~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 18 2007, 09:16 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hahah... SG size depends on how old they were separated from the parents and also how their appetite is. Kiah was separated at a very very young age. I think she was only 5 weeks OOP.... anyway, you see her pic and compare with my hand size.

CFP, Chika bigger coz males are generally bigger than females heheheh....

Some gliders have poor appetites coz of the petshops or suppliers feeding the wrong food, so they are poor in size.

Some pulak large and fat coz petshops giving fattening foods like dogfood and sunflower seeds.... these are big NOs when given in large amounts.

Jarrah and Shadow from a home breeder, so he takes great care of them. Food, space, all ample so their growth is better. They are 2 months old, maybe a few days more than 2 months but the size and fur is superb hahaha... Show you pics:

Shadow:

Jarrah:

bigger than Shurie right?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 18 2007, 09:26 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... it's so hard to tell.... But i see the stripe on the nose... Shadow got a bigger gap between the nose and stripe compared to Jarrah hehehe...

Both good eaters, eat up my mix hahaha.... today they tasted strawberries. Can easily see the difference of Kiah and Jarrah. Kiah was so so tiny....

Anyway, I haven't trim their nails coz no one to help me here. Super long nails ahahah.... they are still crabby but at least once on my hand they do not crab. Only crab when I get them out of their tank or pouch.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 18 2007, 09:43 PM

12,047 posts

Hahah... nevermind lah, maybe can see in real life heheheh.... anyway, Friday ok with you? Wednesday also can wan but I will get back to you on where to meet lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 18 2007, 10:55 PM

12,047 posts

Snow ah.... I'll be going to Sunway on Wednesday. Ok for you?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 18 2007, 11:59 PM

12,047 posts

Hahaha... I'm going Pet Shack first.... then will go Sunway pyramid lah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 12:22 AM

12,047 posts

Should be after 1pm lah heheheh... Now sure you cannot wait to get Shadow hehehe.... Bring a pouch for Shadow yah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 12:37 AM

12,047 posts

Yah sure, I will bring Kiah along heheheh.... So you can meet her hehehe... Friendly girl.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 09:27 PM

12,047 posts

Wah, today KP do all the explaining heheheh....

Many have asked me "Don't the glider suffocate when placed in a bag or pouch? Don't you feel geli when it is inside your shirt?" Hahaha.... gliders love dark, small and cozy places. Kiah can fit into many funny funny places and just sleep there.

Snow, gliders like to change sleeping spots if they got the option. CFP, remember you sold me the Flexarium rite? The box that the Flexarium came in is long and narrow, Kiah slept in there for a few weeks... funny.... Then it was her sleeping box in her cage later... now back to my jeans.... I think Kiah likes to swap here and there, depending on her mood LOL.

Yups KP, you were holding Shadow. Jarrah is more active and slippery to handle hahah.... Jarrah likes to climb out of my hand very fast. Both also won't bite and won't crab when you handle them but they will always crab when see your hand hahaha... funny funny boys. Kiah still ignoring their presence. Dunno when she will bond with Jarrah... anyway, I need to bond with Jarrah first.

I realize Shadow likes to jump away a bit. So Snow, just becareful not to let him jump off you hahahh.... coz he did jump off KP. Jarrah will climb onto my head and when I try to grab him, climb somewhere behind me and then it is up and down for me LOL.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 19 2007, 10:44 PM

12,047 posts

Oh, I'll be at SP around 1 plus lah... just call me. Before that I'll be at Pet Shack. I won't have credit to call you so better you call me heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 20 2007, 10:49 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jun 20 2007, 09:11 PM)
Hello Everyone
I am doing some reaearch on gliders before I get some & would appreciate it if someone could answer the following for me.
The (3) books I have got list the common fruit & vegies that are the norm for western countries. What I would like to know if ALL the fruit & vegies available in Thailand ( & Malaysia ) are suitable for gliders eg: Rambutan;Lychees;Sala;Rose Apple etc
Many thanks
Hello

Finally you are here rclxms.gif

Rose apples are called water apples also right? In malay, Jambu Air. This fruit is high in Vit A, Vit C and calcium and potassium. Rambutans are high in potassium, the phosphorus percentage is higher than calcium but the fruit is high in Vit C and sugars. We should feed more calcium supplements when feeding rambutans to balance out the phosphorus ratio I think. Lychee is similar to the rambutan.

I know my glider don't really fancy rambutan.... never tried lychee. She likes Rose apples a lot.

Added on June 20, 2007, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 20 2007, 06:03 PM)
now .. snow edi got shadow .. hun edi got jarrah .. hope can see them again .. eh wait . i didnt see jarrah .. :sigh:
Got lah.... you busy bowling je ahahah.... Just ask Snow for updates, seems Shadow bit her a bit.... I think he scared tongue.gif maybe his brother Jarrah not there to protect him hahahah.

