16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Blu-Ray wins the HD format War, Sony's gamble with Blu-ray on the PS3

TSlightning69
post Mar 16 2007, 08:17 PM, updated 19y ago

2,298 posts

It seems like sony decision to include Blu-ray on the PS3 has finally pay off.

PS3 PUSH GIVES EDGE IN VIDEO FORMAT WAR
silencer
post Mar 16 2007, 10:36 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Mar 16 2007, 08:17 PM)
It seems like sony decision to include Blu-ray on the PS3 has finally pay off.

PS3 PUSH GIVES EDGE IN VIDEO FORMAT WAR
Dudes..thats obsolete news >>" In Casey's view, the many studios providing movies on Blu-ray, along with its inclusion in the PS3 (listing for $500, about the same as the cheapest HD DVD player) gives it an insurmountable advantage over HD DVD. (An attachment to play HD DVD discs is available as a $200 add-on for Xbox.)"<<< Take notes that the cheapest HD-DVD player costs less than US$300 now..so, next time, gather the info bfore posting here...

There's no doubt that Blueray has the edge....but having two different formats...will definitely benefits the customers....and there is no clear winner yet...
TSlightning69
post Mar 17 2007, 08:39 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Mar 16 2007, 10:36 PM)
Dudes..thats obsolete news >>" In Casey's view, the many studios providing movies on Blu-ray, along with its inclusion in the PS3 (listing for $500, about the same as the cheapest HD DVD player) gives it an insurmountable advantage over HD DVD. (An attachment to play HD DVD discs is available as a $200 add-on for Xbox.)"<<< Take notes that the cheapest HD-DVD player costs less than US$300 now..so, next time, gather the info bfore posting here...

There's no doubt that Blueray has the edge....but having two different formats...will definitely benefits the customers....and there is no clear winner yet...
What do you mean outdated news....its dated March 8, 2007
SUSSetsunahq
post Mar 17 2007, 12:07 PM

128 posts

but having two different formats...will definitely benefits the customers

lots of balls and hair
SUSMatrix
post Mar 20 2007, 11:05 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I've a feeling they will win the format war....but at the expense of the console war. You simply can't win em all.
ubvmadman
post Mar 23 2007, 05:14 PM

22 posts

Two formats will fight it out and the winner will be plain old vanilla DVD.

At the very least the lifetime of the old format will be extended by a few years. Its like DAT vs MiniDisc to replace the old casette tape. Both of them got nowhere until CD came along and replaced everything.
Miyabi
post Mar 24 2007, 03:06 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

i dont know how to put this, it's just like when sony start to use "dvd" as gaming media. smile.gif
qudeenz360
post Jun 18 2007, 12:00 PM

5,761 posts

stevechan360
post Jun 18 2007, 06:48 PM

As for myself,i would rather think that Blu-Ray will just win in the next Gen Storage Media war.
In deed,Blu-Ray movies are more popular than HD DVD movies.
And the most important is,if i purchase a PS3 with the price USD499 or USD599,i can get to enjoy my PS3's games bundle with the Blu-Ray movies.
I have a Xbox360,but never thought to purchase a HD DVD player for it.
crimsonhead
post Jun 18 2007, 06:50 PM

One Of A Kind
2,261 posts

QUOTE(stevechan360 @ Jun 18 2007, 06:48 PM)
As for myself,i would rather think that Blu-Ray will just win in the next Gen Storage Media war.
In deed,Blu-Ray movies are more popular than HD DVD movies.
And the most important is,if i purchase a PS3 with the price USD499 or USD599,i can get to enjoy my PS3's games bundle with the Blu-Ray movies.
I have a Xbox360,but never thought to purchase a HD DVD player for it.
woah.pity ur 360 biggrin.gif
good point also
stevechan360
post Jun 18 2007, 08:30 PM

QUOTE(crimsonhead @ Jun 18 2007, 06:50 PM)
woah.pity ur 360 biggrin.gif
good point also
Xbox360 is actually good enough for me,
i get to enjoy plenty of games that i love with my 360.
like GRAW,Dead Rising,and many more.
But the main problem is still the 3rod.
Still don't get how could Microsoft design a console like this.
It's just an unacceptable hardware's designed problem.

cylon
post Jun 18 2007, 09:37 PM

882 posts

Via BBC.Com

Blockbuster to focus on Blu-ray

Film rental firm Blockbuster is to rent high-definition DVDs in the Blu-ray format only at 1,450 of its US stores.

The move is viewed as a blow for the rival Toshiba-backed HD DVD format - which has been battling against the Blu-ray format, supported by Sony.

Blockbuster said that consumers have chosen Blu-ray over HD DVD in the 250 stores where both were available.

The limited choice of titles in the HD DVD format was also a factor in focusing on Blu-ray, Blockbuster said.

"The consumers are sending us a message. I can't ignore what I'm seeing," Matthew Smith, senior vice president of merchandising at Blockbusters, told the Associated Press news agency.

Mr Smith added that most studios were offering films on Blu-ray, with the exception of Universal which has been supplying films on HD DVD alone.

The North American HD DVD Promotional Group said Blockbuster's move was short sighted, and had been prompted by the success of films released exclusively in the Blu-ray format in early 2007 such as Casino Royale and Spider Man.

"I think trying to make a format decision using such a short time period is really not measuring what the consumer is saying," said Ken Graffeo, co-president of the group.

The HD DVD format will still be available at Blockbuster in 250 of its stores as well as via the internet.

This post has been edited by cylon: Jun 18 2007, 09:38 PM
Mgsrulz
post Jun 19 2007, 08:28 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

^many at gametrailers have proclaimed blu ray tne winner thanks to blockbuster...
rx330
post Jun 19 2007, 10:12 AM

11,811 posts

er..... so end of the day, xbox360 = game console, PS3 = bluray player ar?
htkaki
post Jun 19 2007, 12:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

bro rx330, that's what I am thinking of whether to get PS3 from SP as BD player like our friend also. (Scratching itchy hands)
rx330
post Jun 19 2007, 03:59 PM

11,811 posts

ht, jangan fikir liao, just get it

u get player will do, our fren got many many blurays, pinjam can aredi, as long don scratch his disc can liao biggrin.gif
crimsonhead
post Jun 20 2007, 03:44 AM

One Of A Kind
2,261 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 19 2007, 03:59 PM)
ht, jangan fikir liao, just get it

u get player will do, our fren got many many blurays, pinjam can aredi, as long don scratch his disc can liao biggrin.gif
tell me who? i want to borrow also.

This post has been edited by crimsonhead: Jun 20 2007, 03:44 AM
ruztynail
post Jun 20 2007, 01:18 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

go to Great eastern mall at jln ampang watch the blueray player at its best on the 103' inch LCD screen.. freaking beautiful!!! all the way with blueray!
rx330
post Jun 20 2007, 01:36 PM

11,811 posts

whao.... 103? the panasonic LCD ar?

er... crimson , u tak tau malu ar? biggrin.gif
spidercat
post Jun 21 2007, 11:27 PM

121 posts

a ps3 owner tell me blu ray dvd function on ps3 was not perfect as the real blu-ray disc player. not even clear as the real blu ray player . is it real ? but can imagine this situation with the price difference between blu-ray player and ps3

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:49 AM