haya
post Mar 21 2008, 02:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 21 2008, 02:02 PM)
how hot it is?
long sleeve make you more hot..
I hardly wore short sleeves in NZ. Always hot sleeves. In summer also.

Added on March 21, 2008, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 21 2008, 01:38 PM)
ohh yah..i forgot..
i heard from Selset that today is Easter Day..
yes yes!

maybe just bring my own moisturizer..
if it's nnot suitable there,i just buy another one..

Added on March 21, 2008, 1:45 pm
sure i will..wherever it is..must be around our msian ppl..
that we can really trust and rely on...
so it will be easy when it comes HARI RAYA DAY...waaaaa!! without my family..
my first raya being alone..    cry.gif

hey, i just get back from shopping my things..
and also bought some rempah and kari..  smile.gif
nice one!

hey, how hot is it in NZ?
is it dry hot? or is it hot than msia?  (???)
is it summer time?
QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 21 2008, 01:52 PM)
hmmm? what's the difference between GOOD & EASTER?
i heard she said EASTER DAY... (whatever..)
ok,what is that actually?
every friday and sunday are holiday?
or just today?

Added on March 21, 2008, 1:53 pmwhat is ph?
/me cries at the stupidity of Malaysians here.

Today is Good Friday. Monday will be Easter. Without going too much into religon, Good Friday was the day Jesus was crucified, and he rose on Easter. Hence the holidays here.

Limeuu is right; you "westerners" should come to Sabah and Sarawak more often.

For the record <EdLiNa>, the ph limeuu was refering to means public holiday.

Yes, it is (the end of) summer now in NZ, and no, it never gets as hot as Malaysia. Maybe you'll get a few warm days one or two days a year, but that's pretty much it.

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 01:43 AM)
oh my gosh..
this is really unbelievable..i just found out this forum and i've read through every pages and you guys gave lots of information about NZ..  rclxms.gif
So much for allegedly reading this whole thread.

This post has been edited by haya: Mar 21 2008, 02:37 PM
haya
post Mar 21 2008, 03:46 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 21 2008, 03:39 PM)
duh~~ i know la today is good friday.. but easter sounds more geng.. haiya. no need to say like that...
bcoz same goes like local here.. some of em dont know bout islam too.. so u r saying every local education is a utter failure as they dont teach other religion too..
i dont thing school in nz teach other religon.. so far that i know..
and from my experience, malaysia doesnt exist for them... they never heard about malaysia..

that's why we go study outside the country.. we learn...
just bcoz "dont know" doesnt mean it is a failure..
even the local here dont know what is hijab sometime.. but advantage for local that got uni here. like christchurch.. they got many students coming from outside...

Added on March 21, 2008, 3:41 pm

sorry that i'm very stupid...  notworthy.gif
Okay, yesterday was the Prophet Muhammad's birthday, But I'd say it was Hari Raya yesterday, just because it sounds more "geng" and fun and sounds like more food to eat.

Believe me, some kiwi's know more about M'sia than you think. You can complain that the 'locals" may not understand Islam, but have you, as a Muslim, ever considered to understand other religons?

Since Malaysia is supposedly a "multicultural" place, where supposedly all religons co-exist side by side, why do we still have people showing their ignorance then? And I'm not just talking about you fantagero.
haya
post Mar 22 2008, 07:06 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 21 2008, 05:01 PM)
Easter is on Sunday, Haya. I sincerely hope that was a blooper otherwise...

And no, some people don't need to go to East Malaysia to know what Easter is. We Westies aren't all that dumb!
Sorry. It was a blooper on my part. Calendar got me all mixed up with the actual day and holiday. My bad.

Okay, I'll let the matter rest this time, but I'll just say this: open discussion is all about what this forum (and the internet) is about.
haya
post Mar 23 2008, 12:22 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 23 2008, 10:41 AM)
We have created a generation of students who know nothing beyond their textbooks, tuition, exam techniques and whatever movies/pop stars that happen to interest them. In short, we created a shallow generation.
If one had to sum up Malaysian students on one paragraph, this would be it.

Not to mention being seperated by language; imcompetent in English, racist in Malay and narowminded in mandarin.

Some of my Malaysian friends call me wikipedia simply because I know what the capital of Kyrgyzstan is. They don't know who Lim Guan Eng is. Never heard of Lingam. Only Dayak's live in Sarawak, and because they're "bumiputera's" they're all Muslim. The "prime minister" of Sarawak is a Malay. But hell, ask them to write an essay on the Privy council, up comes wikipedia, textbooks and recommended reading, and they get a 5 for it.

