20 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

krynzpeaches
post May 31 2007, 02:58 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Flora, keep them under your shirt is better, but if they get used to it, they'll want to be in your shirt all the time. Alternate with a bonding pouch so it would be easier for you in the future.

CFP, you can carry the bonding pouch inside, or outside smile.gif Carrying inside your shirt makes them closer and faster to bond, but some suggies will find it too stuffy and does not like it.

I used to carry Iggy outside my shirt only, it still works, look at him now smile.gif

With Luna, I carry her inside my shirt sometimes and sometimes outside, I'm even trying with just putting her in my shirt, which lasted the whole morning just now. Cuz Luna a bit difficult lah, I dunno what else to do until I'm playing strict with her sweat.gif Seems to work a bit tongue.gif

---

Now I've put Luna in my shirt again smile.gif Kindda fun cuz I don't have to be hanging the pouch around my neck all the time while doing work, she found a fav place, at the back of my shoulder... Near arm pit sweat.gif Hahaha.

I need to speed up the bonding cuz need to introduce them soon, having two seperate cages is a hassle and tiring, plus the bedding/litter beads, finish faster... Giving Luna another week... Yesterday and today, has some improvements lah smile.gif Ohh, I've introduce their smell tho, Luna now is sleeping in Iggy's sleeping pouch smile.gif Last night when I gave it to her, she seemed to like it and acted really weird blink.gif She smell2 the pouch, then went in, then started rubbing her head and body all over the pouch... shocking.gif

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: May 31 2007, 03:53 PM
krynzpeaches
post May 31 2007, 05:57 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ May 31 2007, 05:34 PM)
Hahah... inside shirt is faster. Like my Kiah tongue.gif Well, I think Luna is scent marking.... you know what Kiah would do when I put her on other people? She will run up their arm, goes to their head, and starts grooming and rubbing her head against their head hahaha.... it's really funny...
But I must wear another top inside, or else geli a bit. She seems to have snuggle up pretty good in my shirt, woke her up and wanted to put her back inside her pouch, she make dunno aje... I open a bit my shirt, she terus go back in sweat.gif Hahaha laugh.gif

Scent marking? Female gliders don't have scent gland on their head, why would she rub it like no ones business? It was so weird to see, like she "miang" also got doh.gif I was like, "Luna, what are you doing?" She look at me, then continue rubbing-rubbing her head, then climb up the pouch while dragging her chest and belly across shocking.gif Hahaha... But I hope everything will turn out good, hoping to properly introduce them next weekend. Will be spending more time with Luna this weekend and next week thumbup.gif

KP

ps - I still need the bath appointment ah smile.gif Luna still stinks a bit, cannot kiss-kiss her like Iggy, smelly girl tongue.gif
krynzpeaches
post May 31 2007, 06:37 PM

2,047 posts

Hmm, cud be... Also I thot she wanted to pick up the scent on her...

Ohh, she pees a lot more than Iggy I noticed blink.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 1 2007, 12:11 PM

2,047 posts

Everyone wave.gif

Especially wodent wheel owners, check my siggie rclxms.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 4 2007, 02:39 PM

2,047 posts

Hallo, hallo wave.gif

Haha CFP, so glad Chika loved the wheel rclxms.gif You did a good job in hanging those wheel I see smile.gif I'm gonna redecorate my cage since Iggy and Luna are together now icon_idea.gif Looking for some cable tie, got some idea to triple up the current cage I have brows.gif But dunno yet will work or not, when dah siap, I'll take some pix smile.gif

Flora, I can do a 2nd round bulk if can reach MOQ 10 again smile.gif Anyway, when I was at the Pet Safari last Saturday, I noticed that they have this new big wheel selling, but it doesn't have a cover. The size is similar to the wodent wheel senior (you can ask those who got the wheel how big it is compared to a normal hamster wheel). They're selling at RM96 each.

