304 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 19 2021, 09:49 AM)
https://www.statista.com/statistics/263492/...cted-countries/

china electricity at usd 0.09/ kwh
malaysia electricity at usd 0.06/ kwh

can someone correct me here?

For china you need to be specific, which city as all different rates.
attached is 2 beijing and tian jing.

and yes still cheaper than malaysia.
jett138
post Aug 21 2021, 08:20 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 21 2021, 09:17 AM)
can someone help me clarify profit earning...i see huge discrepancy in two different website. take for example antminer s19 pro.

in asics value, it says to make around usd 30/ day.
in hashrate profitability, it says to make around usd 0.30/day.

that's like 100x difference. did I read something wrong or can someone please guide me which is more reliable.

thanks.
please double check on hashrate input is indeed 110th/s and the electricity is 3250w.
am getting about 35usd inclusive of tnb costs. different firmware, different settings and temperature will yield differently. Just buy in and start mining, you will get a clearer picture.
If buying used, your hashrate should be around 90 - 95th/s running on 3250w or more depending on the psu condition and hash board condition. its fun to play with, get them under oil or a custom hydro block for optimal performance. rarely you will want to sell them, most likely will mine until its too costly to repair them or ran out of spare parts.

If you want to get into asics, its better to get scrypt now. faster ROI.
alternately can consider ethash asics, its good money there compared to gpu mining.
Sha256 mining is there to cover some expenses, need more money to stay afloat.
jett138
post Aug 24 2021, 01:23 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Aug 23 2021, 02:16 PM)
I have few things to ask & share:_

Bad News
1. My kandang is not stable, and the bloody anjing work overtime to reboot all the binatang to masuk kandang. Now offline until i couldnt reboot remotely (im at the office right now)

Any advice?

2. I smelled something burning when i reached home on friday, sniff sniff like bloody anjing and couldn't find, till saturday morning 3 AM the smell getting stronger with my anjing nose. The source was the socket and plug pin to the kandang, lucky didnt burn the whole house.

Any Advice?
Good news

3. I found out yesterday by accident that my dead ayamd RX580 8Gb, has been given another chance to live again just by reflashing HiveOS. So i can conclude after so many reboot by the anjing (watchdog) the OS could get corrupted. You can try, perhaps your dead farm animals that you thought long dead actually working.

user posted imageuser posted image
Now hashing 32-ish MHs

4. I think good kandang must have good mother (mobo) compare to the tiny NUC10 mobo with franskenstein connection (M.2 - PCIE with 2 GPUs - riser & Thunderbolt another GPU) that's why not stable. I'm planning to replace all that with the riserless 8GPU Mobo from saupeee. What do you think?
This green PCB type claims that it has good spacing in between slots (6.5cm) unlike the black one. Anyone use it before?

5. I wonder if the abovementioned mobo able to hash the nerfed 3060 fully, since the card needs gen 3 PCIE, full 16X lane, dummy hdmi and windows to run Nvidia developer driver 470.05 , so if i were to mine using the above mobo, HiveOS is not an option even with the NBminer 70% hashing the LHR card (BTW already tried the 3060 on NBminer - hash rate 25Mhs only not 70% as claimed, dunno abt other LHR cards)

Currently my 3060 has special treatment inside kapal angkasa Aurora r12 hashing 50-ish Mhs with all the aformentioned requirement fullfilled.
The hashrate drops 30-40% when i started play games. See (NSFW) below:-

1. separate nvidia and amd cards. amd cards will cause this to happen from time to time. since you have an R12 and the nuc, why not separate team red and team green ? r12 can use a riser for the 3080.
add another safety measure, use a wifi plug. so you can remotely switch off the electricity and reboot your pc. use a different type of controller if you want to also. i usually do this just incase software froze. i am using a wifi controlled circuit breaker now on all my farms, it comes with very accurate energy monitoring as well. <-- this is optional

2. Get an electrician and check on the load, or use an amp meter to check yourself and rebalance the db if required.

3. your dead amd is due to firmware bricking ? if yes hive can save you. i bricked a lot of 5600xt and saved again by hiveos, or the difficult way is to run on an integrated gpu and reflash the firmware yourself. more steps compared to hiveos.

