4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

casual bike talk..

technosakai
post Sep 12 2022, 09:14 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Sep 11 2022, 11:12 PM)
Hi guys, I am interested to take a motorcycle license B2.

Is SDC a good place to learn this and which motorcycle should I get after I got my license? Please recommend a bike which is good and suitable for newbie like me. Hehe
Not sure about SDC, but I went to Metro Puchong. Took me about 3 months I guess. 1 month learning, 1 month wait for B full test slot, 1 month for exam (failed + retake)
But erm.. before buying a bike, you would need to know what you want to use it for bro..
You gonna use it for daily travel? work and commuting or just weekend bike?
if no future plans to upgrade then B2 would be enough, otherwise might as well straight go for B full.. no need to waste time and money going for exam again when you upgrade
like bro alexei said, what's your riding experience and plans?
also your budget?
technosakai
post Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(CounterRealm @ Sep 12 2022, 06:21 PM)
Use for leisure, weekend or groceries usage. The exam is included colour test? How does the colour test now because I have a bit challenge in that section.
yes.. every computer test include a colour blind test.. even I got a CDL in Driving license require to take the computer test again.
Well for me its okay. But maybe you can just do what genesis mentioned and try it out
technosakai
post Sep 14 2022, 12:36 AM

546 posts

Guys, do Ninja 300 and ninja 250 share the same parts? Wonder how much more difficult is it to maintain and service a 300 as compared to 250
technosakai
post Sep 26 2022, 09:06 AM

546 posts

so Taycon selling fake stuff now? :|
Anyway guys / sifus.. I've bought my very first motorbike ystd
a used z250 with 29k on the mileage.
What should I do for first service? Apart from the engine oil and filter
I find the engine quite smooth.. power delivery all good but I didn't really ride more than 40km/h
cuz I'm new, dont wanna crash a bike that I haven't pay for.. and the test ride area was small
technosakai
post Sep 26 2022, 10:27 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 26 2022, 10:00 AM)
am surprised too

welcome to the bikers community, hope u enjoy it
u didn't buy from shop ya? is direct owner then?
first thing to do, is get the owners manual, and try to match it from there.
got it from imotorbike actually. RM 8.3k pearl white z250.
ooh.. owners manual and try to match the things to change from there you mean?
was thinking you mentioning about the service record. lol.
just gonna ride around my housing area / taman now.. need to get used to using my wrist for acceleration.
then ride it out to bigger streets, before riding it to a service centre.
Any good ones to recommend for Subang / PJ area? I only know of Chia motor in PJ and SC Premium in Sunway area
technosakai
post Sep 26 2022, 05:26 PM

546 posts

guys, where do you guys go to get accessories for your bikes?
Mainly looking for frame sliders for a 2013 z250. The bike I bought was pretty much standard. Even came with stock exhaust.. haha.
I've tried looking at bikempire, motogear, takong racing.. can't seem to find anything. Either sold out or none
technosakai
post Sep 26 2022, 05:57 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Sep 26 2022, 05:54 PM)
Try shopee or lzd? R&G brand is a bit rare though.
I only see them being sold from Indonesia or china, not really sure about the quality.
Was wondering are there any brick and mortar shop that sell them.. Where I can see them in front of me.. haha
At least if its a shop, they might help me to install too..
technosakai
post Sep 26 2022, 08:28 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Sep 26 2022, 06:56 PM)
I know welly, takong and serdang motor is on lzd/shopee. Usually serdang sells kawi accessories.
Thanks. I'll try to look for their shopee shop and have a look.
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 02:59 PM

546 posts

guys, this might be a stupid question, but how do you normally fill up petrol on your bike?
say you use credit card, card approved, then do you sit on the bike (to let it be upright) or do you just leave it on the side stand and pump manually?

I said pump manually as in hold the pump yourself and not use the auto hold function? idk what's it called.
Cuz I've been driving for 10 years, and usually would just leave the pump handle with the auto hold thing clicked in, wait till it clicks out and stop on its own.

