Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

fantagero
post Jan 31 2008, 11:48 PM

[ToFish4RepliesLikeYours]
2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Jan 31 2008, 03:46 PM)
Haya,
Chinese lessons are fine... provided they speak English as well. Like if I live here in the future and have kids, I will send them for Chinese lessons. But speaking English won't be a problem for them...

Anyway, yes I agree. Chinese, Koreans etc should really go out and learn English if they want to live here. I think it's disgraceful that some people have lived here for 15+ years and can barely string a sentence of English together. One of these people is my friend's mother - and she's Malaysian.

But I am against Kiwis who swear at people and yell at them just because they're speaking their native tongue to each other. If I'm talking to another Chinese, I can damm well speak Chinese to them. I won't do it if there's a non-Chinese speaker in the group cos that is plain rude (another gripe) but I don't see why I have to accommodate total strangers on the road who happen to walk by and hear us talking.

Huix,
Yes, Auckland house prices are sky-high (though sliding a little these days). Welly's ok but the pay isn't necessarily higher. It's very very very windy, even a hot summer's day can be quite cold thanks to the wind. I've never been there in winter but I bet it's worse. Definitely colder than Auckland.

I personally found Welly to be a pretty drab, depressing city. That's just me, there're others who love it.

Try the South Island if you want cheap.
ehm ehm..

i'm planning to take chinese class there in canter, but damn, the class damn packed sweat.gif

at the moment, drafting my subjects, got to take 8 subjects for my 1st year.. doh.gif rclxub.gif
and also, quite hard to avoid clashes between class.. cool.gif
fantagero
post Feb 1 2008, 03:34 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Feb 1 2008, 12:31 AM)
I have a feeling that you have a strong Chinese foundation, arh...what the heck, most China Chinese take Chinese as an elective despite having such strong foundation.
QUOTE(huix @ Feb 1 2008, 02:14 PM)
So that they can get higher grades for that subject? biggrin.gif
Btw, if they keep on living in their own pack, I have no problem with it. If they don't want to improve thier english, I have no problem for that either. After all, they lose their competitiveness in job market if they forever live under thier own circle in NZ.

what i don't like about some extremist keep saying how good china is and how strong they are.... but why I see so many mainland chinese coming out form that country? Why keep on talking about attacking taiwan or attacking others becoz they have strong military force? wht makes them different from the japanese grasshopper army during WW2? dont they realize that the moment they start attacking others, they will kiss their a$$ good bye to their strong economy?
Wornbook,
Thks for the info. wow! never think welly is that bad.... that explain why many people choose auckland indeed. Just my research told me that welly house is cheaper and the paid is slightly higher than auckland. (at least, in IT)
i need to brush up my english, especially informal conversation outside..if in class, ok laa.. i can present infront..

btw.. i want to take chinese for the sake of knowledge..just want to learn 3rd languange..
rite now thinking french, germany, or japan sweat.gif
knowing that outside, languange class quite expensive.. huhu since i got schola.. so,, why dont.. sweat.gif

anyone in canter??
fantagero
post Feb 1 2008, 06:31 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Feb 1 2008, 05:40 PM)
Oh well, wornbook, you almost made me regret choosing Vic, but anyhow....it's me decision by the way, hahahaha

I'm taking Spanish by the way, thought about changing it to French or Japanese
can change subject rite within period.. if not mistaken 2 weeks..

ridinghood, are u in vic?? the class already started eyh.

wait.. i'm not Chinese... so,, i can take Chinese class rite.. anything wrong with that?
ehmm whatever it is.. i cant.. the class gonna be damn pack.. clash with my major subject and my lab.. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif guess have to take language class after my grad la like that.. hua hua rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Feb 1 2008, 07:09 PM
fantagero
post Feb 14 2008, 11:58 PM

2,723 posts

da7n.. my luggage just half filled..
kinnda blur what to bring.. sweat.gif
fantagero
post Feb 19 2008, 04:16 AM

2,723 posts

yay.. it's today. rclxm9.gif

see u there nz.. biggrin.gif

Added on February 23, 2008, 12:11 pmarrived.. yeah biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Feb 23 2008, 12:11 PM
fantagero
post Feb 27 2008, 07:28 PM

2,723 posts

UOC, canterbury uni..
Christchurch.

sejuk gile woo...

the omputih so rilek mehh,, wear short pants, especially the girls..
how come they can tahan.. haha
fantagero
post Mar 1 2008, 04:35 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Feb 29 2008, 12:58 PM)
Funny to hear you guys talk about the cold. It's blazing hot over here in Auckland.
weck. shush shush tempat panas.. hehhee just kidding..

lucky la panas there.. damn lazy to mandi.... sweat.gif

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fantagero
post Mar 1 2008, 10:56 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 1 2008, 05:44 AM)
If it makes you feel better, it's raining today. Not cold though.