4. Can try to use and see if you like it or not, personally are not using them anymore because no resell value and difficult to repurpose to do other things. Yes a good/compatible mother board is recommended is due to the bios stability and lanes support available. this uses a server psu, expect loud noises. hiveos works well. they used to sell in a bundle all in one with casing and comes with hiveos usb plugged in for you, just switch on configure, mine and forget about it.

5. can, a lot of chinese farms used this to host their 3060 lhr. they mined alts more than eth using 3060 because of profitability. hashrate drop while playing game is normal, either you choose to play games or to mine. playing games while mining will causes additional stress to your gpu. i used to turn off mining when playing games, got myself another pc for normal usage.
jett138
post Aug 25 2021, 09:30 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 25 2021, 03:10 PM)
does this limited to eth mining with those pools only? or does it is also possible for other coin mining? hmm.gif
Any coins and any pools will have this as long as its possible for empty blocks happening. It's a type of business model for operating mining pools btw. Where got free lunch like 0% fees, money has to come somewhere.

Software take a cut, pools take a cut. As long as it's still profitable for all the game will continue. They will keep you alive so they can continue to leech.

Miner still take home the most btw.

It's just how finance works.
jett138
post Aug 26 2021, 03:17 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Aug 25 2021, 02:55 PM)
Mining pools stealing ETH from miners

Sparkpool
2Miners
F2Pool
Ezil Pool

Claim : https://www.reddit.com/r/EtherMining/commen...ning_pools_are/
#GG
Well all problems started with eth and the eip1559 directions, they choose to kept one eye open and shut the other.
unless we are big enough to solo mine for profit, else have no choice to stay within a big umbrella that occasionally collects some protection fees from you.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Aug 26 2021, 10:19 AM)
yeah a cut here, a cut there, at the end miner still bringing home the most, collectively
but the honesty or transparency of the pool operator is very important as well, how many miners actually go back to deep analyze their numbers?  most just care about their profits only
that's why it's so easy for some shoddy operator to steal a 0.001% from each miners and those 0.001% can be easily covered as variation

I never trust those with 0 fees, how to sustain your pool without any cuts?  doesn't make sense at all laugh.gif
so far nanopool and flex are ok, additional tax mostly will happen in PPS pools more often because its easier to have empty blocks or causes to stale shares. PPLNS will have less.
If the pool enables you to make more than nicehash they are decent already. Even binance do this on their PPS pools.

This post has been edited by jett138: Aug 26 2021, 03:25 PM
jett138
post Aug 27 2021, 03:20 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Aug 27 2021, 12:11 AM)
My kandang vs world's powderfool gpu (rig)

Dell is surprisingly selling this card:-

https://www.dell.com/en-my/shop/nvidia-ampe...hic-video-cards
This card not profitable for mining, better for Ai. But very hard to source also, 80gb variant is even harder to get. in malaysia if want to use AI card for mining, propose your company to buy A5000/a6000 in bulk runs in nvlink mode will be even better since optimization is more in sync compared to bunch of rtx 3090 or quadro rtx8000. will make more money running on normal data mining and simulation models than crypto for the time being.

Ai cards are very much sought after.. last time latest rtx havent launch ai folks were rushing to buyin 3090 also back then, not efficient but better than previous gen quadro. 3090 sli not as good compared to rtx A series in sli.
jett138
post Aug 31 2021, 11:31 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(HoneyVee86 @ Aug 30 2021, 09:45 PM)
I understand some of the shops are not miner friendly, may i know which computer shop selling components for eth miners?

can anyone recommend me a shop to buy components? like GPU, pcie risers etc
All PC shops are miner friendly as we buy more frequent that normal consumers.
If you are asking for shops that are knowledgeable in mining, there arent much around. moreover they are mining themselves and will sell hardware at a price you will have a hard time achieving ROI.
With gpu scarcity now, you entry will be beyond normal ROI if you aim for eth. why not get LHR and start alts and convert back to eth ?

pcie risers, dual psu connectors, fans better source online from shopee / china.

