7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

haya
post Dec 27 2008, 07:50 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Dec 26 2008, 10:33 PM)
The fact that we international students are not being sponsored by the government is the main reason why we have to pay more, I envy the Germans as well, those  German international who are doing post grad studies are sponsored by the New Zealand Government, an arrangement between the countries, I think the French has this kind of priority as well
You have to ask yourself, why after a (working) lifetime of paying taxes, your own government denies you the priviledge to public higher education. Me and my family have paid taxes like any other Malaysian, and yet I will not be given a place I want in Malaysian public universities, simply for my genetic makup.

State sponsored education is a rarity in this day and age. What you described about Germany and Frnace is what Australia and New Zealand was in the 60's and 70's. Free university education to international students (read: people who don't pay taxes), and thus one only had to cough up living costs.

Of course, standards were much much higher in those days. Even today, JPA scholars studying in France need crazy scores for their IB. In New Zealand, they do lower the score to a reasonable cut-off to maintain standards, but you pay the true cost of education.

Many people don't realise this, but it is very expensive to run tertiary education.
haya
post Jan 14 2009, 08:01 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

There is discrimination between Malaysians themselves when studying in institutions of higher learning in and outside Malaysia. What's the difference?
haya
post Jan 19 2009, 01:35 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 19 2009, 11:51 AM)
the ncea is the epitome of 'egalitarianess'.......you either 'achieve' or did 'not achieve'.......and if you achieve, you can get into uni.......

that poses a problem for unis, selecting students into demanding courses......many 'achievers' will NOT cope with courses like medicine, laws........and how on earth are they going to select? (the 3 step grading on 'achieve' in ncea helps a bit, but not adequate in stratifying students.......)

so everybody who achieved and applied, will get accepted.......into a generic 1st year.......then the suitable students are selected to continue into the 2nd years of these courses......the rest will be offered other related courses.......

so you can have 1000 aspiring medical students in 1st year health science.....but only 200 or so will continue into 2nd year medicine.......the others go into allied health fields like pharmacy, physiotherapy, optometry, nursing etc........
I would think it is probably the same across most courses. In 2006, about 300+ student's went into Canterbury's Computer Science program. Barely 100 made it to the graduation ceremony.

As I said, easy to get in, easy to drop out. It is a contrast to the Asian system.

QUOTE(jialat @ Jan 19 2009, 01:03 PM)
i stayed in grafton for 1 yr then moved to parnell after that. much cheaper in grafton hall but make sure ur partners dont moan loud as the wall there thin like tissue. tongue.gif
Been there, but I wouldn't say "done that". smile.gif I have heard many stories.
haya
post Feb 5 2009, 08:12 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 5 2009, 02:30 AM)
nothin is impossible

I didn't do A-levels also I finish my Bcom within 3 years  rclxm9.gif
Just out of curiosity, what did you do for university entry?
haya
post Feb 6 2009, 08:28 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Feb 5 2009, 10:54 PM)
ya just search the web la emigrating to nz
I would think the first thing is to find out what qualifications you have, find a course that you want, then look at universities, NOT migration!

Don't run before you can crawl. Last time I checked it was the Studying in New Zealand thread, not the Migrating to New Zealand thread.
haya
post Feb 8 2009, 04:36 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fender @ Feb 8 2009, 02:56 PM)
thanx guys!
is there any where i can find the ranking of NZ's unis?
I don't believe in rankings, as they are irrelevant in the context of undergraduates. But a simple search would reveal a discussion in this thread.

My advice: go to any NZ university that accepts you. Other factors such as cost of living, cost of fees, accessibility etc are more important than perceived standing.

This post has been edited by haya: Feb 8 2009, 04:40 PM
haya
post Feb 18 2009, 02:27 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Feb 17 2009, 11:58 PM)
maybe more like sagregation
Yes, but the segregation is partially due to discriminatory policies. When you have a group of people who literary don't speak each others language, how do you expect them to communicate? When they have different outlooks, it is hard to find common ground of understanding.

So why don't they speak each others language? Because each segment thinks its language is the best, and only that language should be used, with no regard for the changing reality of the globalised age. Why do they have different outlook's? Because there is a segment of society with their shrill cries of "Its our culture!" everytime a change for the better is initiated.
haya
post Mar 19 2009, 08:01 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Mar 18 2009, 10:42 PM)
wasnt joking bro. laugh.gif
failing to find a reason to settle here sums up as a good reason enough for me.
Well, at the very least come back to Malaysia and contribute. Not everyone who goes overseas to study leaves with the intent to permanently settle down there, through that is becoming the norm.
haya
post Mar 22 2009, 12:50 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Mar 22 2009, 12:29 PM)
EMeng u are a international student?
He's got a NZ PR. Hence domestic fees, cheap education, and a laissez-faire attitude.

