Car Windscreen Ruin?, Can this be saved? or not?

TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 09:38 PM, updated 9y ago

Krazeybender
921 posts

Dear Sifus,

really need all your expertise, and help.

recently i brought a watermark cleaner online,

so once it arrive, i pun apply la,

spray wipe, repeat.

but when it dried.... (sorry image abit big)

any way to restore it?

anything i can do?

the seller promise to refund, but that small amount aint gonna help much, i just want my windscreen back!

help

NoNameSake
post Jun 5 2017, 09:42 PM

82 posts

have u ever try rainx
cedyy
post Jun 5 2017, 09:46 PM

1,404 posts

what brand u used?
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 09:47 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSake @ Jun 5 2017, 09:42 PM)
have u ever try rainx
Is there a specific rainx product to solve this problem?

These are not watermark, this is like fog, but kinda permanent, I can't rub it off.

This happen after I try the watermark remover product
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 09:48 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jun 5 2017, 09:46 PM)
what brand u used?
No brand, but very good review from fb
NoNameSake
post Jun 5 2017, 09:56 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 09:47 PM)
Is there a specific rainx product to solve this problem?

These are not watermark, this is like fog, but kinda permanent, I can't rub it off.

This happen after I try the watermark remover product
i have used rainx before, the yellow box that's for water repellent for car windscreen...it's very acidic and might do the work for u
cedyy
post Jun 5 2017, 09:56 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 09:48 PM)
the best and cheapest watermark remover i've used was Jusco own in-house brand
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:01 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSake @ Jun 5 2017, 09:56 PM)
i have used rainx before, the yellow box that's for water repellent for car windscreen...it's very acidic and might do the work for u
Alright, will try, these marks does look like a build up of something.

Maybe the acid in rainx will help.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:03 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ Jun 5 2017, 09:56 PM)
the best and cheapest watermark remover i've used was Jusco own in-house brand
I don't need a watermark remover, it is because of the watermark remover that causes this problem to my windscreen now.
NoNameSake
post Jun 5 2017, 10:07 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 10:01 PM)
Alright, will try, these marks does look like a build up of something.

Maybe the acid in rainx will help.
to use rainx, first u pour it onto a clean cloth, then rub it onto ur windscreen, wait ubntil there's fog bulit up at ur screen and wipe it with newspaper until it's shining clear/until there's no fog anymore, that's how i use it....
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:15 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(NoNameSake @ Jun 5 2017, 10:07 PM)
to use rainx, first u pour it onto a clean cloth, then rub it onto ur windscreen, wait ubntil there's fog bulit up at ur screen and wipe it with newspaper until it's shining clear/until there's no fog anymore, that's how i use it....
Thanks bro,

Hope that will help clear up whatever shit that's happening to my windscreen.

Damn Sakit hati!
FirstOne
post Jun 5 2017, 10:21 PM

168 posts

Maybe you need polish. But you shouldn't leave your watermark liquid dry on you screen..
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:25 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Jun 5 2017, 10:21 PM)
Maybe you need polish. But you shouldn't leave your watermark liquid dry on you screen..
Does polishing windscreen help? How does it work?

Any recommendation?

I didnt leave it long, at best a few minutes till it fog up then I already clean it off
Reozen
post Jun 5 2017, 10:26 PM

15 posts

You can try use Soft 99 Glass Refresh thumbup.gif user posted image
FirstOne
post Jun 5 2017, 10:28 PM

168 posts

Watermark remover shouldn't wait it fog, unless you are talking about those water repellent.

Just go buy those polish compound and try polish yourself with some microfiber slowly small area and see.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:38 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(Reozen @ Jun 5 2017, 10:26 PM)
You can try use Soft 99 Glass Refresh  thumbup.gif  user posted image
You've used it before?

It's effective against stain like mine?

And how to use? All instruction in Japanese

I see they only sell online, any shop got?

