casual bike talk..

technosakai
post Nov 20 2022, 05:51 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Nov 20 2022, 04:07 AM)
ouch, starting out im sure we all drop our bikes and make silly mistakes, we live and learn i guess? thats also why we (or at least i did) get beater as the first bike, jatuh less sakit hati
prev owner of my bike also slid out b4, got scratches here n there. i think yours and my bikes are quite cheap to fix up? some bits like levers u can get cheap shopee bits, easy to pasang BUT i realize now, sometimes fitment not exactly ngam?

i cant even count how many times i dropped the bike in class, keep jatuh bodoh. z650 is too heavy for me.
what bike did you get?
yeah well mine shouldn't be an expensive fix i guess.. just sakit hati because mine was in stock condition and im the first one the scratch it haha
the levers are fine.. but oh well.. just make do and keep riding maybe
well jatuh bodoh for a riding school bike is fine, not ours haha besides, those are usually way trashed with dented tanks and all..

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 20 2022, 10:01 AM)
you talk and think technique, is fine, but leave the thinking away from the bike.
while you do all that please be able to visualize doing them on a bike (without actually riding it), and translate those techniques to actions. practise those actions first, and if possible, under a safe environment. most people just increase cornering speed without doing the exercise above, and a fraction of them get into trouble. bikes behave differently at different speeds.

most importantly, you are ok
for your bike, might need good foreman to work it back, especially if the handlebar and lever are bent. Might need flame to do the trick.
speedo seems slower, might be cable or meter damaged. ride a while first, and see how it goes.
alrighty
technosakai
post Dec 1 2022, 01:45 PM

546 posts

do you guys lanesplit all the time? or only when approaching a traffic light?
Just went out to buy lunch riding my bike after my first fall experience last friday. Lane split 3 times at 3 separate lights. Then the rest of the ride I basically treat myself as a car..

I think its the mindset that I have.. cuz previously I've been driving for 10 years. Suddenly ride a bike.. I still think like a driver. Unlike those guys who have been riding since young, they can anyhow cilok even mid corner also got the confidence.. which I think sometimes its quite stupid la. Like the one at federal highway cilok in between a tow truck and car, almost got run over by the car when the rider fell
technosakai
post Dec 1 2022, 04:18 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 1 2022, 02:04 PM)
technosakai
I'm scared to lanesplit, but does it regularly.

doesn't matter other ppl do it or not, ride your own ride

some ppl use side boxes also lanesplit until scratch and hit cars also kept on going

you own your risks
even for an experienced rider you're scared to lanesplit?
I guess everyone gain confidence differently..
but do you lanesplit while moving? like when there's 2/3 lanes of moving traffic, then split in between cars?

This post has been edited by technosakai: Dec 1 2022, 04:18 PM
technosakai
post Dec 1 2022, 05:35 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 1 2022, 04:32 PM)
Yes, scared. My experiences made me scared. During convoy or buddy rides, I'm usually left behind in traffic. There are many maneuvers that I am afraid to do.

If I follow a car, I try to make sure driver can see me in side mirror. If that car brakes for no apparent reason, I brake also... because there might be something right in front of the car that the driver is reacting to, but I can't see because the car is obstructing my view.

I guess you can call it defensive riding.
normal thing to do i guess.. same for driving..
it is defensive riding.. that's what differentiate us from mat rempits
technosakai
post Dec 2 2022, 01:04 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(viosturbo500hp @ Dec 1 2022, 07:14 PM)
I’m also like you, I drove car for my whole life and just got a bike license recently. I practice lane splitting if possible, Non moving traffic, slow or even fast moving traffic. My logic is for lane splitting whenever possible is because I don’t want to be stationary or next to a vehicles blind spot.

Before i got my Vulcan, I rode and am still daily riding my 110cc kapchai in city riding situation. I have clocked 5k km of daily city ride since April. I realise I’m better at lanespliting after starting out with a kapchai. Meanwhie, my friend who got the license at the same time with me, he only rides his big bike occasionally and mostly commute by car. He also have a hard time lane splitting on his mt07.

My point is… maybe you just need more seat time ?
That's probably it. The best answer to every question I've ever asked about riding. More seat time = more exposure hence more experience gained.
I'm the same as your friend. I only need to commute to work once a work, and I usually leave home at 6:15am to avoid the jam. With my current riding experience, its impossible for me to start riding to work at the same time. That's quite dangerous and suicidal..