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 20 2007, 07:36 PM)
Haha, all got new suggie wub.gif

Hows Shadow and Jarrah doing? I think I'm in love with lil' joeys wub.gif

Last night let Iggy roam around my apt. He so happy ler, jump here and there, but Luna just stayed in the pouch. When I took her out and put on my lap, she just stoned like that till I put her back in the pouch doh.gif After playtime, as usual, stretched my arm to Iggy and he hopped right on and we went back to the cage biggrin.gif Sighh, wish Luna could be like Iggy tongue.gif So I end up with two totally different personality gliders sweat.gif

Today, both of them with me at work. Both also want to sleep only, don't want to play around yawn.gif

Ohh, anyone went to PS and grab Exo Terra stuff on sale? Does anyone know until when the sale is on? Need to get something, but dunno when can make it to PS... Soonest might be end of the month blush.gif

KP
Hahaha... it's not PS... typo... it's PF, Pet Family. Not sure when it will end but not everything is 40% off... mainly the reptile foods and supplements I think....

Iggy and Luna still smell fresh? I just gave a bath to Kiah last night, now the fur so soft and smooth, she spent the whole night sleeping with me on my neck hahahah... Hope Jarrah can be like her soon.

Anyway, you may get joeys mah.... Luna and Iggy can give you a few heheheh tongue.gif

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Jun 20 2007, 11:00 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 12:40 AM

12,047 posts

Not all gliders can be like mine.... mine was trained since young.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 09:24 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 21 2007, 10:18 AM)
Well, most of our tropical fruits are okay to be given to gliders, I've given mine rose apples(jambu air), jackfruit, ciku, water chestnut, lychee and guava, besides the normal apples, pears, papaya, mango, watermelon, honeydew and so on. So far so good, but things need to watch is their poo after feeding lah, some fruits can cause the poo to be very smelly, some makes 'em liquidish. Ohh, and I feed them veggies too, like carrots, cherry tomatoes and sweetpea smile.gif The ones we know to avoid are those higher phosphorus ration than calcium, plus grapes, corn, avacado and iceberg lettuce wink.gif
Huhh, Shadow bit Snow? Yeah, I think without his brother feel a bit scared sad.gif

Aiyoh, PF ker doh.gif Was thinking to get the Explorarium, Flextray and some leaves... Haihhh, nevermind lah.

Iggy and Luna starting to smell a bit lah, but not as bad yet lah shakehead.gif So geram lah, it's still more of Luna's smell lah, remember I told you that she rubs her body at the bottom of the cage? I think thats why she stinks cry.gif Dunno what to do anymore...

Ahh, Iggy and Luna's joey? Haihhh, hope not too soon, what with Luna's condition...

Ohh, lately I dunno who has been doing it, but someone has been biting off the leaves and putting them in the pouch, so terkejut when I put my hand in the pouch and felt something else, thot was an insect or cockroach, rupanya the leaves... Do you know why ahh? Making nest??

KP
Cherry tomatoes can? Hmmm... haven't tried Ciku or Nangka coz I don't like those fruits hahahah.... I do give carrots too and Kiah likes to chew Sawi... really cute to watch. Right now even her mix has a slice of carrot and a sawi leaf inside. I know papaya makes the poo smelly ahahah.

I think they want to make the nest comfy. Try leaving some tissue paper inside their cage and see what happens. I don't have any fake plants in my cage so Kiah doesn't do anything strange.... so far lah.

Jarrah miss Shadow... today Jarrah made a soft hissing sound, like calling and calling... then he look at me pulak. Naughty boy still crabs but he is better now, not so crabby in the pouch.

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jun 21 2007, 12:28 PM)
Thanks Hun & KP for the info. I will be getting Calc. & Vitamin supplements anyway when I decide to get.
Yes Hun I finally got on - for some reason the forum would not accept the ( business's ) email address but I tried a gmail address that a friend set up for me which works. The "Bat Ray" photos I have seen in a Taiwanese stingray magazine weird !!
Thks again
Ohh... no wonder. The Bat rays are weird, got 1 farm breeding them in thailand, looks like deformed, some looked like butterflys too...

Hahah... Out of topic already.

So when will you be getting your gliders? Are they easy to find in Thailand?

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Jun 21 2007, 04:13 PM)
No prob!

Okay people, been wanting to ask y'all about this, keep on forgetting or no time to type it out tongue.gif

What do you use for you suggies perching/resting place in the cage? (ie, the perching stick that come with the cage, Exo Terra vines, etc)

Currently I'm using Exo Terra vines. I used to use the perching stick that came with the cage plus the vines, but I find that the stick absorbs pee and is very-very-very stinky even tho I have washed it with soap and dry it out. The smell just sticks on it shakehead.gif So I had it removed and am now just using the vines.