So for a bike, does that auto hold works?
Just asking cuz gonna go for my first refuel soon.. dont want any accident to happen.
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 03:58 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2022, 03:04 PM)
no stupid questions - and it ultimately depends on the pump clicker configuration /condition if the valve/pressure sensor disengages quick enough (or if it even works)
in short - yes the auto hold/auto stop fuel nozzle works for all bikes.

bike gets a bit more unnerving due to the very small fuel tank and that's especially true for kapchai
you can literally see fuel sloshing and splashing about as that puny RM2-3 refueling approaches the clicker auto stop
if you're on a bigger bike having >10 liters, less of a concern as it has a lot more room for the fuel nozzle auto stop to work better.

that said, i just setel app/credit card pay wave and let it auto click. if it overflows it overflows then. not bothered.
try not to sit on the bike as you don't want petrol all over yourself.
so just get some tissue or paper towel and wipe it off right?
thanks for answering laugh.gif
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 04:03 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 4 2022, 04:01 PM)
after refuel and closed cap tightly, flush around affected spill with water
most petrol station have a bucket of water around, you can park your bike to a pump that has water ready or before refuel fill up a bucket prior just in case.
Alrighty, thanks thanks rclxms.gif
Water around the fuel pump yes, but barely see any tissues around nowadays haha..
or use the squeegy with the sponge to just squeeze water onto the affected area i guess.. :/

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 4 2022, 04:03 PM
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 04:24 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 4 2022, 04:14 PM)
Depends on the bike, but most likely yours will work with holding nozzle and auto-stop.

All my bikes doesn't hold nozzle, and works to auto-stop.
Some bikes have nozzle hold, but cannot activate auto-stop in time before causing a mess.
will work with holding nozzle and auto-stop you mean just let the pump handle sit on the tank on its own and auto pump and stop?
surprised to know that z250 fuel tank can hold 17L of petrol.. can't imagine it by looking at the shape of the tank though.. seems small
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 05:11 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 4 2022, 04:39 PM)
Number one rule when filling up your bikes tank - never stay mounted on your bike.  Dangerous.

I put the nozzle into the tank, auto. Full until it stops when full.
And I'll insert the nozzle on the non-stand side, right side.   So that the pump stops when it's full, when the bike is straighten up..... The fuel level will be about right.
thanks for your input.. basically filling it till the bream as much as you can fill.. bruce.gif
QUOTE(mdziaf @ Oct 4 2022, 04:46 PM)
Hehe make sure to learn how to open the fuel cap successfully before heading to the petrol station. Haha i wasnt succesful in turning the fuel cap at the petrol station. Nasib ada fuel to ride back learn how to open and go back refuel 😅

Anyways just be careful not to have your face too close to the fuel tank/nozzle. The tank on the bikes are small and the fuel can slosh around and sometimes jump out of the tank. If you too close can get into the eyes. Just take it slow and steady.
yeah tried before opening the fuel cap, once. on my z250 haha
did try to open in the riding school for the routine check test.

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 4 2022, 05:16 PM
technosakai
post Oct 4 2022, 05:25 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Oct 4 2022, 05:23 PM)
No
Not until to the bream

The most is until to the max level.
Read the manual .  Hahahaha
yeah well not literally till the bream la.. sad.gif just saying it like a figure of speech.. sad.gif
technosakai
post Oct 5 2022, 07:12 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 4 2022, 06:44 PM)
yes

auto stop basically returns some fuel back to the nozzle, and choke it
to me is waste fuel and risk causing a mess
i dislike fuel over my tank, and if it gets to the rubber or plastic parts below, it degrades them
I see. Best to just hold it and pump manually then
technosakai
post Oct 13 2022, 04:24 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 13 2022, 03:05 PM)
so u bought a z250....

be warned kawasaki tends to use shitty key barrels.... so dont panic when u cant open up the fuel tank or even turn the ignition key.... just keep trying slowly and not break ur key in the barrel. make sure to lube it up at least once a month... the "correct" way is to use dry graphite lube... but i just spray a small amount of chain lube in the tank and ignition key barrels once a month (and drench it in WD40 once every 4-6 months n chain lube the next day) and kongkek the barrels with the key and open close abit to try n get the lube everywhere....

which reminds me... i need to do mine now.
obviously the z650 will be a better buy than the ER6... as it is newer and has more in the package.... though the ER6 are still really decent bikes and cheap too...

if ur also planning on weekend trips, especially long distance ones..perhaps a versys 650 might also be an option as its more suited for touring and possibily easier to sell compared to an old ER6 or even the Z650 as the z650 isnt that popular coz ppl will prefer to go for MT07 in that class whereas the versys650 practically dominates the 650 touring class... even the vstrom 650s is still trying to catch up to it.. u can still tour on the Z650 or ER6... itll just be less comfortable. take note of the valve issue mentioned for the ER6 and older versys models..... there was a recall... so make sure the bike u bought has had the recall done.
thanks for the tip. So far its been smooth the moment I test ride it till now.. been close to a month. I'm still just riding around my neighbourhood. Clocked about 20km. lol. Tried opening the fuel cap twice.. still seems okay.
but i would use your tip and lube it up once every month or so. thumbsup.gif

Question, I've downloaded the 2013 z250 owner's manual. But I don't understand the Valve clearance check and can't seem to find the handlebar size (diameters)
1) Valve clearance - I saw in the manual it shows 12 and 24k km, have a dealer inspection. What does it mean? Just a check? if good then no need to do?
2) Handlebar size in diameter. I want to buy a phone holder on shopee, but unsure of the size. Do all handlebar size come standard across all bikes?