Snow, Shurie is so teeny tiny cute wub.gif Ofcourse she looks a lil' small on the wheel. Just wait a few more month and see smile.gif One more thing Iggy is so rajin at grooming himself, that's why no smell, unlike Luna, rarely see her groom. I guess that's why she kindda don't like it when Iggy wants to groom her tongue.gif

A lil' update, I've already introduce Iggy and Luna over the weekend, had to speed it up due to some unforeseen circumstance plus the fact that my husband keeps on nagging me for the 2 cages in the hse sad.gif

I placed their cage side by side for 3 nights. Everynite Iggy will bark and hiss calling out to Luna, then every morning I let Iggy out to meet Luna with supervision. As usual, the male is more accepting the female than the other way round sweat.gif Iggy immediately follows Luna, chatting with her, grooming her... Luna is a bit quiet but sometimes let out a squeek as a sign that she doesn't really like Iggy grooming her... After that I put them back in their respective cage. Yesterday I let them meet in the cage, when they got into the pouch together, still with Luna squeeking a bit from time to time, I let them be for the whole day. They slept in together just fine smile.gif So now they're in one cage already, at night, they seem to be playing with each other, occasionally will get a squeek from Luna because Iggy is over grooming her doh.gif Other times I can hear Iggy chatting to Luna with a soft click-click sound... He now reminds me of Chiwek, following and staying as close as possible to Luna, even woke up and look at me if I take peek in their pouch, like scared I'm gonna take Luna away tongue.gif

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jun 4 2007, 02:43 PM
krynzpeaches
post Jun 4 2007, 03:11 PM

2,047 posts

Getting Shurie a friend too rclxms.gif

But by then Shurie a bit big already, make sure intro properly yeah smile.gif

When I get pix of them, I'll post 'em up smile.gif

I'm thinking of a way how to fatten up Iggy and Luna so they'll become like Sugre's Rene and Roscoe, so big, so best to handle and squeeze-squeeze laugh.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 5 2007, 12:59 PM

2,047 posts

Snow, I'll try and take pixs of them to something for comparison, cannot take both together, they'll fight smile.gif

Hun, yeah, lucky they can get along, but Luna still squeeks to dissaprove sometimes. But the best time is when they sleep together, all curled up, on top of each other, sometimes tangled dunno who is who tongue.gif I have them both with me at the office today. They're in one pouch, but I brought along another one cuz I wanna let my friend take care of Iggy, but when seperated them, Luna is fine sleeping with me, but Iggy cannot sleep, keep on looking for something... Haihhh, cari Luna lah tu doh.gif So ended up put them back together... Really feel like Chiwek's case also lah sweat.gif

CFP, if my calculation is right, Iggy is about 9 months now and Luna is 11 months. Well, having 2 gliders atleast doesn't make you feel guilty if you can't spend a lot of time with them. If I work on my own, I'd keep only one glider cuz they'll stay closer to you compared to 2 wink.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 6 2007, 02:22 PM

2,047 posts

Wahaha, they got weighed rclxms.gif

Would like to know how much Iggy & Luna weighs too, but I don't have the right scale lor to do it tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 6 2007, 05:22 PM

2,047 posts

That's why gliders are NOT pets for CHILDREN.

No sales here.

Pls do it in the Garage Sales.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 10:27 AM

2,047 posts

Gonjazz, gonjazz, gonjazz...

Do you know that sugar glider are EXOTIC animals???

Do you know anything about taking care of them before you purchase them???

Do you even know anything about SUGAR GLIDERS???

We have had people posting about these kind of stuff over and over and over again... And over and over and over again we tell them to do research first before posting such basic questions because as suggie lovers, these kind of questions will at one point outrage us because it can cause harm to our beloved suggie family.

For now, I suggest you to do research, research, research before posting any basic questions.

From your post, I assume that you haven't even read the 1st post in this thread. If we keep on answering your questions, it would end up almost as lengthy as the 1st page, so spare our time and do your research 1st.

But before you do anything,

1. STOP feeding your glider TURTLE food! For goodness sake, it's for TURTLES, NOT GLIDERS.

2. Start giving them fruits, a variety is better. Mealworms are a must too for their protein source, you can start introducing it to them.

3. SEPERATE THEM! They will feel lonely but we cannot let siblings male and female together, INBREEDING will happen! If you want them to have a companion, exchange them with a non sibling. If you have time to for them, they will NOT feel lonely.

Now you can proceed with your research.

One more thing for everyone's info : "Sugar gliders thrive for companion, NOT REPRODUCTION, so they CAN be kept within same sex as long as proper introduction is done and no intention of introducing them to the opposite sex later on."

