Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

haya
post Sep 28 2007, 10:00 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 27 2007, 08:35 PM)
Ya, Auckland traffic at rush hour can get pretty bad. I try to avoid the motorway into the city in the mornings (8-9am), and from around 3.30-5.50.
Public transport in Auckland is bad by developed-country standards. Don't expect anything like the London tube or Sydney tram system here. Buses are very expensive and not always reliable. Same goes for the train, and the stations are placed at even more inconvenient places than the LRT in KL. I have no experience with the ferries.
But it should really bother you since you're staying so close to the hospital.
Yeah. It can be bad. But the stupid thing is that its only for about an hour or so. Drive in/out of the city at 6.30pm and all is fine. Part of the reason is that Auckland is at an itsmus.

IMO through, price aside, buses in Auckland are still better than KL. Trains are terrible (don't bother. Seriously) but ferries are convinent if you live at the east side. From Bucklands beach to the city is only about 20 mins (1 hr plus on a bus). Not as frequent as I'd like, but still okay.

Bikes are useless in this place. Pratically every part of Auckland is mount everest. Don't get me started with Emily Pl and Eden Cresent leading to Symonds St. How they built the road in the first place is beyond me. Still, Dunedin has Baldwin St, so..................................................

Maybe I should have gone to CHC.
haya
post Sep 28 2007, 07:07 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Sep 28 2007, 11:06 AM)
But the ferries are very pricey. It's about $1 more per trip. Ok once in a while but on a daily basis?
I personally feel the time saved (up to 40 mins compared to the bus) is worth the extra $1. But thats IMO.
haya
post Oct 16 2007, 07:45 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Exams in about 6 weeks folks! Good luck!

BTW, I heard that Summer is taking its sweet time. Its already October and some parts of South Island is still under snow. I think NZ will be the last place for global warming!
haya
post Oct 17 2007, 09:19 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

I stand corrected. Thanks.
haya
post Nov 14 2007, 07:49 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Nov 13 2007, 08:43 PM)
software engineering/computer science/IT are about 23000-25000 tuition fee plus the 12000 - 14000 annual living cost. therefore, it is around RM100k. PHd is around 4000 tuition fee but it takes 3-4 years while master is 1 year..... will I prepare for 4 years of no income for the phd?? decision decision! (my wife agaisnt it tho becoz my paid his quite high but she said she will be ok if I really decide for the phd for the pursuit of personal achievement in knowledge but she may have to work harde rto support the family... I was touched deeply and suddenly feel the reluctant to do this.... is this her tactic to get me pulling out? :F)
Are you going to Auckland? NZ$14,000 anual living cost does get you a very comfortable life even in Auckland, not to mention if you go to other places like Christchurch.
haya
post Nov 14 2007, 06:44 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Nov 14 2007, 12:20 PM)
That is GREAT to know! I used to study in USA for 4 years for my degree therefore I mostly knows how to live cheaply as a student. I got the input from google that is around 14000 in auckland. If it great to know that the living cost is not that high. If I cook myself, renting a room near campus or "driving friendly" (man can't live without a car! hehehe middleage man therefore I won't live wihout a car haha), how much will it cost annually?
Kia Ora! Welcome to New Zealand then! biggrin.gif

I'm not sure where you got your $14,000 number from google. Mind sharing?

Having a car will eat into your budget, but even then, $10,000 will get you a reasonably comfortable life. I survived on about that for one year, and still had room for the odd excursion. And besides, with ASB giving out 7.75% P.A for their FastSaver, there has never been a better time. biggrin.gif

And that was Auckland. I have friends in Christchurch and Dunedin who can survive on less. If you want to do Software Engineering/Computer Science, Canterbury U is generally well regarded, in addition to a lower living cost. And, no infernal himalayas terrain, never stopping wind and above all, FLAT TERRAIN!
haya
post Nov 20 2007, 11:07 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Nov 19 2007, 02:28 PM)
hey i juz got my offer letter. how long does it take to apply for student visa? im leaving this 28th of december. can i make it? i heard the letter of good conduct can take quite a while...

i am going to sydney first then auckland on the 23rd of January next year. if my student visa not done yet, can the visa be sent via postage or through internet?
Oh dear.

No visa's cannot be send through the post, through I'm not sure if NZ has the e-visa system like Australia. Try and see if you can get your visa before leaving.
haya
post Nov 22 2007, 04:32 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Nov 22 2007, 04:07 PM)
Just submited my police letter in putrajaya since this is the longest response time... by the way, i m masked to provide evidence of my degree courses and master courses conducted fully in english.... I don' tknow what evidence they are looking for ahahaha academic transcript? But both my transcepts didn't stated out clearly that the entire course is conducted in english though.... (I thot it is understood that usa and oz courses are english only....) some1 suggested me that to write to my school to come out with a letter to prove...omg I compelted my degree it 10 years ago and master 5 years ago.... anyone knows about this?
First, you might like to spell check the above.