This post has been edited by IReallyNeed Answers: Jun 5 2017, 10:38 PM
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 10:40 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(FirstOne @ Jun 5 2017, 10:28 PM)
Watermark remover shouldn't wait it fog, unless you are talking about those water repellent.

Just go buy those polish compound and try polish yourself with some microfiber slowly small area and see.
Actually I tried soft 99 liquid polish d,

But no effect, maybe wrong technique
mars2003
post Jun 5 2017, 10:45 PM

123 posts

u can use soft 99 or any car polish.. but must not hand polish... need buffing machine. or else just go to your nearest car wash that offer body polish and pay them to polish your windscreen.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 11:12 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Jun 5 2017, 10:45 PM)
u can use soft 99 or any car polish.. but must not hand polish... need buffing machine. or else just go to your nearest car wash that offer body polish and pay them to polish your windscreen.
Will that be effective against my windscreen?

mars2003
post Jun 5 2017, 11:25 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 11:12 PM)
Will that be effective against my windscreen?
clean n slippery
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 5 2017, 11:30 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Jun 5 2017, 11:25 PM)
clean n slippery
Even from the staining like mine?

I just got a quote from a shop at seri kembangan,

Windscreen polishing rm150

Reasonable? They specialist in windscreen replacement and repair!

Or I should just try out others?
mars2003
post Jun 5 2017, 11:32 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 11:30 PM)
Even from the staining like mine?

I just got a quote from a shop at seri kembangan,

Windscreen polishing rm150

Reasonable? They specialist in windscreen replacement and repair!

Or I should just try out others?
rm150 rip off,
go to other shop pay them 80 is more than enough
springfall
post Jun 5 2017, 11:33 PM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 11:48 PM)
sorry but, hahahahahahasobsobsobsob console.gif , when do people actually learn..
why facebook.. too many cure cancer fb posts which caused more harm.

you can start by posting what you have just applied on ur windscreen.

personally, i just get 2-3 bunch of steel wool 0000 grade (very fine type- can catch fire fast)
then scrub ur whole windscreen clean.

watermark all will go away after a few pass.

then clean area good and top a coat of rainX or rain repellent.
(also clean the wiper blades properly, by taking it off and wash until no black marks)
rubber blades loves to leave residue which is why I dont use em.

please show what u applied.
if it etches ur glass, then no choice, need to special cut (polish) the glass.

2nd method i rarely do is use a glass scrapper and some detergent as lub.
glass scrapper will level any gunk to bare glass level with no scratch (if done properly)
sheahann
post Jun 5 2017, 11:38 PM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 5 2017, 09:48 PM)
Kena before. Just use meguire polish can take it off
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:54 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jun 5 2017, 11:33 PM)
sorry but, hahahahahahasobsobsobsob  console.gif , when do people actually learn..
why facebook.. too many cure cancer fb posts which caused more harm.

you can start by posting what you have just applied on ur windscreen.
personally, i just get 2-3 bunch of steel wool 0000 grade (very fine type- can catch fire fast)
then scrub ur whole windscreen clean.

watermark all will go away after a few pass.

then clean area good and top a coat of rainX or rain repellent.
(also clean the wiper blades properly, by taking it off and wash until no black marks)
rubber blades loves to leave residue which is why I dont use em.

please show what u applied.
if it etches ur glass, then no choice, need to special cut (polish) the glass.

2nd method i rarely do is use a glass scrapper and some detergent as lub.
glass scrapper will level any gunk to bare glass level with no scratch (if done properly)
I regret kaw kaw d, I tot just watermark remover, shouldn't do much damage even if the product is useless, i'm so wrong!!

For method one, may I know where to get those grade 0000 steel wool? Need skill? Or it's a relatively easy process?

I don't think it's etched into the glass, so far everything look as tho they're just on the surface.

For method 2, sound dangerous, will it weaken the glass if using glass scrapper? And again, what's the skill leve needed?

