16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

Blu-Ray wins the HD format War, Sony's gamble with Blu-ray on the PS3

OmniAtlas
post Feb 4 2008, 01:33 AM

946 posts

Heard from some of the 'dvd' stores over here that China has already begun to pirate blu-ray; apparently they take the blu-ray data and burn them on regular DVDs -- would these still be considered high-definition?

BTW, speedy video is a rip -- how can they expect bluray to catch on over here when the discs they are selling are 150+ RM? At amazon I'm getting discs at 14 USD a pop.

heavenhell90
post Feb 4 2008, 01:59 AM

1+1=11
1,271 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Feb 4 2008, 01:33 AM)
Heard from some of the 'dvd' stores over here that China has already begun to pirate blu-ray; apparently they take the blu-ray data and burn them on regular DVDs -- would these still be considered high-definition?

BTW, speedy video is a rip -- how can they expect bluray to catch on over here when the discs they are selling are 150+ RM? At amazon I'm getting discs at 14 USD a pop.
hmmm.. but i tot a normal blu ray high definition movie would also take around 20gb of space?? so normal dvd wont fit rite?? jz wondering..
jsc_tidus
post Feb 4 2008, 02:05 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

if its true, dozens of DVD needed to equally match the data on 1 blu ray disc lor.. haha..
andy_lhc
post Feb 4 2008, 08:03 AM

542 posts

I think what the seller meant to say was they rip ou the BD and then compressed it so that it can be burnt using normal DVD? hmm.gif

And to be fair, not all movies from Amazon is USD14 ... sweat.gif only certain titles and we have to wait for the BOGO offer....but the normal BD price is around USD25 which makes them profit at least RM75?? hmm.gif hmm.gif
zio
post Feb 4 2008, 10:33 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I think its been quite a while now the piracy of Blu-rays, albeit in a different format. They burn it into multiple DVD9.

Not sure if its compressed or they split the file. Modded PS3s are also said to be on the loose now.
SUSdattebayo
post Feb 4 2008, 02:33 PM

5,366 posts

do they sucessfully crack the DRM of bluray before able to burn them to DVD9?

so far there's no any mod chip for PS3 that enable them to bypass the DRM or unsigned code (means ahem games lah)
zio
post Feb 4 2008, 03:29 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

No idea for me. All this are just hear say from other people.
OmniAtlas
post Feb 4 2008, 08:12 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Feb 4 2008, 10:33 AM)
I think its been quite a while now the piracy of Blu-rays, albeit in a different format. They burn it into multiple DVD9.

Not sure if its compressed or they split the file. Modded PS3s are also said to be on the loose now.
Moded?? Where? smile.gif I thought the PS3 was unhackable, as of yet...

Added on February 4, 2008, 8:13 pm
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 4 2008, 02:33 PM)
do they sucessfully crack the DRM of bluray before able to burn them to DVD9?

so far there's no any mod chip for PS3 that enable them to bypass the DRM or unsigned code (means ahem games lah)
Not really too sure how the PS3 blu-ray chip works, but does it not play if its not DRM enabled? Must be hell for the manufacturer..

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Feb 4 2008, 08:13 PM
zio
post Feb 5 2008, 03:15 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Feb 4 2008, 08:12 PM)

Not really too sure how the PS3 blu-ray chip works, but does it not play if its not DRM enabled? Must be hell for the manufacturer..
China has them and locally, people in the dark alley says Subang Parade.
SSJBen
post Feb 5 2008, 08:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Feb 4 2008, 08:12 PM)

PS3 was already hackable the first day it was launched, allowing Linux to be installed is already a big hole for hacks. More over, it may be soon where the PS3 may get custom firmware like the PSP does, I wouldn't see it to be surprising.

Triton
post Feb 16 2008, 10:46 AM

Yummy
614 posts

Looks like Blu-ray is winning the format battle with support from Wal-Mart & Blockbuster. Apparently Size Does Matter.

