4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

DJI Spark, Seize the Moment

K1d0
post Jul 11 2017, 05:52 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 11 2017, 05:38 PM)
so i guess those shop that need to pay a small fees probably not getting the stocks from local sg distributors. might be get the stocks from china directly

u already owned the spark right? any reviews on that? beside portable.. is the image n video quality as good as those capture by those latest smartphone such as s8 or ip7+? of cause i know  can't compare to those taken by camera or mavic pro, etc
Yeap, most likely.

Yeah, owned for around a week+.

So far only did 4 flights, for the image I can say it's on par with S7 edge(*As I'm using S7 edge), have not did any night shot but day shot is good enough, later after work I share picture I took with Spark last week.

For video, I just record a 2 min flight, I could say it's good enough but try to minimize using yaw because of the 2 axis gimbal when yaw could notice a slight jitters.

Panorama is good, able to take horizontal/vertical and it took 9 picture automatically but it's better to stitch it yourself after taking as DJI app auto reduce the size and quality.

Gesture control is a hit and miss, and use with cautious. It's recommend to use when connect with your phone/controller.

Even Spark is small size, it could withstand quite a strong wind, my first flight I did it during windy condition but surprisingly it able to hold it position well and the picture/video taken it's all look good.

Overall, I would say Spark is a good drone for person who is new to drone and do not mind some sacrifice in image such as Raw and longer shutter speed. The downside is on the range, as it's using WiFi, its very easy to get interference in urban area.
K1d0
post Jul 11 2017, 07:30 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 11 2017, 06:02 PM)
ahh.. thanks for your review  thumbsup.gif waiting for your pictures then.. hehe
I not sure where to upload, so I upload here tongue.gif or let me know if you need to see original fire.

For video can check up this video I upload to google drive

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1ppE_lcr...MHZFMnpuX294anM

Both picture and video is unedited biggrin.gif

QUOTE(rush25 @ Jul 11 2017, 07:03 PM)
Just got mine on Monday. Still sealed. Not sure where to play it yet since my area full with HDB buildings.
Where do you usually take out yours for a spin?
so far only try Marina Barrage, but Singapore flyer also can. Marina Barrage is suitable for maiden flight, dont do it on the part people play kite, its not allow, you can fly at the grass beside car park. If you want we could meet up and go fly together, there is actually a active mavic & spark group in Singapore, I joined their whatsapp group and almost everyday there will be few person gather together to fly.

This post has been edited by K1d0: Jul 11 2017, 07:31 PM
K1d0
post Jul 11 2017, 08:13 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 11 2017, 07:59 PM)
pic quality not bad although kind of dark.. is this is the maximum height spark can go?
All using Auto, it can be better if use manual, actually abit hard to see my phone screen due to sunlight sweat.gif waiting for my sunshade to arrive. By the way, there is option to display histogram on screen, I forget about that so should be able to control the exposure better with it.

Nope, that's my first flight I only go up to 40 meter but the area I flying limited to 60 meter. If you ignore the limit, can go up to 500 meter.
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 10:38 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 10:15 AM)
ic.. great to hear that hehe
how much total you spend on your stuffs?
Faster get 1 and try, you will not disappoint with it tongue.gif

btw it's recommend to connect your phone to RC via OTG cable to reduce video latency, and if you're using edge phone its better to get a external phone holder for RC. Mavic/Spark RC when mount edge phone, the edge its kinda hard to press and if your lightning/usb-c/micro usb cable is not L-shape, you will have abit discomfort holding the remote too sweat.gif
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 12:02 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 11:11 AM)
wow it's not cheap hehe.. but if you plan to invest in higher end drones in the future.. it's an investment though..
waiting for suitable timing n $$ haha
i also consider for very long between mavic and spark then finally go for spark.

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 12 2017, 11:19 AM)
very good price indeed! should be getting it today right? enjoy!

also would like to ask pro here, yesterday night i tested the drone in my room, put it on the center of my room and take off. it starts hovering and when i was checking on the phone setting, the drone flew backward and hit the towel that hung on my door and drop on the play mat, lucky no damage. bangwall.gif  but i thought it wont move unless i control it?
Is your room well lit? If not, the downward optical sensor wont work well. Your DJI Go4 show ATTI or OPTI?

