Choosing Life Insurance, Advice Please!!!

yewkhuay
post Apr 19 2007, 01:49 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Mar 26 2007, 11:10 AM)
For me, 24 yrs old.

I just plan to hav medical card, P.A, 32 sickness which RM 100-150 per month

Life insuran is not in the plan yet bcoz no ppl depending on me (not married, parents will working).

Am i wrong?
could be wrong , u hav to understand ur future needs...

Added on April 20, 2007, 3:05 am
QUOTE(nicholas84 @ Apr 18 2007, 10:07 AM)
1)he lost his job for almost half a year, yes he had emergency funds and all of us went out to work to slow down the fund depletion process and yes he has coverage for life, critical illness and hospital, during that period he maintain his protection and cancel all ours

2)i'm aware about that, but i don think you can blame insurance for this, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know that emergency cash flow is always needed, anyway is only a handful of this kind of people who fail to pioritize and plan

3)it think it is, saving money has been taught since young by our parents, i don expect to walk into a restaurant and expect the chef to teach me how to use a fork

pardon me, but can you explain more detailed about no pure disability insurance?
don't get offended ....our senior here is Very experienced in insurance , u try Pro-insurance with no sufficient professional facts , u r an Agent....

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Apr 20 2007, 03:05 AM
yewkhuay
post Apr 22 2007, 11:51 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(biebie @ Apr 20 2007, 11:28 PM)
Can any one provide the detail benefits of Great Eastern medical card that covers up to 100 years old ?
it's a fusion of traditional life insurance + medical card , but after age 70 still allow the medical to be used with limited amount of sum assured. smile.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 26 2007, 12:45 PM

6,657 posts

i m greeting him SEnior not bcoz he is senior or experience....kakaka!!!
he got age....smile.gif
yewkhuay
post Oct 18 2007, 11:10 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 18 2007, 10:34 PM)
Hi all,

I heard some say its better to buy insurance when we are young. I'm now 23 (by year) and 22 (by month), still 1 more month before I turn 23. So may I know among AIA, Prudential and GE, if I were to buy an insurance plan, which of them count the starting year from age 22 and not 23? I heard from 1 of my friend that AIA is count by month and GE is by year, is this true?

great eastern take next age for certain products and if less than 6months from previous birthday can backdate for certain products. there are company which take closest age, i can't be sure.
yewkhuay
post Oct 19 2007, 11:02 PM

6,657 posts

actually for age 20-25, the insurance charges doesn't differ much so long u r healthy subject... +-1yr old doesn't really matter.
yewkhuay
post Oct 20 2007, 06:44 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 20 2007, 03:40 PM)
is this true? if yes then I dont need to hurry and get 1 plan now before my birthday. can take more time to study which is suitable to my needs.
ask ur agent to show u the quotation for age b4 birthday n after birthday u will see the little difference. the most important thing, understand what u buy.... tht little diffence in 20-30yrs time won't make u poorer...
yewkhuay
post Oct 20 2007, 10:41 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 20 2007, 09:37 PM)
Thanks for the feedback guys. Anyway since my parents already bought insurance for me, but when my friend (an insurance agent) studies my insurance policy he says maybe I could consider to get another insurance to add up to the sum assured of my current plan. So you guys think should I get an additional plan? How much is enough for sum assured?

oh, u didn't mention u got existing plan....what plan is tht ? yes, u may top up ur existing plan as along as meets ur need.. nod.gif
yewkhuay
post Oct 21 2007, 11:08 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 20 2007, 11:07 PM)

my current insurance plan only pays the following:

10k for natural death
10k + 10k for accidental death
10k + 15k for TPD
10k + 10k + 15k for accidental TPD
15k for 36 CI

Is the above coverage enough? Should I get another plan to add up the coverage?

what u r having is on TPD/Death plan with 2X claims for accident caused death/TPD. u r still lack of the most important Medical coverage and critical illness protection (which most likely u needed them than the TPD/death claim).
yewkhuay
post Oct 21 2007, 11:23 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 21 2007, 11:21 AM)

So what I need now just to add more coverage to critical illness protection and medical coverage? Then is medical card = medical coverage?

