA2 3rd gen replacement model on January 6th, it will be confirmed that the Onkyo player will take over from the XA2 as HD DVD's highest end model. There are also predictions that Toshiba will also let the Venturer player (which is basically a rebadge of the A3) to become HD DVD entry level player. This leaves Toshiba meddling with only the the middle end models of A35 and A30. This will also allow other CEs to enter the HD DVD standalone player market.

This post has been edited by g5sim: Dec 22 2007, 03:47 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0445sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:59 PM