Just wondering, are you providing these services or know where to get them?

When you said to show what I've applied onto my windscreen, do you mean the watermark remover I've used?

The seller actually still okla, he say wanna refund me, and on top of that, he got good review from lotsa previous buyer, I don't want to ruin other people rice bowl. And so far no bad or negative comment on hi product yet.

This post has been edited by IReallyNeed Answers: Jun 6 2017, 12:58 AM
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:55 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 5 2017, 11:38 PM)
Kena before. Just use meguire polish can take it off
Exactly same case?

Car polish? Or got special windscreen polish?

Can provide more info?

Hand polish? Or need machine buff?

Please help!!
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:57 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Jun 5 2017, 11:32 PM)
rm150 rip off,
go to other shop pay them 80 is more than enough
I really wouldn't know the price,

They were telling me that they'll use special windscreen polish, not the usual car body polish. Otherwise will scratch the windscreen.

I wish I knew more to judge, but I don't and I need help from here!

Thanks, and appreciate any other info you may have
mars2003
post Jun 6 2017, 01:13 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 12:57 AM)
I really wouldn't know the price,

They were telling me that they'll use special windscreen polish, not the usual car body polish. Otherwise will scratch the windscreen.

I wish I knew more to judge, but I don't and I need help from here!

Thanks, and appreciate any other info you may have
if u want cheap diy, use cutter knife , the small one, and scrape the spots .
there is no point me helping you on how to negotiate because u don't have the basic understanding and u can't win argument over with them, your only best option vs them is tell them take it or leave it and u keep searching for next car wash.
I read that u actually use soft99 to polish it without results..
possible explanation is you use your finger to rub it or u didn't do it the correct way.
correct way is to rub using your palm in circular motion. with firm pressure.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 01:23 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Jun 6 2017, 01:13 AM)
if u want cheap diy, use cutter knife , the small one, and scrape the spots .
there is no point me helping you on how to negotiate because u don't have the basic understanding and u can't win argument over with them, your only best option vs them is tell them take it or leave it and u keep searching for next car wash.
I read that u actually use soft99 to polish it without results..
possible explanation is you use your finger to rub it or u didn't do it the correct way.
correct way is to rub using your palm in circular motion. with firm pressure.
I wouldn't mind the price as long as i'm not rip off la.

There's other who suggest cutter/scrapper/steel wool.

The thing is, as much as I would love to try, I scare I'll add more damage to the windscreen (trying to avoid the need to totally change the windscreen if still can be saved)

My concern now is after they told me they use special windscreen polish, if I sent to other place that do body polish, the polish might scratch up the windscreen ( hopefully they're just exaggerating, and I wouldn't be so worry)

Yes i did use soft99 liquid polish, I think I use the correct technique la, but probably not firm enough.
Fyi, the spot doesn't feel rough like there's a deposit on it, it just look like there's a deposit.

When you touch it, it feel like the glass only.

This post has been edited by IReallyNeed Answers: Jun 6 2017, 01:27 AM
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 01:25 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

Dp

This post has been edited by IReallyNeed Answers: Jun 6 2017, 01:26 AM
SupermanLick
post Jun 6 2017, 01:34 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,470 posts

Use THINNER to wipe .THINNER is so perfect
I use to wipe interior &exterior .wipe out bird shit easily ,no paint damage
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 01:37 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jun 6 2017, 01:34 AM)
Haha, but I don't know what and how the spot is cause.

Maybe I will try abit see.

Scare more damage
SupermanLick
post Jun 6 2017, 01:40 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,470 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 01:37 AM)
Haha, but I don't know what and how the spot is cause.

Maybe I will try abit see.

Scare more damage
Hardware are selling called paint thinner
use the balls to clean it up
therain01
post Jun 6 2017, 01:48 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 01:23 AM)
I wouldn't mind the price as long as i'm not rip off la.

There's other who suggest cutter/scrapper/steel wool.