K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 01:41 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 12 2017, 01:30 PM)
Ah i guess that explains. Room not really well lit. I din check it shows atti or opti.later night checj again
I think thats why, if it show Atti means there it's in full manual mode without any GPS/downward sensor assists to hold position but barometer should still work to hold altitude

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 12 2017, 01:31 PM)
I see.after the drone crash the apps notified me to the compass calibration only.
QUOTE(rush25 @ Jul 12 2017, 12:18 PM)
It's a quick calibration for the spark. The app will automatically notify you if it needs to be done.
A bad calibration might cause it to move about randomly.
It's not recommend to do IMU calibration if the APP did not ask you, normally it's shipped with IMU calibrated in control environment as I read from other forum.
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 01:43 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 01:40 PM)
then you should go for mavic pro instead hahaha.. if budget is not your concern n you plan to have better capturing or into dronegraphy
Almost pull the trigger on mavic pro, but worry I will not fly it alot because mavic pro look more threatening to public, haha. So decide to get Spark, as I could easily launch it anywhere or launch and land using hand. May upgrade to mavic pro 2 next time when Spark cant meet my requirement tongue.gif
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 02:06 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 01:58 PM)
it's spark can launch it anywhere? or same like mavic pro n other drones got limitation where only can launch it on certain heights, no fly zone, restriction on certain countries, registration or written permission required?  hmm.gif
It's same like mavic pro, there is limitation to follow too. Just that due to it's size and look, it look less threatening in public thus less issue I guess beside that Spark can easily use hand launch & land where it's possible to use when you're on a boat/yatch where mavic can use hand but there is a risk.

Actually main benefit of Spark is weight, 4 battery + spark + controller, its just around Mavic weight with 1 battery. So it's more comfortable when carry with other camera gear tongue.gif
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 02:29 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 02:22 PM)
ahhh.. ic.. i also think impossible there no limitation.. how i wish that there is no  tongue.gif  just like zerotech dobby
Yeap, I think it's due to Spark take off weight is 300g more than 250g set by FAA, not sure if FAA applicable for US only or include other country. If i not wrong, drone law applicable for all drone include zerotech dobby, just try avoid flying above crowded area then should be ok.
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 03:52 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 02:51 PM)
yeah i know.. just that zerotech dobby no need registered..

some places really need to take pics especially travel.. attraction places sure crowded.. so beat the meaning of selfies drone already ma  tongue.gif can only launch on outskirts or some places.. still gonna take my camera, smarthphone, gimbal or action cam to take pics.. during travel  hmm.gif
Haha yeap, but I believe crowded place should still have some spot with less people and you could have a quick launch on your drone go up, take a few picture/video then come back down.

You got a lot of gadgets tongue.gif For me just camera and tripod, and now add 1 more Spark (If the country allow).
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 03:53 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jul 12 2017, 03:43 PM)
very very tempting now..... thanks for the good deal info.
Buy first, regret later tongue.gif but I believe you wont regret after you get biggrin.gif
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 05:22 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(Cynox @ Jul 12 2017, 04:00 PM)
already blow my budget for gadgets this month.  but seeing good deal like this, hard to resist.  rolleyes.gif
laugh.gif use next month budget to get for this month tongue.gif

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 05:03 PM)
perhaps i can secretly launch awhile n not that high.. hopefully wont being caught. lolz.. but also scare as other countries rules is quite strict. they will demand or hold your stuffs if being caught.

i where got lotsa gadgets.. normal common one only.  tongue.gif
Yup, as long as it's not a no fly zone and you dont see no drone sign around then it will be safe to fly by following the country rule. Normally if the country not allow to fly, when you enter they will confiscated and store at airport until when you leaving the country only can collect back.

Got gimbal and action cam tongue.gif You do videography a lot?
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 07:31 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 12 2017, 05:57 PM)
i heard about it will be store and confiscated at the airport  sad.gif

i don't have gimbal n action cam. that is my wish list only  biggrin.gif  i also wish to own one.. slowly 1 by 1 la.. no i seldom do videography. i shoot pics more
Yeah, I heard Vietnam started recently but not sure true or not. Vietnam is a nice play to fly drone also, if they really ban then thats very bad.