yup, medical card Can be medical coverage ( coz there is another thing called hospital coverage ...)

whether to add above coverage is up to u, medical card is a must nod.gif , critical illness is upto u. ... laugh.gif
yewkhuay
post Oct 21 2007, 07:59 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 21 2007, 07:50 PM)

but I already had a medical card. Just the coverage I think not so high. So should get another medical card with better coverage? Since only one of it can be used.
hai...u didn't mention earlier...

ok, a simple guide to check how much portection u need ( just a guide, varies depend on individuals..), 10-15% of ur yearly income as premium or get a coverage of 5-10X of ur annual income, priority should go to medical coverage as medical bill increases by year , min 50-60K/yr coverage.

if u hav family history (close relatives, grand parents, parents.) of critical illnesses, pay attention on this coverage.

if ur working life involved spending much time on the road /public transport , get some PA (free or paying).

Death/TPD is only something down the list...

just my 2cents.
yewkhuay
post Oct 21 2007, 08:29 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 21 2007, 08:01 PM)
I give you a hint on what i bought

death  and Critical Ilness =>100K
medical card=>225k until 60 or 70 (Max one year can use only 75k)
plus a bit of investment.

total i pay is rm220 per year.
I think you need to topup for your critical ilness and death to at least 100k. less if you are already working and your compnay is covering you.

a freiend of mine..already 30. and he have some back problem, so its very difficult for him to get a medical card or at least it would cost him an arm and a leg to get it covered...so get it while you are still young and heathy..
erm...220/yr or 220/month? sweat.gif
yewkhuay
post Oct 22 2007, 12:04 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Oct 21 2007, 09:27 PM)
Mistake mistake.....peryear...
i wish it was permonth...
hahaa
huh? u wish it to be permonth instead of peryr? now u making me confused....i believe it is 220/month rite..?

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 21 2007, 11:35 PM)
Thanks yewkhuay & bengang13 for the guidelines.

I'll give priority to medical coverage and critical illness. So if my current medical coverage is not sufficient, is it ok for me to get another with better coverage? Then how about my current medical card? Can cancel it?
And may I know what does PA means?

PA = personal accident.
if ur current medical card is standalone yearly renewal, u can upgrade tht card , no need cancel. unless u r taking up a plan to cover all u needed above, then u just let the medical card expire or transfer the premium over (abit paperwork here..).
yewkhuay
post Oct 26 2007, 09:05 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Oct 26 2007, 08:32 PM)
hi guys, may I know what insurance should I buy for my father? 55+, plenty of sickness sad.gif
oready with sickness ? if not diabetes/cancer , u die die oso try to get him a medical card ( with premium loading.... sweat.gif ), at least u save more on his future medical bill....pm me then i teach u how to make his blood test abit better...
yewkhuay
post Oct 26 2007, 09:32 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Oct 26 2007, 09:20 PM)
he just came back from hospital from unknown headache sad.gif he is a heavy smoker, I know his premium will be expensive like hell.

what you mean can make the blood test looks better? legal to do or not? later if insurance company found out cheating then how?

other than medical card is there any insurance policy that's advisable to buy?
with recent history of hospital visit , ur father's application will handled CAREFULLY by the underwriters..., get all related reports ready...
the method is legal and not miracle....only help abit...
is him having hypertension ?

in his case , Easy to buy is policy tht cover TPD/Deaths but he needs critical illnesses policy (u will not like the loading.....)
medical card get now oso got waiting period for certain claims , anyhow, it's nothing compare to future heavy bills....get ur agent to advise u more on the product feature n most importantly, procedure of claiming and the under clause of it...