But I suspect that's relative. I did spend 4 years in Dunedin after all.
yeap.. it's raining since last nite... lg tambah sejuk.. huuh my mouth ade asap.. hahah dunno the correct word..

ehmm anyone on their way to nz ???
fantagero
post Mar 10 2008, 11:26 AM

2,723 posts

man.. my face hurts...
maybe becoz the dry weather here..

1st week arrive here, my lips cracked, bleeding somemore.. now, ok
2nd week, my hands dry. now my face.. how eyh???

i've stopped using facial i brought from malaysia.. "nivea that prevents oil sweat.gif" i know i hope its gonna make difference..

must i use moisturizer or something ??? like baby johson ??? sweat.gif

fantagero
post Mar 17 2008, 09:16 AM

2,723 posts

true2
but sometime i found the price quite ridiculous.. sweat.gif

btw.. anyone knows where can but book online??
http://www.fishpond.co.nz/ << is this service reliable??
fantagero
post Mar 18 2008, 04:29 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 01:43 AM)
oh my gosh..
this is really unbelievable..i just found out this forum and i've read through every pages and you guys gave lots of information about NZ..  rclxms.gif

well, hi to everyone!! haha! im new here and im going to NZ this April..
which about 3 to 4 weeks away.. i am an SPM leaver.
anyway,i was curious about something..i've got a scholarship (partial scholar) from International Pacific College (IPC),Palmerston North. (im not good as yours which in unis and evrythg)  rolleyes.gif

so,this interview was being organize by Selset New Zealand Centre,at Subang Jaya. i've read on which page i dont remmber..but someone had mentioned about selset..i was thinking whether this agent (selset) is legal or not..because,last two days my teacher told me to seek the scholarship that i've been offered and the agent as well.y'know,nowadays..lots of thing happen..so i have to take precaution..like,being a spy..haha!  icon_idea.gif

anyway, i do need your help..could i believe in selset..?
my dad was like worrying about this bcoz he has to let her daughter go..so he wants to make sure that i will be safe there..    tongue.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 1:58 amhi fantagero..
i see that you are new in NZ..
how's that? is it nice there?
OMG, i want to pack my bag ASAP and go there..haha!  laugh.gif
so, i would like to ask you something..
i'll be going there soon..so what should i bring..??
except my personal stuff,laptop,and all..
like really important thing..what will be that??
and i dont have to waste my money to buy clothes here,rite?
like what you guys had discussed before..  nod.gif
selset i think is reliable..
selset handles many Government Scholaship to nz mostly..
like JPA if i'm right, and also my scholar.
ask Carol Tham if u go to selset.. hahha she's kinnda bersemangat with us last time..

r u going to this college??
http://www.ipc.ac.nz/index.php ???

when r u gonna arrive here?? u r going to pammy eyh (Palmerston) ??
depends on weather.. like me, i arrived around summer.. so just bring thick cloth.. then for winter, just wait for discount here.. coz winter clotch gonna take space in ur luggage.. if u r into shopping,, bring lotsa money rclxms.gif
and if u r into cooking.. dont forget to bring perencah from msia. my group, they didnt bother about the perencah.. sweat.gif so. the girls brought over many perencah.. just for start if u have to cook by ur own self.. bcoz i'm muslim.. cant buy frozen food at the supermarket and also instant food..
bring also ur favourite stationaries. unless u got losta money.. haha
i brought a dozen of pen, eraser, ruler, pencil, pencil lead etc.. bcoz schola not that big cry.gif so hav to buy from msia if got the chance.. sweat.gif
regret didnt bring my paper file..
and also my Serway text book.. sweat.gif

huhu im new here in nz.. emperormeng and the others can explain more.. notworthy.gif

fantagero
post Mar 18 2008, 02:38 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 01:18 PM)
FOOD = yay! so i have to bring lots of mee maggie..haha!   rolleyes.gif
i'll discuss with my mother then about what to bring there..from what i know, there is a mini market nearby our residence..they have all the keropok and biscuits msia..like julies etc..i hope i can live with that..huu~