This post has been edited by haya: Mar 22 2009, 12:56 PM
haya
post Apr 17 2009, 08:18 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

The difference between the Aus/NZ system and UK (which Malaysia uses) of Honors degree's is well explained in the front page stickie: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18375062

I'm not sure if a Honors is really needed to do a masters in NZ through. What field do you want to do your Masters in?
haya
post Apr 18 2009, 10:51 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Generally, if you have a Honors you can go straight into a Masters by research program. People without a Honors in their Bachelor degree will go into Masters by coursework.

Then again, it all depends on the field of study you are in. Which leads me back to my original question: Massa, what field are you in, and where are you currently studying?
haya
post Jun 20 2009, 10:03 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(king-elessar @ Jun 18 2009, 02:53 AM)
Hello all
hav been reading this forum for a while
well ive receive an offer to study Bsc in Biomed at UQ and B in Biomed in VUWelligton.
Can u guys gve any ideas which is best?
In terms of good education,lecturers,city,malaysians there,locals there,muslims etc..
Is it true that education there are more laidback than in Msia atleast?
Any VUW students here who can share their exp studying there??
I can't say too much about Biomed, but I can say a few things about UQ.

Cost of living wise, UQ(Brisbane) will be a bit more expensive than VUW(Wellington). Wellington is also VERY windy, while summers in Brisbane will be as hot as Malaysia.

I personally would say you'd get a reasonable education both in UQ and VUW, so personally I would base on where I would go on other factors. There are direct flights from M'sia to Brisbane, but going to Wellington will involve a transit somewhere, either Auckland, Melbourne, Sydney or rarely, Christchurch.
haya
post Jul 31 2009, 09:06 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ Jul 31 2009, 05:00 PM)
fees are almost same but currency is the problem.
if i study in adelaide law school it may cost around 320-380k while otago
law school will cost 260-290k for 4 years.
I know that study law in nz is risky but keep in mind that they take in every single student include science stream student and quite a handful of them take law for fun.Hence,it is easy to enter year 2 as long as you study hard and have the passion.
How did you come out with "320-380k" for U Adelaide's Law program? Even in RM Adelaide's law program is about A$24,000/year, over 4 years that's A$96,000, using a very conservative exchange rate of A$1 = RM3, that's only RM288,000.

And if you think you're going to survive with A$7,700/year (RM380,000 - RM 288,000 = RM92,000. Averaged over 4 years is RM23,000/year), I can tell you it is impossible.

Some numbers from University of Auckland:

1300 students entered the LLB program in 2008.

Come semester 2 2009, only around 390 are left.

The problem is that is you are in that 910, what are you going to do? You've sunk in about NZ$22,000 for the first year, and you can't continue into 2nd year law. What next?

Its not too bad for domestic students, but I do not think many parents in Malaysia will be too happy with their son/daughter leaving to read law and ending up as (say) an Accountant. If you wanted to be an accountant why not do so to start off with.

Granted, there is the other option of starting off with a double degree, and if things do not go according to plan, there is (depending on what the other half is) still another option. However, a double degree is VERY difficult. Law as a single discipline is hard enough.

"it is easy to enter year 2 as long as you study hard and have the passion"? Yes and no. The question is, are you willing to take the risk, with the odds not in your favor?
haya
post Aug 23 2009, 07:57 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Aug 21 2009, 12:53 PM)
Most of the time it'll be fine, but it's strictly a "use at your own risk" thing.

That's a Fire Department warning btw.
I mostly agree. Just 2 things:

1) I've been given the impression lately that it is easier for international students to get into 2nd year. I guess it makes sense, cos it's also easier for them to get into dentistry and medicine. After all, they're bringing in money right?

Don't quote me on that though. I recommend checking with the unis and asking about international student entry.

I wouldn't be surprised to be honest, through I don't have the numbers to back them up. My stand is still the same through: it is too much risk, as an international student, paying so much for something that has no guarantee. Most other courses guarantee continued enrollment as long as you pass. Not so for NZ LLB.

