8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Cryptocurrencies Mining, Hardware,. Pool, software

jett138
post Jul 5 2021, 01:32 PM

304 posts

actually miners can group buy the spot if really keen. they are letting go by moq of 100pcs /lot and its selling fast actually.

scalpers with capital and labor can buy these to average down their cost, refurbish and resell again to hold the pricing. since new ones are going for 2.8k +- buying in lots is about 1.8k inclusive of shipping door to door, then the labor, thermal paste and pads cost. their cost should be around 2.1k still got about 20% margin at least to sell.

biggest winner would be pc shops to eat up the stock, refurbish and resell as a bundle pc.

we would see more old cards flooding compared to rtx30 series and amd 6000 and rtx 5000 series since these cards still are useful to certain extent for various industries and usage.

instead of hoping to buying in smaller lot or wait for it to flood the market is nearly impossible, china ban on crypto mining doesnt affect much on eth network total hash and other gpu pow networks. only bitcoin slumped by a lot, and now difficulty has been readjusted so more people will buy s9 and steal electricity to mine lol.

anchovies will have anxiety attack whereas bigger players is greedily eating up the stock as we discuss.

if they are selling gpu means their rig should be for sale also, you dont see them selling gpu mining rigs by timbang right.
jett138
post Jul 7 2021, 02:28 PM

304 posts

3090 and 3080 running on gddr6x, junction temp easily hits 100-108C while mining. sometimes will have error stating too hot, performance degraded. spend some time oc and experiment to find your optimal limit and monitor your card to know more about its limit.

It is recommended to upgrade the thermal pads, paste. add more if the aib doesnt comes with back plate thermal pads contact. managed to bring it down 70 to 80C +- in thermal controlled environment.

temp to look out for
gddr6x started to fry above 110C
will die very soon upon 120C.

if you have budget go for water cooling.
jett138
post Jul 7 2021, 06:49 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Jul 7 2021, 05:27 PM)
Possible for newbie like me, i mean really damn new for all these things to replace the thermal pads/paste?
I swear i'll be very becareful, but im afraid i'll void the warranty or break something else
Budget is not a problem, just don't had any knowledge at all  rclxub.gif
plenty of online resources available, make sure you buy the right paste and pads. dont get liquid metal.
pads can go for chinese manufactured. Look out for gpu compatible ones, safest just buy minus pads.

Gpu are not so easily broken, just dont unplug the fan and led with force. stickers to remove with ease use stationary blade, the sharp kind.
read around, do your research, buy the spare parts <-- dont buy just enough, a little more is fine just incase you screwed up.

Great to know budget is not an issue so you will have fun during the learning curve with all the trial and error can be done onto it.

Dell ones are easier compared to the other aib.

Have fun. rclxm9.gif
jett138
post Jul 7 2021, 08:21 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Jul 7 2021, 09:06 PM)
btw, eth slowly crawling up... u all mining eth right? smile.gif
Never stopped, will not stop.
On the path to grow a daily 1 mil venture.
jett138
post Jul 9 2021, 02:21 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jul 8 2021, 11:50 PM)
What's the hashrate to get a daily min payout of 0.1ETH by say Sparkpool with current ETH price?

0.1 ETH = RM900?

Or u guys prefer Nicehash?
2700mh/s

nicehash if you dont have 2.7gh/s or you want to have small rigs running on nicehash so you can later pay for hashpower for your sparkpool. sometimes its profitable to buy hash power there.
jett138
post Jul 9 2021, 01:56 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Jul 9 2021, 10:31 AM)
Hmm, That probably will need 27pcs of RTX3080 on the rig which is not that bad for the space it will take compare to low tier GPUs, Only problem is cost.