GPU if buying less than 80 pcs go to pc shops, above just go to principle or distributors. and cash up front for the time being. even them cannot guarantee stocks availability. Bulk discounts is almost non existent, but at least you are getting non retailer pricing which is cheaper. Currently all shops have difficulty fulfilling orders above 10 gpu, even bundle sales they dont have enough stock. same goes with 1000w and above psus.

Arent you the one posting for the S19 pro, why not just go full asics ? better returns at asics, cost to cost wise also for electricity calculations etc.
i do gpu mining is because i enjoy building pc, big chunk of payout always from asics.

This post has been edited by jett138: Aug 31 2021, 01:48 PM
jett138
post Sep 1 2021, 04:32 PM

304 posts

Don't get me wrong, under right pricing and circumstances will still recommend newbies to go for gpu mining before going asics, we still need a good mix between 2 to fully capitalize on current mining opportunity.

Asics is when you have enough gpu to sustain yourself say about 5 or 10k usd monthly, or you just have a lot of money parking elsewhere looking for a good investment opportunity.

Gpu mining is for test water, and wouldn't lose out when you try asics. Because of the management between 2 facility is totally different.

I cannot mine in shopping mall on asics, but very possible with gpu miners. Nobody will question a careful built server cabinet. But asics ? That's like telling the whole world you are mining crypto.

On pure mining operation perspective is recommended to go full asics provided you have the capex and opex capabilities.

But looking at current gpu pricing that requires at least 10 to 11 months ROI, it's about time to consider an asics unless you have the gpu for other purposes and mine on the side.

Reselling asics is not as difficult as it seems, we always profit from selling used because you cannot buy asics at msrp also. Once gone you are paying more for an asics. For L3+ selling now is about 3k, or desperately 2.5k. Already roi and profited from that machine since launch. And placed order for new asics, not to mention there are always electricity theft syndicate will buy your lelong asics. That's a guaranteed buyer scheme there. No right or wrong, just how you mitigate your risk and profit.

Gpu more works involved, of repasting, cleaning 6x, 8 x / 12 x depending setup for a mere 300 to 800mh/s compared I refurb one asics already 500mh/s or more.

I enjoy building, but hate to maintain and troubleshooting gpu setups.
jett138
post Sep 1 2021, 11:39 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(heart strings @ Sep 1 2021, 06:08 PM)
for asics it's impossible to mine using standard electricity. one need to tamper with the electricity in order to make money.
Its very possible, just dont use old SHA machines. whistling.gif
we've discussed before, its all simple calculations. whether tampering or not for profitability.

am doing it without stealing electricity. you need to know what you are mining and how to manage it well.
people with solar can have the excessive electricity generated to work instead of receive tnb cash credit since the new NEM doesnt pay out in cold hard cash anymore.

For example S9 you need to steal to earn, but s19 pro you will make very small profit. SHA will not make you bigger profits than ethash, scrypt or other algorithms . pick your machine well.

This post has been edited by jett138: Sep 1 2021, 11:49 PM
jett138
post Sep 4 2021, 12:57 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Sep 3 2021, 09:43 AM)
How much kW can our house plug outlet hold? If I need more outlets, can I ask contractor to add another outlet by extending the wiring from existing plug outlet? I assume wiring rated for house should be sufficient for higher loads
usually 13/15A, check your circuit breaker on the db. should be 1300w to 2300w. depending whether are you 3 phase or single phase.
if you need more outlet, pull a new cable from your db with a new circuit breaker, preferably get a bigger rated circuit breaker and thicker wires so you can safely draw 7000w or full 40A.
Dont assume wire for house is for high load, if say from a 10A circuit breaker usually can find 10awg , if 32A 8 / 6 awg, would really depends on your initial wiring diagram and contractor.
do not assume, its very dangerous. copper wires are expensive. please define high load. if say 12 x 3090 your cables will generate significant amount of heat.

