Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!
rollinpark
Oct 26 2007, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Oct 26 2007, 09:32 PM) with recent history of hospital visit , ur father's application will handled CAREFULLY by the underwriters..., get all related reports ready... the method is legal and not miracle....only help abit... is him having hypertension ? in his case , Easy to buy is policy tht copy TPD/Deaths but he needs critical illnesses policy (u will not like the loading.....) medical card get now oso got waiting period for certain claims , anyhow, it's nothing compare to future heavy bills....get ur agent to advise u more on the product feature n most importantly, procedure of claiming and the under clause of it... Hi, Means the more reports the hospital have, the heavier the premium ? I read that great eastern has this policy for seniors with rm53/month. So is it just promotion with terms and condition only?
yewkhuay
Oct 27 2007, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(rollinpark @ Oct 26 2007, 10:12 PM) Hi, Means the more reports the hospital have, the heavier the premium ? I read that great eastern has this policy for seniors with rm53/month. So is it just promotion with terms and condition only? nope, usually all insurance company will ask u hav u been admited to hospital recently / hav u been sick recently ? if u answer no and hav health problem later it will trace back to ur visit to hospital n they can reject ur any claim due to non-disclosure, if u answer yes, then every company would be interested to know y were u admited n what sickness u hav....so relevant reports has to be submitted. then if u hav pre-existing health problem like hypertension / high colesterol / uric acid /migraine / proteinuria .....list goes on.....u will be asked to go for medical check up especially for those aged above 50 or 60 (depends on wat plan u r applying.), simple medical check up is compulsory ,and when some readings in the report is not nice, they will load ur premium accordingly...or may refer to re-insurer to absorb ur loading. if i m not mistaken, tht policy cover death n TPD only, it might be 53/m, depends on client sex/ age/ amount of coverage n rider attached. the best is contact ur agent to get the plan name n details, advertisement is just to fish u to ask for more answer...
Colaboy
Nov 1 2007, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(biebie @ Apr 20 2007, 11:28 PM) Can any one provide the detail benefits of Great Eastern medical card that covers up to 100 years old ? Great Eastern medical card up to 100 years old in fact works this way Example you have a life coverage RM100,000 Medical Card coverage exp RM 50,000 per annum Medical Card coverage exp RM 150,000 per life When you are over 70 years old, any medical claim will be deducted from the life coverage of RM100,000 instead of the Medical Card coverage. Correct me if i'm wrong
porkchop
Nov 1 2007, 04:58 PM
for me i go for a more reputable and international company like AIA.........so far my medical claims was easy with their card and no fuss during claism.....really as per the agent says naything wrong, money come within 4 days
Zarth
Nov 2 2007, 12:57 AM

Dear porkchop, I'm glad you're happy with AIA's services.  Just for your info, AIA has upgraded its Medical Card ECP up untill Age 100. So if you already own AIA's Platinum Medical Card, its an automatic upgrade from the previous age 80 limit. Here's the press advertisement that AIA put up recently. http://www.aia.com.my/downloads/ecp100_eng.pdfIts the one and only true First in the Market Medical Card that offers full medical coverage up till age 100. It was a major move on AIA's behalf towards achieving its customer focused growth strategy. For those interested you can PM me for details. On the other hand, if you're an Manchester United Fan and would you like to win a trip to watch them Live at Old Trafford, just follow the link below. http://www.aia.com.my/downloads/MU%20leaflet.pdfFill it in and send in to stand a chance to win. Good Luck! No chance for me as they don't open it up for agents. This post has been edited by Zarth: Nov 2 2007, 12:59 AM
Shinichi
Nov 3 2007, 09:53 PM
Hi all, want to ask usually maximum how many % of our income should spend in insurance?
yewkhuay
Nov 3 2007, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 3 2007, 09:53 PM) Hi all, want to ask usually maximum how many % of our income should spend in insurance? Thanks. it's upto u. and it depends on how many dependants u have, whether u hav to contirbute to family expenses / siblings study/ repay study loan/..... generally, 10-15% of ur annual income..
RealtyAgent
Nov 3 2007, 10:55 PM

Prudential BSN is one of the best....from my point of view..
yewkhuay
Nov 4 2007, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(RealtyAgent @ Nov 3 2007, 10:55 PM) Prudential BSN is one of the best....from my point of view.. kindly PM me regarding ur siggy...