Have you ever thought of transferring all that heat produced by these GPUs if we were to custom waterlooped them to warm up the water for the entire house. Who needs water heater right
it will be a complicated design with fins built into your heater tank and high chances of leak and very difficult for maintenance. if algae happens you are in trouble. it can be done but remember thermal equilibrium, i dont like the idea of water cool cards running at 55C and above. we design water to be 120C so whenever you switch on the tap can always enjoy 38C good warm temperature for bath tub or pure enjoyment. sometimes higher temp for the water vapor effect.

you need one pipe design for in and out for connection to your water heater tank, preferably use thicker copper than usual. secondly from your wall to your gpu racks can use quick release. depending on volume and height difference you might need a booster pump that can handle coolant and not leak. and hopefully your heat sink in the tank will not corrode or covered with any other dirt that comes with incoming water.

last but not least the temperature once reach 50C in your water heater tank your gpu will be running at 60C or more, i havent put into equations to calculate but roughly there. dont forget your walls will be warm all the time also.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

R12 mobo is not greatly exceptional as any x570 can do same or better especially mid to high end boards.
Cross fire doesnt need any adapter for all boards, nvlink is require if only you wanted to run 3090+3090 in a very stable manner for example AI, rendering etc. dual sli can be done w/o nvlink but performance isnt great.

and the amount of gpu is limited by your cpu on windows os, linux is the way to go if you want to build more than 8 gpu. intel processors can handle less bus lanes compared to ryzen, even your mobo has a lot of lanes, there is only so little you can use them in a stable manner.

3090 is space efficient compared to price and performance ratio. depends on your current size and priority. my 3090 running at 40 to 45% efficiency compared to 3080 50%, 3070 50 to 56%, 3060ti 49 to 55%.

if you do not plant to run rtx 30 series on pcie 1x is doable, else your system will be unstable on windows os.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTE(0300078 @ Jul 9 2021, 10:41 AM)
hi bro, u got download the GPUZ to check your 3090 memory temperature? i owned a R12 3080 and without opening it out to add thermal paste is impossible to mining it at temperature below 110 for the memory alone. The case design and the fan design make the card heat up so fast.... mining eth for 15min will have your card over 110 and have the card automatic throttle. Only after adding thermal paste to the DDR Ram directly only able to bring it below 100.

As for 3090 i owned a Zotac 3090, the heat for the card mainly comes from the back DDR rom as it does not have cooling fan on it, even with added and upgraded thermal pad plus thermal paste the thing can run up till 106 degree, only solution is either u got waterblock cooling or u add fans to the back of the 3090. That alone will bring the temperature down till 90 something.

So as now you combine r12 with 3090 (dell oem card really have bad cooling design) it will be very hot and i can imagine it will be pretty difficult to bring down the temp of the back.
if you have space, fill up the gap and make your pcb and backplate contact while adding small fins usually for robotics on your back plate, it works. of course make better ventilation of the case or just run the pc wil all panels open, bare case would be another option.
jett138
post Jul 9 2021, 06:09 PM

304 posts

gen 3/4 doesnt matter. i run them on gen 2 and enabled mining on bios for msi boards.

is mining via egpu viable ? i never tried egpu thunder bolt before frankly speaking.

like what wong said, check your OC settings again for best hash rates.

Prices of gpu might rise back after august. its not crippling as people thought its happening in china.
lhr cards are good with alts and cheap for now, can consider to build alt specific with good ROI with LHR now.
Once london fork is rolled out, market will adjust itself for eth mining. cards will be expensive again.

This post has been edited by jett138: Jul 10 2021, 11:53 PM
jett138
post Jul 13 2021, 12:25 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Jul 12 2021, 11:25 AM)
i don't think card will be expensive again, if u buy on august, u have less than 6 months to get back your ROI as ETH will go to POS. then there will be no mining for ETH anymore
get 3070ti, mine raven coin. about 3.9 usd/ day = better ROI than eth. conflux can reach about 4 usd at times. now about 2.8 usd/day. OC depending on you. 3080ti can get real low also.
Eth already no longer the most profitable algo for some cards. 3070ti can get for 3.4 / 3.5k / pcs more can get about 3.3 to 3.1 range. distributors have alot of stock on hand, give them a call and nego for an offer.

i find LHR cards are such a bargain to mine alts, after august shall monitor how the market might react after eip1559 where eth will lose another 30% on your mining profits makes it to about 2.xx usd/day
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
gpu are not asics, if you are getting the ethash asics then yes, you only have about 6 months for POS. then later change to etc.

cards will maintain above msrp, might not be as crazy as before. still price will dip a little and rise back for various scenario of supply and demand
jett138
post Jul 13 2021, 05:48 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(simmarjit @ Jul 13 2021, 05:47 PM)
Which distributor?
all of them, you are aware its the same bunch of people right.
as long as you are buying b2b not b2c.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jul 13 2021, 06:30 PM)
any recommended pool for raven coin farming?
am on 2miner, will try others once a few more rigs are online and monitor for a month.
jett138
post Jul 16 2021, 05:21 AM