This post has been edited by yewkhuay: Oct 27 2007, 12:36 AM
yewkhuay
post Oct 27 2007, 12:43 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(rollinpark @ Oct 26 2007, 10:12 PM)

Means the more reports the hospital have, the heavier the premium ?
I read that great eastern has this policy for seniors with rm53/month.
So is it just promotion with  terms and condition only?
nope, usually all insurance company will ask u hav u been admited to hospital recently / hav u been sick recently ? if u answer no and hav health problem later it will trace back to ur visit to hospital n they can reject ur any claim due to non-disclosure, if u answer yes, then every company would be interested to know y were u admited n what sickness u hav....so relevant reports has to be submitted. then if u hav pre-existing health problem like hypertension / high colesterol / uric acid /migraine / proteinuria .....list goes on.....u will be asked to go for medical check up especially for those aged above 50 or 60 (depends on wat plan u r applying.), simple medical check up is compulsory ,and when some readings in the report is not nice, they will load ur premium accordingly...or may refer to re-insurer to absorb ur loading.

if i m not mistaken, tht policy cover death n TPD only, it might be 53/m, depends on client sex/ age/ amount of coverage n rider attached. the best is contact ur agent to get the plan name n details, advertisement is just to fish u to ask for more answer... icon_rolleyes.gif
yewkhuay
post Nov 3 2007, 10:04 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 3 2007, 09:53 PM)
Hi all, want to ask usually maximum how many % of our income should spend in insurance?

it's upto u. and it depends on how many dependants u have, whether u hav to contirbute to family expenses / siblings study/ repay study loan/.....

generally, 10-15% of ur annual income..
yewkhuay
post Nov 4 2007, 12:19 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(RealtyAgent @ Nov 3 2007, 10:55 PM)
Prudential BSN is one of the best....from my point of view..
kindly PM me regarding ur siggy...
yewkhuay
post Nov 4 2007, 01:05 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 4 2007, 12:41 AM)
oh, so mean if i earn 2k a month, so max i should spend in insurance is around 200 right?
don forget if u hav carloan houseloan and u don even hav normal saving rate for cash in hand , insurance will ruin ur financial health, but at least get a medical card when u can't buy regular premium policy.
yewkhuay
post Nov 4 2007, 11:03 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(flamer @ Nov 4 2007, 07:01 PM)
Are there any insurance package that can cover someone who becomes paralyzed/unable to work after an accident?

I have talked to a couple of insurance agent, but none is able to give me a good answer on this. Most insurance covers only a loss of something such as limbs, fingers, leg, 32 illnesses but what about a vegetative state?

One insurance agent even told me that me that since someone in a vegetative state does not lose anything, they wont get anything.
ask ur agent about definition of all 36 critical illnesses, then ask him/her about paralyse and coma again .but make sure u ask about the right policy not just PA.
yewkhuay
post Nov 7 2007, 10:21 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(l3iTi @ Nov 6 2007, 08:35 PM)
Hei...anyone are with HLA (Hong Leong Assurance) policy?

Well, someone come to me talk bout this...
here's wat he quote...

Life Insurance --> RM50K
36 Critical Illness --> RM50k
PA --> RM50k
Medical Card --> RM150k

For above coverage, need to pay RM163 monthly for 20years...

I believe, this will be a good start for those just started work lor...am i right? Anyway, i see that almost every company also offer the same kind of policy as above lor... Only depends u wanna choose which company...maybe u prefer more reputable or those easier to get claims lor...As for me, i'm doubful bout HLA also...lol...

But got one thing i think HLA got upper hand is the Medical Card lor...i've been told that this card can be use in any Hospital in M'sia...unlike others that only applicable to the panel hospital only...

So anyone is under HLA policy, mind to share ur opinions?
Besides that, can anyone tell me how to use the Medical Card?
Is it we need to pay first, then only can claim when get submitted to hospital?
Or, just show the card, enough already?

As u know, last time got a case that the lady submitted to private hospital, but need to pay cash 1st then only the Dr treat her...
what is ur age ? occupation? and y 20yrs ? don't u think u r more in need for insurance 20yrs later ?
scout around , rm163.m can get u 100-150K in life/36DD + medical card +etc...

for medical card, some hospital require a deposit eventhough u got medical card, like sunway. Sunway just promise GE they will not take deposit fr GE clients anymore. If GL is out, u will not hav to pay the bill, if not, u will hav to pay 1st and claim from the company.
the "someone " who offer u the package didn't explain to u how to use medical card? sweat.gif

0.0350sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:43 PM