Unfortunately now I find that the vines stinks too!! I clean the cage every week, wash the tray and wipe the bars, I even wash the cage throughly with hot water and bleach once a month, but I still find it smelly right after all the cleaning I've done. Then I took a sniff on the vines, phewww, they stink too sweat.gif I resorted to washing all the vines and hang dry it outside, BUT, the smell does not go away!

Arghhh! I'm thinking to have it all removed... But I couldn't, cuz Iggy and Luna loves to sit on the vines or play around it, they need perching places. So now, I am cracking my head like mad to think of the best solution or best type of perching place to replace the vines. I have a few fleece rope that I sew and tie it from wall to wall, but that is not a good/stable perching place, Iggy and Luna uses it to hang upside down or walk/crawl on it only. I'm thinking of using PVC pipes or those plastic mesh so that it can be washed easily, but I don't know whether they can grip on the PVC pipes or even how to make a stable perching place using the plastic mesh without using the cable tie (if I use cable tie, I won't be able to remove it to wash it doh.gif )

Ohh, I even thot of purchasing those long spiral like branches at PS, but worry it will absorb the pee too because the surface is untreated. Unless if I use varnish or something... But I worry it could harm the suggies...

How?

icon_question.gif

Does anyone here has a solution? Or using something that doesn't absorb the pee or can easily be washed?

icon_question.gif

KP
What you can do is soak the vines in a solution of water and baking soda for 10 minutes, then just sun it without washing off the baking soda. Perfectly safe. Seems baking soda is a good deodorizer. Oh, you can get 1 500g bag of organic baking soda at Ikano's organic shop for only Rm2.50....

There is no substitute for the vines but natural tree branches... I have 1 branch but I have no idea what tree it is but it seems safe and has no bark on it anymore.... most of our fruit tree branches here are toxic. The safest I think would be the hibiscus plant but then the branches on a hibiscus plant are so thin and small..... Rambutan and rose apple branches are not suitable, toxic..... erm, I think Guava is safe coz it is recommended for parrots.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 10:27 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jun 21 2007, 10:17 PM)
Aww.. poor Jarrah. Shadow seems better today. Less crabby. Last night he crabbed at the slightest movement.

Today he seemed ok when I took his pouch out of the cage. biggrin.gif
And right now, I placed both their pouches side-by-side while letting them eat in their own pouch. They're both so adorable! biggrin.gif
Yah... poor Jarrah still crying for Shadow.... aiyoh, sad little guy.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 21 2007, 10:42 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Taipan1 @ Jun 21 2007, 10:37 PM)
Hi Hun
Firstly sorry about the "out of topic".
SG's are very easy to get in Thailand - HOWEVER the majority are very young. I have heard of one private breeder & will be trying to get from him. I wont discuss the reasons on the forum.
I have an old store room outside the house which I want to convert to a nocturnal hse. It is approx. 7 to 8' high x 10' long but narrow - 3' wide. I have written to a friend in Sydney asking him if Taronga Zoo uses "moonlights" as I might get one sent over & put in the hse. I have got access to Eucalyptus tree's which grow near our nursery & can get branches to put in it. It will be a few months before I get the SG's.
Ah, even here the suppliers are selling them too young.

A nocturnal house sounds great. The space sounds good as well. Moonlights? Hmmm... i think exoterra has a moonlight bulb but it glows a bit blue. You are lucky to find Eucalyptus, we can't find it here.... still have no idea which fruit tree is suitable for gliders yet.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 08:02 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jun 22 2007, 08:24 AM)
It's been a while.

Wasabi and I now bonds really well. he doesn't crab anymore when i angkat him, which is a huge step. At night I lepas him in my room. Last night I caught him sniffing and playing in my hair while I was asleep. So cute!

Wasabi have a problem, tho. He smells quite a bit. Its not particularly the 'male' scent, I think it's more to his habit of pooping inside his pouch, even when the pouch is in his cage and he can simply go out. How do I stop him from pooping in his pouch? Very hard la for me to basuh pouch everyday..

I tried to sponge-bath him this morning, but he seems to hate it and keeps running away.

Just so you know, I try to keep his diet properly. Everyday I gave him mealworms, fresh fruits and huns mix. There's always food leftover, so I assume he's eating plenty.
Great that Wasabi has stopped crabbing at you. Keep with the bonding process, you are doing great.

It is common for them to pee and poo inside the pouch. What I do is I fill the pouch with tissue to absorb the pee.

As for smell, why not get yourself dry dog shampoo. It is powder for puppies, very safe to use coz it uses natural ingredients. Smells nice to. Just apply on the fur and rub it into the skin, will make the pee smell lessen.

