Blu-Ray wins the HD format War, Sony's gamble with Blu-ray on the PS3
SUSdattebayo
Jan 14 2008, 01:32 PM
microsoft: up to consumers choice http://www.informationweek.com/news/showAr...cleID=205600852 Added on January 14, 2008, 1:36 pmQUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Jan 10 2008, 04:04 AM) HD DVD will triumph... somehow.... believe me... but if Microsoft goes Blu, hoopla for Xbox 360 gamers... they will be offering Blu-ray Drive as add-on... in what way HD DVD will triumph? Xbox360 games are still in DVD9, not much people willing to buy the hd dvd add on, at the current stage it shows no sign that M$ will adopt bluray yet, even if HD DVD fails it still doesn't concern their xbox 360 sales so much, people buy X360 not for the movies, but for the games and technical wise, blu ray offer significantly more storage, which means they can use as many lossless compression stuff as possible This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jan 14 2008, 01:38 PM
SUSdattebayo
Jan 24 2008, 09:07 PM
so if HD DVD lose, that will be end of the DVD forum. even their dvd-r/rw also kena pawned by their "plus RW" rivals, which is also headed by Sony
SUSdattebayo
Jan 27 2008, 11:39 AM
format wars are pointless, just learn how to be harmony, get combo player or don't get at all. While if u can't afford to get one at the moment, stick on DVD or buy PS3 then rent BD-video from someone. PS3 is the cheapest BD player, yet it has the most potential (despite the lens but it's serviceable)  if M$ were to include a built-in HD DVD module in their box360, situations will change This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jan 27 2008, 11:40 AM
SUSdattebayo
Jan 27 2008, 06:30 PM
QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Jan 27 2008, 02:57 PM) I don't know about 'better' (apart from the capacity). BluRay doesnt seem to support the cool stuff HD DVD is able to (like on the 300 or Order of the Phoenix HDDVDs). That said, one of the main reasons I'd hate to see Sony win any format war is because Sony has this history of forcing weird DRMs onto consumers. Boo! i dont really know what difference in terms of interactivity between these 2 format? about DRM, isn't both also offer the same level of copy-protection? the only disc which I think sony has failed at is MiniDisc and UMD. Also betamax lah. but they do success in initiating DVD+RW association, making my 90% of torrent collection are in DVD+R
SUSdattebayo
Jan 31 2008, 12:24 PM
I am not sure if this thread has evolved into a personal attack on people's english level This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jan 31 2008, 12:25 PM
SUSdattebayo
Feb 4 2008, 02:33 PM
do they sucessfully crack the DRM of bluray before able to burn them to DVD9?
so far there's no any mod chip for PS3 that enable them to bypass the DRM or unsigned code (means ahem games lah)
SUSdattebayo
Feb 16 2008, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 5 2008, 08:12 PM) PS3 was already hackable the first day it was launched, allowing Linux to be installed is already a big hole for hacks. More over, it may be soon where the PS3 may get custom firmware like the PSP does, I wouldn't see it to be surprising. however, PS3 got some mechanism which restrict the access to RSX when running in Linux, making the effort of creating homebrew games with PS3 graphics useless also, u can't boot PS3 game when it's running under linux kernel
SUSdattebayo
Feb 17 2008, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 17 2008, 10:43 AM) It's already available locally, if you know where to look. But it's nothing more than Blu-ray downgraded to DVD (dual layer) format (single disc), so don't expect too much. Sometimes the quality do look better compared to the usual DVD only because it's source from Blu-ray was good quality in the first place. Furthermore lots of normal DVD already further lowered in quality to fit single layer DVD so the difference is noticeable when comparing to these ahem discs. But one thing I observed from those samples I have tried, is that the contrast level on these Blu-ray converted discs are much higher than the usual DVD. Depending on what type of LCD/Plasma you are using it could look better or worse. Another thing is that half of these samples I tried was prone to bad judder/jerking when the camera is panning. so the DRM has eventually be cracked?
SUSdattebayo
Feb 18 2008, 09:07 PM
wah.. so shocking that one of the inventor has retreat  next... awaiting microsoft to come out with blu-ray drive add on for xbox  QUOTE The exclusive backing of Microsoft Corp <MSFT.O> was also put in doubt when the software giant said in January that it could consider supporting Blu-ray technology for its Xbox 360 video game machine, which currently works only with HD DVD. This post has been edited by dattebayo: Feb 18 2008, 09:09 PM
SUSdattebayo
Feb 18 2008, 10:05 PM
hopefully the demise of HD-DVD could strengthen people's attention in blu-ray, when the demands rise up, the production costs would be lower, hence we may see cheaper PS3 and games one day
SUSdattebayo
Feb 19 2008, 08:15 PM
when will Toshiba release their first BD player
SUSdattebayo
Feb 20 2008, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Feb 20 2008, 09:47 AM) XBox never came with HD DVD rom in the first place, so they're not so much affected. Unless the game developer having problems with DVD capacity in making bigger and larger game system. Probably they have something like 2 DVD games. hohoohho! The day Xbox uses Blu-Ray will be the day Bill Gates bow down to Sony. its quite enough to put Xbox 360 game in a DVD9 with 9 GB. PC games is currently keeping this capacity. Actually if you go to torrent, look for PS3 ISOs, the size is roughly 7-GB only after RAR compression, which I think the blu-ray's advantage is that they can use lesser or no compression for their games compare to Xbox ps. I don't understand why ppl still upload the ISO when it's not possible to run it currently
SUSdattebayo
Feb 20 2008, 05:02 PM
the problem in MS adopting blu-ray would be the dispute of HDi vs BD-J