The thing is, as much as I would love to try, I scare I'll add more damage to the windscreen (trying to avoid the need to totally change the windscreen if still can be saved)

My concern now is after they told me they use special windscreen polish, if I sent to other place that do body polish, the polish might scratch up the windscreen ( hopefully they're just exaggerating, and I wouldn't be so worry)

Yes i did use soft99 liquid polish, I think I use the correct technique la, but probably not firm enough.
Fyi, the spot doesn't feel rough like there's a deposit on it, it just look like there's a deposit.

When you touch it, it feel like the glass only.
Look for something call rubbing compound polisher. The soft99 liquid Polish is too weak. Avoid sand paper or steel wool unless you know what are you doing. Avoid thinner at all cost. A single mistake your car paint is gone.

Anyway I suspect those are calcium deposits soften by the water spot cleaner. Try to apply the same product on it again, and this time keep wiping with clean cloth.
sheahann
post Jun 6 2017, 07:28 AM

2,263 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 12:55 AM)
Exactly same case?

Car polish? Or got special windscreen polish?

Can provide more info?

Hand polish? Or need machine buff?

Please help!!
Yeah. Also caused by watermark remover.
That time I asked for help in car forum. Not lowyat. Around 2006-2007. Someone posted me some of meguire product to polish it out. Just using hand not machine
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 07:39 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jun 6 2017, 01:48 AM)
Look for something call rubbing compound polisher. The soft99 liquid Polish is too weak. Avoid sand paper or steel wool unless you know what are you doing. Avoid thinner at all cost. A single mistake your car paint is gone.

Anyway I suspect those are calcium deposits soften by the water spot cleaner. Try to apply the same product on it again, and this time keep wiping with clean cloth.
Thanks for the info.

Given my skill, I'll probably try to avoid steel wool and thinner too.

Assuming it's calcium deposit, does that mean it's possible to save my windscreen?

I've google for the product you reccomend, and they show a 3M rubbing compound, does using it with hand polishing works? Or need machine to buff it?

Actually I've used the almost all of the watermark remover product I got already.

The seller say use more and see if it remove it.

TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 07:41 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 6 2017, 07:28 AM)
That time I asked for help in car forum. Not lowyat. Around 2006-2007. Someone posted me some of meguire product to polish it out. Just using hand not machine
Do you remember which product?

or just any polishing product from Meguire?

just normal hand polish like normal?
sheahann
post Jun 6 2017, 09:32 AM

2,263 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 07:41 AM)
Do you remember which product?

or just any polishing product from Meguire?

just normal hand polish like normal?
i only know is meguire polishing product. that guy just gave me some in small plastic bottle. i just polish it with regular sponge then ok already.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 09:41 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 6 2017, 09:32 AM)
i only know is meguire polishing product. that guy just gave me some in small plastic bottle. i just polish it with regular sponge then ok already.
thank you so much,

you give hope back into my life liao! rclxms.gif
springfall
post Jun 6 2017, 10:40 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 02:54 AM)

for q1,
ace hardware for 0000 grade, I just go tesco (no grading), more or less same thinness haha.
so far used on toyota, peugeot, merc; no issues. (duno glass quality better than proton or what)
skill not need much just need elbow grease if big car.
just need wash window(/clay), dry it completely, then scrub whole glass (i sometimes pour alcohol to ease scrubbing) 3 finger pressure scrub, not palm scrub (only heavy residues i use palm).
vertical movement on glass

q2,
glass scrapper is usually used on glass cook tops and windows.
what it does is level off deposits stuck to glass by the blades.

need to use at correct angle to scrap or will just jump over dirt.
will not weaken as the glass hardness is higher than the blade.
blade must be correct or will scratch glass (hard to source window blades).
can remove tar, paint drops, and sticker residue
horizontal movement on glass

Sorry no, I do not provide these services.
I only explain what i done before here, never like meeting random people laugh.gif

and yes, show the product in pic and if got the ingredients better.
so other may know next time and can breakdown the chemicals.