QUOTE(wornbook @ Aug 21 2009, 12:53 PM)
2) I won't call a double degree "VERY difficult". Most students who make it to 2nd year law are of a certain calibre. At a risk of appearing arrogant, we generally find the 2nd degree pretty easy by comparison (unless it's a pure science or engineering, which is rare). It's really a case of work hard for law, cruise with good (or much better) grades for Arts/Commerce.
I suppose it depends on what the "other" degree is. Most Law double degree students I meet are doing law because it's "a side extra". Their main focus is the other degree (Business, Economics, Accounting, IT etc), and thus law is just a side thing.

That said, I do have to agree with the bit where working hard for law, while the other degree is "easier", so to speak. However, in the context of member edennature's question, I felt that LLB was his main objective. Doing a double degree LLB and not being able to go on to 2nd year seems a bit foolhardy IMO, especially when looking at the alternatives available.

Finally, there are perils of doing a double degree that a single degree student will never face. For starters, most people moan how hard it is with one degree, never mind 2 disciplines. Secondly, unless you happen to have a group of people doing the same double degree, multiple personalities is a side effect. The friends you make in one discipline do not intersect with the "other side".

Depending on your course structure, it will be a bit awkward, when the rest of your single degree friends are doing subjects while you're not supposed to do for another year.

Finally, most people who start a double degree will drop like flies after the first sem/year. I've never met the people in the same double degree orientation group as me when I first started save for one, and she dropped out of the double degree to a single degree. Personally, I feel like I'm dropping too.

haya
post Nov 14 2009, 10:54 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Nov 12 2009, 08:40 PM)
oh good where do people usually stop by?
melbourne sydney brisbane?
Mots transits go through Melbourne if you're going to Wellington/CHC.

Another alternative is to go through Singapore. Emirates can offer some good deals at times if you're lucky.

And what's wrong with a transit, as long as it is a one-shot through flight? Might surprise you "westerners", but those from East Malaysia usually transit through Singapore/KL, and not so occasionally Brunei (yes, Royal Brunei flies to AKL also).
haya
post Mar 16 2010, 12:13 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(sodagreen930 @ Mar 16 2010, 02:32 AM)
hi,im a stpm leaver and considering of study in nz.but i searched my course(bachelor in environmental science) and i found that this course is not recognized by malaysian government if i were to study in nz.
Firstly, how did you come to that conclusion? Secondly, where do you intent to study in New Zealand. And what did you get for STPM?
haya
post Sep 6 2010, 08:16 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Anyone in Christchurch? How are things there?
haya
post Sep 11 2010, 02:41 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fairywings @ Sep 11 2010, 12:19 AM)
QUOTE(fantagero @ Sep 9 2010, 07:40 PM)

damn.. my first earth quake..
i was like someone shaking your bed for 30 second.
i was pretty significant.. but luckily no casualty. plus NZ was damn lucky for it to happened early in the morning..

Glad that you're okay.
for the bold words, why is it so? blink.gif
Imagine the 7.1 magnitude hitting during rush hour, when most people are on the roads moving from one place to another. Or at the peak of the work day, where electricity loads and gas usage are that their peak. The vast majority of people were all in bed, and thus most of the building collapses in the CBD where the buildings are really old didn't affect much. Imagine if it was working hours.

It is a testimony to the building standards and enforcement of building codes in New Zealand that there was not a death from the earthquake. Port-au-prince was hit with a smaller earthquake and you can see the misery and damage it has caused.

For a country not used to earthquakes, their preparedness is almost as good as Japan, where earthquakes are part of life.

And that is what separates the developed world from the developing.
haya
post Sep 12 2010, 08:36 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Its not new, to be honest. (Also another reason why I believe that Geography should have been kept as a compulsory subject till form 5, but I digress) New Zealand's geo-topology is volcanic in nature, especially most of the north island. Earthquakes have happened in the past.

The vast majority of them have been outside the urban areas, so the damage is minimal. Christchurch is one of the more modern ones. The last time an earthquake hit a relatively populated area was the Napier earthquake in 1931.

As I said, I am very impressed. Despite the intensity and damage, most of the infrastructure is still working. Internet is fine, mobile phone networks were temporarily overwhelmed, but never failed.

There are not many places in this world which are habitable that don't run through a fault line of some sort.
haya
post Sep 24 2010, 08:59 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fairywings @ Sep 21 2010, 09:58 PM)
I finally got my original unconditional offer letter reached in Malaysia. been waiting for so long.. phewww sweat.gif
Next, gonna settle my accommodation application! gosh I do not know that we have to get two character references as one of the application requirements.. where to find  doh.gif
With regards to accommodation, usually the character references will be from someone in the university's Accommodation Service. Failing which, use your parents, complete with Malaysian contact details and all.

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0535sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:09 PM