CLOTHES - new zealand is really windy huh? so how bout winter holiday? is thre lots of snow falling down (betul ke ayat ni??) i mean, we can make snow man and freezing like crazy..what is the temperature around Palmy during winter?

and, is there lots of Malay students study there? y'know..when it comes to Hari Raya..we can't go back home..
so just play the 'bunga api' together with the others student..haha!    biggrin.gif
no need maggie la wei.. huuhh in msia eat maggi, in nz also want to eat maggie kaa..
i got many friends there including my seniors there...

like me in canter,u can still get halal meat.. i'm sure palmy got halal shop.. but for sure, it's pretty expensive compare to those in the supermarket..
in nz.. got several brand of instant me that's halal, like Fantastic and Indo mee..
dont grab Maggie brand here k.. coz maggie in nz not halal..
try practice eating frozen fish fillet.. coz i hvnt found yet halal chicken nugget,
burger jumpe laa. imported dr indonesia..

weather.. my 1st impression.. crazy weather.. huuhh sometime damn windy. sometime damn dry..
later continue.. huuh wanna take bath.. sweat.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 2:42 pm
QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 18 2008, 12:44 PM)
Not so much halal food outside. Mainly some turkish/middle eastern stuff. Most Malaysian food is not halal cos the places are owned/run by Chinese and Indians. There are a few halal ones but there's limited choice. I'm speaking for Auckland here, not sure how things are like in Palmy.

Perencah - if you intend to do cooking, bring some along. While NZ customs laws are strict, most of perencah will get through. I've said it before, as a rule of thumb, if you avoid bringing in meat, dairy products, fresh fruits and vegetables, you'll be fine. 

Clothes - there's very limited choice in NZ and it's definitely not cheap. I recommend that you bring clothes from Malaysia. The only things you should buy here are warm clothing. Since you're coming in April, just bring a couple of sweaters and a jacket and you should be fine. Btw those sports windbreakers etc don't count as jackets but they are useful if waterproof.
if from chinese or indian.. just order those vege and seafood also can...

the info that i got, the perencah that are manufactured packed lepas the airport check..
last time my senior brought like 12kg of perencah from msia sweat.gif

but that's bcoz she return from malaysia.. if u first time like me.. sure cant bring that lot..

This post has been edited by fantagero: Mar 18 2008, 02:42 PM
fantagero
post Mar 18 2008, 04:53 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Mar 18 2008, 03:35 PM)
Don't need to bring stuff like biscuits lah. Plenty over here.

It doesn't normally snow in Palmy or anywhere in the North Island (apart from the mountains).

There's quite a few Malay students in NZ... mostly on MARA or JPA scholarships. There's also a few Malay migrant families around.
Speaking from experience, it's not just perencah that you can bring in. If you know what you're doing, there's plenty of food that they customs will let through.
yeap.. true.. my friend also bring dadih.. dunno how lepas the check.. maybe too many people that day sweat.gif
dont forget ministry of education too.. and also private student.. my friend said, private quite a lot in massey..

bring paper file if u need em to organize ur note like me. dam7, forget to bring... now my notes sepah oredi..

Added on March 18, 2008, 5:01 pmbtw.. better learn how to cook simple dish that not required much perencah..
bcoz some ingridient u might not get in nz... not sure if got asian shop there.. like my place.. got asian shops run by malaysian... so. still can get basic stuff like sos cili life.. damn.. omputih tak suke makan cili.. but.. it's quite pricey.. what to do sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Mar 18 2008, 05:01 PM
fantagero
post Mar 18 2008, 07:24 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 06:06 PM)
emm..then i have to bring some of my fave dishes..
i guess, i'll be a great chef over there!  biggrin.gif

there is no snow in Palmy?? ahhhhh...better find some good place to make my first snowman..huhu  laugh.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 6:28 pm
umm? what do you mean by private student??

paper file yah?? sure,i'll bring a bunch of that..haha!  brows.gif
thanks anyway..

omputih tak suka makan cili yer?? i dont know that..

emm,how bout chocolate?? can we just eat choc there?
even it is w/out the gelatin (just like msia style-lah)
i mean,we can eat as many as we want..huahuahua  rclxm9.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 6:30 pmman, NZ is really nice from you guys stories..
sounds really interesting..
quite challenging though..
go go! fer it!!
yeap.. quite challenging.. uf u unsure about food, ask for vege food..