Etch can also feel smooth.
what i worry is that the white substance went into the micro pores of the glass (by sand and stones).

and to people who said car body polish will ruin your window, nope.
if the body polish is so darn strong to scratch glass, bye bye for your paint.
glass is harder than paint.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 11:02 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 6 2017, 07:28 AM)
QUOTE(therain01 @ Jun 6 2017, 01:48 AM)

I go to a nearby car wash place.

He try some compound on my windscreen.

Then no effect, he say this condition is called "fan bak" in Cantonese.

He say no chance to save d sad.gif

Any other reccomendation?
boxer07
post Jun 6 2017, 11:53 AM

844 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 11:02 AM)
I go to a nearby car wash place.

He try some compound on my windscreen.

Then no effect, he say this condition is called "fan bak" in Cantonese.

He say no chance to save d sad.gif

Any other reccomendation?
got buy windscreen insurance? break it with stone and claim a new one. then go back insurance company for reinstatement.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:04 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Jun 6 2017, 11:53 AM)
got buy windscreen insurance? break it with stone and claim a new one. then go back insurance company for reinstatement.
Nowor
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:26 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(boxer07 @ Jun 6 2017, 11:53 AM)
A workshop charge me rm700 for oem windscreen double layer.

Are oem good enough
douglas_tong
post Jun 6 2017, 12:26 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Get a proper glass window and polish it

Is your watermark removal powder based? And does it require to work with water?

Usually those roadside car wash center won't know how to deal with it.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 12:48 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 6 2017, 12:26 PM)
Get a proper glass window and polish it

Is your watermark removal powder based? And does it require to work with water?

Usually those roadside car wash center won't know how to deal with it.
The watermark removal is liquid based. When used that time kinda smelly, like vinegar I suppose.

The car guy say already "fan bak" I don't really understand wtf

They tried coumpound rubbing, when rub the mark disaapear, but appear again when wipe dry.

Then got try another cleaning agent, same thing, disappear and re appear when dry.

He then recommend go paint shop to sand the windscreen, but the guy sat outside all smooth. Must be between layer, can't do much.

So now damn heart pain, go to 4 shops ( car tinting/ windscreen shop x2 and paint shop)

All can't help unless change it:(
sheahann
post Jun 6 2017, 12:55 PM

2,263 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 12:48 PM)
The watermark removal is liquid based. When used that time kinda smelly, like vinegar I suppose.

The car guy say already "fan bak" I don't really understand wtf

They tried coumpound rubbing, when rub the mark disaapear, but appear again when wipe dry.

Then got try another cleaning agent, same thing, disappear and re appear when dry.

He then recommend go paint shop to sand the windscreen, but the guy sat outside all smooth. Must be between layer, can't do much.

So now damn heart pain, go to 4 shops ( car tinting/ windscreen shop x2 and paint shop)

All can't help unless change it:(
I got mine worse than you. The watermark remover is like clear liquid. After use whole windshield become foggy. In the end polishing compound can Take it off clean and sparky. Want to try or not u decide.

SupermanLick
post Jun 6 2017, 12:56 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,470 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 12:26 PM)
A workshop charge me rm700 for oem windscreen double layer.

Are oem good enough
listen bangle do not bring benefits biggrin.gif
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 02:51 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 6 2017, 12:55 PM)
I got mine worse than you. The watermark remover is like clear liquid. After use whole windshield become foggy. In the end polishing compound can Take it off clean and sparky. Want to try or not u decide.
I kid you not, we've tried polish, rubbing compound, and also some liquid cleaner.

when applied, it does disappear, but appear a second later when it is dried.

they've also tried to rub it more firmly, and use those polishing buffer machine thingy.

same effect.

i will probably try to polish one more time before decide to change windscreen.

