UK Working & Holiday , Any one heard about this visa??
yeeshang02
Jul 1 2008, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(rubberduckie @ Jul 1 2008, 03:43 PM) Ah, that was what I read. So I've to carry my x-ray in my hand carry when I go there for the Immigrations to see? A bit mafan to carry a big envelope of my x-ray... And any doctor would do, right? They don't have like panel of doctors or something? And thanks a lot for your help! Appreciate it! Hi! welcome anybody go to www.whv.com.my or email to info@whv.com.my i can help you in application and appeal. Thank you.
cheche
Jul 1 2008, 05:24 PM
I've submitted all of my financial status also including my sponsor's financial status. I didn't include place of where i'm gonna stay and i don't have any relative, but i have friends there.
fiolsn
Jul 1 2008, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(cheche @ Jul 1 2008, 05:24 PM) I've submitted all of my financial status also including my sponsor's financial status. I didn't include place of where i'm gonna stay and i don't have any relative, but i have friends there. its better to inlcude frens's address, full name, and wat type of visa they holding. i dun have any relatives here as well..but i put all my frens..
Slowpoke
Jul 2 2008, 01:42 AM

QUOTE(rubberduckie @ Jul 1 2008, 01:28 PM) I got my WHM visa recently but think I read somewhere that we're required to get a medical check-up and bring along the x-ray. Apparently, if we don't have that, we've to queue or something and register ourselves at their GP somewhere, which is supposedly troublesome. But I can't find where I saw it anymore, so I'm not sure if I need it or not? Also, I read that if we're looking for a job we'd need stuff like testimonials from previous employer and also police background checks. Are those necessary? I cannot imagine our uhm... friendly police officers would be obliging to do that. Don't want to walk in to a police station, ask them for that and then to get a good scolding from them or something... Previous employers' testimonials in the form of references (generally upon request) are traditional for all job applications, for this one I doubt you need anything more special than that. Never heard of police background checks. x-ray ahead of time will save you maybe 5-20 minutes at best. You still need to queue and drag your bags along like an idiot, you just get to skip the actual 'do the x-ray' part which isn't too long. I wasn't asked to register anything. It's less than 48 hours since I landed, can pm me with questions related to application as I did quite a bit of research on all that, or maybe I was just lucky as my application was approved in a couple of days without an interview.
youngkies
Jul 2 2008, 09:03 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(rubberduckie @ Jul 1 2008, 03:43 PM) Ah, that was what I read. So I've to carry my x-ray in my hand carry when I go there for the Immigrations to see? A bit mafan to carry a big envelope of my x-ray... And any doctor would do, right? They don't have like panel of doctors or something? And thanks a lot for your help! Appreciate it! yes, in case when they need to see it, you can produce it right away. though rarely they wanted to see it. any doctor will do. QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 2 2008, 01:42 AM) Previous employers' testimonials in the form of references (generally upon request) are traditional for all job applications, for this one I doubt you need anything more special than that. Never heard of police background checks.x-ray ahead of time will save you maybe 5-20 minutes at best. You still need to queue and drag your bags along like an idiot, you just get to skip the actual 'do the x-ray' part which isn't too long. I wasn't asked to register anything. It's less than 48 hours since I landed, can pm me with questions related to application as I did quite a bit of research on all that, or maybe I was just lucky as my application was approved in a couple of days without an interview. now you have heard then. luckily malaysian is not required to register with local police.
xcutelilgal
Jul 2 2008, 09:06 PM

i had to go to the immigration clinic but it only took me a minute to fill up the form then she said I can go already lol. Didn't have any xrays to show her also. Lucky me =) Added on July 2, 2008, 9:12 pmQUOTE(cheche @ Jun 30 2008, 07:27 PM) I applied my WHM application last week and collected my passport with a big disappointment with a the refusal entry of clearance notice. Together, it was attached with appealing form. It states that i had given them a mind set that i was going to the UK to work to fund money to travel to the Europe and also my travel itinerary is not detailed enough. Has anyone experience appealing for application before? I want to know what are the chances of having my visa granted after that. Or should i re-submit my application again? Can anyone help? Definitely should include a letter from the person you're staying with in the uk and also your itinerary should have stated more places in UK that you were going to visit instead of Europe because this is a Working Holiday Maker visa for UK and does not include Europe. So you could have named places like Manchester, Liverpool, Sheffield, etc etc Appeal...fill up the form and attach any documents you deem relevant to prove that you're not travelling more of Europe I guess. My friend still on appeal..so far no sound...I don't know of anyone with a successful appeal. It could take 1 month or if fail again in Msia, it would be sent to Asylum and Tribunal Office here and that would take 3 - 6 months according to them. This post has been edited by xcutelilgal: Jul 2 2008, 09:12 PM
fiolsn
Jul 4 2008, 05:21 AM

