31 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.

kmarc
post Jul 21 2017, 08:00 AM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 21 2017, 07:03 AM)
haha.. cant even send out.. 3 of my transactions sending out from Luno has been 23 hours liao.. I think Luno is no more BTC to send out because of there were few incidents of huge volumes buy and ask at 10,000RM price... may be this was done by internal people to prevent the price break.  brows.gif
Oh, so long? The whale who sold at 10k will be kicking himself now.

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Jul 21 2017, 07:23 AM)
BTC rally but altcoin into deep Red Sea
Yeah, most altcoins have not recovered from the previous crash. Still hovering roughly around the same level.

Edit : for those who wants to ride BTC up at these levels, do be careful. A lot of segwit coins previously was pumped when segwit started, then dump before it completes.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 21 2017, 08:03 AM
kmarc
post Jul 21 2017, 08:06 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 21 2017, 08:02 AM)
Yes, now 25 hours is still 0 confirmation.

Last 2 days got about 100 BTC queuing at RM10k and making the price was stuck at RM10k level even the international price has been increased.  laugh.gif
I checked the unconfirmation transactions, only 14k leh. That's so weird.

Something up with the network?

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 21 2017, 08:07 AM
kmarc
post Jul 22 2017, 10:35 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Newgen @ Jul 22 2017, 09:17 AM)
Guys what kind of wallet are you all using?
Paper, Offline, or Hardware?
Or just simply leave it on exchanges?
I don't have much probably 0.02 BTC *shy*
Just want to start to have a good practice since it's so heated up and popular now. Who knows one day we don't even need our credit/debit cards when we go out.
Personally, if it is only 0.02 BTC, just leave it on the exchange. I don't think it is worth to transfer out such a small sum as the transaction fee would eat up a percentage of the amount.

I use hardware wallet but for those coins that hardware wallet don't support I have to keep on exchanges.
kmarc
post Jul 23 2017, 09:11 AM

14,576 posts

Nice! Coins are green with a vengeance. Wonder how long this will last.

BTS loan rate up to 0.8%. Damn my BTS coins are stuck in loans of 0.0x%.

One thing I learn about loaning coins is to put a few staggered loan rates from low to high rates. No point just going for the lowest rates on the market as it is not worth it. Once you get to loan at high rates, the profits blows away all those profits you got from giving out frequent very low loan rates, even though higher rates are infrequent and far in between.

QUOTE(chonghe @ Jul 23 2017, 12:51 AM)
so the advantage of hardware wallet is then that the hardware wallet stores the coin offline, and that without the hardware wallet nobody can access the coin?

But strange if someone got the 24 word that he/she controls the coin, and if someone got the MEW private key he/she controls the coin. And since it is very hard to get the private key in MEW and Nano S, so why need hardware wallet?
Remember hardware wallet only holds the private keys. It doesn't hold any coins. Hardware wallet are, in a way, disconnected from the internet. You can use the hardware wallet on the most malware-infected computer and hackers still can't get access to the private key which controls your coins. The 24-word recovery seed is to help you recover your private keys in case you lose the hardware wallet for any reasons.

On the other hand, if you use your MEW keys on the most-infected computer, you can more or less say bye bye to your coins.

Take this as an analogy. You have a house with 100 tons of gold inside. To go in, you can have the option of a keycard (hardware wallet) and physical keys (MEW). Both can let you enter the house to admire/use your gold. If anybody get access to you physical keys, they can duplicate it and steal all your gold. For the keycard, thieves can't easily duplicate it and hence, using the keycard (hardware wallet) is safer.

However, if you lose your keycard and have the option to restore a new keycard with a 24-word recovery seed, you are most reassured that gold is still safe. Keycards can get spoilt or lost, just like a hardware wallet.

So why use keycard when physical keys are enough? Well, if thieves (hackers) are everywhere and they are everyday trying to duplicate your keys (using malware,phising sites,etc), you would think twice of using physical keys. So between physical keys (MEW) and keycard (Hardware), which would you prefer? smile.gif

Edit : I have updated post #10 in the front page on cryptocurrency wallet FAQs. Do have a look. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 23 2017, 09:28 AM
kmarc
post Jul 24 2017, 03:52 PM

14,576 posts

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/201...into-real-world

Those interested with TenX pay can refer article above. At the moment, they are processing $100,000 per month and aim for 100 million end of 2018.