Colaboy
Nov 4 2007, 12:33 AM
QUOTE(RealtyAgent @ Nov 3 2007, 10:55 PM) Prudential BSN is one of the best....from my point of view.. another vote for PRUDENTIAL cause i'm in it ^^
Shinichi
Nov 4 2007, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Nov 3 2007, 10:04 PM) it's upto u. and it depends on how many dependants u have, whether u hav to contirbute to family expenses / siblings study/ repay study loan/..... generally, 10-15% of ur annual income.. oh, so mean if i earn 2k a month, so max i should spend in insurance is around 200 right?
dreamer101
Nov 4 2007, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 4 2007, 12:41 AM) oh, so mean if i earn 2k a month, so max i should spend in insurance is around 200 right? Shinichi, Wrong question. Are you saving ANY money before you talk about buying insurance?? If you CANNOT save 10% to 15% of your income every month, why are you buying insurance?? Insurance is NOT saving. Dreamer
yewkhuay
Nov 4 2007, 01:05 AM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 4 2007, 12:41 AM) oh, so mean if i earn 2k a month, so max i should spend in insurance is around 200 right? don forget if u hav carloan houseloan and u don even hav normal saving rate for cash in hand , insurance will ruin ur financial health, but at least get a medical card when u can't buy regular premium policy.
Shinichi
Nov 4 2007, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 4 2007, 12:59 AM) Shinichi, Wrong question. Are you saving ANY money before you talk about buying insurance?? If you CANNOT save 10% to 15% of your income every month, why are you buying insurance?? Insurance is NOT saving. Dreamer QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Nov 4 2007, 01:05 AM) don forget if u hav carloan houseloan and u don even hav normal saving rate for cash in hand , insurance will ruin ur financial health, but at least get a medical card when u can't buy regular premium policy. Hi, Yes I currently allocate nearly 40% of my income as my savings as I don't have any other commitment yet. So do you think if its ok for me to use 10% of my income for insurance? Thanks.
Colaboy
Nov 4 2007, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 4 2007, 12:06 PM) Hi, Yes I currently allocate nearly 40% of my income as my savings as I don't have any other commitment yet. So do you think if its ok for me to use 10% of my income for insurance? Thanks. 10% is alright, for a insurans coverage of RM150-200 i think you can get urself a very good deal at least you secure urself if something happens
SUSflamer
Nov 4 2007, 07:01 PM
Are there any insurance package that can cover someone who becomes paralyzed/unable to work after an accident?
I have talked to a couple of insurance agent, but none is able to give me a good answer on this. Most insurance covers only a loss of something such as limbs, fingers, leg, 32 illnesses but what about a vegetative state?
One insurance agent even told me that me that since someone in a vegetative state does not lose anything, they wont get anything.
yewkhuay
Nov 4 2007, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(flamer @ Nov 4 2007, 07:01 PM) Are there any insurance package that can cover someone who becomes paralyzed/unable to work after an accident? I have talked to a couple of insurance agent, but none is able to give me a good answer on this. Most insurance covers only a loss of something such as limbs, fingers, leg, 32 illnesses but what about a vegetative state? One insurance agent even told me that me that since someone in a vegetative state does not lose anything, they wont get anything. ask ur agent about definition of all 36 critical illnesses, then ask him/her about paralyse and coma again .but make sure u ask about the right policy not just PA.
Shinichi
Nov 4 2007, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(Colaboy @ Nov 4 2007, 05:45 PM) 10% is alright, for a insurans coverage of RM150-200 i think you can get urself a very good deal at least you secure urself if something happens  I see. Thanks for the input
Colaboy
Nov 5 2007, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(flamer @ Nov 4 2007, 07:01 PM) Are there any insurance package that can cover someone who becomes paralyzed/unable to work after an accident? I have talked to a couple of insurance agent, but none is able to give me a good answer on this. Most insurance covers only a loss of something such as limbs, fingers, leg, 32 illnesses but what about a vegetative state? One insurance agent even told me that me that since someone in a vegetative state does not lose anything, they wont get anything. If you bought 36 illness or basic life policy, it will pay out the full amount coverage when vegetative happens. Or mayb crisis cover income.
l3iTi
Nov 6 2007, 08:35 PM
Hei...anyone are with HLA (Hong Leong Assurance) policy?
Well, someone come to me talk bout this... here's wat he quote...
Life Insurance --> RM50K 36 Critical Illness --> RM50k PA --> RM50k Medical Card --> RM150k
For above coverage, need to pay RM163 monthly for 20years...
I believe, this will be a good start for those just started work lor...am i right? Anyway, i see that almost every company also offer the same kind of policy as above lor... Only depends u wanna choose which company...maybe u prefer more reputable or those easier to get claims lor...As for me, i'm doubful bout HLA also...lol...
But got one thing i think HLA got upper hand is the Medical Card lor...i've been told that this card can be use in any Hospital in M'sia...unlike others that only applicable to the panel hospital only...
So anyone is under HLA policy, mind to share ur opinions? Besides that, can anyone tell me how to use the Medical Card? Is it we need to pay first, then only can claim when get submitted to hospital? Or, just show the card, enough already?
As u know, last time got a case that the lady submitted to private hospital, but need to pay cash 1st then only the Dr treat her...