Haha same, I dont really take video, prefer picture more. I got thought of get go pro hero 5 to replace my mirrorless, but scare picture quality not on par of what I prefer sweat.gif so in the end still back to mirrorless.
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 08:20 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 12 2017, 07:34 PM)
First test flight today. Flight time about 12 minutes with 14percent battery life left.find it very hard to control with the phone and the apps itself crashed 2 times during the flight.and the keep getting lost signal...my god...i think need to buy controller liao...any place to suggest? Wana get the combo with propeller guard,battery and the hub as well.
Try put your phone in airplane mode and on your WiFi only. If you using android, clear your ram first before start using. I also heard alot story of android app crash, but so far I fly 4 times there is no crash, normally i just clear my background app + ram before starting. Oh, and remove any bluetooth device such as earpiece or smart watch.
K1d0
post Jul 12 2017, 10:47 PM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(rush25 @ Jul 12 2017, 10:15 PM)
just took mine out for its first spin. Manage to get around 15~20min flight time with multiple takeoff/landing.
100% sure that additional battery is needed.
And the GPS seems to be unstable even in an open area.

P.S : That moment when you hit the Return to Home first time, and the drone shoots straight up  ohmy.gif
What did you set for your return to home altitude? If you flying higher it will remain, but if flying lower than the altitude you set, it will go up to the altitude only fly back to home point.
K1d0
post Jul 13 2017, 09:47 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(rush25 @ Jul 12 2017, 11:15 PM)
i tried it in the beginner mode, should be the default 20m high.
Nevertheless, it manage to prove that the RTH works though for my Spark thumbsup.gif
I think RTH default at 30m. Yup, RTH will work.

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 13 2017, 09:00 AM)
yea the gps unstable and i keep getting signal lost too. and the drone drop from where its hovering straight to the ground(without stopping and straight hit the ground,lucky it was on grass), not sure if its emergency landing  hmm.gif
What's the GPS count you get when take off? and the GPS count when drop? You can upload your log to airdata/phantomhelp to get more details log, so you can roughly know what causes the issue. By right drone should not drop suddenly.

K1d0
post Jul 13 2017, 10:11 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 13 2017, 09:56 AM)
how do i check the log?thanks for the info
Go to airdata.com and register a free user, then there is some steps to get sync token. after that install HD Sync in your device and insert the token then enable Auto Sync. So it will auto sync your DJI Go 4 log into airdata, then air data will breakdown your log to multiple category.
K1d0
post Jul 13 2017, 10:17 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Jul 13 2017, 10:08 AM)
oh really? i didn't know as i never been before hehe..

eh we have same thought la..  biggrin.gif but in the end i can choose either 1 as $$ concern. hero 5 or spark.. h5 quality not bad but most people use it for capture video more.. i think spark will not have the quality of the cam output as well..  hehe
Yeap, vietnam got alot nice scenary. About the drone I'm not so sure but saw that at other forum where people discussing. smile.gif

laugh.gif Yeah, seem like hero 5 is more for video rather than picture but with the size it's really convenient. For me if I have to choose hero 5 or spark, I will go with Spark although the quality of cam may not be on par with hero 5 but it give you a different perspective of the world tongue.gif
K1d0
post Jul 13 2017, 10:19 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 13 2017, 10:13 AM)
Ok will do it later.
I check back the flight record, this photo can see the drone dropped vertically fast with 16 gps bar but with "no gps" sign lol.
[attachmentid=8962010]
Did you get any error stating magnetic interference?

I following China DJI forum closely before I bought, and actually there is alot of them having similar issue, drone suddenly drop out from sky or sudden lost of GPS but the other english forum, there is much lesser complain on the issue so I guess it might related to China being the first batch of having the Spark and there might be some fix on later batch. Can't confirm on this.
K1d0
post Jul 13 2017, 10:25 AM

starrrrr
1,386 posts

QUOTE(angel-girl @ Jul 13 2017, 10:23 AM)
no warning at all. but it could be cause by interference thou. was tested the flight at a open area, but surrounded by houses.
hmm, by right if there is interference it will should warning. Compass calibration ok? but to be safe, for next few flight try dont fly too high and see if got similar issue. If still suddenly drop, better ask seller to exchange a new unit.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0445sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:47 PM