by the way, i pm the seller, he actually a good guy, offer pay half, but i wont take so much from him la!! haha
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 02:52 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jun 6 2017, 12:56 PM)
listen bangle do not bring benefits biggrin.gif
sorry bro, i tak faham what you mean.

listen bangle?
sheahann
post Jun 6 2017, 03:31 PM

2,263 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 02:51 PM)
I kid you not, we've tried polish, rubbing compound, and also some liquid cleaner.

they've also tried to rub it more firmly, and use those polishing buffer machine thingy.

same effect.

by the way, i pm the seller, he actually a good guy, offer pay half, but i wont take so much from him la!! haha
meguire product rite ? someone helped me 10years ago.. i cant remember is who ady.. macam not from lowyat forum also .. i did asked in few forum that time and this guy send some of meguire and a meguire sponge for me without asking me to pay anything. not even postage fee...

if i can find him back. im gonna pay him some money. that time still student only so this guy helped me without asking me to pay anything.. notworthy.gif

springfall
post Jun 6 2017, 04:38 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 6 2017, 04:51 PM)

same effect.

and looks like someone here also have the same issue
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3864337/all

well looks like u got an etched glass.

the water mark remover (probably acidic) went into the light scratches/etching (by acid rain) on your glass and seeped into the laminated layer

and when it dries it leaves residues (cloudy).

because dirt(or dried up water mark acid) have went it, you pretty much have nothing else to do.

and since it's ruined, you could try taking a cloth and pouring some turpentine and let it soak before rinsing it off.
why? maybe the alkaline can neutralise the acid and bring it back out. no guarantee, but can at least try before replacement.

TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 06:56 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Jun 6 2017, 03:31 PM)
meguire product rite ? someone helped me 10years ago.. i cant remember is who ady.. macam not from lowyat forum also .. i did asked in few forum that time and this guy send some of meguire and a meguire sponge for me without asking me to pay anything. not even postage fee...

if i can find him back. im gonna pay him some money. that time still student only so this guy helped me without asking me to pay anything..  notworthy.gif
Still got lotsa good people around

Haha
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 6 2017, 06:57 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jun 6 2017, 04:38 PM)

the water mark remover (probably acidic) went into the light scratches/etching (by acid rain) on your glass and seeped into the laminated layer

because dirt(or dried up water mark acid) have went it, you pretty much have nothing else to do.

and since it's ruined, you could try taking a cloth and pouring some turpentine and let it soak before rinsing it off.
why? maybe the alkaline can neutralise the acid and bring it back out. no guarantee, but can at least try before replacement.
I suppose so, they got explain about something regarding the rubber/plastic in between.

Ginny88
post Jun 6 2017, 10:21 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jun 6 2017, 01:34 AM)
QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jun 6 2017, 01:40 AM)
Hardware are selling called paint thinner
use the balls to clean it up
I think you're full of shit. Asking people to use paint thinner to wipe bird shit off paint. Are you aware that thinner dissolves paint? I think you know that already and you are intentionally giving malicious advice.

SupermanLick
post Jun 6 2017, 11:56 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,470 posts

QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jun 6 2017, 10:21 PM)
I think you're full of shit. Asking people to use paint thinner to wipe bird shit off paint. Are you aware that thinner dissolves paint? I think you know that already and you are intentionally giving malicious advice.
u are ignorance ! biggrin.gif Im try to help
the paint having layers of coat
clear coat is harders coating
wipe with thinner will not strip paint

therain01
post Jun 7 2017, 12:18 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jun 6 2017, 04:38 PM)

I don't think it's etching into the laminated area. I remember TS mentioned the foggy part temporary restored when applying rubbing compound or detergent or maybe something oily. Could it be there's a layer of coating on the windscreen.

Eternalgl0ry
post Jun 7 2017, 01:19 AM

463 posts

My old car used to have this problem after i use a crap product stating it will clear waterspots away. The next day it became worse exactly llike this

So i sent to my known technican shop. They managed to clean it away but i did not ask them how

netmatrix
post Jun 7 2017, 01:40 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,735 posts

I can only offer you this method.