hopefully they gonna use vege oil too.. and please ask guide from any muslim society there too.. if dont hav at ur college,, try massey.. i'm sure they hav.. u must join them, or else, gonna end up sebat je ape nampak depan mata sweat.gif

private means, papa mama baya bil, u private too??

choc??
how bout that?? can satisfy u?? but this in canter la.. got promotion.. tongue.gif

btw.. dont get fuzzy about emulsifier (471) or emulsifier (X)..

everytime buy food, make sure read the ingredient.. like gelatin if i'm right..
and like stok ayam, keropok chicken flavour.. all that not halal.. i like bluebird potato chips..
http://www.bluebird.co.nz/index.html
but just buy the vege flavour like onion, salted..

for snow. i'm new here.. heard from the senior, if wanna play snow.. go on vacation... biggrin.gif

many arab here... just main sebat about their food here.. idk either they dont know.. or they dont really care... depends on the person itself.. if u ready to consume it.. means u r ready for the consequence..

got some here just consume everything.. including beer sweat.gif

yeap.. seriously hav to learn cook if u r into it.. especially muslim.. coz it's gonna pretty easy for u..
try to learn simple dish.. advantage if u know how to cook western/.

try pasta.. huhu my 1st week in canter.. just ate pasta.. b specific,, experiment pasta sweat.gif
fantagero
post Mar 19 2008, 05:17 AM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 18 2008, 08:37 PM)

Added on March 18, 2008, 8:40 pm
whooosshhh..cannot just sebat-lah..it will be our own flesh then..huhu!
yeah,then maybe i can join massey muslim society if they do have that..

and yes! mine is private college..but thank God..i went to New Zealand edu. fair and Carol Tham approached me.
she is the one who asked me to go for the scholarship interview from IPC..
so i just went up there..and the interviewers like me, and directly he told me, "i'll give you the scholarship!"
and i was like...."aaaaaaahhhhh,how lucky i am!"
but this is just partial scholar,they just pay for the tuition fees..
and i have to cover about RM40-50,000 for my foundation year..
thanks to the scholar anyway..i'll study hard to get the highest scholar..huahahaha!  rclxms.gif

ohh..hahaha! what with that choc? is that yours? menunjuk sgt..haha!
wow that s cool..really need to read thoroughly on the ingredients..
heemmm..i think i've tried that bluebird keropok when i was in london..cool!
all the pasta and spaghetti, those are my fave..
and i can cook that too..yeh!!  icon_rolleyes.gif
just prepare the money, then you can have a nice lunch..yummy!    thumbup.gif

snow? vacation? will think about it then..haha!
need to prepare lots of money too..
money.money...money..    shocking.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 8:59 pm
no MSG?? means, is not tasty like here in msia??
duhh~~ thanks a lot..
i dont need maggi there..

Added on March 18, 2008, 9:07 pm
dadih is like a yoghurt, like a jelly too..
it have lots of flavour..
choc,strawberry,corn..

how to make dadih?
easy..you just need a creamer, jelly powder, water...
and the taste is so creamy and fantastic,bombastic! wallah~

thumbup.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 9:13 pmhey, new zealand is famous with their american football rite?
ALL BLACK?? yay!
where and when will be the game start?
huhu..im a big fan of football.
phailed.. not american football.. huhuh
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rugby_union
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_football

lucky u r a girl sweat.gif

still need instant mee in stock.. just in case.. hehe

yeap.. that choc is mine .. i got like 3 more in fridge.. :sweat
trust me.. i eat em half row per day.. brows.gif
seems like u know cooking very well..
not gonna be big problem to you..

thinking bout money.. heheh try part time working.. sweat.gif
can get extra cash for extra shopping galore rclxm9.gif
fantagero
post Mar 19 2008, 02:01 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 19 2008, 01:45 PM)
hey,that doesn't good at all..
me,eat choc for everyday..lagi2 sekarang ni,im doing practical in my dad's office..
so,sometimes make me boring..choc will make my life purfecto..haha!
got lots of it in my drawer..thank God my body didnt get bigger with tht choc..

yeah,i know how to cook simple dishes..but, my college have prepare our meal everyday
and i dont think they have kitchen in the hostel..
plus,we must stay there until we graduate..cannot live outside..
unless,homestay..

emm..yeah..they do mention about part time job before..
but they didnt allow foundation students to do part time job..
but mybe in my 1st year of degree i'll take part time..
then can cover my college fees also..and SHOPPING! haha  rclxm9.gif

so do you take part time there?
what kind of job?