I'm seriously not making any of these up. This is my real life.
haya
post Mar 24 2008, 08:29 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 23 2008, 06:18 PM)
i heard, if mas, must transit at auckland.. leceh a bit.. must check in twice

many of my senior prefer spore airline to christchurch. dunno if massey..

better avoid transit..
ehmm missing orientation is the bad thing for me.. cry.gif
i missed twice orientation.. once, during my preparation..
2nd.. here in canter.. bcoz of flight sweat.gif
QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 23 2008, 06:29 PM)
There is no direct flight to Palmerston North. Coming from Malaysia, EdLiNa will have to transit in either Auckland or Christchurch (plus Singapore). It makes more sense to fly direct from KL to Auckland, and then transit to Palmy. Instead of going KL-S'pore-Christchurch-Palmy, especially since Palmy is in the North Island and Chch is in the South.

But of course, a lot depends on ticket/airline prices.
While both options are okay, I suggest that you seriously considering going through Christchurch(CHC). One of the problems with Auckland is that the domestic and international terminals are seperate, so getting from one to the other will be a problem, as AFAIK they can't check through your luggage for you all the way to Palmy. I suppose people flying AK will be used to it...................

In CHC everything is contained in one nice building.

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Mar 23 2008, 06:28 PM)
time changed.
least we know our local scenario.
teenagers are wearing lingam's trademark "correct Correct Correct" T-shirts.
the internet has broaden our minds.
our current gov dont send u overseas so that you come back and stop them corrupting doh.gif
I only wish the internet could broaden their minds. More often than not however, they simply use the internet to live in their own bubble world, pimping out their friendster profile, poking everyone on Facebook, goth'ing their MySpace, talking about porn, they know all the soccer forums, but don't know who Jeff Ooi is, and closer to home, have you seen the number of threads from post-STPM and Diploma holders from TARC who are pleading for help here?

Oh, and while the government does send out people to "broaden their mind", I want those MARA scholars, after their minds are open, to come back and do what I paid them to do!

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 23 2008, 07:17 PM)
2) I'm not saying ALL Kiwis are creative and can think critically or that they're all superior to Malaysian students. One of my main gripes with the NZ system is how easy it is to enter university... don't even get me started on NCEA. What I'm saying is that they're far more likely to express their opinions. We Malaysians sit meekly in class and let people tell us the 'right' answer. That's cos if we were inclined to strike out independently, it was struck down at an early age. If we were not so inclined, no training or encouragement was ever provided. The fact is that our school system produces robots - excellent at memorising and regurgitating 'correct' answers. Ask some student why certain nilai moral can be extracted from an SPM BM novel and they'll probably tell you "Cos the reference book says so".

The Kiwis are also more aware of current affairs and the world around them. Maybe not what is occurring in small countries like Malaysia, but at least the major global issues - eg the US Presidential Elections, the possible coming economic crisis, the Tibet/China matter. They may not know the details but at least they have an idea of what's going on. Though I'll readily admit that they have quite a large blindspot when it comes to non-Western matters in general. At least they generally all know what's going on in their own country. I have Malaysian friends who ask me "Who's Khairy?"
1) I'm a product of NCEA (don't ask), and personally the whole debate between NCEA and A levels is simply moot. I've never seen Bursary, so I can't say on this matter, but for all the flaws of NCEA, I'd say it is better in preparing people for the real world and university at the same time.

2)Getting into NZ uni's may be easy, but staying in there is another thing. Undergrads for law, while everyone is accepted in at 1st year, they trim you down by second year. For some numbers, Auckland U takes in close to 1000 students for Law every year, but about only 300-400 will only progress to second year. And this is a trend repeated over all NZ uni's. I admit, this is partially in responce to the weaknesses of NCEA however.

And even in "we don't filter you after 1st year" Computer Science, people are dropping like flies. In Canterbury University, about 500 CS students were admitted in 2006. Here in 2008, only 110 brave souls survive from that cohort.

Easy to get in, hard to stay put. The merits and disadvantages are another topic for another day.

3)I've noticed that newspaper penetration is very high in both Australia and NZ, compared to M'sia. Yes, there is a serious blind spot on non-western matters (or matters which the west has to meddle in), but most people are well informed on generally that is happening in NZ, which is crucial in a Responsible Government system. I suppose that is also one of the strengths of a mono-lingual society.