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 1 2022, 09:37 PM)
Well... I caught myself out trying to lane split with a car having forgotten I was in a car.
But anyhow, lane splitting is inherently dangerous....so care should be taken when doing so. Just to note, being on a bike, really dulls your sense of speed and easy to forget that you are going way too fast for your reaction time and brakes.

I typically lanesplit at slower than kapchai speeds and if speeds are 80-100, I am perfectly fine to keep to a lane. If it's wet out there, I try not to lanesplit at all unless traffic is not moving. Lanesplitting in the wet is asking for trouble. Those painted lines are very slippery.
ooh that is true about riding in the wet.. Saw many close calls between kapchais when i was sitting a jam. Most of them don't do headchecks to even check for bikes. Anyhow just switch lanes whenever they are stuck. Saw many locked up their wheel and fish tailed.. luckily none of them fell. Still quite scary to see.. let alone experience.
technosakai
post Dec 5 2022, 09:42 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 5 2022, 08:52 AM)
can someone enlighten me on this?
why is it throttle + rear brake is a lot more stable compared to throttled and release? both moving at same slow speed
throttle + rear brake = constant speed? hence continuous momentum
throttle + release = slowly losing speed, losing momentum so less stable
Correct me if im wrong but that's my understanding
technosakai
post Feb 22 2023, 09:25 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 21 2023, 02:19 PM)
Oo..old post. Is he still riding? I thought he give up already after that small crash.

The problem with a lot of new riders now is they keep overthinking and not riding enough. Makes learning difficult. New riders need seat time and lots of it. Imagining how to ride won't help you much there.

Go out get seat time. Go with a senior and let him follow you while you ride and tell you what you are doing wrong.

Go ride different rides. Fast, slow, corners, off road, low speed parking lot drills. Everything. The more mileage, the faster you learn. You are going to drop your bike...you may do a low speed crash. That's part of learning to ride. You can't be afraid of that. Just gear up to protect yourself.

When I got back into bikes after 25years...I was also sore like shit after 30mins until I got comfortable. It's normal. You won't be able to relax until you ride enough to build your confidence.
haven't die, still here.. been riding in the morning to the gym. .

technosakai
post Feb 22 2023, 04:23 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 22 2023, 03:52 PM)
Haha..good to know.

Been awfully quiet for months. Getting more used to traffic now?
yeah I'm okay.. but got 1 damn close call today..
this idiot signal and turned left from the middle lane (3 lane road).. that fella signal, I honked.. even flashed to let him know im just beside him.. like just slightly behind his bumper..
he still wanna kiap 9 me and make the turn.. going wide into the opposite side as he turned..
idiot really.. wew.. got my heart rate soaring through the roof.. this was at 6:40am this morning.. otw back from gym

Just quiet as im not looking into buying stuffs. just silent lurker
Hands / forearm not sore anymore like before.
technosakai
post Feb 23 2023, 05:09 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Feb 23 2023, 12:59 PM)
Glad you are ok nothing happened

That's why I always ride with my high beam. Don't care whether it's it glaring to others.. Don't care.  My safety first.
And I changed my pipe to the loudest I can bear.  It helps.

And change your horn to a car horn.  It helps me a lot.
yeap, planning to go to Teguh bikers in Shah Alam i think? To change the exhaust, put on some frame sliders and changing the horn maybe.
The original honk is just so teeny weeny..

Any places to recommend to do the changes above?

technosakai
post Feb 24 2023, 09:34 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 23 2023, 05:55 PM)
Teguh bikers is fine....

you could also try going to bikempiire in old klang road.. they have promos practically every month
yeah saw their ads very active on fb. but then i think they don't have 2013 z250 parts.. Checked their website and pm them on fb..
elek..
so far only saw teguh bikers actively helping people mods or install stuff on their bikes..
What's the current market price for a grade A copy slip on?
250++?

technosakai
post Feb 24 2023, 10:17 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 24 2023, 10:45 AM)
wat parts specifically u looking for? if general accesories then no need bike specific stuff.

no idea for copy slip on... but from what i saw prices dont differ much unless they come from indon - cheap price n cheap build quality
frame sliders and radiator cover. I've checked their website, looks like they only cover 2018 model and above.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.1825sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:41 PM