QUOTE(xcutelilgal @ Jun 6 2008, 01:42 PM) Hey fiolsn  When will you be in London? I've just arrived here too Depends where you want to stay in London, you can go to Piccadilly Hostel. Looks nice and right in the centre of London - �12 per person http://www.piccadillyhotel.net/london-host...stels-main.htmlPiccadilly Backpackers Hotel | 12 Sherwood Street Piccadilly, London W1F 7BR United Kingdom Tel: +44 (0) 20 7434 9009 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7434 9010 email: enquiries@piccadillybackpackers.com hi, any other hostel in London to recommend?.. Piccadilly is full coming weekend ..we have 5 of us...can someone suggest good location and affordable hostel? thanks in advance. This post has been edited by fiolsn: Jul 4 2008, 05:32 AM
youngkies
Jul 4 2008, 06:29 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(fiolsn @ Jul 4 2008, 05:21 AM) hi, any other hostel in London to recommend?.. Piccadilly is full coming weekend ..we have 5 of us...can someone suggest good location and affordable hostel? thanks in advance. London School of Economics (LSE). their student accommodation is open for rent in the summer. slight expensive but high quality. you can search for info from travelstay.com website.
Slowpoke
Jul 4 2008, 05:18 PM

No one is posting phones? I'll post mine anyway. 077 636 56178 I'll be homeless tomorrow I think, unless I can find somewhere to stay. Many of the places seem to be booked up fully. Fiolsn phone me, we can stay up all night
youngkies
Jul 4 2008, 05:37 PM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 4 2008, 05:18 PM) No one is posting phones? I'll post mine anyway. 077 636 56178I'll be homeless tomorrow I think, unless I can find somewhere to stay. Many of the places seem to be booked up fully. Fiolsn phone me, we can stay up all night  confidential. btw, how many of you was not required for an interview and got visa straightaway?
Slowpoke
Jul 4 2008, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 4 2008, 05:37 PM) confidential. btw, how many of you was not required for an interview and got visa straightaway? Not that many, I think. I included a cover letter covering all the normal concerns, finding work, itinerary, etc, so they didn't have to dig for everything in the file. Perhaps that might have contributed to it. Let me doss at your place for the night?
fiolsn
Jul 4 2008, 07:04 PM

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 4 2008, 05:37 PM) confidential. btw, how many of you was not required for an interview and got visa straightaway? i got my visa without interview.
rubberduckie
Jul 4 2008, 09:07 PM
I had a pretty quick interview of about 10 minutes, maybe less. Only thing was that they kept 'rescheduling' the interview. They call it 'reschedule' but in our terms, it's 'postpone'. =P
youngkies
Jul 5 2008, 01:16 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 4 2008, 05:42 PM) Not that many, I think. I included a cover letter covering all the normal concerns, finding work, itinerary, etc, so they didn't have to dig for everything in the file. Perhaps that might have contributed to it. Let me doss at your place for the night?  QUOTE(fiolsn @ Jul 4 2008, 07:04 PM) i got my visa without interview. QUOTE(rubberduckie @ Jul 4 2008, 09:07 PM) I had a pretty quick interview of about 10 minutes, maybe less. Only thing was that they kept 'rescheduling' the interview. They call it 'reschedule' but in our terms, it's 'postpone'. =P okie dokie. thanks for the responses. who knows i am crazy enough to ditch my work permit and go for WHV, so I could work as locum. slowpoke. come bristol, you can stay over
Slowpoke
Jul 5 2008, 11:40 PM

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 5 2008, 01:16 AM) slowpoke. come bristol, you can stay over  Just kidding, found a place right before I asked, one bed left for the weekend, how fortunate. I just might take you up on that though, if I ever come to visit  thanks for the offer. I wonder how fiolsn is doing. A guy who used to be homeless told me you can sleep in clean dumpsters at tesco or something, along with several other tips if I ever end up destitute and desperate.
youngkies
Jul 6 2008, 12:20 AM
Monday <--> Friday
QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 5 2008, 11:40 PM) Just kidding, found a place right before I asked, one bed left for the weekend, how fortunate. I just might take you up on that though, if I ever come to visit  thanks for the offer. I wonder how fiolsn is doing. A guy who used to be homeless told me you can sleep in clean dumpsters at tesco or something, along with several other tips if I ever end up destitute and desperate.have you not house hunting yet?
Slowpoke
Jul 6 2008, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 6 2008, 12:20 AM) have you not house hunting yet? Everything-hunting starts today for me. Almost impossible to get free wireless internet here. Internet here is some kind of bloody resource like vespene gas, everyone wants an arm and a leg for it. In starbucks-provided theCloud etc networks, it's like 1 pound an hour. YHAs charge for it at around 1 pound every 15 mins. Net cafes 1 pound an hour, although I saw one at picadilly 1pound/2hours. Also can you teach me to use the 'free wifi' provided by some mcdonalds? When i open the network it starts at an orange BT page asking for login and password, etc. I asked the manager and he said there must be something wrong with my laptop because everyone else can use it. Then again if he knew better he wouldn't be working at mcdonalds.
yangsangfook
Jul 6 2008, 01:05 AM