Btw Emperor Meng, if you and your friends get good results and enjoy other broad-ranging activities, good on you. For me, I just find it disappointing when my straight A friends (who no doubt have their own interests eg anime, sports, computer games) look at me blankly when I mention the Berlin Wall. And then proceed to say I store up lots of "useless knowledge".

Sorry for the lengthy post. Guess I got a bit carried away.
Welcome to the gang. They all look at me like I'm from Mars (and sometimes I'm convinced I am) when I bang on about the M'sian education system vs the Singaporean education system.

Sadly, in M'sia, anything outside academic use and soccer, is useless knowledge.
haya
post Mar 25 2008, 09:35 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Mar 24 2008, 08:46 PM)
and btw, i heard for law, there is no more reducing in student for following year 2. starting this yr  if im not mistaken.
Unfortunately EmperorMeng, it doesn't seem so, or else I would go back there in a heartbeat (subject to terms and conditions through).

References:
http://www.law.auckland.ac.nz/uoa/law/for/...s/selection.cfm
http://www.canterbury.ac.nz/courses/undergrad/llb.shtml
http://www.otago.ac.nz/courses/qualifications/llb.html

QUOTE(fantagero @ Mar 25 2008, 05:34 AM)
ehm.. i wonder, why some students always isolate themselves with another malaysian.. i mean.. it's good to make new friend other than our own Malaysian, it's good to mingle around.. but some of em up to the extend, they act not like malaysian anymore.. sweat.gif
I don't see what's the problem. Some people will want to settle down in nz on a long term basis. The sooner they adapt to the system and environment, the better.

Not everyone's future in M'sia is as bright as yours y'know.
haya
post Mar 25 2008, 01:51 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 25 2008, 10:39 AM)
I guess it depends. It's good to adapt and assimilate to a certain extent. But I draw a line at those who become white-washed and look down on their fellow Malaysians/Asians. You do not need to become pseudo white to settle down and become a successful and contributing member of the community.

Chinese have been in NZ for more than a century. Most maintain culture and their Chinese identity. That doesn't make them any less Kiwi (though I suppose to certain sections of society, anybody not Maori and Pakeha should "go home").

It's funny how those whose families have been here for generations, those born here or those who came here very young (pre-school) are the most comfortable with who they are and their Asian roots. It's the later and older migrants who seem to feel they have to behave 'white' to fit in and look cool. Of course, this doesn't not include the ones who stick to their own communities and refuse to learn more than a few words of English.
Did you watch "Here to Stay" (http://tvnz.co.nz/view/page/536641/1160701)on TV2 last year? Specifically the Chinese bit. I found it interesting.

You're right on your observation through. I suppose its the fact that when one is cut off from their original culture, and to compensate for it they try to fit in to 'white' culture, simply because its a white nation here.

Mahathir documented this very well in this book "The Malay Dilema", when once immigrants are assimilated into the nation (he used the US of A as his example), it is the (former) immigrants who become more zealous than the locals in protecting their new national identity, even "look down on their fellow Malaysians/Asians". At the end of the day, we have to move on from the face/country card. One may have originated from M'sia, but when one is as good as a kiwi in speech, thought and outlook, the ties of the "nation" no longer bind.
haya
post Mar 28 2008, 03:32 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Mar 28 2008, 01:32 PM)
yup, buy clothing in malaysia, better, cheaper...
I wouldn't go to the extent of saying "better", but things have changed in M'sia, with the advent of company's such as Universal Traveler. Still, buy one or 2, and as the seasons/times change, buy some here.
haya
post Mar 31 2008, 01:37 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Nz's the best place if you do somehow decide to study law. You want those long and cold nights when you're reading up on all those cases.

On a more random note, how was Earth Hour in CHC?
haya
post Apr 2 2008, 09:36 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 1 2008, 11:31 AM)
bring 2 telekung and sejadah..
buy at least 2 converter (ok?)
Quran of course..
and what more heh...
how bout Milo? haha. but can get hot choc there, right?
You can get Milo in NZ. Some say it does not taste the same as the M'sian one, but personally i cant tell.

Don't forget, a lot of Hindu's are also vegetarian. Try organising a meeting of doctors in M'sia. biggrin.gif

Personally, I have no problem with you not being able to eat certain foods. For some, its not that they want to be healthy; its due to health reasons. For others, its allergies. I can't go for most buffets. Can't eat sea food.