Anybody can calculate the dividend? Of course, the hope is also for price appreciation if it is successful. wink.gif

Edit : I haven't bought any pay yet as I'm waiting for all these storms and ICO hype to calm down.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 24 2017, 03:53 PM
kmarc
post Jul 24 2017, 04:08 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Secruoser @ Jul 24 2017, 03:55 PM)
It's just a matter of time as the toughest part is to get it running. Now that they are processing $100,000 per month, it will just keep increasing. I mean VISA/Mastercard also had their days when they just processed $100,000 a month.
I'm thinking 100,000 is a good starting amount. With so much ICO money, I should think they would have much funds to expand and make it a success. Still early to tell so I will watch this space closely.
kmarc
post Jul 24 2017, 09:31 PM

14,576 posts

Wow, Dash has recovered almost all its losses. Going for ATH? thumbup.gif

QUOTE(cloudre01 @ Jul 24 2017, 06:02 PM)
I am just curious, do you mean that they (TenX) have alot of potential but you haven't bought into it yet because you're skeptical how fast can they progress? or are they other concerns?  confused.gif
Nah, a lot of factors including bitcoin's war which is not over yet. I'm also reserving my bullets but will enter the market when I feel comfortable. I already have a collection of coins and is aiming for ANS, PAY and EOS in the future. wink.gif

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Jul 24 2017, 06:11 PM)
Speaking of dividends, DICE first dividend payout is on August 7th. 1000th +- ETH dividend payout
Owh, never heard of it. Is it good? hmm.gif

QUOTE(nond @ Jul 24 2017, 06:12 PM)
i try try. pls correct me if i'm wrong

Assume you hold 1000 PAY
CIRCULATING PAY = 104661310  FROM https://coinmarketcap.com/assets/tenx/
PROCESSING $100K X 12 = 1200K/YEAR
DIVIDEND = 1200K x 0.5% = $6000
1000 *$6K/ 104661310 =$0.0573277 cry.gif
2018- 100 MIL
DIVIDEND = 1200MIL X 0.5% =6 MIL

1000 *$6MIL/ 104661310 =$57.3277

AM I MISS SOMETHING OUT ? hmm.gif
Looks about right..... I think... dry.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 24 2017, 09:31 PM
kmarc
post Jul 24 2017, 10:27 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Jul 24 2017, 10:01 PM)
My dark horse coin, first fully functional Dapp with provably fair dice game and is bringing in daily profits. Have a look at r/etheroll? Only 7 million coins
Oooo... I like the sound of that. Will take a look next time. smile.gif
kmarc
post Jul 24 2017, 11:09 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(1wildcat1 @ Jul 24 2017, 10:48 PM)
Could very well be your new Siacoin haha  tongue.gif
Haha, anything is possible in crazy cryptoland. biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jul 27 2017, 06:48 AM

14,576 posts

Hmm.... thought of picking up some EOS and now people are saying it is a scam :

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2000232.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2001799.0

This post has been edited by kmarc: Jul 27 2017, 06:49 AM
kmarc
post Jul 29 2017, 10:36 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jul 29 2017, 09:26 AM)
Received this from Kraken early morning
QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Jul 29 2017, 09:32 AM)
So why wait ?

Trf 10 BTC to Kraken = 10 BTC + 10 bcc....
I find it illogical that forking BTC to create another chain i.e. BCC can create value out of nothing.

If one owns 1 BTC valued at 2700, does that mean after the fork, he will have 1 BTC 2,700 and 1 BCC 2,700? Assuming nobody dump to get profit. Even if BCC drops to 100, it is still creating value from nothing.... rclxub.gif
kmarc
post Jul 29 2017, 06:19 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Jul 29 2017, 11:04 AM)
Bitconnect is already trading BCC... $70 for each BCC
So high? For a new, unknown and unproven coin..... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(cusx @ Jul 29 2017, 11:35 AM)
If BCC/BCH has "true supports", i.e. supporters who believe in larger block size and not Segwit, I believe it will snag some market share from BTC, and thus BTC will drop in value. The value won't be created from nothing, but from BTC.
QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jul 29 2017, 02:06 PM)
The value is created from 1. Enhancements done to BCC which necessitated the chain split. 2. Carried over value from dilution of 21m BTC to 42m "BTCs". Expectation is that BTC's value should drop due to the perceived increase in quantity due to the introduction of BCC, and market correction kicks in, etc.

I suppose both value will drop once split, mainly because of profit taking. After that, the value of both might exceed the value of BTC before the split as you mentioned after that. If that is so, it is still creating value out of nothing! sweat.gif

Oh well, whatever it is, let's just see what happens.

