30 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Credit Cards Credit Card v20, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

cybpsych
post Jul 1 2018, 06:32 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

seems like IWK portal can subscribe eBill now, instead of keep checking the portal for current oustanding or missing hardcopy statement.

cybpsych
post Jul 1 2018, 06:37 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jul 1 2018, 06:35 PM)
how much is the minimum spent?
if u check in maybank

Annual Fee
Principal: RM550, FREE for the first year. Subsequent years FREE if spend a min of RM30,000 and above per annum
Effective date 1 December 2016)

cybpsych
post Jul 8 2018, 02:44 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(senzueno @ Jul 8 2018, 02:29 PM)
What’s the best credit card for overseas use?
ask here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4161836

follow template in post #2
cybpsych
post Jul 13 2018, 10:29 AM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jul 12 2018, 08:12 PM)
Hi guys, my boss advised me to get a CC since our line of work might need it. So I am thinking to get a basic CC. There are a few questions that I hope to be able to answered here. Here goes:

1) I read that it is best to use the CC and clear off any balance before the 30th day, which can positively impact your credit score, what about installments (0% or with interest)? Given that I am able to pay on time, but may not able to clear off all in a month. How does it affect my credit score?

2) How does it work with installment (0% or more) offered by some merchants? As far as I know, I am paying the bank but not the merchant directly. Does it mean the merchant will liaise with the bank to adjust the interest rate and I just pay the % the merchant offers?

3) What will happen to my credit card if I do not use it in a long time? And will that affect my credit score?

4) Applying for <Maybank 2 ___ Cards> means I will get 2 cards straight? Are the points accumulate separately for Maybank Amex and Visa/Mastercard?

Hope CC sifu can answer my questions, sorry if I made you confuse as I am ignorant in CC tongue.gif
1) incorrect assumption. each cc/bank has its own statement date/cycle. you'd know it after gotten the card. of course, you can change the date too (limited dates to choose).

no comment on credit score. no experience tracking it as i only pay full on time, everytime. sweat.gif

2) instalment program is between bank <-> merchant. when u buy things and with installment, merchant trigger bank. your card essentially "charged in full" in the system, but only portion of the installment is payable. rinse and repeat each month until all installments completed.

3) no issue if left unused. prefer get cards without annual fee (AF) as a start. slowly learn the cc benefits and upgrade to other/higher cards when income permits.

4) maybank2cards = dual combo card. you get both. cannot terminate either one. points are separate according to card, and per T&C of the points eligibility (not all transactions get 5X with Amex).

these are my simple 20sen comments. there are many literature in the net to read. biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 16 2018, 08:59 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Jul 16 2018, 08:53 PM)
Hey, thank for the 20cents biggrin.gif

1) Yea my mistake on that part. So if a bank offers "20 days interest-free period" means it is Statement Date + 20 days, right?
Do you mean you clear off all outstanding balance prior to the statement date?

2) Does that mean if a merchant offers 0% installment plan (with no hidden charges), then I can straight use my CC to pay and it will apply automatically to my CC?

3) Yeap, going to do that. Thanks!

4) Noted. Thanks!
1) no need clear ALL outstanding. just pay FULL STATEMENT BALANCE on/by DUE DATE. the "20 days interest free period" is when you paid full the previous month.

your oustanding will always fluctuate according to spending or payment. however cc statement is by monthly cycle, just like utilities bill or mobile postpaid bill, etc.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 25 2016, 09:02 AM)
yep, but ~50 days interest free if you spend on 25-Dec only.

the 20-day interest free is from bill date, not not everyday spending will get ~50 days.

illustration...

2) yes. u need to ask the merchant if they have Maybank 0% EPP. they'll advise you accordingly.
cybpsych
post Jul 16 2018, 09:43 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(darien99 @ Jul 16 2018, 09:34 PM)
just got my 1st cc, should I really sign the back of my credit card?  icon_question.gif
good practice to sign smile.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 17 2018, 03:03 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(see kok yuan. @ Jul 17 2018, 03:00 PM)
if PL is cheaper, why people are still using AEON ?
why would you assume ppl use Aeon to buy a 15k bike?
cybpsych
post Jul 17 2018, 03:03 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(see kok yuan. @ Jul 17 2018, 03:00 PM)
if PL is cheaper, why people are still using AEON ?
why would you assume ppl use Aeon to buy a 15k bike?
cybpsych
post Jul 18 2018, 10:41 AM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jul 18 2018, 10:35 AM)
Thanks! So a day diff may mean having to pay by the same cycle, or the next!

Swipe/posted on 18th July = payable by 7th Aug
Swipe/posted on 19th July = payable by 7th Sep!!!