The thing is, I just don't understand why Muslims and Vegetarians in general are so radical in their eating habits. Not to generalize, but when I go out, I ask if there is any seafood in some food, and if there is I just have to avoid it. Sure, everyone says I'm missing out on the prawns, mussels, oysters etc, but I don't have a choice, and I don't complain. If there is meat, then don't eat it. Bring your own organic vegetables if you want, if the vegatbles we serve are tainted and/or not as nice. No one put a gun to your head and ask you to come.

Same for Muslims/Hindus/Buddhists. When I'm with some of my Buddhists friends we try to go to a place where they can at least get vegetables. We're sorry if the food is not halal, but it your choice of life. Sorry that steak is usually beef, but you'll just have to make do. We try to accommodate to your religious belief's, but no one ever considers accommodating my health issues! I don't say a thing, but while you guys moan its all about your religion, for me, the issue is more down to earth. I could end up in hospital.

owh.. so, by serving beef.. mean we not respecting the sacred animal?? ehmm
later just serve chicken anywhere.. play safe

There's bird flu to consider........
haya
post Apr 5 2008, 07:59 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Have fun, and Kia Ora to New Zealand!
haya
post Apr 6 2008, 08:41 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 6 2008, 05:57 AM)
not into torrent much.. but i tried bitcomet to download stuff lately... it worked..
i'm using snap via ilam village connection..

i dont mind the download limit, as long as i got the max speed...

here is my speed test.. how bout urs?

How much is your limit?

Residential colleges usually have very generous connections. A friend of mine in Palmy gets 10GB/month for $40. And it wasn't that long ago that Otago gave its students unlimited use of their network.

[rant]
i curse the day the internet escaped from the labs to the masses. We were quite happy in our labs, with unlimited 5Mbit connections. Now we are reduced to a 750MB rolling quota, but they still tease us with 5Mbits of speed.

Its all those people on Myspace/Facebook/Youtube I tell you. People who think they are 1337 just because they can move some widgets around, but know nuts about PERL.
[/rant]

fantagero, how much are you paying for your place at Ilam Village per week? It seems like its the same company setting up the student accommodation here in QUT, Brisbane. (http://www.clv-kelvingrove.com.au)

And yes, once you've tried real fresh milk, it is hard to go back to powdered milk.
haya
post Apr 11 2008, 05:14 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 10 2008, 10:05 PM)
doin bachelor of commerce...isnt that exchange students, not transfer students?
well the reason is coz parents have recently gotten invitation to apply for new zealand pr, so high chance im goin there coz fees way cheaper if ur a pr...

so is spm gce acceptable?
Assuming you get into Auckland U as an International student, and while studying you (NOT your parents) end up with a NZ PR, you will booted out of your course, and will have to reapply as a domestic student. While there is a high chance you will get it, you might like to keep this fact in mind.

As for transfering to UoA, it is done by a case by case basis by the university.

[offtopic]
http://www.intimal.edu.my is enough to make a ASP programmer worth his salt scream
[/offtopic]

haya
post Apr 12 2008, 03:21 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM)
thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...
i just feel that takin ielts isnt neccesary and the only reason thery're asking us to it is coz :
a) the ielts ppl wanna make lots of money
b) saves the uni considerable amounts of admin work

no one thinks bout the students and the costs...ishhh
Well, how else do you expect universities to standardise the compentency of English of its students?

There are many pre-U qualifications. Off the top of my head I can name 5, that can be taken in Malaysia and generally accepted by UoA, alone. How is anyone to figure the standard of English based on such a diverse range of qualifications?

I'm not defending IELTS, it has it flaws, but until someone comes with a better solution, there is no other way in determining one's standard of English without an international benchmark.
haya
post Apr 18 2008, 10:29 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 17 2008, 07:08 PM)
ermm...not really..i think australia is more famous for that(although nz's accounting is on par).
NZ famous for medic, science stuf...although they're pretty good in business n law as well...
overall, NZ is a quality place for education. so dont hav to worry whether 'famous' or not.

Added on April 17, 2008, 7:21 pmhey guys, is there any real difference in quality n prestige between these top 4 NZ Unis:

Auckland
Otago
Canterbury
Victoria

ie, will a degree from one of these unis(lets say auckland), be significantly better than the other 4?
And, are these generally considered to be the best unis in nz internationally? thx...
QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 17 2008, 11:07 PM)
hey guys, which is THE best uni to study economics and/or politics in NZ? izzit auckland uni, or otago, or some other uni?
The great thing about New Zealand is that their upper 4 uni's are all competent. In NZ, it does not matter where you graduated from. There is no such thing as "prestige" in NZ. It is a very egalitarian country, through some might say they do bring it too far with things like NCEA.