This post has been edited by Triton: Feb 16 2008, 10:47 AM
SUSdattebayo
post Feb 16 2008, 10:55 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 5 2008, 08:12 PM)
PS3 was already hackable the first day it was launched, allowing Linux to be installed is already a big hole for hacks. More over, it may be soon where the PS3 may get custom firmware like the PSP does, I wouldn't see it to be surprising.
however, PS3 got some mechanism which restrict the access to RSX when running in Linux, making the effort of creating homebrew games with PS3 graphics useless

also, u can't boot PS3 game when it's running under linux kernel
SSJBen
post Feb 16 2008, 06:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Feb 16 2008, 10:55 AM)
however, PS3 got some mechanism which restrict the access to RSX when running in Linux, making the effort of creating homebrew games with PS3 graphics useless

also, u can't boot PS3 game when it's running under linux kernel
Not with gentoo Linux. I've heard from many gentoo experts that they are playing PC games on the PS3 itself, not just ordinary streamlining either.

Its sooner or later when homebrew starts to show up on the PS3 IMO.

As on topic, Blu-Ray seems to be already in the winning boot. US Wal-mart just dropped complete support for HD-DVD this coming June. Unless something happens between now and then, its good bye HD-DVD.

cowboy_bebop
post Feb 17 2008, 07:28 AM

65 posts

it's over. bluray won
megatron007
post Feb 17 2008, 10:05 AM

4,000 posts

*hi 5 to blu ray* biggrin.gif
Ngto
post Feb 17 2008, 10:43 AM

4,350 posts

It's already available locally, if you know where to look.

But it's nothing more than Blu-ray downgraded to DVD (dual layer) format (single disc), so don't expect too much. Sometimes the quality do look better compared to the usual DVD only because it's source from Blu-ray was good quality in the first place. Furthermore lots of normal DVD already further lowered in quality to fit single layer DVD so the difference is noticeable when comparing to these ahem discs.

But one thing I observed from those samples I have tried, is that the contrast level on these Blu-ray converted discs are much higher than the usual DVD. Depending on what type of LCD/Plasma you are using it could look better or worse.

Another thing is that half of these samples I tried was prone to bad judder/jerking when the camera is panning.

Triton
post Feb 17 2008, 11:20 AM

Yummy
614 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 17 2008, 10:05 AM)
*hi 5 to blu ray* biggrin.gif
And Bye Bye HD-DVD biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 17 2008, 12:28 PM

11,811 posts

ngto, means its sumthing like superbit dvd?
SUSdattebayo
post Feb 17 2008, 12:39 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 17 2008, 10:43 AM)
It's already available locally, if you know where to look.

But it's nothing more than Blu-ray downgraded to DVD (dual layer) format (single disc), so don't expect too much. Sometimes the quality do look better compared to the usual DVD only because it's source from Blu-ray was good quality in the first place. Furthermore lots of normal DVD already further lowered in quality to fit single layer DVD so the difference is noticeable when comparing to these ahem discs.

But one thing I observed from those samples I have tried, is that the contrast level on these Blu-ray converted discs are much higher than the usual DVD. Depending on what type of LCD/Plasma you are using it could look better or worse.

Another thing is that half of these samples I tried was prone to bad judder/jerking when the camera is panning.
so the DRM has eventually be cracked?
Ngto
post Feb 17 2008, 11:33 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 17 2008, 12:28 PM)
ngto, means its sumthing like superbit dvd?
If you compare to those original DVD, there is not that much different. Maybe a little bit better. For e.g AVP1, the Blu-ray coverted disc look just a bit sharper and shows slightly less picture noise then the normal DVD original (Can't remember how much I bought the original last time, maybe RM39.90). Fyi, AVP1 DVD is prone to picture noise in dark areas.

Some converted titles however, do look much better compared to the ahem counterpart.

On another note, about sound, I noticed one particular Blu-ray converted disc (Flashpoint) .. the DTS sound was not as loud or clear compared to the ahem one smile.gif . But other titles are better or about the same , it all depends.

But all said and done the bad judder on some of the titles is what spoils it all.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Feb 17 2008, 11:47 PM

16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Top

0.0237sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:43 AM