jett138
post Sep 13 2021, 03:15 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 9 2021, 05:18 PM)
Sparkpool fee is getting higher and higher, now even ask to use CCP exchange if dont want to get charge, should i change to nicehash now?
if you can run it 24/7 w/o disturbance, run on binance or other eth pools will have slight better payout compared to nicehash. if you occasionally need to shut down the miner for other stuff just go with nicehash. they are very fair on payout to hashrates, whereas mining pools will penalize you for not maintaining hash rate.
jett138
post Sep 17 2021, 03:56 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Okamizu @ Sep 17 2021, 12:26 PM)
Hi, newbie here. want to ask some questions about mining. I've done some mining on my own gaming laptop for fun (eth). Currently planning to get ASIC miners (need suggestions on what type and where to buy them  biggrin.gif ) budget is not an issue. Any tips & advice is great too. Thanks in advance  thumbup.gif
Fly dubai this november for the world digital mining summit 2021 and score yourself some there. now all asics are spot trading, most likely will be buying at scalper price for used machines.

what type depends on what facility you plan to host in and number of asics to run, and cost of electricity. different scenario different setup.

algo to look into now at today rate.

Pay electricity can make $$
(Rm3k to 90k / unit)

EThash
Scrypt
Kadena
Blake256
Equihash
Handshake
Cuckatoo

---------------------
cheap / zero cost electricity
(rm300 to 80k /unit)

Sha256
Cryptonight
X11
Blake2b
Eaglesong
Qubit
Tensority

Most spot requires you to take more than 2 units or moq 10, most deal only in btc.
If you want to try and understand about asics can just buy shopee/ lazada/ aliexpress/ alibaba those with escrow to prevent kena scam.

Fyi...

If have high leverage on budget buy gpu makes more money than asics, say scoring containers worth of them. brows.gif
but your cost will be higher than local principal because manufacturers prefer to deal with long term partners instead of one off purchases, best bet go futian shenzhen can get what you want since there are a lot of jalan and supply there.
jett138
post Sep 27 2021, 11:42 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(revolution @ Sep 22 2021, 03:15 PM)
anyone here into helium mining? seems like catching up the trend here in malaysia... can share info??
learning it also, maybe we can repurpose telco anthena to giver huge coverage. but not sure whether will it affect other spectrum.

This post has been edited by jett138: Sep 27 2021, 11:42 AM
jett138
post Sep 28 2021, 08:12 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Sep 27 2021, 01:07 PM)
Do you think keep expanding GPU currently is still good idea?
How do you determine when to 'stop' expanding GPU and collect profit?
Once ETH changed to PoS, what is your opinion for the profitability decrease to mine other coin?
why stop expanding = take profit ? you should be profiting while expanding. run this gig like a proper business, if needed can always leverage to expand further.
if your passive / disposable income is unable to buy rigs monthly, yes you need to expand. if you can already sustain and float, yes you need more gpu.

before PoS alts differences would be 30 to 45% differences, after eth to etc i see it as transition period before alts up their game and start to be very profitable again.

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Sep 27 2021, 03:36 PM)
I'm not familiar with mining alt coin like RVN or others
I can imagine/predict, once unable to mine ETH, there'll be a 'gamer revenge activity like 'lets say no to mining card' or etc.
And it'll earthquake for a month, then everything back to normal again, big mining farm will still get those discounted GPU and expand again
btw what's the lifespan of card like 3080/3090 ? let's say 24/7 working vram temp at 96 degree?
These 2 top tier card always have vram temp issue, while 3070 or below normally doesn't had these vram issue

edit: i did mining ETC on my laptop with 4gb card with GPU temp 52-59, if i change to mine alt coins, the settings is not an issue for me  hmm.gif
gamer revenge or not they will still buy the gpu if you price it correctly, or sell it to other market. Do learn how to repurpose your card for other usage, Mining is only one of it.
why earthquake ? one time not enough a, big mining farm will continue to expand why not you ?

life span of 3080/90 depends on how you see, 3 to 4 years should be no issues. early adopters already made their money back and enjoying profits.
Vram temp issue is also human error issues. there are alot of ways to bring it down.. like constant 70C.

