Seriously considering this u for my kid...
in 15 years time...
Xiamen University Malaysia
Jun 6 2017, 09:36 PM
1,678 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Seriously considering this u for my kid...
in 15 years time... |
Jun 6 2017, 09:47 PM
2,932 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Jun 6 2017, 10:07 PM
3,197 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 6 2017, 09:16 PM) You have a connection to the university? Anyhow, the best way to judge XMU's performance is to wait for the first batch of graduating students to enter the job market. Until then, all their achievements are just on paper.I have some ex-colleagues that are teaching there now. Considered applying there myself, but was turned off by the distance. Some points: - if they are the cream of the crop, why would they study here? and be taught by 80% Malaysians? - what is their medium of instruction back in China? Is it English? Probably not, but even if it is, Malaysian English is not quite the same. So, can they attract the cream of the crop to learn from lecturers who sound and think differently. Of course, students are willing to learn, but are Malaysian lecturers that attractive? Western universities won't take them on transfer if their English isn't good enough. Malaysia provides an intermediate ground where we can provide sufficient exposure without being to fussy about the language aspect. - have you heard a mainland China lecturer speak in English? You may wonder if they are actually speaking English. Haha, yeah. Not all though. Those XMU professors I met are well-versed in English, probably because they bring over those who have prior experience working in English-speaking countries. - all universities try to have an active research program, that's what all the rankings are about. Whether they achieve it or not is a different question. - it's a competitive market in Malaysia, rich students go overseas, the remainder wants the best value for money. Are there enough private fee-paying students? These are the important questions IMHO. XMU is currently still in its infancy, which means it relies on support from its parent entity and local government benefits. Whether or not they manage to rope in enough customers to maintain their quality in the long run is debatable. PS: looks like my questions have been answered before I clicked the Submit button. |
Jun 6 2017, 10:10 PM
4,504 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 6 2017, 09:26 PM) yup, its definitely cheaper than taylors/sunway, but on par or slightly more expensive than other local private unis Depends, but Sunway didn't offer any Engineering Course besides "Software" wise, as all Engineering programs are more Monash based. din noe KDU n UCSI increased by so much compared to last time, during my time (7-8 years ago) iirc its around 60k-65k++ Also really hard to tell how this university performs if China Government this Uni right, surely it will be outstanding of course. If not a wasted project eventually. |
Jun 6 2017, 10:19 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
596 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(iSean @ Jun 6 2017, 10:10 PM) Depends, but Sunway didn't offer any Engineering Course besides "Software" wise, as all Engineering programs are more Monash based. well, at least easier to 'balik tongsan' wif a degree frm xiamen uni Also really hard to tell how this university performs if China Government this Uni right, surely it will be outstanding of course. If not a wasted project eventually. |
Jun 20 2017, 02:36 AM
5,538 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
Quite popular recently
Jun 20 2017, 02:55 AM
1,368 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
Jun 20 2017, 07:22 AM
6,562 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 6 2017, 10:07 PM) Anyhow, the best way to judge XMU's performance is to wait for the first batch of graduating students to enter the job market. Until then, all their achievements are just on paper. but we can judge their students graduating from Mainland too... they have strong links to the mainland camput, I heard a number of their lecturers imported from there |
Jun 20 2017, 07:38 AM
135 posts Joined: May 2010 |
do they vera vera ohwaiii
Jun 20 2017, 07:41 AM
51 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
why cant we have murica jews uni instead?
Jun 20 2017, 07:58 AM
3,197 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 20 2017, 07:22 AM) but we can judge their students graduating from Mainland too... they have strong links to the mainland camput, I heard a number of their lecturers imported from there As other forumers have pointed out, there is a difference in entry requirements between their main campus and the Malaysian one. Although the university is doing their best to maintain parity in output quality between the campuses, there will inevitably be some lag on the Malaysian side for the first few batches. |
Nov 10 2017, 08:13 AM
412 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
any idea what is their intake so far? Will this University turn out to be a white elephant project?
Nov 10 2017, 08:29 AM
540 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Nov 10 2017, 02:58 PM
24 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
ini universiti untuk asian mutants ke?
x ia men uni |
Nov 11 2017, 09:14 AM
1,003 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 6 2017, 07:42 AM) On the 3rd floor?QUOTE(key3hky @ Jun 6 2017, 10:47 AM) Apa ke benda ni?QUOTE(advocado @ Jun 6 2017, 12:03 PM) Comparable.I almost sent my son there until I thought about IUMW. |
Nov 11 2017, 09:20 AM
109 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Saw it after taking wrong turn at cyberjaya, didn't even know it existed before
Nov 11 2017, 10:30 AM
174 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
The location is weird in a way that the tongsan university is built upon a majority malay area. Kinda like got tokong in the middle of kampung dato harun vibe. Lel
Nov 11 2017, 10:59 AM
321 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
1 of the top uni in China
Nov 11 2017, 11:05 AM
1,176 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Memesia |
looks good.. appreciate wat the ambassador of China contribute to our Chinese education system here, so far he's the best ambassador out there
Nov 11 2017, 11:06 AM
0 posts Joined: May 2017 |
QUOTE(sidthesloth @ Nov 11 2017, 10:30 AM) The location is weird in a way that the tongsan university is built upon a majority malay area. Kinda like got tokong in the middle of kampung dato harun vibe. Lel Cheap land orang luar don't care who is neighbors as long local authorities can guarantee security and cooperation. |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:16 PM |