304 posts

every week sell partially for upkeep and ROI, convert to other defi about 30% gaining daily 2 to 0.2% daily is actually not too bad as long as the token / pair doesnt tank more than your interest.

some times purposely sell to short the market and buy back.
set your own strategy, make exit plan if you strictly mine eth only.
jett138
post Jul 19 2021, 10:42 PM

304 posts

i think by this moment, not much people will specifically build for eth alrd. not knowing what will happen after eip1559 and remaining time till pos.

raven network has more hashrate growth
jett138
post Aug 3 2021, 09:49 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Aug 2 2021, 06:31 PM)
bad news for eth miners...good news for those who transfer eth frequently
bad news for miners not necessarily good news for frequent users. it only eliminate the mismatched of gas fees due to volatile congestion. in the end fast transactions will still cost you more gas. and it will be burned instead of giving it to miners.
not a win win solution, more towards to stop some miner uses bot to increase their profit and congest the network. since it will be burned, and no point doing it and hopefully the gas fees will be less volatile.

so in the end they still need to sort the issue of limited transaction per second only fess be cheap, transitioning to PoS can be a way but it brings us back to how government runs monetary.
Btc has limited supply but eth doesnt.
jett138
post Aug 5 2021, 11:58 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 6 2021, 12:37 AM)
Hi guys. I used to have 6 GPU mining rig to mine ETH, ETC and UBIQ up until around Jan last year. Then I stopped mining coz I felt it was not profitable anymore. Even sold one of RX580 8GB GPU for just RM 500 back in Feb just before Covid struck.

Last week I wanted to sell my gaming PC Vega 64 GPUs. Shocked to see crazy price for all GPUs in the market. I think RX 580 8GB now asking price something like RM 1.5K. Managed to sell off the Vega 64 GPUs (just slightly below the price I bought it last time)

So initially I thought I wanted to sell the remaining GPUs from the mining rig. Cleanup the rig/ GPUs and just tested the rig. I have posted the mining rig for sale in Carousell. But checking out the current mining profitability, seems decent. So now I'm a bit of dilemma.

So wanna get your opinion.

1. Should I sell the mining rig (3 x RX 470 4GB, 1 x RX 580 4GB + 1 x RX 470 8GB)? If better to sell, what would be the price?

2. If better I maintain the rig and start mining again, what will be a good coin to mine? 
- I have done ETC and Ubiq before. Just tuned the rig for Ravencoin yesterday. I'm getting this hashrates
- ETC/ UBQ ~ 140-142 MHs with at-wall electricity between 700 - 740 ish Watts
- Ravencoin ~ 54-57 MHs with at-wall electricity between 750-780ish Watts Watts

Dont sell the whole rig, if can sell card by card and scout for the price you are comfortable with.
up to you to disclose to buyer whether is this a mining card.

Looking at how mining goes, always keep the best toys and dispose when new gen is coming. Adjust your own strategy at will.
Big boys will have more asics, gpu is for you to build enough bullet to expand into asics.
In the end of the day its all about how much hash you can put on the table.

If already ROI over the years and you still plan to mine.
Btw, best coin for your setup to mine now is raven.
its time to dispose and jump ship to rtx30 <- while it might crash or price surge as mining profits doesnt seems to be affected by a lot at the time i am writing this.
RTX30 series and rx60 series still giving very good returns.

This post has been edited by jett138: Aug 6 2021, 12:05 AM
jett138
post Aug 9 2021, 01:09 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 7 2021, 10:30 PM)
As expected, Eth mining reward gone down after the London fork
my eth mining earning dropped about 20%

but price has gone up, will keep mining for few more weeks to observe first, maybe more will abandon eth mining and the diff will go down, and good for us who stayed hmm.gif
Wasnt the plan is to mine until ETH goes POS biggrin.gif
although already mining ergo and rvn on the side to balance check and ready for the shift once it happens, and add more asics for bitcoin since its more promising on BTC.

Yes ETH rewards has dropped 20% but we still make almost the same dollar to dollar before EIP1559.