Added on March 19, 2008, 1:50 pm
is it rugby? not american football aa?
wait..really? emm..whatever..
i play american football before when i was in form 5 at my tuition centre, but w/out the protective ok..haha!

emm..im going to buy that ticket then.. huhu  flex.gif
ehm... u mean, u r catered eyh until u grad?? man... that's gonna be miserable.. plus, cant live outside somemore..
bcoz if catered, u must obey the eating time. so cant go out without limit..
but depends on ur preference.. i dont like my food control my life hahaha....
they prepare halal food there???

i'm not working yet.. to early.. i'm getting use to the classes time table first..
u can try http://www.sjs.co.nz/ biggrin.gif

if u wearing hijab/tudung,, bring a lot of em, and also brooch..

and also,, bring baju kebaya, or whatso ever baju kebangsaan for perempuan.. later if got function, can wear.. if male.. just bring one baju melayu enough.. biggrin.gif
fantagero
post Mar 19 2008, 02:14 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Mar 19 2008, 02:02 PM)
yay!! yay!! yay!! and YAYYY!!!!!!!!

i just got my offer letter from the IPC..
i mail them yesterday..and this morning i got a call from Selset..
they want to confirm it..
i'll be going to NZ  around 6th of April..haha!
going there SOONNNN!!!!!!!    rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Added on March 19, 2008, 2:04 pmwokeh...now i want to know something that really2 important..
about time..

let say, if in msia is 2pm, 19 march..then,how bout in NZ?

Added on March 19, 2008, 2:10 pm
uummm..i dont know if we have to be punctual on our eating time.
bcoz i've seen their pictures..they were like relax and enjoy their eatting without rushing..
they are many choices of food..it's like buffet type
like thailand,japan,even msia dishes..but im not sure whether it is halal or not..
if not, then i just eat sushi la..haha!  tongue.gif

all the tudung,brooch and bj kurung is on my list..haha!
thanks to remind me..

hey,guy is simple..they dont have to wear diff bj melayu..coz x perasan pon..
but girls..yah~ at least 5 of baju kurung..haha    biggrin.gif
i bet in msia rite now is 2pm according to my post time stamp.. rite now.. is 712pm..

malaysia is gmt +8, nz ins + 12.. calculate ur self.. i phailed my math.. hahahha
owh really.. but u gonna be boring if the dish same over n onver again until u grad sweat.gif
good luck then.. no need that much baju kurung with kain.. damn windy here.. later kene tiup angin baru tau icon_rolleyes.gif .. if not mistaken,, the latest fashion is baju kurung with that seluar.. idk what's that call.. huuh sorry if wrong.. sweat.gif
fantagero
post Mar 19 2008, 05:19 PM

2,723 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Mar 19 2008, 03:37 PM)
its called fashion disaster.
please wear ur baju kurung with pride, its authentic beauty.

BTW, any places 2 buy guitar in city centre? new/second hand as long as makes sound.
not really disaster actually..

if the weather not suitable.. cant get the pride..

last time got bbq.. this ah moi, her skirt terangkat kene tiup angin.. huuhuh.. her meal also drop, bcoz protecting her pride sweat.gif
she wore one suit tube... sweat.gif
fantagero
post Mar 21 2008, 10:09 AM

2,723 posts

true... will dry.. well, depends on ur skin actually.. my friend.. tak pernah kering..
and please,, dont bring any facial from malaysia that have function "rid of oil"
huhuuh i found that my dryness, one of the cause is my facial.. hahahh "oil control".. now, hvnt use any facial.. so my face become very oily, which is good here.. but not in malaysia.. hahah..

planning of to buy moisturizer like baby johnson.. tip of fingers dry..
my uni hall, provides free lip balm for new comers here..

Added on March 21, 2008, 10:10 amuih.. in msia baru 10pm ka??? here 3pm oredi.. today very hot sweat.gif

This post has been edited by fantagero: Mar 21 2008, 10:10 AM
fantagero
post Mar 21 2008, 10:29 AM

2,723 posts

"In the current period (28 Feb - 28 Mar), you have used 9.2 GB out of 20.0 GB."

hohoh.. the best thing here... maximum speed internet rclxm9.gif

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0486sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:11 AM