anyway, i'm sure it'll work out. all i care now is..to save up money..to get all the hd dvds i can get now...just in case.
Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...
Jan 13 2008, 02:37 PM
595 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Some lady's bush |
heh...well...what do u know...you wanted to drop HD DVD from your list...now you realized its BD-i is glitchy.
anyway, i'm sure it'll work out. all i care now is..to save up money..to get all the hd dvds i can get now...just in case. |
Jan 13 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(mazdagtr210 @ Jan 13 2008, 03:45 PM) go to blu-ray ... then sold ur hddvd drive to me.. anyone wanna sold their hd dvd drive can pm me. hehehe well..not NOW...but when the market value goes way high as this is considered a historical technology milestone..then i'll sell it. hahahaha |
Jan 31 2008, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(craven dusk @ Jan 31 2008, 12:38 AM) Dear friends of Low Yat, our money. our choice. thanks for the mighty advice anyway. will keep noted on that.If you think Blu-ray is not taking. Then please go ahead and plunge with HD-DVD purchase. Simple as that or stay on the fences. Easy choice. For me, I want to save money and not waste more zero return on investment. I had gone Blu-Ray. With the information we have now, please be rational. QUOTE(ferricide @ Jan 31 2008, 11:47 AM) oh that's what you call those people...spot on i guess. BTW, i was supposed to ask about a sound system. still hunting...and i bumped into last year's Pioneer HTS-GS1 system for the 360. It kinda retails under RM500 i guess..but any pointers on where i can find this here in M'sia? it kinda fits my requirements for size and budget. thanks broes! This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Jan 31 2008, 10:36 PM |
Feb 16 2008, 02:23 AM
well...this should be good news for those blu-rayers who want to put it in hd-dvd's faces:
QUOTE Ever since Blu-ray sent Warner Bros. a big fat check and convinced the studio to start sipping their Kool-Aid, the home entertainment looky lous have been clucking about how HD-DVD was done for. Well it looks like HD-DVD is done for. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Toshiba, the developer of HD-DVD, is expected to formally pull the plug on HD-DVD before the end of March. Toshiba would neither confirm nor deny the report but said they would "continue to study" the viability of HD-DVD. Data collected after the WB shift to Blu-ray says that HD-DVD has made up less than 10% of the hardware sales in the high-def DVD market (actual disc sales for early February are at about 80% Blu-ray). Toshiba was hoping that slashing prices on its players would still be able to entice consumers to opt with their format. But Netflix then dropped HD-DVD and Best Buy made the choice to recommend Blu-ray to all its shoppers. The low cost of players never caught on and Toshiba is losing money hand over fist on the players it drastically reduced. All this, of course, is good news for consumers who finally can dedicate themselves to one format instead of sitting back and waiting for a winner. Let's get this winner on-board and start moving on with our lives... Source: JoBlo.com, which in turn extracted from The Hollywood Reporter. So that's that guys. Since NetFlix and now Wal-Mart shifting exclusive to Blu-Ray, and Toshiba ending it all..looks like next thing on my list will be a bloody expensive PS3. Just to watch movies in High-Def. |
Feb 16 2008, 03:58 AM
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Feb 16 2008, 03:12 AM) how to put this in a friendly way...uhhh...to a person who doesn't have the adequate amount of money in the bank, even maggi is expensive woooo.. so whether the PS3 is bloody expensive or bloody cheap depends on the dough they have at the moment/all year. but to be fair bro...maybe NOW bloody expensive la. who knows, suddenly bank can allow me to say PS3 so blardi blardi cheap like buying ais kosong. whatev it is: x360 gaming first, then only think of ps3 as a movie center. the game playing ability is an additional thing to me. This post has been edited by Sd-RawK-Cab25: Feb 16 2008, 04:00 AM |
Feb 16 2008, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 16 2008, 08:09 PM) Well, you don't really need to buy a PS3 to watch high def, standard dvds are good enough unless you have all the equipment to enjoy the high def experience. I've seen people buying a PS3 and watch blu-rays on a standard definition CRT tv. That's pure waste of money. well in my case, i will need to get a high def player for blu-ray (if hd-dvd is totally gone for good), as i'm a movie lover on a budget. the display is there, all HD'd up with a living room home theater up as well. only awaiting for a "mini-setup" for my room.HD-DVD might be on life support but it's just rumours, it might not be true that Toshiba is giving up for good. so like i said, just need to wait for the right time and right amount of ka-ching for me to carry on to the blu-path. QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 16 2008, 10:16 PM) i'm just using the 360 add-on, which clearly explains that "movie lover on a budget" thingy. which is why i think that currently, given the current monetary status of mine, the ps3 is bloody expensive; what with the lineup of 360 games i'm saving on.then again, this is me and my situation. t'was just a statement. |
Feb 17 2008, 02:04 AM
QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 17 2008, 12:08 AM) Mr. Rawk, it is expensive for many people, not just you. yes i know that. hence it's a statement.I'm just curious how much you bought your Xobx360 and HD DVD add on? price? if u were to buy it from GH, it's about the same price then. sorry if i am jumping to conclusions or a bit harsh here, but i've been noticing your posts and 'discussions' here in this thread as well as a few sms'es i've received from you for sales. somehow i just know where your seemingly friendly questions may lead to; sarcasm and wise-arsery (if that's even a word). my friendly advice?: before u start, i advice you to just drop it. it's not cute, it's annoying. let's just keep it as it is, i think the PS3 is expensive because i think so. i don't need a financial consultant to keep a check and balance of previous purchases, i know where i am financially, thank you very much. sorry for the 'PMS' moment and if i truly was jumping the guns, then i apologize. back to the heat of the 'discussion' and what this thread originally was for: to answer Commando's previous question: slim chance of HD-DVD staying alive, my personal opinion. Since the big movie distributors (NetFlix, Wal-Mart) followed WB's move to be Blu-blooded, it's hard to get a solid foundation in the US. The only major bummer though: The Dark Knight. Any news on releases for Rambo, Cloverfield? |
Feb 17 2008, 04:08 AM
QUOTE(craven dusk @ Feb 17 2008, 03:46 AM) So how much you bought it for? with that mr. craven, i apologize for the hostility. you have witnessed the horn effect at work.Erm.. I don't know why you became defensive suddenly. Not even suggesting anythin on looking for a financial consultant. Anyway, what sms-es have I sent you about HD DVD? I don't remember SMS anyone to buy HD DVD There were not any heat coming per say. I was wondering how were train of thoughts and perspective when you uttered PS3 is so bloody expensive. If you want to a Ferrari, we gotta pay for it. That's pretty much a given. If we want to be in it, that is to be expected. p.s: just to keep it straight, i didn't specifically say it was hd-dvd sales. so to be specific, it was for pasar malam thread sales, BUT let's just keep it at that. QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 17 2008, 03:51 AM) Guys, please don't go sorry for going off topic. needed to blurt out some toxic nonsense from the noggin.anyway, just to break it down: what niche does HD DVD have to be able to sustain its existence in hi-def markets? storage obviously goes to blu-ray (which theoretically means higher data in video transfers -> kick ass visuals), and adaptability now sides on blu-ray (if we're looking at game consoles being players). take out support from main movie distributors, there won't be reasons for movie studios to actually side HD DVD cos..who else is gonna distribute it. sure, we still have amazon, and some other retailers, but will that be enough? so again, what do you seriously think that HD-DVD has advantage of now? |
Feb 18 2008, 11:06 PM
Guys:
QUOTE With HD-DVD officially dead in the water, rumors have started circulating that Microsoft is about to dump the format too, and bring out a Blu Ray enabled Xbox 360 as earlier as May 2008! Smart House apparently has the inside word and it would seem that internal testing has been underway for quite some time! Insiders at Microsoft in the USA have told SmartHouse that Microsoft has already configured a standalone Blu-ray player that can be connected into an Xbox 360 and that subject to internal marketing and sales approvals the model could be on sale within 3 months. The Company has also been working on a built in Blu-ray player however insiders are claiming that Microsoft see the HD format battle moving online with consumers offered 1080p movie and content files as a download as opposed to having to buy a HD DVD or Blu-ray disc. Both Intel and Microsoft have been supporters of the HD DVD format that is set to be killed off this week. Furthermore, Smart House report that Sony has already commented on Microsoft coming out with such a Xbox 360, saying, "We would welcome Microsoft to the Blu-ray stable. In fact it is quite logical for them as the PS3 has been very succesful in driving consumers to Blu-ray. In fact we believe that it has done more to win the format war than traditional Blu-ray player". Okay, so to those who already have the 360 add-on: would you splurge out your money again for a 360 Blu-Ray addon? Personally, if it costs about the same (which I slightly doubt) as the HD-DVD addon, I'd go for it. However, I'd want to read reviews on it as compared to PS3 being a blu-ray player before making a choice. meh, since the war is already over, i'd rather just wait and choose carefully for a blu-ray player. Indeed, HD-DVD has now become the LD of video entertainment. Not gonna sell my add-on though..it's got sentimental values... |
Feb 19 2008, 07:40 PM
this year has been quite a blow for us 360ians...asian community couldn't get rock band....now hd-dvd lingkup.
nvm..i'll build a glass case to showcase this historical item 20 years to come..in one section of my home theater room.. |
Feb 19 2008, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Feb 19 2008, 07:48 PM) sd-rawk.. yea...maybe.There's a Rock Bad European release coming remember?? Maybe its region free as for HD-DVD... i just hope whatever went HD-DVD exclusive can be transitioned into Blu-Ray.. until we get a confirmation its region free...i will be disappointed. |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:58 AM |