But i dont plan to keep ETH for long term also,
https://tomerstrolight.medium.com/the-probl...um-af9692f4af95

QUOTE(bananajoe @ Aug 8 2021, 10:10 PM)
I stop ETH mining for a while. TNB bill seems killer during PKP.
Anyway how's your profit coming along ?
As long as your household bill yet to exceed 1.1k /month its still cheaper than going full commercial rate, just get a 4 gpu rig setup at least rtx 3070 and above.
leave it on 24/7 its basically same as you installed solar panels. the profits will pay for itself for ROI and covers your electricity bills. just make sure you dont share that circuit with water heaters, a/c, dryers, ironing board should be fine.
jett138
post Aug 10 2021, 11:16 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Aug 9 2021, 05:47 PM)
just curious, at what point will you sell all your ETH?
i swap them as soon as they appeared in my wallet, either to btc or other defi.
Since mining them give me a relatively cheap access to them. I do staked 1 full node of it just to see how it goes after full Pos.

jett138
post Aug 12 2021, 12:47 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Aug 11 2021, 12:15 AM)

Would it affect my payout? i mean for anonymous miner like me via their pool? can someone explain to me the aforementioned message?

So instead of getting 0.1ETH, how much ETH Sparkpool will pay me when i reached 0.1?

So people wiith proper account are advisable to create a sub account for less frequent payout? Izzit better to just having no account (anonymous miner)?
every withdrawal will deduct gas fees depending on the live pricing. not much difference for small amount. sub account is useful for higher hash players like making .5 eth an hour and above as it would save more in terms of % and avrging costs.

QUOTE(adilz @ Aug 12 2021, 01:05 AM)
I never learned anything about crypto other then setting up wallet/ address and mining since started 3 years ago. Mining also suka2 only, on off. But after I saw the video on how this guy bought NFTs using Metamask, made me decided to try and learn.

So instead of using ETH, I decided to try and learn using this token transfer, metamask etc. Decided to use my Ubiq coins since its kinda cheap and if I screw up, at least it wont be so bad.

So read up a little bit on setting up Metamask, and learned about the ERC-20 token. SO just for fun, I decided to put some of my Ubiq coins into the Ubiq Shinobi Liquidity Pool. Transfer coins and tokens using Pyrus, Metamask and the Shinobi wehsite. Just getting a hang of all this send receive token coin thing.

Great to hear you are exploring other uses with your mined coins. do check out various defi which support metamask, can always swap out your mined rvn, ergo, ubiq or any alts to stake for better returns. for example convert to pancake token and enjoy at least 90% apy.

QUOTE(revolution @ Aug 11 2021, 03:38 PM)
raven coin is now more profitable than ETH.. anyone swapping?
would suggest you to spread out your hash power, slowly transition from eth to others. already in RVN long before eip1559 for testing and research for next year direction.
jett138
post Aug 13 2021, 01:05 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Keishi89 @ Aug 13 2021, 09:42 AM)
With hardware cost costing a bomb now a days, I'd like to get some opinions on time frame of recovering back your ROI.

I've been hearing ideally (Best cast scenario) is 3 months but I have no idea how they do it. I crunched some numbers and feel the realistic point would be around the 8-11 months, depending on the coin you plan to mine.

Raven now seems the most profitable but damn it comes a lot of power..
2 months if you buy clearance asics and steal electricity.
3 months if you buy clearance gpu and steal electricity.

4 months if you received your antminer L7 and the ltc/ doge coin price remains the same.

or you have excess electricity generated via solar or other means which gives you access to cheaper rate than energy supplier(TNB/ sarawak energy)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Realistic figure
about 9 and a half months on GPU, not inclusive riser, mobo, rig, psu, rams. if you added all up is all bout 10 or 11 months. say you buy deal price distri -> you
about a year say you buy distri -> dealer-> you

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And yes, to keep this balance sheet positive and possible. means you sell every token mined every month at 45,200 usd /btc.

other strategy you are exploring to hasten up the process of recouping the capital like selling at higher price, staking, trading, liquidity swapping etc will derail you from your 8/11 months roi plan.

3070ti makes about 5usd /day on rvn. 4usd +- on ergo <-- prices started to climb up to 4k +- / pcs
last i got some was at 3.3k. Thermal will be an issue if you have a room full of them, not all 3070ti has waterblock available.