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 28 2021, 06:55 AM)
[attachmentid=10991040]

Habislah Later they shutdown everything  and refuse to pay especially to anonymous miners

They’ll say loh soli we tot u from china

#gg #sparkfool #penipuscammer
this might happen to all chinese pools, they are shutting down everything being feared suddenly disappeared from eye sight. whether refusing to pay to anonymous miners is up to them. can always contact customer support and try your luck.
jett138
post Sep 29 2021, 03:20 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(maskcooler @ Sep 28 2021, 03:23 PM)
want to ask for gpu mining rig. do you all change thermal paste regularly ?
clean every 3 months, repaste and repads if thermal went up more than 2C from usual stable temp.
dont compare GDDR6x and others. not everyone play with the vicious GDDR6X.

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Sep 28 2021, 03:38 PM)
I can get s9i for rm1k in good used condition. My house electricity can be considered free. And also all using high gauge wire. In my bedroom already got 4 point wall socket and each can support up to 5KW load. The limit is only tnb supply.
Buy if electricity is free, buy a lot since you make back the 1k in 2 months. the rest of the months are pure profits, after you mined enough sell one year later at Rm300 per piece also make money. S9i should be about 600 to 800 range btw rolleyes.gif
And yea, any new house with 3 phase can take up to 40kw which is 40,000w do your own maths to see what are you limitations. tnb is not an issue. can always request for more but is it worth it to do on a residential ?

QUOTE(lovingforyou @ Sep 28 2021, 08:21 PM)
I doubt if any big player modify all their 3080/90 to custom liquid cooling  hmm.gif
What i research from random google search, 3080/90 vram below 90 is consider very decent  hmm.gif
But 70c  icon_question.gif  Please pm me if anyone can make 70c notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Got a lot of 3090, 3080 under water(bykski blocks are so cheap buy in bulk is about RM15x per piece, they have the rad and pump bracket combo for cheap also, big upgrade from air cool. get yourself some push lock and a multi channel hydraulic block you are good to go. or repurpose a car abs pump can also do the trick. figure our yourself). some even under oil. but to keep things simple, take good care of your ambient temperature and manage the airflow nicely read up on vortex tube, figure out a way how you can use the principle to your own use. no magic all physics.

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 29 2021, 04:07 PM)
This is my Alienware R12 1000W PSU, looking at sockets, seems to me there are 16 x 6 pins to 8 pins to GPU to Mobo to Peripheral all using the same connector cables, So i wonder if i were to use this PSU to power GPU only outisde the case on mining rig. Say RX580 rig, each GPU only using 1x 8 pin connector and 87W of power. Can i use this PSU to power up 11 x RX580?
you can, 80 gold rated safely should be able to run 90% on 100% load which is about 900w. if can try to control within 800w to prevent issues.

This post has been edited by jett138: Sep 29 2021, 03:36 PM
jett138
post Sep 29 2021, 11:06 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Sep 29 2021, 05:56 PM)
My house got big compound. Its better built small room for it. If i rent a shop etc worry about safety issue bcos outside of my neighborhood is kampung area. Lot of burglar. Maybe i just put few units. Not large scale mining. I also worry about antminer reliablity as its not comes with warranty. Atleast can get  roi. Bcos i live at terengganu. There is lot of limitation as hardware supply & support.
If got existing vacant shoplot use, if not use which ever premise available. Large scale impossible not on industrial area or next to power source like hydro or LSS.
dont worry about antminer reliability, it bloody reliable. i saw people setup in durian farms and palm plantations. to save on tariffs and to steal<-- some people. I believe the level of support and supply is the same wherever you are since all are from china. Local people support cost you more than buying bulk from overseas.