Or am I getting this wrong?
about 50 days max, for those posting just right after statement date.

that's why it's advisable to keep track of all your cc transactions, then you'd know where & when to spend, especially near statement date.
cybpsych
post Jul 18 2018, 11:06 AM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(apamise @ Jul 18 2018, 10:53 AM)
Is it really worth it though? Sounds like too much effort for 0 gain. You're making things easier for your current self at the expense of your future self. hmm.gif
that's the behavior of all credit card statement cycle. nothing to burden.

same like monthly postpaid bill or utilities bill. you dont pay every day of usage. you pay according to monthly statement.
cybpsych
post Jul 18 2018, 02:06 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Dec 25 2016, 09:02 AM)
yep, but ~50 days interest free if you spend on 25-Dec only.

the 20-day interest free is from bill date, not not everyday spending will get ~50 days.

illustration...

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jul 18 2018, 02:05 PM)
Thanks for confirming!
Say you incur the expenses anyway, it makes sense to have the payment delayed. Like them credit terms, the longer it takes for you to pay, the better it is!
I should do the same for my budget too!
Make sense!
drew this last time biggrin.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 19 2018, 03:01 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Jul 19 2018, 02:51 PM)
only upon renewal.
i hope renewal that falls in 2019 is effect.

else, those ngamngam renewed after Sep 1, would hit RM25/card SST.
cybpsych
post Jul 19 2018, 03:34 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Jul 19 2018, 03:21 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR (July 19): Service tax on credit or charge cards, which was scrapped when the goods and services tax was implemented back in 2015, has made its way back in the proposed new model for the sales and services tax (SST), which is deemed SST 2.0, that is due to be implemented on Sept 1.

According to the Royal Malaysian Customs website, under the Frequently Asked Questions on Service Tax, the following was stated as Question 35:

Q: Will I be charged RM25 on existing credit or charge card on Sept 1, 2018?

A: The existing effective period of the card will not be subject to service tax of RM25 until the next annual renewal.

In other words, the service tax of RM25 on each credit or charge card that an individual owns will be charged upon renewal of the card.

It should be noted that the amount is less compared to the old service tax model. Under the old service tax model, a service tax of RM50 a year on each principal credit card and charge card, and a service tax of RM25 a year on each supplementary card was implemented.

Under SST 2.0 the RM25 charge will be applied to each credit or charge card, regardless if it is a principal or supplementary card.
i read this.

what if the next renewal is just after 1 Sep? laugh.gif
cybpsych
post Jul 19 2018, 03:52 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 19 2018, 03:46 PM)
Yeah, that's what I meant. This round no right? It follows the expiry MM/YY?
Will I be charged RM25 on my existing credit or charge card on 1 September 2018?
The existing effective period of the card will not be subject to service tax of RM25 until the next annual renewal.

still subjective statement but should be annual renewal of the card, not expiry of the card (MM/YY).
cybpsych
post Jul 19 2018, 04:46 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(mamamia @ Jul 19 2018, 04:16 PM)
How about PBB Quantum Master & Visa then?  hmm.gif
quantum is 2 separate cards and it was launched during GST time, so no idea how it will be treated in SST.

since u can terminate either card, can terminate QV if not needed.
cybpsych
post Jul 20 2018, 12:02 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Jul 20 2018, 11:58 AM)
I got 2 CC, pre GST, i paided RM50x2 annually.

If this new SST get approved, its going to be RM25x2 for me.

If can, i dont want to pay this RM25x2
nobody wants to (ever) pay any fee for any cards la
cybpsych
post Jul 20 2018, 03:16 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(Zara Aishah @ Jul 20 2018, 03:05 PM)
Hello,

Banks Have a complex and a slow process,  and sometimes they are not even able to provide you with the correct reason for rejecting the Card application.

The same thing happened to my colleague. and just to try her luck she applied through a Credit card Comparison site and was approved and she got the card in less than a week

Moreover, she received some gifts and a voucher for approval  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif . Good isn't it ??
Try applying it from here - https://www.bbazaar.my/credit-card.html
all of your posts are referring to https://www.bbazaar.my hmm.gif

are you representing bbazaar or purely promoting them?
cybpsych
post Jul 30 2018, 11:57 AM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(maria1221 @ Jul 30 2018, 11:56 AM)
need sifu here help
when BANK put CC annual salary requirement per annum is gross salary or net salary
put gross amount
cybpsych
post Jul 30 2018, 02:35 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jul 30 2018, 02:28 PM)
Anyone have anyidea which cash back credit card does not pose minimum spending to get the cash back??

Citibank Cash Back need spending above Rm1k to get the Rm30 cashback.. meaning I need spend sooo much more only toget Rm15 petrol and RM15 Tesco cashback.. seems like not worthy already...

UOB one card now only spending weekeng only can get cash back... much better.. but only weekend.. hrmm....
post here https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4161836/+2240

follow template in post #2

top of my head: m2c amex, pbb quantum visa & mastercard, pbb visa signature, mbb fcb vs, mbb ikhwan visa petronas, mbb ikhwan mastercard, etc

dont know your income or preferences, so above just rough recommendation.
cybpsych
post Jul 30 2018, 02:47 PM

---------------------
65,318 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jul 30 2018, 02:46 PM)
thanks. i will post there to get more info...

M2c amex i am using as well. this does not have cash back from what i know...
you're using m2c amex but you dont know it has 5% cashback? sweat.gif

30 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.2464sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:59 AM