6600xt i am skeptical on the figures as most of the posted figures i can get better tweaking or efficiency.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 13 2021, 01:30 PM)
3070ti? aren't all those are LHR?
you won't be able to mine efficiently with LHR cards

aiks, sorry, typo, ASIC, not RISC tongue.gif
Bro, i told you guys a month ago about 3070ti (basically LHR Cards)
Miners already on the move to eat up more, prices already stagnant and shows sign of uptrend. only in countries where energy is expensive price will be good for gamers example EU.
. i already exploring coins other than eth as it is definite it will die upon POS. so no need to pour energy and heart into this.

2nd hand asics are a steal, get 1 or 2 to learn the ropes first. i assume you are in S'wak, you guys enjoy cheaper electricity there so sure got profit one.

This post has been edited by jett138: Aug 14 2021, 12:27 AM
jett138
post Aug 13 2021, 01:45 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Keishi89 @ Aug 13 2021, 02:28 PM)
Thank you for the clarification notworthy.gif

So my number crunching was somewhat accurate if the market maintains as it is for the 8-11 months to achieve ROI.

I dont plan to get a lot of them as I know what the heat generation is on my current unit. Was thinking at most 4-6 units kept in a well ventilated hall.
you mean 5usd/day right? thats what im getting at the moment.
Yes, based on today prices 5usd/day. a month ago i was at 3.xx usd +-
If get more just make sure to turn on ac 24/7, you know its just a cost of another GPU, 1hp ac of 11,500btu can cool 30 cards remain ambient temperature of 38C in the afternoon and 31C in the night.
and yes i got switch on a water fan cooler for 8 hrs during afternoon to help cooling since humidity maintains about 30 to 37%, auto switches off once the humidity raises above 40%

It seems hardware distributors are reading this thread, prices all jack up as per 1 month ago, when everyone thought lhr unit cannot mine profitably.

This post has been edited by jett138: Aug 13 2021, 02:40 PM
jett138
post Aug 17 2021, 01:35 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Aug 16 2021, 12:50 PM)

Can sifu advice why am i getting this kind of error in trex miner trying raven?

Test mining eth totally fine.

Setting all default per trex preset other than changing wallet address.
Check your settings again, it would seems like they dont recognize you.

QUOTE(guardioo @ Aug 16 2021, 03:01 PM)
If using s9j, which pool can you guys introduce?
Slush, nicehash, poolin, hiveos, antpool, pick any that you have control over with or you are familiar with the payout. For me not much difference between pools.

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 16 2021, 03:40 PM)
is it possible to build GPU miner with just 7k...? what's good to mine...?
Possible, one gpu / 2 gpu rig, if you already have existing mobo, 7k can buy 3 more gpu.
provided you can find the gpu you want. now no stock again. you still make the same with eip1559, so miners continue to build rig + current chipshortage situation.

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Aug 16 2021, 06:52 PM)
last time, non-lhr is down to RM5k or less...Now they have climbed up to 6k range already... Def, they are reading this thread to keep updated with crypto mining info
I heard they place less order on July due to fear, because a lot of FUD of mining crashing, eip1559 etc. therefore a window of cheap gpu available in early July, market has no stock even you got money to buy.
allocation also not like you order bulk can get your stock, scalper cannot give you 8/ 6 gpu of the same variant. people who hope to buy at msrp will rant more, but they can actually buy scalper and miner back to msrp or roi when not using...
Asic manufacturers are banking POS will be delayed again, hoping to sell their ethash machines. scrypt all sold out, ethash able to score on high risk. i dont see the logic if i cannot continue to make another 100% gain.
Btw, continue to build rigs to pass time since shops are not opening anytime soon and dine in also.

jett138
post Aug 18 2021, 04:54 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Aug 17 2021, 04:14 AM)
ya...oh ya, is rx580 a good keeper after eth goes pos? seems like it is not that efficient on other algos like nvidia does.
Keep when you cannot afford to upgrade with your earnings, dispose when your earnings can allow you to upgrade with profit. As about when to liquidate, you gauge yourself. mining is serious business.
As you grow you need space, efficiency, thermals and electricity quota.

GPU will be expensive regardless, main consumption of gpu was never china. heck we have news children mining eth making 32k usd/mo. imagine how many gpu they will buy with their earnings every month.
And asics once they are big enough.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.2516sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:01 PM