QUOTE(Rili Toma @ Sep 29 2021, 07:55 PM)
Hello everyone. How do we know how much power our home outlet can provide before it starts to overload? Thinking of start mining, but wonder how many ASIC machine can one power point handle?
ask your friendly electrician. thats a very vague question, you definitely cannot run a s19pro safely, but you can run a s9 without hassle.
or to try how much you can run get hair dryers rated 1800w (dyson, pana <-- high end ones) switch to highest heat and fan, plug in and try with a watt meter. either you try until your circuit breaker jumps or monitor on thermals from wall and the plug. or simply understand your own ewd and plug rating. since most will be fitted 13A fuse anyway it will blow on 3100w or less depending on power factor. understand your db and circuit breaker.

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ Sep 29 2021, 11:33 PM)
thats not large scale fyi... any small electricity theft operations runs a bigger gig than this icon_idea.gif
their plan is increase to 3k units and runs on solar phase by phase and utilize their 6m sqft to generate income since retail is slowly dying. 6m sqft is about 130 acre, if doing LSS generates about 50mw <-- usually 150acre to 200 acre
really depends on it, the people with better prospect to get this going are gunung capital people. they have un utilized hydro power facilities to be converted to awesome asic mining site with hosting service to attract overseas miner. total hydro power standing over 100mw which is just nice to cater for mining lol.

large scale mining makes 1m usd a day. brows.gif
jett138
post Sep 30 2021, 02:26 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(JollyRogers @ Sep 30 2021, 01:27 AM)
Whats the largest in Msia ? Largest ive seen is 200miners
You forgot the latest stunt by sarawak gov steam rolled 1069 units of it, and thats just the tip of an ice berg.
we are among the top 5 total hash contributors for btc, eth is very minimal since we dont get alot of gpu supply in the first place. other alts no one tally out the statistic.
(sitting at 7.xx eh/s) malaysia have about 66,xxx K units of S19 pro online or even more units of s9 and older asics.

there are above 10k units facility / org here. some dont stash all on one spot because of the direction they were going.
jett138
post Sep 30 2021, 02:33 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 30 2021, 03:22 PM)
WTF I tot Sparkpool penipu scammer, Nicehash even worse so many stale and rejected shares. Sparkpool not even like this many. OMG

same server location as spark previously ? try usa / europe and see
jett138
post Oct 2 2021, 12:12 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(Rili Toma @ Sep 30 2021, 03:39 PM)
Thanks friends, I need to restudy my physic book on electricity again.
dont forget to read up on thermodynamics also. you will need to make some partition and adjust the flow of air via ducting etc to be efficient.

QUOTE(abdrahib @ Oct 1 2021, 10:58 PM)
You mean with single phase in home can only have 10KW.That means only 10 max S9 ASIC can be connected.I did 2 years ago connected 8 S9 ASIC without any problem.Only heat and noise was the problem
single phase is about 60A, yes you can run 8x s9 w/o issues on power factor of 1 and with 1 very efficient a/c 24/7. but thats has utilize above the 75% threshold, and its just waiting for shit to happen. it can, just not safe under common practice.

QUOTE(Cruxs @ Oct 1 2021, 11:24 PM)
Done mining on my rtx3060ti with 450watts psu. Will do finetune for better hashrate & lower power consumption.

RTX3060Ti : 51.8MHs / 130Watts / 60c
Lhr unit ? 60ti performs the same with 70. 130w should be 60mh/s ++

51mh/s should be less than 105w. if can runs 6 gpu /rig or more would be better, since 1 gpu 1 rig will cost you another 110w+- on the wall because of chipset and other peripherals. and yea you did mention electricity is almost free... sweat.gif

start designing your shed with with solar and mine with asic la.. more straight forward.

jett138
post Oct 15 2021, 03:55 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Oct 6 2021, 05:40 PM)
Some people still buying 1660, 1080 TI, RX580, RX6700 XT, RX5700 XT, RX 5600, Radeon Vii at scalper price now in hoping to get ROI and can sell them to gamers after the merge  or POS.
Most people that buy now are not hoping for ROI instead of boosting their daily earnings and prepare to switch to alts for a timely 50% off earnings. really no point to jump in now unless you are aiming for asics and cheap / free electricity.
more people setting up asics mining hub and people investing into utilities to run hosting etcs.

there are a lot of nicely setup mining facilities popping up with institutional money.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0354sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:44 PM