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 13 2022, 05:22 PM
technosakai
post Oct 14 2022, 04:13 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 14 2022, 03:08 PM)
1/ just change ur EO and oil filter every 5k km (would recommend minimum semi syn)... check plugs and air filter every 20k km.... valve clearance every 40k km....dealer inspection is just to make sure everything is still ok... nothing came loose etc.
2/ 22mm... stock handlebar no need to worry much as most phone holders will fit....aftermarket bars then u need to figure out the diameter... but still most phone holders will still actually fit.

other things to take note on a z250.
- if engine makes loud ticking noises...check timing chain tensioner.
- install a volt mater to ensure the stator coil is working fine.... if voltage fluctuates like crazy or drops really bad then it should...need to get it changed (expensive) or recoiled (cheaper n supposedly better option).

other tips
- i lube my chain every full tank of fuel... so isi minyak, go home and lube. or after it rains.. ill wait for the chain to dry n relube.
- if ur on a 2013... might be a good idea to check on wheel bearings... my old 2013 z250 had both wheel bearings gone when the bike is around 50-60k km
- there has been cases of the rear seat flying off and getting lost coz of owner's own negligence of not locking it in properly or thought they did but actually didnt. tie a rope to the bottom of the rear seat just in case... i used a lanyard with a carabiner to make complete removal easier just in case. i still practice the same on my z900.
- for the love of god..never ever get those integrated tail lights... utterly useless... cant see signals at all.
- avoid liqui moly at all costs... makes the engine rough as shit n that overhyped brand isnt cheap....and no... im not the only one to experience that in a kawa 250...i couldnt stand how rough the engine was and changed before 3k km to the cheapest engine oil i could find - petron mineral oil.. n even the petron was waaaaayyy smoother than that overhyped shit.
I see. .alright. Well mine is currently at 29km. Bought it used at 28.8k km -ish.
so I still gotta check those that you've mentioned once my mileage has reach those level. Anyway, will do a service once I know how to ride it better
I've only opened the back seat once.. confirmed its locked on tight and well.

about the integrated tail lights, I agree they suck. They don't look good either. My bike currently is as standard as it can be. I don't think the previous owner even did anything apart from just using it for commuting. It only has a tank pad and tank grip sticked on when I purchased it. At most, Imma change the signals to LED if I ever wanted to.

Change the exhaust for a better sounding one, preferably bassy kind. Please do let me know if you have any shops to recommend. Just want a slip on, not the full system.
There's no need to do any changes to the ECU right? Stock settings should be just fine correct?

btw, why would recoiling a stator coil be better than buying a new one? ohmy.gif
I still need to buy paddock stand and chain lube for the chain maintenance blush.gif
technosakai
post Oct 17 2022, 09:40 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 14 2022, 07:14 PM)
Personally id service the bike at 30k so its easier to keep track of service intervals. Flush brake fluid as well unless u know when it was last changed...not surprising if its been there since factory.

Like i said owners think its locked on tight but it wasnt...tie the rope to be safe...it may be tight now..may not be the next time u open it back up....

Exhaust since u just want a slip on muffler....anything can do...buy from shoppee whatever u like also ok n cheap...no changes needed to ecu or whatever else.

Recoils uses thicker wires...lasts longer n harder for it to burn...so ppl claim la...also...rm1000 new vs rm400 recoil
I see.. Alright. I shall go find for some nice sounding slip on..
technosakai
post Oct 17 2022, 01:06 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 17 2022, 10:50 AM)
prepare kena saman for illegal modification
haha okay. but usually this is only from JPJ roadblocks?
or do traffic police also saman for changed slip on?
some times also depends on the officer ya?
on their discretion (atas budi bicara) of the officers.. happy mood then kasi chan, if bad mood then saman

This post has been edited by technosakai: Oct 17 2022, 01:07 PM
technosakai
post Oct 17 2022, 04:38 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 17 2022, 02:10 PM)
haha, every roadblock also need to worry a bit lo

do whatever u like lah, yolo
but, remember to keep the standard muffler
in case kena asked to go puspakom for inspection so can replace back the original?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2060sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:01 PM