Coffee Discussion : 20 May 2007 8 pm @ 1Utama

seen
post Apr 9 2007, 01:00 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2007, 12:54 PM)
already took a shot at the interviewer being male so definitely slim chances. ><
Huh? Why?

Uhh... I do have a blog but it's a product of boredom in the office. I dont think it can be considered as a blog because it's kinda err..umm...don't know how to explain. But you can check it out and you'll understand:b

http://www.seenees.blogspot.com/
TSmyremi
post Apr 9 2007, 01:42 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 9 2007, 12:55 PM)
but as kid said, your opinion is a little bit skewered as well, western girl gamers as a matter of fact occupies a huge % of the gaming market, with mmo's in general and games like the sims. and another research analysist also indicate that girl gamer plays longer hours than general guy gamers smile.gif
of course it's skewered. put it this way. research is done yes. the findings are what u mention yes. what research hasn't necessarily done is persuade the male-dominated community in general that girl gamers good at what they do. girl gamers are usually look down upon or ridiculed for playing a game that is considered mannish.

when the mainstream medias are still making a big hoohaa or going big-eyed about the existance of female gamers for more than 20 years, you know that it's not widely accepted for females to be gaming. let's take out nintendogs, the sims, 2nd life. look at the RPGS, RTS games out there. majority of female players are still closet players and only recently have some been speaking up about it.

surprisingly, female asian players are more accepted in asian gaming communities compared to the western gaming community. i'm not sure why this is happening but it's easier for an asian male to accept the fact that females like playing games and that they're pretty decent. for westerners, they're still extremely shock that females are gaming or are in denial.

Added on April 9, 2007, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(seen @ Apr 9 2007, 01:00 PM)
Huh? Why?

Uhh... I do have a blog but it's a product of boredom in the office. I dont think it can be considered as a blog because it's kinda err..umm...don't know how to explain. But you can check it out and you'll understand:b

http://www.seenees.blogspot.com/
actually, it wasn't intentional but after reading it, my brain went oops. doh.gif but since the deed is done, decided to leave the post as is and let the repercussions come forth.

a blog is what you want to say. or post. although, it can get boring. i got bored after 2-3 yrs of food blogging.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 9 2007, 01:58 PM
seen
post Apr 9 2007, 02:02 PM

87 posts

Well, when I play in CCs by myself, I've had many experiences where guys would come over and attempt to "teach" me stuff about the game that I was playing.

One particular incident which is still stuck in my mind was when I was playing RO in a CC. I was lvling a lv70 hunter. At that time, my hp and mp was low but if you play a hunter in RO, you know you can kill a mob without it touching you at all if you set the traps right. Anyway, this guy beside me saw that I was lvling with low hp and mp and he said "hey, your hp is low". I just said "I know" and he said "come, let me teach you something". I thought what kinda hax or something is he gonna teach me, manatau, he leaned over and pressed the "insert" key, which basically is the sit command (in RO, when you sit, your hp and mp regenerates faster).

I was totally speechless (I don't usually get speechless) when he did that and he even said "your hp will regen faster this way". I was thinking WTF? I'm a lv70 hunter and you think I didn't know how to SIT?

My conclusion is, either he thinks I'm really stupid just coz I'm a female or he is really stupid in thinking that I'm stupid.
Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2007, 02:21 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Apr 9 2007, 02:02 PM)
Well, when I play in CCs by myself, I've had many experiences where guys would come over and attempt to "teach" me stuff about the game that I was playing.

One particular incident which is still stuck in my mind was when I was playing RO in a CC. I was lvling a lv70 hunter. At that time, my hp and mp was low but if you play a hunter in RO, you know you can kill a mob without it touching you at all if you set the traps right. Anyway, this guy beside me saw that I was lvling with low hp and mp and he said "hey, your hp is low". I just said "I know" and he said "come, let me teach you something". I thought what kinda hax or something is he gonna teach me, manatau, he leaned over and pressed the "insert" key, which basically is the sit command (in RO, when you sit, your hp and mp regenerates faster).

I was totally speechless (I don't usually get speechless) when he did that and he even said "your hp will regen faster this way". I was thinking WTF? I'm a lv70 hunter and you think I didn't know how to SIT?

My conclusion is, either he thinks I'm really stupid just coz I'm a female or he is really stupid in thinking that I'm stupid.
he is stupid either way

novice training included sit.
Gladys
post Apr 9 2007, 02:23 PM

158 posts

RO got $ got pot = winner laugh.gif

btw lvl 70 hand lvling? what server r u playing last tme?

Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2007, 02:33 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Gladys @ Apr 9 2007, 02:23 PM)
RO got $ got pot = winner  laugh.gif

btw lvl 70 hand lvling? what server r u playing last tme?
hand leveled my assassin to 92 or 93, i felt stupid thinking back. pure waste of time /sigh
she 70 only, consider good, didnt waste time.
Kidicarus
post Apr 9 2007, 02:40 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2007, 01:42 PM)
of course it's skewered. put it this way. research is done yes. the findings are what u mention yes. what research hasn't necessarily done is persuade the male-dominated community in general that girl gamers good at what they do. girl gamers are usually look down upon or ridiculed for playing a game that is considered mannish.

when the mainstream medias are still making a big hoohaa or going big-eyed about the existance of female gamers for more than 20 years, you know that it's not widely accepted for females to be gaming. let's take out nintendogs, the sims, 2nd life. look at the RPGS, RTS  games out there. majority of female players are still closet players and only recently have some been speaking up about it.

surprisingly, female asian players are more accepted in asian gaming communities compared to the western gaming community. i'm not sure why this is happening but it's easier for an asian male to accept the fact that females like playing games and that they're pretty decent. for westerners, they're still extremely shock that females are gaming or are in denial.

Added on April 9, 2007, 1:58 pm

actually, it wasn't intentional but after reading it, my brain went oops.  doh.gif  but since the deed is done, decided to leave the post as is and let the repercussions come forth.

a blog is what you want to say. or post. although, it can get boring. i got bored after 2-3 yrs of food blogging.
I'm the only Malaysian in my EU guild (and as far as i know, on my server lol) and i like it that way. Thing is we've always had "girlz" in my guilds. And we've always accepted them as equals in raids. In fact one of the most feared and respected pvp warrior players on my server was female (probably cos of the garangness).

Yes, they are rare and guys tend to be nicer to them as well. But i don't think that's a bad thing.

In spite of your preconceptions, from experience, in wow at least i don't think girls are discriminated against based on their sex.

And it's always nice to hear a female voice on vent/TS biggrin.gif

@ Quaz This thread is about coffee... i think it went off topic ages ago. Besides nothing to do at work apart from trolling tongue.gif

Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2007, 02:43 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 9 2007, 02:40 PM)
I'm the only Malaysian in my EU guild (and as far as i know, on my server lol) and i like it that way.  Thing is we've always had "girlz" in my guilds.  And we've always accepted them as equals in raids.  In fact one of the most feared and respected pvp warrior players on my server was female (probably cos of the garangness).

Yes, they are rare and guys tend to be nicer to them as well.  But i don't think that's a bad thing.

In spite of your preconceptions, from experience, in wow at least i don't think girls are discriminated against based on their sex.

And it's always nice to hear a female voice on vent/TS  biggrin.gif

@ Quaz  This thread is about coffee... i think it went off topic ages ago.  Besides nothing to do at work apart from trolling  tongue.gif
i personally think guys are discriminated cuz people treat girls better lololloloolololololol

anyways yeah, was just pointing out. but i dont think its bout coffee despite the title, more of the gathering plan on may between those 3 girls.
seen
post Apr 9 2007, 02:45 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 9 2007, 02:33 PM)
hand leveled my assassin to 92 or 93, i felt stupid thinking back. pure waste of time /sigh
she 70 only, consider good, didnt waste time.
Umm.. hand level to 92 actually, the incident happend when I was around 70ish. Had a guildmate who lvled his wizard to lv99. To me, I play games for the experience, which includes lvling....but in RO it became bot or guild war....So when WoW launched, I never even CONSIDERED going back.

Gladys, I was in Iris1 in a guild which is the "opposite faction" of legions...but for the life of me, I cannot remember my own guild name.. >.< Only remember the enemy's hahaha

This post has been edited by seen: Apr 9 2007, 02:48 PM
Gladys
post Apr 9 2007, 03:04 PM

158 posts

lolol... can hand lvl there ? i tired but bot just way too fast to shoo shoo here n there.. so then i play pk server hand lvl =.= i can only remember my own guild name - just a game - cant remmeber enemy one.. they are too weak yet to be remember whistling.gif

wow launch that time i still playing @ ro <i start wow not long ago only> have a crush with a sniper but sad story turn up.. : \
Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2007, 03:06 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Apr 9 2007, 02:45 PM)
Umm.. hand level to 92 actually, the incident happend when I was around 70ish. Had a guildmate who lvled his wizard to lv99. To me, I play games for the experience, which includes lvling....but in RO it became bot or guild war....So when WoW launched, I never even CONSIDERED going back.