QUOTE(Slowpoke @ Jul 6 2008, 12:40 AM) Everything-hunting starts today for me. Almost impossible to get free wireless internet here. Internet here is some kind of bloody resource like vespene gas, everyone wants an arm and a leg for it. In starbucks-provided theCloud etc networks, it's like 1 pound an hour. YHAs charge for it at around 1 pound every 15 mins. Net cafes 1 pound an hour, although I saw one at picadilly 1pound/2hours. Also can you teach me to use the 'free wifi' provided by some mcdonalds? When i open the network it starts at an orange BT page asking for login and password, etc. I asked the manager and he said there must be something wrong with my laptop because everyone else can use it. Then again if he knew better he wouldn't be working at mcdonalds. u can use kfc wifi by just registering only.. allow u to use for an hour.. if times up.. just register another name... for the bold statement, i dont think its right to judge that way just because he works in mcD.
crystal_kit85
Jul 6 2008, 08:03 AM
I was one of the first few batches that came here with a WHM Visa end of last year on completion of my degree course. Like most of the WHM visa holders here, i myself have been through a lot while applying for it but i was lucky enough to have breezed through it without much of a hassle. On contrary, starting up here was never easy as i would have to get all the necessary stuffs done such as applying for N.I, setting up a bank account, getting myself registered for a GP and last but not least hunting for jobs. All of these does give you a pain on the ass.
Fortunately, i've got all of the things being sorted out with the help from my friends whom are studying here. Having said that, the next step was to start hunting for jobs, it took me about a month and a half before i could land myself a job as the companies here closes their financial year at the end of January and recruitment will not be done before that.
Needless to say, February was the month where everything started to be on my favor, i've got myself a decent job with a great working environment that comes with fantastic people, they have been very supportive of me by constantly making my presence felt welcomed, always stood up for me for the wrong doings i did as i'm still new to the job , and they have the plunge and patience to pass on their knowledge as well as their experiences to me. Thus, the rest is history.
I couldn't agree more with this statement "All good things, Have to come to an end", this is only my 7th month here and i have been pressured to be back in Malaysia to kick start my career, as a result of that i'll finish off my chapter in UK by touring Europe this coming week. I do regret the fact that i'll have to be back in Malaysia so soon as i have only used up 7 months out of the 24 months that is being given. But at the same time i've got to accept the fact that my parents' did not work so hard to give me good education so that i could end up with a job that is not in my area of expertise nor did i worked so hard in University to be enjoying my life here.
I would really want to thank and express my appreciation to the relevant parties that have came up with this visa and that Malaysians are eligible for it. It has really been a fairytale journey for me living my life to the fullest in a foreign country. This visa acts as a window of opportunities for those that wants to experience life abroad while spending significantly lesser amount of money as oppose to studying here, as not all of our parents has got the financial capabilities to send us here for studies.
However, for those that have just stepped their foot in the UK, i wish you all the best and remember to live your life to the fullest and make sure you appreciate all the things you have done or are about to do here and do not forget that it is because of our parents effort and blessing that we could end up here.
Cheers.
Slowpoke
Jul 6 2008, 08:29 AM

QUOTE(yangsangfook @ Jul 6 2008, 01:05 AM) u can use kfc wifi by just registering only.. allow u to use for an hour.. if times up.. just register another name... for the bold statement, i dont think its right to judge that way just because he works in mcD. Let me tell you a joke that won't offend anyone. ... Did you like it? Edit: Chill out. I'm not usually one to snap judgements of people, it was just an offhand remark. However, it was obvious the guy didn't know any better than I did, yet happily latched onto the 'oh your laptop doesn't work here' explanation, placing the blame on the silly foreigner. There's nothing wrong with saying I don't know. Anyway you're probably being judged, evaluated, rated, etc every day of your life. If people think ill of you, so be it, there's nothing much you can do to change their minds. Most of us have had to work some menial/service job just to cover expenses and take us off the ringgit-bleeding, and once I start, I won't care if I'm seen as some bloody foreigner sent to steal jobs from true britishers. You makes your choice and pays your dues. This post has been edited by Slowpoke: Jul 6 2008, 08:25 PM