Where did you do your Degree and Masters? And what are you applying for to which university?
haya
post Nov 23 2007, 12:18 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

I'm not sure how it works in NZ, but I have a friend who studied his undergrad in NZ and did his post-grad in Australia, and they (the Australian uni) still required him to take the IELTS, never mind that he spent 4 years across the ditch.

Universities don't take anything for granted, let alone the standard of English for international students, even if they have studied in a English speaking country.

It might be a good idea to contact your former instituaon to at least get a letter and/or a transcript with reagrds to language.

This post has been edited by haya: Nov 23 2007, 12:18 PM
haya
post Nov 24 2007, 08:01 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

*sigh* Welcome to Malaysia.

Well, you're going yo love New Zealand air! Its the only thing I can't complain about. Kia ora!
haya
post Dec 1 2007, 08:16 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Dec 1 2007, 04:29 AM)
exactly.
when i just landed msia, i ask my mom if there is haze.
straight kena shoot. "what haze?" doh.gif
Same here man! Just landed back home, and my first question was "Is the haze back?" and my family looked at me a bit blankly. *Sigh* We've been away for too long. biggrin.gif
haya
post Dec 4 2007, 07:59 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

http://www.auckland.ac.nz/uoa/for/prospect...al_students.cfm

UOA also offers that. Scroll down the link. I was sure they had.
haya
post Dec 5 2007, 10:51 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(huix @ Dec 4 2007, 09:36 PM)
where did u guys translate those documents in malay to english which needed to be certified? commisioner of oath also do translation?
Translations are a issue. I never had to do that, but a good start would be possibly a Justice of the Peace who can certify the translations.

QUOTE(guest18 @ Dec 4 2007, 09:57 PM)
quick question , which university is good in new zealand for computer science and which is good for learning artificial intelligence
All NZ universities IMO. But Canterbury is my pick.
haya
post Dec 9 2007, 09:20 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Anyone still in NZ to tell me how summer is?
haya
post Dec 24 2007, 04:09 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Merry Christmas to all, and hope you land safely in NZ! To quote Westpac's slogan, Go for it! XD

Edit: just realised that the emoticons have a christmas cheer to it. >.<

This post has been edited by haya: Dec 24 2007, 04:11 PM
haya
post Dec 27 2007, 01:18 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(d(@@)b @ Dec 27 2007, 12:47 PM)
i wanna bring a multiple plug to auckland but i duno what kinda pin they're using there.... is it better if i buy it there? i knew someone mentioned about buying it in the 2 dollar shop over there, but this is multiple plug we're talking about.... how about plug converter? that one is available in the 2 dollar store there?
Forword: my knowledge of Auckland is a bit dated, so anyone there who can correct me will be much apperciated. Happy boxing day!

NZ (and Australia) uses the WA-16 plug system. It is similar, but not the same as the Chinese plugs! The Chinese plug pins are a bit longer. They work fine with NZ through. All of us use 240v, 50Hz. It looks like this: http://www.kropla.com/!i.htm

You can pick up one of these cheap adaptors at Lowyat these days. I just bought a few for RM7 each. In Singapore you can pick one up for S$4 at Sim Lim, and if you cross over to Shenzhen, the apperently go for about 1-2 yuan, so just imagine the profit margin. My HK flatmates have got a few dud ones from Shanzhen, through I have 100% success rate thus far.

When I was there, finding a adaptor cost me about $9. I looked at the price, swore and went into Mitre 10, got my self the NZ head, and changed the head myself. Not sure if the $2 shops sell them nowadays (The didn't exist in the shops in my days). The great thing about the NZ system is if you don't have a earth pin you don't have to poke the earth "hole" to plug it in, like here in Malaysia.

I suggest bringing a Malaysian power bank with say 3-4 plugs, and changing the head when you get there, so you still can use your Malaysian appliances (notebook charger, handphone charger etc) without having to change all the heads.

My power bank from Malaysia

And the NZ head (the white wire)
haya
post Jan 4 2008, 10:15 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 4 2008, 12:26 AM)
i bought this malaysia - nZ converter at universal travlerr.

what's the diff between

\  /

and just

\  /

pin???

i bought both just in case... huhuhh
which one better to be bought???
The former has a earth socket, while the latter does not have. The great thing is unlike the UK plug system (which Malaysia uses) is that you don't need to plug in the earth socket to be able to plug in the plug. Some low powered appliances (table lamps for instance) do not come with a earth pin.