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jun 22 2007, 06:05 PM)
Omigawsh. Shurie tamed Shadow for me!

When I opened Shadow's pouch, Shurie immediately ran inside and started grooming him. He didn't crab or resist, just sat there quietly for her to groom.

Then when I slowly reached inside the pouch to stroke Shadow, he didn't crab at me as he normally would. He seemed content with Shurie by his side.

Hmm. Maybe I should separate the both of them and bond with Shadow first? At this rate, Shurie might bond with him sooner than me, then I'll never be able to bond closely with him. sweat.gif
Wah, looks like Shadow and Shurie good match. This morning Kiah was clicking at Jarrah.... so I thought why not intro them abit.... but Jarrah was angry, smack Kiah and turn on his attack mode.... I guess not a very good match but I will try to bond them together but first, Jarrah must bond with me.

Yes ah, you should separate Shadow from Shurie, bond with him first. Once he is comfortable with you, then you can keep Shadow and Shurie together. tongue.gif

About sexual maturity, I did more reading and found out that most gliders reach sexual maturity at 7 months old.... but some will only begin to breed when they are 2 years old.....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 08:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 22 2007, 08:19 PM)
:sigh: everyone suggies bond very fast ...
Hhah... not everyone lah... Jarrah still not bonded with me yet. He is still crabby.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 22 2007, 09:16 PM

12,047 posts

Ahh.... take pic lah, sure cute heheheh.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 23 2007, 12:01 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(carenys55 @ Jun 22 2007, 10:10 PM)
Hello
Will be getting a glider soon,
i'll name her Cloey. ^^
Now doing research, so that i'll be fully prepared when i get her.
Hahah... yah, soon soon... sure very excited once you get Cloey.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 01:56 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jun 23 2007, 05:34 PM)
guys i need some helpful advice from u guys. one night as usual when i take my gliders out to play and to my horror my glider's testicle was out of it's skin

here's some pic from last wednesday which was the day that i found it was out.

i brought it to the vet and he pushed the testicle back to it's skin and stich it up . but the stiches were gone most probably he bite it off by himself. and the testicle is hanging at a very low position which makes him difficult  to walk. the vet let me decide whether to cut it off or leave it there, i decided to let nature do it's job by letting it heal itself, but i'm still worried the pain he suffers, he doesn't likes to climb n play much anymore, but he still eats normally. i've already separeted both of them. so i need some advice whether to cut or let it heal? i feel sad for him and i don't like bringing him to the vet, when the vet stich up it's wound i could see pain in his face, beside that the vet said it will be a problem too by cutting it, because surely he will bite the part or maybe lick the wound.... cry.gif
If it is painful, it is better to remove the testicle. Gliders will always bite and chew the stitches so going back to the vet to restitch the wound is not going to work.... unless the glider can wear a E-collar but there is no small ones for gliders at all. Overseas, some do not use stitches but a medical glue... well, Malaysia not that hi-tech yet.

Like Reanne said, there is a risk of losing the glider when it is sedated for the surgery. Since its body is so small, it may end up sleeping forever(you know what I mean)..... so.... think first.... letting it heal by itself could be a solution but you better watch and monitor properly, if it becomes badly infected then it could be a big problem later on.

QUOTE(sense_less143 @ Jun 23 2007, 09:06 PM)
I'm sorry about the testicles. I hope it will be fine soon..

I have my own dilemma, tho. I lost Wasabi. Well, not lost exactly lah. He's somewhere in my room, but I dont know where. He was playing as usual and I was kemas-ing my room, and before I know it he was nowhere. I kemas last night, and terus go to sleep. I havent seen him until today.

I tried searching for him, but I cant find him. I'm not that worried coz I heard him sneeze earlier, but I'm afraid he would get stuck somewhere. Today he still hasnt eaten.

But also I read posts of 'naughty' snuggies, who sorok and owners cannot find. I hope I'll find him soon. I havent seen him in 20 hours and I'm having snuggie withdrawals. I think about him all the time, and it's weird not having him on my body in the daytime.  wub.gif
Why did you let your glider roam without firstly developing a close bond with it? You should not let a glider out that is still not bonded to you yet. Sometimes they won't come out at all.... you better find Wasabi soon. Joeys cannot stand long without water and food.... they become dehydrated very fast.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Jun 24 2007, 02:57 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 24 2007, 02:39 AM)
I saw a sugar glider for sale at PW..it was sleepin on beddings. will it be orite if they only put beddings (those for hamsters) for the sugar glider?
Well, it is not advisable... coz they are not hamsters or rodents.... a glider should be sleeping in a hide box or in a pouch, never on the floor of a cage but petshops do not care, as long can sell is enough for them.

21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:32 AM