I used it many many times on my old car windscreen & windows for many years. If you are doubtful, try it on a small section of the affected area. After you rub and buff, wash with car shampoo and see if it clears up. If it solves your problem, then it only cost less then RM20 solution.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 7 2017, 09:30 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jun 7 2017, 01:40 AM)
I can only offer you this method.

I used it many many times on my old car windscreen & windows for many years. If you are doubtful, try it on a small section of the affected area. After you rub and buff, wash with car shampoo and see if it clears up. If it solves your problem, then it only cost less then RM20 solution.
Tried too...

As usual, when apply, the marks kinda goes away,

But once it dried, the mark returned.

Currently theory is that the WM removal kinda seep into the micro crack of the windschield, and ruin the layer of rubber/plastic in between.

That's why polishing the surface doesn't help.

I read somewhere that if I allow it and let it be for a few months or maybe up to a year, it might disappear.

But the affected area are large and kids obstrusive to driving sad.gif
springfall
post Jun 7 2017, 10:42 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(therain01 @ Jun 7 2017, 02:18 AM)
I don't think it's etching into the laminated area. I remember TS mentioned the foggy part temporary restored when applying rubbing compound or detergent or maybe something oily. Could it be there's a layer of coating on the windscreen.
yeah any liquid/oil that contact the surface will make it smooth and reduce distortion of light hence disappear.
but it could also flow into the minor cracks/scratches.

here's an example.
stone chip ur car, first is small hole, no crack.
after driving 1 year, the elements (water, dust, dirt etc) settle and expand in the chip.
expansion and contraction will force a channel into the glass
with the different expansion character, a crack is developed or the marked area will very visible.
then the dr cermin will say 'left too long, dirt went in already'
then forever u will see the shiny mark.

In this case, im guessing the solution ate more rapidly and dried inside.
with water it will become clear, but evaporates quickly.
other solutions will dry slower so fog will be slower.

one way draw the foggy out lines in the inner side
then saturate the area with something and let dry.
see if foggy lines change.
if major (shape) change then means liquid went into the laminated areas
if minor (whiteness/ clarity) change then etching in the cracks

if TS cannot tahan, then better change glass.
but must make sure glass installed properly or water enter even more problem.
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 7 2017, 11:25 AM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jun 7 2017, 10:42 AM)
yeah any liquid/oil that contact the surface will make it smooth and reduce distortion of light hence disappear.
but it could also flow into the minor cracks/scratches.

here's an example.
stone chip ur car, first is small hole, no crack.
after driving 1 year, the elements (water, dust, dirt etc) settle and expand in the chip.
expansion and contraction will force a channel into the glass
with the different expansion character, a crack is developed or the marked area will very visible.
then the dr cermin will say 'left too long, dirt went in already'
then forever u will see the shiny mark.

In this case, im guessing the solution ate more rapidly and dried inside.
with water it will become clear, but evaporates quickly.
other solutions will dry slower so fog will be slower.

one way draw the foggy out lines in the inner side
then saturate the area with something and let dry.
see if foggy lines change.
if major (shape) change then means liquid went into the laminated areas
if minor (whiteness/ clarity) change then etching in the cracks

if TS cannot tahan, then better change glass.
but must make sure glass installed properly or water enter even more problem.
meaning that in my case if will go away?

100% disappear? or just some improvement but still got effect?

i've given up on trying anything else, just wanna quickly settle and change! too sad seeing it like that

i going to mirror specialist, shouldnt have much issue gua, i think got 3 years warranty some more for improper installation. hopefully no water will masuk la.
goohtj
post Jun 7 2017, 11:45 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 7 2017, 11:25 AM)

i've given up on trying anything else, just wanna quickly settle and change! too sad seeing it like that

i going to mirror specialist, shouldnt have much issue gua, i think got 3 years warranty some more for improper installation. hopefully no water will masuk la.
have you tried using thinner?, just a few ringgit diy.
springfall
post Jun 7 2017, 12:16 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 7 2017, 01:25 PM)

I cannot guarantee anything
since tried so many already and lazy try turpentine, just tukar, safer anyways.
just make sure insurance cukup to claim.