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jun 7 2007, 10:50 AM
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 10:55 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jun 7 2007, 10:46 AM)
KP, I need some help, Shurie will not take any mealworms from me. She somehow dislikes them or is afraid of them. I've tried Hun's suggestion by pulling off the head and letting her lick the juice but she still would not even look at the worm. sweat.gif

Do you have any other ideas how I can feed Shurie the worms?
Hmm, as far as I know Hun's trick is the only other way... Unless you got stuff like Sugar Nectar to sprinkle onto the worms...

In my opinion, she might still be too young to like or know how to eat mealworms, maybe you try giving it to her weekly now, or until she grows a bit more.

How about crickets? Have you ever tried with crickets? Oh wait, I think she might be too small for that sweat.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 11:28 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(flora02 @ Jun 7 2007, 11:04 AM)
at what age should give them mealworm??? like snowcandy's case, must plug out head and squueze the cream for them izzit??
It depends on your suggie. You can introduce it to them when they can eat solid food.

The cut off the head part is if your suggie doesn't seem to like the mealworm naturally. It's sort of to entice them.

But different suggie will be different. You can try and see first, if they don't take the mealworm, then only try with cutting the head off. Once they know how to eat it, no need to cut the head off already.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 11:40 AM

2,047 posts

Larr, you've been giving her superworms ke??

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 11:49 AM

2,047 posts

Ler patut laa doh.gif

Try give her the small ones la, I think she'll eat that one smile.gif

Iggy and Luna also I feed the small ones only. The super worms are super hideous, I'd be scared to eat it too tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 12:05 PM

2,047 posts

The small ones are scarier than the super worms blink.gif

Ekk, I'm scared of the super worms tongue.gif

Anyway, I use tweezers until now, to pick up the mealworms.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 02:34 PM

2,047 posts

Haha, we're all kindda geli when it come to squirming things tongue.gif

Try with the small one lah Snow, I think Shurie will love it wink.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 03:03 PM

2,047 posts

Yup, yup, most aquarium shops will have them smile.gif

RM1 can normally last me 1 month.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Jun 7 2007, 06:22 PM

2,047 posts

Aiyoh, people, read properly, sales are not allowed here, please do it in the GS!

Hun, shoot these people.

KP

Added on June 7, 2007, 6:57 pmOMG blink.gif Iggy followed Luna into my shirt, now both hanging inside my shirt sleeping doh.gif

I try to keep Luna in my shirt as often as possible cuz she's still not bonded with me yet, won't come to me or know how to go back to the cage...

Such a tough girl to crack...

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jun 7 2007, 06:57 PM
krynzpeaches
post Jun 8 2007, 10:16 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 7 2007, 07:51 PM)
If it has a smart brain like us, we won't be taking sugar gliders as pets, they may end up ruling the earth like humans...

...especially now I can only see with 1 eye...
OMG, suggies rule the world, arghhh shocking.gif

That would be the day I'd like to see tongue.gif They'll probably do all the things that you have done to them like feeding you with TURTLE food! Muahahaha laugh.gif

Ohh dear Hun, I hope you get better soon sad.gif Have you been watching "Pirates"?? tongue.gif

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Jun 7 2007, 11:35 PM)
btw, aiko make some other sounds now . dunno how to explain. never heard it before. aiko will start make that sound and chika will respond with either the same sound or bark ..
Ahh, since Iggy & Luna are together, there are so many-many sounds now... From soft barking followed by hissing, hissing, chatting or clicking, squeaking, crabbing and so on... sweat.gif

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Jun 7 2007, 11:56 PM)
Shurie barked in the middle of my class. sweat.gif
Luckily it was a soft bark, I think she was dreaming of something since she was sleeping when she barked.
She's dreaming biggrin.gif That happens sometimes with Iggy & Luna too... So weird blink.gif

KP

ps - Hun I''ll still be needing the bath for Luna, probably even Iggy too, cuz he's catching on her "stinkness" since they're together now doh.gif But won't kacau you this weekend since you're not feeling well, mebbe next weekend (16 or 17)...

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Jun 8 2007, 10:18 AM
krynzpeaches
post Jun 8 2007, 03:15 PM

2,047 posts

Snow, do you know that suggies have 2 types of hissing?

One, when they pee.

Two, when they call to each other.

There's a difference between both if you listen closely, as for Iggy or Luna when they hiss to call each other, their mouth is slightly open and the hissing is more louder and shorter smile.gif

KP

20 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0593sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:59 AM