IMO, both are fine, but I'd go for the former with the earth pin. Interestingly through, some of these universal travel adaptors (which you pretty much can use anywhere on earth) don't come with a earth pin.

How much are one of these things at Universal Traveller?
haya
post Jan 5 2008, 11:51 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 4 2008, 11:01 PM)
rm15... so.. with earth pin eyh.. coz i'm afraid the wall just hav two holes.. hahha
so..my plan is.. but this adapter.. and bring along malaysia extension... hehee can arr like this?

Added on January 4, 2008, 11:32 pmand alo.. anyoen can clarify price for original software there.. like
MS office
Wndows OS.. XP and vista etc.. hehhee
especialyl in canterbury
notworthy.gif
Next time, at least spell check before hitting the summit button. It took me a minute to so to realise you're trying to say "My plan is to bring along the travel adapter and connect a Malaysian plug bank with it". Yes, that is fine. NZ uses the same voltage and frequency as Malaysia.

Prices of most software is fixed, through you might be able to get a slightly cheaper OEM (of mass license) version. XP goes for about $150-190 depending on where you buy and whether its a upgrade or full version.

Don't worry. Bring in your notebook with your pirated XP or Vista. Immigration has more important things to do than check the authenticity of your software.

Added on January 5, 2008, 11:52 amEdit: fantagero, what are you studying at Canterbury?

This post has been edited by haya: Jan 5 2008, 11:53 AM
haya
post Jan 6 2008, 05:14 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jan 5 2008, 07:32 PM)
I agree with Haya's method of getting a multi-plug board/power bank in Malaysia - most of your appliances will be from Malaysia anyway. Except that with the readily available $2 adaptors (international to NZ), I won't bother with changing the heads. Not worth the effort and less flexible.

The problem with that method is if and when you buy some NZ appliances (stuff like desk lamps, electric kettles) since you won't be able to plug them into the Msian multi-plug. You'll either have to get an NZ to Msia adaptor or get an NZ multi-plug and plug the M'sian multi-plug AND the NZ appliances into it. Not sure if that makes any sense... 

Btw NZ and China 3-pin adaptors are interchangeable. But 2-pin Chinese ones can't be used in NZ since they're a different shape (like M'sia 2-pin) - beats me why.

My gripe with NZ power heads/plugs is their annoying shape. If you notice from Haya's pic, they jut out at 90 degrees from the wall (compared with Msia/UK flat ones). It's a real pain if you're trying to use a plug point behind furniture etc. You can get flat heads with some searching but any new appliances you buy will be in that irritating shape.
Or, just go out and buy a NZ power bank. doh.gif

Also, if you look closely at mine, its one of those China made power banks which can accept the different plugs of the world, NZ included.

Yeah, I was there in a era where $2 adaptors didn't quite exist yet. tongue.gif

QUOTE(sanfa @ Jan 5 2008, 10:47 PM)
got something in my head rite now..

my friend have said 2 me that weight limit 20kg jus been applied 2 bagasi that u bring together.. all item that u bring outside the bagasi will not be measured..

could i bring along my desktop in my backpack without measuring its weight???
Pretty much what Wornbook has said is the anwser. However, I have to add something: your laptop bag and cabin luggage counts as 2 pieces. However, you can use a notebook backpack (like a school bag, if you will, but with a dedicated compartment to put your notebook) to get around it. Its considered as a "personal item" like handbags, walking sticks etc. And, assuming its not too big, it also can be used to store even more stuff!

I'm not sure if ANY airline will allow a full blown desktop, casing and all, as cabin luggage with another bag. Methinks that the desktop alone will take up your 1 allowed cabin luggage allowance.

QUOTE(fantagero @ Jan 6 2008, 01:33 AM)
are u studying in canterbury??

BSc physics.
Nope. I had the chance, but I gave it up. I'm still not sure if it was the right decition.

BSc Physics. Sanfa, same as you?
haya
post Jan 7 2008, 05:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jan 6 2008, 05:50 PM)
Those are great. I didn't even know they existed until a couple of months ago when I went to China where pratically every hotel had 'em. Can you get them in M'sia? I don't think they're available over here in NZ... unless the $2 shops stock them. Everything those shops carry are from China anyway.
Yes, you can get these in M'sia in these cheap "One Stop Discount" shops. The dud rate is quite high through, I bought 3 of those, and only 1 of them had all 3 sockets working! And you can't test them in the shop!

They are good, in the sense that believe it or not, some parts of China do not use the same plug. Go north to heilongjiang and some of the (older) buildings use the Russian plug (Type F) system! Its even worst in India where every electrical appliance seems to be imported from around the world which do not fit the plug system there.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0163sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:37 AM