Some uni's have their strengths. In particular Canterbury is well regared in Science/Engineering, and Otago's accounting/commerce courses are highly thought of. However, this is not to mean an Engineering graduate of Otago is inferior to one from Canterbury, nor is a accounting student from Canterbury any less employable. At the end of the day, your qualification only gets you to the interview room. If you've a useless employee, you get the sack, regardless of which uni you gradauted from.

This is a concept that is very alien to many Malaysians.

aaron4d, if I were you, I'd make my decision on where to go on other factors, such a cost of living, air connectivity, social connections etc, rather than the perceived "prestige" of a university.
haya
post Apr 19 2008, 04:35 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 18 2008, 01:29 PM)

Agreed. Btw Otago doesn't do engineering, mate.
Whoops. My bad.

Don't forget the things people do at Baldwin St. biggrin.gif
haya
post Apr 19 2008, 08:27 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 19 2008, 05:11 PM)
Like the jaffa race? Whoever came up with that must have been drunk.

Some aren't funny/fun though - the wheelie bin incident comes to mind.
Lest we forget.

haya
post Apr 21 2008, 06:22 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(aaron4d @ Apr 21 2008, 04:10 PM)
Just curious, wornbook. Based on previous posts, i gather that u did a double degree in law and economics. I plan to undertake a double degree as well. BCom/BA in Economics and Poltical Studies, either in otago or auckland. Are there good job opportunities for this particular combination? im pursuing this course based mainly on interests, as im passionate about both subs. wil that be a problem wen im looking for a job in nz or elsewhere?

Can I complete the doub. deg. plus honours in less than 5 years? (factoring in summer school, cross-crediting and credit overloading)

anotha factor, im transferring into 2nd year straight.(im doin 1st year here in msia) so am i still eligible to complete the double degree in otago/auckland? coz i rememba readin somwhere that u can start workin on ur 2nd degree credits in ur 2nd year(in this case the BA), coz im currently completing only the BCom requirements rite now for 1st year.
btw im in INTI nilai enrolled in the adelaide uni BCom twinning programme. But switching to NZ for 2nd year coz received ITA for PR. most prob gettin it by this december.
I strongly recommend against that. Yes, theoritically you can squeeze it in 5 years if you overload every semester and do all summers, but it will be very tight, hard work, and you'd be so busy, you'd end up in your room to yourself. You wouldn't have the time to do the crazy things.

4 subjects is hard as it is. 5 subjects is murder in one semester, let alone for the next 4 years. Think carefully.

That said, I'm in the more technical field of Computer Science. I've noticed that Econs students tend to be less busy, and I know one Econs (Accounting) friend of mine who did 5 subjects because he "was bored". shocking.gif
haya
post Apr 24 2008, 08:39 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 23 2008, 09:28 PM)
its conjoint at auckland
http://www.business.auckland.ac.nz/comwebC...=13677&pD=13653
http://www.business.auckland.ac.nz/comwebC...13677&ppd=13653

gennerally conjoint students grad 1 yr later.
eg. normal bcom = 3yrs
so ur bcom+BA = 4 yrs

law = 4yr
law+bcom = 5yr

eng = 4yr
eng+bcom = 5yr
However, Law is still limited entry, and UoA is notorious for filtering out law students after your first year. The good thing is that if you don't make the cut for the Law component, you'd still get credit for the electives in your BCom degree. I strongly do not recommend studying law in NZ in general if you are a international student.

And in Auckland, try not to end up with a Chinese landlord. I'm not saying all pakeha landlords are good (I had my share of issues with one), but generally as I see it, Chinese landlords will squeeze 10 people into one house, and it can be a dump of a place.
haya
post May 11 2008, 02:06 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ May 9 2008, 12:22 PM)
rough figure of minimum wage NZD10 per hour after tax.
Don't forget your IRD number too. I've seen quite a few students being taxed at the maximum (close to 40%).

And I'll never understand why Malaysians will wake up at 2am to watch a few men in long stockings kick a ball, why Kiwi's will wake up at 6am when its 2C outside to row a boat on a river/bay.

Its amazing really how some of my friends know(knew?) all about Beckingham palace but don't know about where the Queen lives.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:47 PM