Water leak will only know during massive downpour, normal rain will not leak unless damm bad install.
but I know those cars with auto wipers, most kena messed up after replace windscreen
(just make sure they use new sensor with window, and not tear the sensor off old and paste it back on)
TSIReallyNeed Answers
post Jun 7 2017, 01:24 PM

Krazeybender
921 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jun 7 2017, 12:16 PM)
I cannot guarantee anything
since tried so many already and lazy try turpentine, just tukar, safer anyways.
just make sure insurance cukup to claim.

Water leak will only know during massive downpour, normal rain will not leak unless damm bad install.
but I know those cars with auto wipers, most kena messed up after replace windscreen
(just make sure they use new sensor with window, and not tear the sensor off old and paste it back on)
Lucky my car don't have those auto wiper thingy, less worry!

I don't have windshield insurance , hailat d need need to pay full sendiri!

I've learned from so many mistake from this round! Hahaha
TOMEI-R
post Jun 7 2017, 01:40 PM

Extraordinaire
24,229 posts

QUOTE(IReallyNeed Answers @ Jun 7 2017, 01:24 PM)
Lucky my car don't have those auto wiper thingy, less worry!

I don't have windshield insurance , hailat d need need to pay full sendiri!

I've learned from so many mistake from this round! Hahaha
With prior experience with this issue, I can assure you there is nothing that can be done now other than to live with it or change to another windscreen. Watermark removers are very acidic and should not be left to dry on windscreens. You must wipe it off as soon as you apply.
kitkat21
post Sep 20 2024, 11:03 PM

26 posts

Bringing this topic to 2024. My X50 front windscreen and front left window got watermarks......smooth to the touch. for the windscreen it's around the perimeter of the wipers while waterspots all over the side window. an eyesore. have tried steel wool 0000 and vinegar.... didn;t work for me....Maybe the Rainx i used on the windows led to the current situation though i made it a point to buff off with tissue paper before it dried.

thinking of getting an orbital polisher......keelat/Godzillar/shinemate/Bosch. budget $150 to $200. which one gets the job done the best? also got 300W or 800W.....advise pls. the cerium oxide powder shown here also looks like it could do the job.

what size polishing pads to get and what polisher cream/liquid is best for the job? still had a bottle of a RM90 Meguair's polishing compound cream with me.(attached)...i suppose that can be used to polish glass......

This post has been edited by kitkat21: Sep 20 2024, 11:24 PM

dwRK
post Sep 21 2024, 09:49 AM

the consummate chartist
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kitkat21 @ Sep 20 2024, 11:03 PM)
Bringing this topic to 2024.  My X50 front windscreen and front left window got watermarks......smooth to the touch.  for the windscreen it's around the perimeter of the wipers while waterspots all over the side window. an eyesore.  have tried steel wool 0000 and vinegar.... didn;t work for me....Maybe the Rainx i used on the windows led to the current situation though i made it a point to buff off with tissue paper before it dried.

thinking of getting an orbital polisher......keelat/Godzillar/shinemate/Bosch. budget $150 to $200. which one gets the job done the best? also got 300W or 800W.....advise pls. the cerium oxide powder shown here also looks like it could  do the job.

what size polishing pads to get and what polisher cream/liquid is best for the job?  still had a bottle of a RM90 Meguair's polishing compound cream with me.(attached)...i suppose that can be used to polish glass......

use autosol metal polish by hand... will clean off water marks... can remove headlights yellowing also...

0.0318sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:53 PM