Gladys, I was in Iris1 in a guild which is the "opposite faction" of legions...but for the life of me, I cannot remember my own guild name.. >.< Only remember the enemy's hahaha
then you also wasted ur time lol... and yeah, same here, im done with ro... or any korean/asian mmo's, or asian based community mmo's. WoW for life. (until sc2 or world of starcraft comes out tongue.gif)
TSmyremi
post Apr 9 2007, 03:18 PM

1,846 posts

kid, q : don't worry about going off-topic here. after all, it's like coffee time here anytime. off topics are ok with me smile.gif

and yeah, it's mostly us 3 gals trying to settle a get-together in May. only reason it's a separate post becoz we always hijack other posts. >< guild recruitment, heated discussions, looking for WoW starter pack and suddenly bang, we're talking meeting up. ><

gladys : awwww... sorry to hear about that sad story. sad.gif

seen : cannot imagine leveling a character for so long. ><

how did u guys tahan the pure grind of asian mmo? i reember in FlyFF very painful. tried a few other asian mmos, all the same. cannot tahan.
Kidicarus
post Apr 9 2007, 03:50 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2007, 03:18 PM)
kid, q : don't worry about going off-topic here. after all, it's like coffee time here anytime. off topics are ok with me smile.gif

and yeah, it's mostly us 3 gals trying to settle a get-together in May. only reason it's a separate post becoz we always hijack other posts. >< guild recruitment, heated discussions, looking for WoW starter pack and suddenly bang, we're talking meeting up. ><

how did u guys tahan the pure grind of asian mmo? i reember in FlyFF very painful. tried a few other asian mmos, all the same. cannot tahan.
LAWL who's worried about going off topic? It's my duty to do so brows.gif
seen
post Apr 9 2007, 04:00 PM

87 posts

myremi>> now that I think back..yeah, I don't know how I did it too. I actually hunted for vitata card for 3 whole months! Imagine hitting the SAME mobs in the SAME place for THREE MONTHS! hahaha was really bad.

yeah, I've tried Flyff, water margin, rose online, even as beta tester for Lineage but yeah the grinding kinda sux...
Kyogezsho
post Apr 9 2007, 04:35 PM

195 posts

talking about RO ...
i bet no one could beat set84...

core member of KAOS in chaos server that joined RWC tongue.gif
ownage man lol
Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2007, 05:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 9 2007, 03:18 PM)

yes, asian mmo blows, so much, they lack the creativity to stop sucking, and now they are copying WoW interfaces. if you havent noticed, the recent asian mmo releases are ALL using the same if not similiar interface as WoW... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
its shit like that that makes me feel bad about my own heritage.

for me personally though, i had my sister playing with me tongue.gif
shes a priest.

kyogezsho: the part of him joining RWC is ownage, the part where he is KAOS isnt, sadly.
seen
post Apr 9 2007, 05:36 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Kyogezsho @ Apr 9 2007, 04:35 PM)
talking about RO ...
i bet no one could beat set84...

core member of KAOS in chaos server that joined RWC tongue.gif
ownage man lol
O.o !!! /salute
Anyone from Tengtitlei?
limsk
post Apr 9 2007, 06:13 PM

62 posts

My WOW guild always had girls - some of them were officers and beladi hardcore raiders too. Some of them were pretty garang - definitely didnt need anybody to manja them hehe. Was one incident when a new guildee made some sexist comment on Vent and promptly kena hantam teruk teruk by the girl with a lot of $#!$^&! and the rest of us laughing like gila becuase he really deserved it.

The only exception is PVP, very few of them (can count on one hand) that were active in PVP.

This post has been edited by limsk: Apr 9 2007, 06:14 PM
seen
post Apr 9 2007, 06:39 PM

87 posts

My previous WoW guild was lead by a woman, a very hot looking one too! Our guildmistress is pretty garang and a hardcore PvPer, she reached rank 13 once but in the end couldnt take any more time off for pvp. Raid leader is her husband who was an ex model. Our healing class lead is also a lady and main puller is also a woman (who playes a MALE orc hunter, BEST puller I ever know). We even have a female only thread in the guild forum where males (except the webmaster) cannot view it.

And I've seen their pics, and yes, they are HOT. We have some HOT guys in our guild too, one who looks almost exactly like that egyptian good guy in the Mummy.

TSmyremi
post Apr 9 2007, 07:15 PM

1,846 posts

Brandon Fraser smile.gif

87 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:33 AM