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Jul 29 2017, 04:05 PM)
This was my question earlier (many pages back). I'm fairly new into this and wasn't here when Ethereum forked. What happened back then? Did ETH and ETC had the same initial value?
I was also not into crypto when ETH/ETC split. Don't really know what happened.
kmarc
post Jul 30 2017, 11:48 AM

14,576 posts

Just received email from Trezor that those holding BTC on Trezor can safely claim the same amount of BCC once it splits. They will provide the necessary interface later on.

kmarc
post Jul 30 2017, 12:24 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(blueblueoutofblue @ Jul 30 2017, 11:50 AM)
Wow

So those use trezor can claim free bcc ?

Damn it free money
Yeah, later I will post the email.

Free coins like that makes me wish we have more hardfork splits! biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Jul 31 2017, 06:48 PM

14,576 posts

Here's the email from Trezor:

Bitcoin Cash Hard Fork Advisory

On August 1st, a group of users and some businesses are planning to implement a non-compatible upgrade to the network, raising the blocksize limit to 8MB and removing SegWit. As this upgrade does not have a wide backing of the network, this “hard fork” would split the Bitcoin network in two. As a result, we will be left with the Bitcoin with activated SegWit (through BIP91/BIP141) and its clone, dubbed Bitcoin Cash.

As this is a chain-split, Bitcoin Cash will share its entire transaction history with Bitcoin up until the point of the split, with the history diverging after the split. This means that for whatever amount of bitcoins you had before the split on your TREZOR, you will end up having that same amount of Bitcoin Cash. Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash essentially become two separate currencies.

To gain access to your Bitcoin Cash coins, your action will be required after August 1st, and only if you want Bitcoin Cash.

What do I need to do to claim my Bitcoin Cash?

We will provide an interface, accessible from TREZOR Wallet, where you can access and safely claim your Bitcoin Cash coins. You will be prompted by TREZOR Wallet once you select “Bitcoin Cash” in the currency selector. After this, you can use Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash side by side.
No action is necessary on the original Bitcoin chain.

For more information, please read the entire announcement available at the link below.

Free coins rclxms.gif
kmarc
post Aug 1 2017, 08:08 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jul 31 2017, 11:04 PM)
Honestly, I really think now is not a good time to be selling anything at all.
Prices are dampened due to the fear and anxiety.
If you can wait, just hang on until the dust settles in the next one week or two.
I daresay we should be seeing a lot of confidence returning to the investors once they see that the world didn't end on 1st August 2017.

Returning confidence = cash inflow = market cap increase = bull run again.
I'm just waiting for these events to pass. Anticipating coins to shoot with high lending rates. Already putting out loans with high super loan shark rates! biggrin.gif
kmarc
post Aug 1 2017, 10:58 AM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Aug 1 2017, 10:39 AM)
lending rates is super high now bro.. what happened to your coin during fork
I don't have any BTC for lending. Only altcoins. wink.gif
kmarc
post Aug 1 2017, 02:33 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(daimGeno @ Aug 1 2017, 02:17 PM)
i can see a spike at BTC today..
such a waste not buying any at their lowest these few weeks..
sad.gif
Advisable not to look back at what could have been. If I were to look back, I would have said I missed at least 10 opportunities to earn more money. wink.gif

The important thing is to be in cryptos when it is still in its infancy, which many sincerely believe to be so. However, I'm staying at the sides for now until these events blows over. Planning to buy again if conditions are appropriate for my risk level.

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 1 2017, 02:34 PM
kmarc
post Aug 1 2017, 02:52 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(shankar_dass93 @ Aug 1 2017, 02:47 PM)
I am pretty surprised with how the crypto market has been behaving towards 1st August.
Expected BTC and ETH to pullback more and gesh, its just drifting upwards. sweat.gif
Haha.... things never go our small fried fish way.

Let's see whether my prediction is correct or not. I predict that market will have a big rally once everything settles. Expect market to go the other way! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by kmarc: Aug 1 2017, 02:53 PM
kmarc
post Aug 1 2017, 02:53 PM

14,576 posts

QUOTE(daimGeno @ Aug 1 2017, 02:52 PM)
Never know whats going to happen.. up and down..
need more experience to analyse this cryptos.
thx for the advise master.. still fresh from all of this crypto thingy.. my focus only at BTC for start
I'm no master. You can call me fried ikan bilis. biggrin.gif

31 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.7436sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:27 AM